Ta-Da!

Hi All,

Yes I know that you are all eager to see what Stevie-boy and I made for our daughters Christmas presents (and some of you have already scrolled down to see…sigh…) but first, I would like to share what some enterprising camera phone person managed to capture of the concert that our daughter Bethany and I were part of on Wednesday night. Ben Folds is an amazing performer and so is the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra. Combined they made for a magic night that I will remember for a very long time. As an audience you tend to be spectators only but we were all part of this awesome conglomeration of sound and in this small captured part of this wonderful night you get to hear the moment when an audience becomes proactive in a performance. I was one of the choir ;)…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0hHzQ_6cu8

Now where were we? OH that’s right…you wanted to know what Stevie-boy and I made for our daughters gifts (To my dear constant readers who just couldn’t wait…hang your heads in shame!)

We removed most of the dead and dying photinias that blocked our chooks view of the river. Merry Christmas chooks!

We removed most of the dead and dying photinias that blocked our chooks view of the river. Merry Christmas chooks!

Now the little mulberry and mandarin trees (that you can see at the bottom of this image) can get full sun as well as this lovely view :)

Now the little mulberry and mandarin trees (that you can see at the bottom of this image) can get full sun as well as this lovely view 🙂

Not sure if this tangled mass is a real passionfruit vine but down on the junction between the outside chook coop netting and the rock wall there are 2 nests. The chooks don't know that I know that they are there ;)

Not sure if this tangled mass is a real passionfruit vine but down on the junction between the outside chook coop netting and the rock wall there are 2 nests. The chooks don’t know that I know that they are there 😉

Certainly looks like a real passionfruit flower to me and that bee is certainly making the most of it

Certainly looks like a real passionfruit flower to me and that bee is certainly making the most of it

Well firstly, neither Steve nor I won the booze voucher. It seems we got the brief wrong but as I learned so much about the process of making amigurumi dolls I am counting that my reward and Steve just painted a friends front room and got given a carton of beer so he is counting that as “his” reward so we are square :). As I just revealed, my gift to my daughter involved me learning how to single crochet, how to follow a pattern, how to freestyle on said patterns and how to make a set of Korean K-Pop band members from one of Madeline’s favourite bands, Big Bang. I shared this video with you a while ago and it’s from this video that I took my clothing challenge. No small challenge indeed. I will let you refresh yourselves with what I set myself up for…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAbokV76tkU

My amigurumi interpretation of Big Bang

My amigurumi interpretation of Big Bang

Bethany's lovely lacquered box. The Korean letters in the top right hand corner of the lid say "Beth"

Bethany’s lovely lacquered box. The Korean letters in the top right hand corner of the lid say “Beth”

The box is perfectly straight, the lines in the wood give an optical illusion of wonkiness ;).

The box is perfectly straight, the lines in the wood give an optical illusion of wonkiness ;).

Handmade Blackwood chop sticks and an insert that separates the box into 2 sections along with a hand wood burned "Noodle box"  and "Rice box" plaque.

Handmade Blackwood chop sticks and an insert that separates the box into 2 sections along with a hand wood burned “Noodle box” and “Rice box” plaque and the pretty little padlock that we found online.

Food contents of the box before wrapping

Food contents of the box before wrapping

Now before I started this challenge, I could crochet a UK treble (U.S. double) crochet stitch and that was it. I created granny squares and lines of straight treble crochet and that was IT. This challenge saw me hovering around the crochet tutorials from various wondrous crochet sites and learning a lot of things from scratch. If you are determined, you can find what you are looking for online and my determination was rewarded with some really excellent basic patterns that allowed me to do what I wanted to do. I wanted proper hands on the dolls because the band members wear a lot of rings etc. and I wanted to be as authentic to the original band (in the above music clip) as I could so I found a wonderful pattern for a “human amigurumi” doll here…

http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=426553.0

This doll was pretty much what I was after in a body but I wanted hands and this led me to this awesome pattern…

http://kimlapsley.blogspot.com.au/2013/07/amigurumi-hands.html

Once I had made the dolls I needed to dress the dolls and I needed suits. I found this overcoat pattern that I adjusted to my needs and this “dolls jeans” pattern that worked wonderfully for pants with a bit of juggling.

