Take a bit of time to read this, it will make you smile

And so, my dear constant readers, we are all deep in the throes of Christmas baking. There are clouds of flour, icing sugar and various other Christmassy things enveloping our kitchens and the air is blue with Christmas swearing but if you can drag yourselves away from that Christmas madness for a few moments, sit yourself down with a hot (or cold depending on your state of mind and your hemisphere) beverage of your choice and read this marvelous short post about Christmas baking I am sure it will bring a smile to your dial, if not a loud guffaw to your throat and maybe, just maybe you will squirt something out of your nose. If so, my job here…is done! See you on Wednesday but until then…”You are welcome!” πŸ˜‰

http://araisinandaporpoise.com/holiday-baking-tips-for-success/

 

 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Dreamwalker
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 05:10:43

    Enjoy your baking day.. πŸ™‚ I did some yesterday. And thank you for the link.. great post.. and love those little houses
    Have a Great Christmas.. Love and Blessings your way.. Sue xxx

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2014 @ 05:43:09

      I just reaquainted myself with “Caketime” blog. I used to follow it but every post required me to head to Google Translate and translate it…very time consuming but now that Google has a translate button in the search bar it’s MUCH easier so I just reloaded Caketime back into my RSS Feed Reader. There are some awesome recipes there! πŸ™‚ I hope all your Christmas baking goes well. So far I have made coconut ice cream. Today is rum baba baking day as well as pork pie making day and Strawberries and cream ice cream making day. Tomorrow we cook all of the meat and get everything else ready and Wednesday it’s a lovely simple day, very low prep out on the deck with the dogs in the sunshine (hopefully, it’s just started raining here! πŸ˜‰ )

      Reply

      • Sue Dreamwalker
        Dec 23, 2014 @ 05:46:58

        So far made a huge Carrot Cake.. cup cakes, Mince pies and tomorrow its sausage rolls .. Your coconut ice-cream sounds yum.. and oh so love home-made pork pies while still warm from the oven.. πŸ™‚

      • narf77
        Dec 23, 2014 @ 05:48:48

        Steve gets homesick for pork pies so we make them specially for him and our elderly (92) neighbour Glad who loves them :). That Caketime blog has a gorgeous recipe for stollen cupcakes as their latest recipe. Might give them a go as well. You can never have enough Christmas baking. It takes your mind off panicking about everything else you may or may not have forgotten πŸ˜‰

      • Sue Dreamwalker
        Dec 23, 2014 @ 06:00:46

        Well Narf we did the last of the shopping today it was Mad.. so what’s got forgotten is now off the list.. πŸ™‚
        Enjoy your baking and eating your goodies
        xxx

      • narf77
        Dec 23, 2014 @ 07:47:00

        Ditto Ms Sue πŸ™‚

      • Sue Dreamwalker
        Dec 24, 2014 @ 03:18:11

        πŸ™‚ Feet up time…. now to eat, drink, and Make Merry… πŸ˜‰ Happy Christmas!!! πŸ™‚

      • narf77
        Dec 24, 2014 @ 04:40:59

        Ditto Ms Sue, all of the prep (except for the homemade mascarpone cheese which I am making today) has been done and it’s an easy peasy Christmas Day for us :). Happy Christmas right back atcha πŸ™‚

      • Sue Dreamwalker
        Dec 24, 2014 @ 21:14:53

        Homemade Mascarpone! Now I am impressed!.. xxx ❀

  2. Janet
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 07:49:20

    Many thanks for the shout out and very peaceful, nose-snorting holidays to you and yours…

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2014 @ 07:52:03

      No problemo Janet, this is hilarious. Love your stuff. I follow all of your posts in my RSS Feed Reader but I rarely comment but that’s because I am too busy snorting things out of my nose and need to get up and get a tissue. Have a most awesome and excellent Christmas and cheers for reminding me that Caketime was such a great (and hilarious in translation) blog πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. missmaudy
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 09:26:48

    I decided to be frugal and fabulous and *make* gifts for my co-workers this year instead of buying a little something for each of the ten people my team has expanded to… After spending Saturday cleaning the damn house (six hours, it took me, and I only did rooms I am liable to spend time in over the next couple of weeks); that left Sunday for culinary creations. I decided on a day that was going to be 30C in a house that is not only un-airconditioned, but still has no window coverings in the kitchen that it would be absolutely awesome to make chocolate crackles AND gingerbread.

