Evolving…

Hi All,

What’s this? Didn’t narf just say “I won’t be regularly blogging for a while, and here she is blogging?” well yes, indeed, I am. You see I just had a little epiphany. I have been reading and digesting your comments about my rather hastily conceived blogging hiatus that I dumped on you last Wednesday. Life last week was past hectic and into crazyville and I was pruning away like mad to find a little bit of something normal to hang onto. We spent the weekend planning and prepping. We have lots of meals in the freezer, we have organised ourselves well, we are on top of it all and this morning I read a blog post by the always chic, ever interesting and often thought provoking Ms Cityhippfarmgirl who was the instigator of my blogging epiphany. She has been blogging for 5 years now (not much more than I have) and threw a word into the arena that gave me great pause for thought…

The other day I was feverishly crocheting a cover for a tablet that we purchased to support our latest study load. Stevie-boys twitchy fingertips had been all over it and if the FBI had have wanted a sample of his DNA they could have easily swiped it and had more than their fill. I was considering how to protect it from the bumps and knocks that seem to follow our chaotic life around at the same time as find an instant way to slither away those finger marks (no Stevie-boy DNA for YOU FBI! 😉 ) and came up with the idea for a  crocheted cover (mainly because I can’t sew for toffeenuts…) Once it was finished I had to work out how to close it. I have NO idea how to put zips into things and even if I did, I didn’t have a zip, so that was out of the question. I ended up thinking “buttons” but all I had were some teeny tiny ones that would have required a shrew like sequence of them and nimble fingers to keep the cover closed and knowing how impatient Stevie-boy is I could see them being left undone and the tablet slipping out in transit or worse still, when the cover was held aloft like excalibar. What was a girl to do? “Hmmm…”

In the midst of my feverish musing I suddenly remembered a Pinterest pin that I had shuffled into my ‘Crafty Bollocks’ board and I went hunting. I finally found it and gleefully started hooking. The pattern was for lovely eccentric crocheted buttons. As the wool that I had used to make the tablet cover was so very thick and chunky (double insulation for life’s bumps and knocks) the buttons ended up HUGE but who cares, they served a purpose and put a narfish seal of approval on the final result. I would love to share a photo of the cover with you all but it is 3.50am and Stevie-boy has sequestered both tablet and cover away somewhere and I don’t want to wake up the dogs and pique their early morning interest so you are just going to have to believe me that it is a. eccentric and b. serves the purpose. When I was making the buttons I immediately knew that I wanted to share the pattern. I wanted to tell everyone how to make them and how much fun it was to customise your own buttons and then suddenly I remembered “I am having a rest”…but you see I didn’t WANT to have a rest, I just wanted a bit of freedom to blog about what delighted me and what would be fun to share and THAT was my epiphany…

So I won’t be stopping blogging my dear constant readers. My knee-jerk reaction to almost drowning in C.H.A.N.G.E. which has always been my bugbear (what a magnificent word) and sticking point was to throw caution and all of my sheets to the wind and run around howling just before I sequestered myself under the bed with Earl at arms reach. I took all of your wonderful and most caring suggestions on board and my posts will be shorter and more to the point. When I have something that makes me “SQUEE!” with delight, I will share it. I can’t share my nectarines with you as they went in my mouth and I ate them but everything else you can consider fair game.

I want to thank Ms Cityhippyfarmgirl for giving me the most splendid and thoughtful epiphany. My word for this year is “Evolve”. And evolve, I shall! See you soon when I will most probably have something to get excited about and at least one photo to brighten it up a bit.

If you would like to have a go at making your own Squeealicious crochet covered buttons here is a very easy tutorial. There are many more out there but lazy old me just went with numero uno as it was a doddle.

http://www.annettepetavy.com/pages/en/newsletter/2012/10.html

 

UPDATE –

Stevie-boy is up now so I took a photo of the cover with the button sewn on it. I am imagining that your buttons will be a whole lot better than mine. I left the benchmark pretty low. I like people to feel good about themselves 😉

"Ta-DAH!" :)

“Ta-DAH!” 🙂

 

58 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Dreamwalker
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 04:39:09

    Dearest Narf.. I must read back on your other posts, I’ve been missing a few days myself .. I am so pleased you had your epiphany moment.. and got your tablet cover done.. I will click upon your link to the button coverings in crocheting..