http://pixelatedmushroom.blogspot.com.au/2010/07/john-barrowman-big-and-cuddly-free.html

http://pixelatedmushroom.blogspot.com.au/2010/11/matt-smith-big-and-cuddly-doctor-who.html

http://byhookbyhand.blogspot.com.au/search/label/Basic%20Amigurumi%20Doll

(Scroll down to “Basic jeans” pattern and right click on the link that will open a download box)

I was just hunting for the jeans pattern (retrospectively) to share with you and found this excellent downloadable pdf that includes straight leg jeans. I wish I had found this a few months ago!

http://www.redheart.com/files/patterns/pdf/LW2704.pdf

DSCF8792 DSCF8737

Although I got the order wrong, here are the parts of the dolls crocheted separately and then put together ready to be turned into whoever or whatever you like

Time to give them all hair

Time to give them all hair

I had to work out how to represent a mohawk or three when making the dolls. I ended up sewing on the shaved part and hand hooking the rest. I think it worked out pretty well. I used the video of "Fantastic Baby" to make sure I got all of the tiny details correct

I had to work out how to represent a mohawk or three when making the dolls. I ended up sewing on the shaved part and hand hooking the rest. I think it worked out pretty well. I used the video of “Fantastic Baby” to make sure I got all of the tiny details correct. Here you can see the back of Taeyang’s head (on the laptop)

 

This is the start of Daesung's hair. He was the only band member without some form of mohawk and I hand knotted his entire head of hair so that I could attempt to make his hair style. I am NOT a hairdresser so it is lucky that he looked anything like he was supposed to ;)

This is the start of Daesung’s hair. He was the only band member without some form of mohawk and I hand knotted his entire head of hair so that I could attempt to make his hair style. I am NOT a hairdresser so it is lucky that he looked anything like he was supposed to 😉

I think he looks pretty good with a full head of hair but that wouldn't be representative of his hair in the video so I had to cut it (cut version further down in this post)

I think he looks pretty good with a full head of hair but that wouldn’t be representative of his hair in the video so I had to cut it (cut version further down in this post)

I made ties and bow ties from cobbling other patterns together and jewellery from a selection of costume jewellery, brads and jewellery fixings that I bought for 10c a packet from Spotlight about 5 months ago. One of the dolls needed an interesting selection of arm armour and I was having trouble working out how to make it until I found a large empty can that once contained German non-alcoholic beer on the side of the road on a recent walk with Earl and knew that it’s very thin sides would be perfect for moulding into this armour. I learned HEAPS from this project including how to suck up defeat and move on ;).

I bought a string of spiked studs to make Taeyang's arm armour and the piece of metal that I am working with here came from an aluminium can

I bought a string of spiked studs to make Taeyang’s arm armour and the piece of metal that I am working with here came from an aluminium can. I made holes in the metal and carefully pushed the studs into it

The first part of the armour (see the finished results further down in this post). I used small silver brads to hold most of this armour together.

The first part of the armour (see the finished results further down in this post). I used small silver brads to hold most of this armour together.

G-Dragon needed a cane and so Steve cut me a length of metal from a bbq fork that he was taking to the tip. I used a length of old costume jewellery "chain" to wrap around it and used jewellery findings that I bought from Spotlight to make the top and bottom of the cane.

G-Dragon needed a cane and so Steve cut me a length of metal from a bbq fork that he was taking to the tip. I used a length of old costume jewellery “chain” to wrap around it and used jewellery findings that I bought from Spotlight to make the top and bottom of the cane.

Stevie-boy stuck with what he is good at and made our youngest daughter Bethany a lovely lacquered wooden box from dressed pine. He put a lot of effort in to making sure the finish was perfect and sanded and recoated the box many times in order to get this finish. I wood burned “Beth” into the inside top right hand corner in Korean and he made a pair of Blackwood chopsticks to add. He then bought several packets of Korean ramen and specialty sticky rice and Forbidden black rice to add to the box. It was topped off with a lovely gold-tone padlock and pretty key that we sourced online.

This is Seungri. His hair was quite difficult to make but he didn't need a shirt so he was one of the easier dolls to finish

This is Seungri. His hair was quite difficult to make but he didn’t need a shirt so he was one of the easier dolls to finish

My attempt to add earrings using thin Jewellery findings and Steve's clever idea to use 1 earring backs for a dual piercing.

My attempt to add earrings using thin Jewellery findings and Steve’s clever idea to use  earring backs for a dual piercing.