    Oh, the swears and the stickiness abounded. But hey, tasted good and didn’t cost me $150!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2014 @ 09:59:44

      AND I bet they tasted scrumptious to boot. Who needs another frigging mug to stick on your desk (no matter how clever the saying). Everyone needs something to shove into their mouths in order to remind them that this is Christmas, the time of good calories and happy-go-lucky gustatory delights. You are just starting the Christmas festivities off nice and early. Kudos Ms Maudy, you rule! 30C? Bollocks to that! We have 21C and I have the wood stove started up again so that I can cook up a storm. Wish me luck…I am going in! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  4. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 09:37:18

    Too funny- We do expect a “blue Christmas” out here in Hawaii, but for very different reasons. πŸ˜‰ I sure hope you’ll let us in on what you’re baking one the flour settles and the cursing subsides.

    By the way, in case those tricky cherimoya seeds don’t sprout for you, I found something similar but different to try: The custard apple, also known as the “sweetsop” (related to the soursop, obviously sweeter!) Shall I save you some seeds? πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Hannah (BitterSweet)
      Dec 23, 2014 @ 09:46:04

      Whoops, I misspoke there- Sugar apple, not custard apple. Quite different things! This one is like a cherimoya but with a bumpy exterior and more floral flavor. Very tasty!

      Reply

      • narf77
        Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:02:16

        Nom nom! I am guessing you are eating as many as you can? Best thing to do. I am holding up my end of the globe with a gustatory fresh cherry eating competition between me and myself. I am winning! πŸ˜‰

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:01:28

      OOO yes please Ms Hannah. You are back in Hawaii? If you have time, don’t forget to meet up with Ms Christi but if you are afraid of volcano’s, might be an idea to miss that island as it is drooling some serious lava as we speak. Lucky for Ms Christi she lives on the other side of the eruption eh? ;). It hasn’t been very warm here so I am not concerned about the babies yet but if they don’t start sprouting soon I am going to think that they might be duds :(.

      Reply

  5. Littlesundog
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:53:49

    There was a time I might have tried a Polish recipe and taken on the adventure of translating, and numerous attempts to get it right, but those days are long gonefor me. The year I made from scratch, baked, iced and decorated more than 1200 cookies for friends and family in three days, was the year I burned out on baking. And of course now that we are Paleo lifestyle people, the baking I do manage is with nut flours – very different than normal wheat flour baking. Desserts and sweets just don’t have the same appeal as they used to. I enjoyed the read. I think we all have baking stories to tell… πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2014 @ 15:12:08

      πŸ™‚ There are some pretty scrumptious paleo things now. I keep running across them on my Pinterest jaunts. I used to cook for a living and so cooking just doesn’t hold the allure that it might hold. For me, it is just getting food onto the table most of the time but I have a bit of pride in what I turn out so I try to do my best. Lots of Christmas baking going on. We are just about to start making pork pies right now so I had best head off and get stuck into making them :). Have a wonderful day and whatever you guys are eating I hope you enjoy it to the max πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. Born To Organize
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 13:39:48

    Oh you made me laugh! Heading over there now.

    Reply

  7. aFrankAngle
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 13:52:55

    Smiles indeed … good luck with your baking … meanwhile, I have a presence in the kitchen, but desserts aren’t my strength.

    Reply

  8. Chica Andaluza
    Dec 24, 2014 @ 04:28:55

    It did indeed make me smile πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 24, 2014 @ 04:41:56

      I am glad Ms Chica. My job here is done πŸ™‚ Have a Christmas drink for me please. I will raise a glass to all of my good online mates tomorrow and will give thanks that I am such a lucky bugger to have found you all πŸ™‚

      Reply

  9. Linne
    Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:34:19

    Narfie, how did you know I needed more posts to follow? Just wondering . . .

    Those tips are hilarious, especially #6, where she ‘kinda eyeballed’ a quick fix for making powdered sugar. So me, I thought . . .

    I loved those wee houses and maybe next year, if someone would please tell me that Christmas is coming, I will get around to making some. I was thinking that the larger ones would have made the most gorgeous Christmas village along a mantelpiece (assuming I was living in Downton or the like, of course . . .)

    I guess your Christmas is over, so I hope you are languishing on the deck (if rainless) or indoors (if rainy) and enjoying the fruits of your labours. ~ Linne

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:56:43

      I just watered the garden, Steve is fixing my wind chimes and I am thinking about attacking the leftovers from Christmas for lunch. All in all a most successful Boxing Day effort methinks πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