    I bought myself a set of Crochet hooks the other week!.. And an easy pattern book to follow with lots of little items to make such as handbags purses and little animals.. 🙂
    What I really wanted it for is it’s step by step guide to the stitches I don’t know.. I know the basics but needed guidance on the rest of more complicated patterns, So hope it will be useful…

    Though I have purchased some wool for knitting a jumper for myself, so I may have two projects on the go at once.. Keeps me out of mischief 😀

    So glad you are continuing to blog.. and apologies I have not been around.. Hope to catch up more with your backdated posts this week..

    Love and Hugs..
    Sue xox

    Reply

  2. Littlesundog
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 05:07:41

    Aren’t we fickle sometimes? Don’t you just love epiphany and eureka moments? There is nothing better than owning the realization of what just happened and to move forth with the adventure… for whatever! To wherever! I do not think you will find any of us holding you to your declaration of last Wednesday. There are no rules and regulations to this… no nay sayers to hold you to your words. Rather, I think you’ll find we are delighted to see you back so soon, and in your usual carefree hippy style. I think there is so much depth to you and so much you wish to share… you are ever-evolving. Write with wild abandon my friend… whenever the mood strikes or one of those epiphanies wells up from within! Forget the regular schedule.

    I knitted and crocheted when I was a teenager… immersed myself in it for a decade or more… then learned bobbin (pillow) lace from one grandmother. For some reason at this point in my life, I have no desire whatsoever to pick up needles and hooks or bobbins! I keep thinking one day I’ll get interested all that again. But of course right now there’s this book to write… 🙂

    Reply

  3. The Snail of Happiness
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 05:57:12

    Phew… ‘squee blogs’ are the best!

    Reply

  4. thecontentedcrafter
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 07:12:07

    Never say ‘Never’ !! I like this new abbreviated and to the point version of Narf ❤ ❤ ❤ And also, I saved the link – just wonderful, thank you!

    Reply

  5. cityhippyfarmgirl
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 13:11:56

    I do love your posts that leave me with a chuckle lady and this one did again. Bench marks or no bench marks I say wrap that word EVOLVE about you and snuggle in. It is a big thing to realise you have the freedom to do what you want with your blog and at times Ive certainly needed reminding. Blogs are a platform for you to communicate and do what you enjoy, while connecting with an amazing array of others- whether that’s 2000 words and once a week or 5 words once a month. What ever feels right Ms Narf, what ever and when ever. We’ll all still be here. xxx

    Reply

  6. Born To Organize
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 16:11:33

    Well this is a nice turn of events. Yeah! I was thinking about you today, as I splurged (yes actually purchased) a vintage root beer bottle top. I sure hope you are still collecting them.

    I will send what I have soon.

    That crocheted button is awesome!!!! I love it. Thanks for the laugh, too.

    Reply

  7. brymnsons
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 20:07:07

    Nice button Fran!! You just know how to make a girl drool…. 🙂 I had to go back and reread the first bit because I thought you said you were crocheting a table cover and I couldn’t for the life of me work out why it would need a zip or a button! 😀 Of course once I reread it and saw it was a tablet well then it made sense. Silly me.

    Reply

  8. Jo
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 23:53:18

    Panic gets me in exactly the same way. I simply shut down and try to escape from, well, everything that feels like there is an expectation attached to it. I like your epiphany, and would like to add one of my own – pursue what you want as hard as you can, with no apologies. What you have here is uniquely yours, and never needs to meet a criteria or benchmark, and there are no expectations, so just enjoy yourself:)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2015 @ 03:20:46

      I am also learning that some of the most important life lessons, that are the most beneficial to who and what you are, come from when you are out of your comfort zone and maybe ‘not’ enjoying yourself. I wish I had learned this about 30 years ago! ;). Thank you for your heartfelt comment Ms Jo. Knowing that you are not alone in how you process (or in our case ‘don’t’ process 😉 ) change and stress is often almost as good as being good at dealing with them. I have crawled out from under the bed and left Earl to the dust bunnies. Still feeling a bit like a fish out of water because it is such a BIG change to our routine but I will get used to that and once it is habit I will be fine. It’s just that awkward time period prior to habits forming that takes some getting used to 🙂