Not exactly the same as the rings that Seungri wears in the Fantastic Baby video but sometimes you have to wing it with what you have. Each ring was made from silver pen inserts (none of our pens work now ;) ) and costume jewellery and silver brads

Not exactly the same as the rings that Seungri wears in the Fantastic Baby video but sometimes you have to wing it with what you have. Each ring was made from silver pen inserts (none of our pens work now 😉 ) and costume jewellery and silver brads

T.O.P. with his overcoat open to show his black shirt and jeans along with his knee high boots

T.O.P. with his overcoat open to show his black shirt and jeans along with his knee high boots

This hat took me quite a long time to get right. I am still not entirely happy with it but it looks pretty much like the hat in the video so there comes a time when you have to say "that'll do!"

This hat took me quite a long time to get right. I am still not entirely happy with it but it looks pretty much like the hat in the video so there comes a time when you have to say “that’ll do!”

Daesung with his hair cut (take note, don't ask me to cut your hair...EVER! ;) )

Daesung with his hair cut (take note, don’t ask me to cut your hair…EVER! 😉 )

Daesung from the back to show the detail on the suit

Daesung from the back to show the detail on the suit

Steve made me a throne for G-Dragon. I think he deserved it after having to put up with me hand hooking all of that hair onto his head. His outfit took me a long time to make and involved more of that foreign "sewing" (sewed black lines onto a white suit) and adding star brads to make it more like the costume in the video. He has pointy shoes as well as a belt and a neclace

Steve made me a throne for G-Dragon. I think he deserved it after having to put up with me hand hooking all of that hair onto his head. His outfit took me a long time to make and involved more of that foreign “sewing” (sewed black lines onto a white suit) and adding star brads to make it more like the costume in the video. He has pointy shoes as well as a belt and a necklace. You can get an idea of how big the dolls ended up being by using Stevie-boys hands for scale.

I have been working on these dolls for so long now I miss them and think I might just have to make some more for a future give away for the blog. I thought about making a Christmas Elf to give away but then time got away from me and as many of you live far FAR away, it wouldn’t have panned out. At least I have something that I can make now to give Stevie-boy a bit of a rest from all of that spoon making 😉

Taeyang completed

Taeyang completed

He has the word (Album title) "Alive" shaved into the back of his hair. I can't sew so it is amazing that I was able to replicate this. A lot of determination (and swearing) went into this part  ;)

He has the word (Album title) “Alive” shaved into the back of his hair. I can’t sew so it is amazing that I was able to replicate this. A lot of determination (and swearing) went into this part 😉

I used Jewellery findings to make earrings. I didn't add mouths to my dolls because I wasn't confident that I would be able to make them look good.

I used Jewellery findings to make earrings. I didn’t add mouths to my dolls because I wasn’t confident that I would be able to make them look good.

I love Kim Lapsley's pattern for hands. It took me a while to work it out but once I had made a few I loved how they personalised the dolls. Kim is an Aussie and I am VERY grateful for her generosity in sharing this awesome pattern with us all :)

I love Kim Lapsley’s pattern for hands. It took me a while to work it out but once I had made a few I loved how they personalised the dolls. Kim is an Aussie and I am VERY grateful for her generosity in sharing this awesome pattern with us all 🙂

I made Taeyang's belt and finished it off with an earring that I found. I have NO idea what those characters say so if it's rude, and you can read it, please PM me! ;)

I made Taeyang’s belt and finished it off with an earring that I found. I have NO idea what those characters say so if it’s rude, and you can read it, please PM me! 😉

 

The finished arm armour. This part of Taeyang's costume took me a long time to accomplish as until I worked out how to hold it together with brads, it kept springing open.

The finished arm armour. This part of Taeyang’s costume took me a long time to accomplish as until I worked out how to hold it together with brads, it kept springing open.

I adapted a pattern for shoes that I found online and kept crocheting till they turned into boots. I then sewed laces onto the front. I think they worked pretty well

I adapted a pattern for shoes that I found online and kept crocheting till they turned into boots. I then sewed laces onto the front. I think they worked pretty well. All of the clothes on all of the dolls are removable and were made separately.

Today’s blog post is going to be short in words but long in images. If anyone wants to know anything about how I went about making these dolls or how Steve went about making his beautiful wooden box, please feel free to ask in the comments section below and hopefully we can point you in the right direction for how to get similar results. There was a fair bit of “winging it” involved on my behalf. The next blog post is for the day before Christmas, a special time for Scandinavian people and small children. We should have finished making our annual pork pies and this year’s new addition to the Serendipity Farm Christmas table, a great big Rum baba with homemade mascarpone cheese.  See you next week and here’s hoping that all of your Christmas preparations go smoothly, cheaply and easily (HA!) ;).

