Grave Danger of Falling Food

Just saw this reposted on another blog and wanted to share as it contains the full video of Bill Mollisons “In Grave Danger of Falling Food” video as well as another one by a woman who has created an urban mini food forest. I know a lot of my dear constant readers would be interested in these videos and so decided to repost. Enjoy 🙂

The Most Revolutionary Act

Grave Danger of Falling Food

Tony Gailey (1989)

Film Review

This documentary is about Australian Bill Mollison, the father of the international permaculture movement. The title, which is ironic, refers to air drops of food aid (by the industrial north) to compensate the third world for destroying their food production systems. Mollison defines permaculture as a design system for housing, energy, water management, waste recycling and food production that follows nature’s engineering principles. Permaculture purposely mimics natural systems to create a permanent, sustainable culture for human beings.

In addition to exploring Mollison’s personal history and philosophy, Grave Danger of Falling Food offers a good introduction to permaculture design and the concept of permaculture zones.

Lifestyles that Restore the Planet

Despite Mollison’s lifelong concerns about the environmental devastation wreaked by industrial agriculture and multinational extractive industries, he has reservations about the war mentality of the environmental movement. Instead of “fighting” to…

View original post 336 more words

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecontentedcrafter
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 04:42:40

    Good share narf! I’ve bookmarked it for later viewing – possibly this evening. Thank you!

    Reply

  2. Finn Holding
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 05:19:02

    Just watched the video Fran. Fascinating stuff and he talks a lot of sense. I noticed it was made 25 years ago and I’m wondering how the Permaculture phenomenon has evolved since then and are any of the ideas being adopted by mainstream agricultural thinking? If they aren’t I think they should be. We can’t carry on wrecking the joint with impunity.

    I thought the piece in the film where Mollison talks about the nonsensical abuse of the mangrove swamps to create waterfront space for middle class houses, which ultimately end up with astroturf lawns, just sums up the absurdity of current practices.

    But as he said, agriculture is to produce not food, but money. Not very clever is it?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 30, 2014 @ 05:31:37

      SO glad you liked it Finn :). Permaculture is a Tasmanian invention…well…they cobbled together all kinds of ideas and ideals to create it but they did it right here in Tiny little backwater Tassie. I think it is the one thing that we can be most truly proud of here :). I am 100% with you on the tearing up the mangrove swamps and shoving in astroturf disgust. If I looked at the big picture I think I would just hide under the bed with Earl but I don’t, I put my head down, my bum up and just get on with it and try to change the world from my little patch outwards. If everyone did that imagine the possibilities! Here’s to a wonderful and possibility filled 2015 for us all and thank you for watching this video 🙂

      Reply

  3. Robbie
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 05:26:20

    thank you for sharing-right up my alley! lol-I was watching a bunch of Ted Talks on this subject—growing! I bookmarked for a bit later…..heading outside to turn my pile-yep that warm! but not for too much longer:-)

    Reply

  4. Robbie
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 05:27:01

    oopps….have to say my “compost area” not “piles”-lol…made that mistake last time!!!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 30, 2014 @ 05:32:44

      LOL 😉

      Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 30, 2014 @ 05:34:15

      We call them “compost heaps” over here. “Heap” is a good word for them as they are bolshie to the max and never behave nicely in the garden. They smell, they tumble out of the top, they rot unevenly, they heave with other life forms but at the end of the day there might just be a lesson to be learned about compost and humanity right there…surely the most interesting and worthwhile people are just like bolshie compost heaps? 😉

      Reply

  5. Robbie
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 06:52:02

    okay, I watched the first video—amazing-
    He said:
    “untidiness is good natural order
    tidiness is mainted diorder”
    brilliant-
    thank you for sharing-I am looking for his book now!

    Reply

  6. Robbie
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 06:53:04

    maintained disorder-oops…you know what I meant…I know that this is true from my own garden…and the forest system works! I try to apply it to my own site.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:37:28

      Whenever you work WITH nature, you are likely to succeed and like the physicians oath used to be (not entirely sure it still is now that they are in bed with the big pharmaceutical companies 😉 ) “First do no harm”.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