      Reply

  9. Robbie
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 01:00:49

    I can’t imagine you never evolving-you are such a free spirit and a survivor!
    I admire your needle skills-my grandmother tried to teach me but I could never sit still long enough-lol!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2015 @ 03:22:42

      My grandmother gave up. She said “you are doing it ALL WRONG!” whatever I am doing gets the job done so I figure some of us were meant to be a bit ‘doo-lally’ when it comes to crafts ;). The thing about me is that I am a free spirit and a survivor but FIRST I panic and shut down a bit and have to go off and have a bit of a think about it under the bed to regroup and lick my wounds before I come out blazing 😉

      Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2015 @ 04:18:44

      WordPress won’t let me post a comment on your blog so I am going to post it here!

      “Everything looks so healthy in your garden Robbie. I am going to have to have a look for Parcel seeds now as it looks almost exactly like tiny stalks of celery and like you, I am OVER paying for celery! I tried growing it but it bolted to seed. Parcel seems like the answer. Awesome to know that it is a survivor as well and it should do alright here as a perennial as we don’t get frost much at all. I won’t say “never” as who would know with the crazy weather we are getting at the moment? I feel like we moved to tropical Queensland at the moment as we have hot humid days and nights and everything is slightly damp and starting to give in to powdery mildew…oh well…it’s all an adventure! ;)” STUPID WORDPRESS I HAVE A BLOG WITH YOU TOO! Sigh…

      Reply

  10. aFrankAngle
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 05:10:45

    Besides your craftiness and joyous wit, I have to give you credit because i can’t ever remember a blog post using toffeenuts in a sentence. Very impressive indeed.

    Reply

  11. Lori Fontanes
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 11:17:24

    Homemade buttons! Wow!!! I can’t even get ’round to sewing on store-bought ones except once or twice a year and now I have a whole new bar to reach! 😉 PS, they are adorable!!! Would look cute on a sweater/jacket, too, don’t you think?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2015 @ 18:12:24

      I certainly do Ms Lori and how fitting that you should comment today. I just picked up 2 gorgeous bumper stickers in our mail box. I have one on the car already and one is going on my art folio to remind me that dirt = life. Thank you SO much for sending them and those buttons took no time at all to make and ARE gorgeous. You could make some seriously awesome custom buttons. I have very little skill but someone with a bit of hooky nonce could make some really beautiful buttons. Think “stringing beads onto yarn, using cotton thread etc. “and you can start to get an idea of how easy this pattern would be to customise gorgeous buttons 🙂

      Reply

      • Lori Fontanes
        Feb 18, 2015 @ 01:35:27

        If this snow keeps up, I might just have to retreat to the living room with a skein and get to it! PS, so glad you like the stickers–that’s us, changing the world, one bumper at a time! 😉

      • narf77
        Feb 18, 2015 @ 03:35:36

        One bumper and one book in my case! Spread the word via “velocitator and deceleratrix” and filofax and the world SHALL bow to our missives! 🙂

  12. Yelena
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 14:04:39

    Missing you, of course. Your crochet button is adorable-))

    Hugs my dear,

    Yelena

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 19, 2015 @ 02:26:24

      Hi Yelena. We are SO busy now that we are going to school again. I will keep posting whenever we have something to share and will keep reading everyone’s posts as well so you won’t have to miss me much :). Those buttons are a great skill to have as who can ever find a matching button when they need one? I know that I am always out of what I need when I need it and now you can just make your own. I love customised things 🙂

      Reply

  13. Chica Andaluza
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 03:07:23

    …and this is why we love you so much!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 19, 2015 @ 03:13:20

      Great minds think alike! I am over at your place waxing lyrical about that amazeballs and most scrumptious looking marmie cake! 🙂

      Reply

  14. Linne
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 05:40:21

    Oh, Narfie7 . . .
    I wrote a long comment for your last (but thankfully not final 😉 post, then a bolshie link opened on that page -my phone only allows 8 open pages at once – and without a back arrow!!!
    I tried not to think about it . . . and then, just now, I returned to try and re-create said (or rather, UNsaid) comment . . . and . . .
    O frabjous day! Calloo! Callay! I chortled in my joy!!! 😉

    Really, I was probably only going to say what had already been said best by others, so I’ve let that go . . .
    Lovely button! I will check out the link later and thanks in advance. Buttons I have not tried yet.
    I react to change much as you do, even though I’ve had plenty of opportunities to learn to go with the flow. I may have to crochet a blanket to keep ready under the bed . . .