Cinnamon salt dough prior to cutting out

Cinnamon salt dough prior to cutting out

Bits and pieces of recycled (those cane balls were free) bits and bobs to be turned into Christmas decorations extraordinaire!

Bits and pieces of recycled (those cane balls were free) bits and bobs to be turned into Christmas decorations extraordinaire!

Ready to go into the dehydrator. We remembered to add holes at the last minute ;)

Ready to go into the dehydrator. We remembered to add holes at the last minute 😉

Some oca sprouting that the plant lady up the road swapped with me for some cucamelon babies. I had 19 babies so I didn't mind :)

Some oca sprouting that the plant lady up the road swapped with me for some cucamelon babies. I had 19 babies so I didn’t mind 🙂

Lastly, one of our resident black cockatoo's on guard in a Blackwood wattle that Steve was lucky enough to catch before he winged his way off to the back block.

Lastly, one of our resident black cockatoo’s on guard in a Blackwood wattle that Steve was lucky enough to catch before he winged his way off to the back block.

72 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cathyandchucky
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 17:03:22

    Those dolls are amazing Fronkiii! Honestly, how did you stay sane making them? I adore Beths box as well. Would love them both 😄.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 17, 2014 @ 21:38:42

      Thank you Pinkiii 🙂 I am not entirely sure that I AM sane after making them ;).

      Reply

      • cathyandchucky
        Dec 17, 2014 @ 21:48:39

        As I’ve said before Fronkiii, you and Steve are both very gifted and talented. You should train as a teachers aid and go into schools and teach kids art!

      • narf77
        Dec 18, 2014 @ 04:31:11

        When I think “art teacher” I think Lynda Halse and she was one talented girl. I don’t think a neurotic middle aged woman who would be fired after a week for having apoplexy at the naughty students in her class ;). I think (in my case) it is more that I had a challenge, I needed to meet it and I found ways to do it. I think a lot of “talent” out there is just someone finding a way to do what they want/need to do. There are some truly amazing artists etc. out there that make this stuff up. I am a magpie who is getting pretty good at following their lead ;). I am really glad that I learned to make these dolls though. You want to commission me to make Jason a Cthulhu for next Christmas? 😉

      • cathyandchucky
        Dec 18, 2014 @ 09:52:40

        Yeah! He’d be stoked Fronkiii!

      • narf77
        Dec 18, 2014 @ 09:56:51

        Maybe I could make Jason with Cthulhu on his head like that beard guy? Couldn’t get more personalised than that! 😉

      • cathyandchucky
        Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:19:26

        Yes oh yes! Do it!

      • narf77
        Dec 19, 2014 @ 03:41:44

        😉

  2. thecontentedcrafter
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 18:28:37

    Great Scott! Those dolls are huge! I thought they were teeny tiny little things, but judging from Steve’s hands, they are what – maybe 10″ high – or more?

    I LOVE that you say the learning is your reward, because it is! You may NEVER, NEVER EVER again say to me that you are not artistic or crafty. You have done the most amazing job of creating in doll form an homage to a band that means something to your daughter. The hours of work, perseverance, determination and creativity is quite simply awe inspiring! I know I wouldn’t even have attempted it. {Especially as I tried and find I really do not care at all for Korean pop bands or their music. It’s probably a generational issue 🙂 ] [Why are your daughters so enamored of things Korean?]

    I do hope you will continue to create like this – who knows where it might end up! And please do us an elf giveaway for next Christmas – that would be super cool!

    Steve’s box is also very beautiful. When he made me the spoon you told me he lets the wood speak to him – you can see that something quite special happens. The inserts are beautiful – the design – hell, the whole idea, is really special.