    Those TAFE guys ARE just jealous, I totally agree. Maybe when things settle down for you, you could offer a challenge class and see how many manage to master a non-techie skill . . . after all, you have HEAPS of non-techie skills and are busy acquiring even more techie skills as well. Really, if guys want equality . . . we might as well give them a chance, don’t you think? 😉

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 20, 2015 @ 04:15:56

      Thank you for this lovely comment Linne :). I just spent a day with Stevie-boy yesterday attempting to recreate a tutorial showing us how to make a house in 3D Max. Lets just say we are “still working on it” and be done with it! ;). Hopefully we get it finished soon and it is very lucky that we have a fortnight off from our next 3D class thanks to a most fortuitous public holiday 😉

      Reply

  15. mommermom
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 08:29:47

    Well, somehow I missed your comment about taking a hiatus from blogging. So glad to hear you reconsidered and you’re back in business! Always enjoy your newsy posts. You have so much going on and I am always so fascinated what you have accomplished and how you are hurtling in so many directions all at the same time and even managing to keep your sanity!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 20, 2015 @ 04:19:23

      Not quite sure about ‘keeping our sanity’ but we are forging ahead with our studies and most interesting (and challenging) they are! In the process of trying to recreate a 3D house at the moment and the possibilities for this program (when we learn how to use it a bit better) are enormous. Looking forward to finding out how we can use it to our advantage 🙂

      Reply

  16. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 04:20:10

    I think you and I both understand the stress and strain of blogging all too well… Just as you so eloquently comforted me, I must remind you in perhaps less compelling prose that you too are allowed all the time and space you need. We’ll all still be here whenever you return. There are more important things than blogging, after all, such as one’s sanity, happiness… You know, the small stuff. 😉

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 20, 2015 @ 04:34:01

      Sometimes we completely forget sanity and happiness in the rush to satisfy ‘others’. We forget that those ‘others’ are here to enjoy our space and if we aren’t enjoying it, that is going to flow through. Guess who has to join the cloud by the way? ;). Life is moving at a frantic pace at the moment but as soon as I can cram 3D Max and all of it’s intricicies into my brain and get my head around creating websites from scratch and app creation I might give myself a bit of time to think about something else. Just got to keep stuffing that ‘maths in disguise’ into my head and hope that some of it sticks! ;). Thank you for your wise words Ms Hannah. Life hands you lots of things and change is a biggy on the scale of things. Learning to cope, adapt and grow from it is a massive life lesson and one that delivers amazing outcomes. Easier to say that than to live it though 😉

      Reply

  17. christiglover
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 13:20:34

    Welcome back. Somehow I missed you. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Margaret Griffin
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 22:27:00

    Hi Fran, With that cover, I reckon the chances of you (or Steve) losing your tablet are pretty low.

    I am glad to see with the crisis over, you are allowing your blog to evolve – as you have done previously as the circumstances of your life changed.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 25, 2015 @ 06:13:51

      Cheers Margaret. I am now going to post as and when I have something interesting to share with you all rather than by rote so my posts should be enthusiastic and with something interesting to say 🙂

      Reply

  19. Spy Garden
    Feb 26, 2015 @ 11:59:37

    Love this button! And this post. I definitely changed my relationship with Spy Garden glog once I started the doctoral program (of nursing) (7 weeks ago!!). First I freaked out “I’ll just give up the website FOREVER boooooohooooo” I was distraught. I never actually published those feelings or declarations;) THEN I just changed it up a bit and am posting about once a week and spy garden lives on. And write now I am procrastinating on writing a paper and cheerily enjoying reaching out to you…as you (your site and your comments) are always a positive and enthusiastic little jaunt for me. Just re-read this comment. WRITE NOW; that was an unintentional typo, and so I must get back to it; write this instant!;)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 27, 2015 @ 04:06:50

      Your life has changed and now time is more precious. Same thing here, and changing the blog to posting when I have something important or exciting to post was a really good move. It took me from feeling trapped and chained to the blog to allowing me to still enjoy posting and after all, that’s what it is all about. Our personal blogs aren’t supposed to make us feel trapped, they are an out for our daily grind and a way to share what we care about with other people. Go nail that paper write now ;). We have a series of tutorials on making a 3D buggy/remote control car that we have to follow and not a lot of time to complete them. SO tempted to send them to The Spy as I am sure he would make this his lifes work. Right up the alley of today’s kids. Really enjoying this course when I didn’t think that I would. Here’s to communal ‘evolving’ 🙂

      Reply

  20. Namita
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 01:29:05

    Hey Fran, Perhaps I am always (almost) the last person to comment here. It gives me privilege to read the complete comment trail which I love immensely. I get to read different views, different perspectives to your posts.
    Personally, your posts a treat to your friend sitting in another part of the world, loving your simple and purposeful life which inspires and gives impetus to our plans too. Sometimes I am surprised at the element of commonality in our lives, similarity of our thought processes and I can almost relate to your world. From my end, all your blog posts are welcome and eagerly awaited.
    Love, regards and good wishes!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 27, 2015 @ 04:12:55

      Hi Namita, my blog isn’t finishing now. I am just going to post as, and when, I have something interesting to post or something that makes me want to share it with you all. Life is very busy at the moment but knowing that the blog isn’t something that I “have” to post every Wednesday has put it back into my enjoyable pastimes where it was starting to be more like something that I had to do. I am having a bit of a problem with WordPress and commenting on other blogs at the moment. Hopefully, you are getting my comments to your wonderful posts. I love reading about your part of the world, it is so beautiful, exotic and interesting to me and your recipes are always spot on and often completely enlightening. Big hugs from Serendipity Farm 🙂

      Reply

  21. The Twisted Yarn
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 20:54:42

    Yay!! Your tablet cover is gorgeous, and also so delightfully bright that you will never lose your tablet. I’m so very glad that you’re not really taking a break, because I would miss sharing a stroll around with Serendipity Farm with you of a morning. I know I’m a relative late-comer to your happy bloggy world, but I’m very glad to visit. 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 03, 2015 @ 03:56:18

      The 17 year old computer genius that sits next to me in class scoffed at my crocheting genius. I tried to pass the cover off as “a minecraft original” knowing that the ‘kiddies’ of today love minecraft but the scoffing escalated. He stopped scoffing when I made his 5 year old little brother a dead fish hat. His brother took it to school for show and tell. My minecraft tablet cover might have been a bit of a dud but the hat went down well 😉

      Reply

  22. Nanette
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 10:11:12

    Hey there Fran, i sent you a surprise parcel last week, a banner for your garden. I left the card at home that I’d written lovely things on and who I was etc, but couldn’t be stuffed going home again, so I hope it’s arrived safely. I have a whole lot of bottle caps I’ve been collecting on my daily walks, but forgot to send them! Must’ve been a forgetful week last week. You’ll be able to track me down now via my blog, I’d love to hear that the gift arived ok and what you think. Cheers

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 03, 2015 @ 17:54:55

      Hi Nanette, lovely to hear from you. I haven’t received your parcel yet but that isn’t anything new…it often takes a fair bit of time for us to recieve anything here in Tassie, we are in farthest flung uppercumbuckance you know ;). What a generous person you are and I will treasure my banner. Sanctuary is starting to look really lovely now and I am going to have to take a photo with all of my gorgeous and most eclectic bunting waving in the last of our summer sunshine…make that autumn sunshine now! I will let you know when I get your parcel Nanette and thank you for your incredible generosity. I have been most humbled by how many people have contributed to our bunting 🙂

      Reply

  23. Nanette
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 19:50:53

    Oh yes, a photo of your bedecked Sanctuary will be just the thing. I live in upnorthonthemainlandcumbuckance so know what you mean about far flung and slow post. At least you know it’s coming now and you can lurk in wait for the postie 🙂 And you’re welcome, I enjoy making things to pass on.

    Reply

Leave a comment