    Well done to both of you – a fabulous initiative, beautifully carried through. Be proud! 🙂

    It’s so easy for us to find out what someone wants, go to the shop and buy it. Or not even bother to do that – give ’em some cash in a card and let them go buy it themselves………. but to be given something that has been especially crafted just for them – made with so much care and thought and determination and imbued in every stitch, every angle with pure love is a gift that lives and lasts a lifetime! It’s not just dolls and a box it’s much, much more – it’s the Christmas message tied up with a bow! xoxo

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 17, 2014 @ 21:41:35

      It is amazing what a whole lot of stubborn determination will do for someone who doesn’t know what they are doing Pauline ;). If I hadn’t found those awesome patterns from those most generous crafty people (and the tutorials for the basic stitches etc.) I wouldn’t have had the first clue how to even start these dolls. Thank you for your very generous and kind comments. We loved making these gifts and got a whole lot out of problem solving, enjoying the process and learning all kinds of skills in the process. You don’t get that when you pick something off a shelf xoxoxo right back attcha and I should have recovered by next Christmas to make a Christmas Elf giveaway 😉

      Reply

    • Born To Organize
      Dec 20, 2014 @ 14:47:23

      Fran, what an extraordinary gift. The attention to detail and the remarkable likeness to the real deal is something else. That you took yourself from a simple crocheter to someone that could create three dimensional dolls is simply wow! I saw the single doll you posted on Facebook, but had no idea before reading today what you had been up to.

      I’m with Pauline: an elf giveaway next year would be so much fun. Kudos!!!

      Reply

      • narf77
        Dec 20, 2014 @ 18:10:00

        🙂 Thank you for this lovely comment Alys. As I mentioned, I learned a whole LOT in this process and I learned how to think outside the box when it comes to crochet and am a lot more comfortable experimenting now. I think I will do a giveaway in the New Year of a personalised doll for the winner. It could be great fun 🙂

      • Born To Organize
        Dec 21, 2014 @ 03:25:35

        It’s always fun ‘here’. You have a wonderful, conversational style.

      • narf77
        Dec 21, 2014 @ 05:51:48

        Its all of those muses that I channel 😉

  3. foodnstuff
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 19:07:34

    Steve’s box is beautiful as is all his work, but those dolls are something else!! They must have taken ages to do. First prize for lovely, thoughtful gifts. You two should open a gift shop.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 17, 2014 @ 21:43:15

      Thank you Bev, we loved making those gifts. A lot of thought and problem solving went into making them and we seriously got a lot out of making them. The best bit was that they weren’t expensive, just labour intensive and now that I have worked out most of the kinks in the patterns, I can make dolls for friends etc. if they want some. I love learning new skills 🙂

      Reply

  4. brymnsons
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 19:08:01

    OMG! You guys rock, big time!! The dolls are amazing, such a lot of work Fran. You must be chuffed. I just love them, how sad to have to give them away, but I bet she was blown away too. I love, love, love the box. The finish is just beautiful and all the little bits and chopsticks too, wow. I’m thinking gift shop with unique gifts and you guys would be swamped with orders. Fantastic effort. What did they do for you guys?? I think you both won lol. xx

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 17, 2014 @ 21:45:07

      🙂 BIG hugs Kymmy for praising us up so much our heads are so fat they don’t fit through the door any more ;). Glad you liked the dolls. Let me know when the grand kids are imminent and I will start crocheting custom dolls! ;). I am having a little break at the moment but miss the process of making them so might just have to make some more pretty soon, they were a lot of fun to make and you know what they say, if you don’t use it, you lose it! 🙂

      Reply

      • brymnsons
        Dec 23, 2014 @ 01:45:12

        Oh you do deserve those fat heads lol. My Grandies will be truly spoilt :D.

      • narf77
        Dec 23, 2014 @ 04:03:37

        I am serious. Oh, pity I didn’t have these “skills” when Sarah was getting married! I could have made them each a doll! Maybe for their aniversary? Let me know 🙂

      • brymnsons
        Dec 23, 2014 @ 19:08:56

        I had some bobble heads made for their wedding, they were made to look like them, and they were kinda freaked out by them so not sure how dolls may go down lol. I think it’s an amazing idea but don’t want to waste all your effort if they don’t think so too. Thanks for the kind thought though… I, on the other hand, would be over the moon 🙂

      • narf77
        Dec 24, 2014 @ 04:40:08

        ;). I know when your birthday is 😉

  5. The Snail of Happiness
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 23:02:40

    I am in awe of your skills… you have turned into a crochet goddess! And all the details you have incorporated transform an amazing set of dolls into something even more special. I cannot imagine where you have found the time along with all the outdoor work – do you never sleep?
    I’m wondering how amazing all the other presents were if neither of you won the prize!! What on earth was the brief?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 18, 2014 @ 04:34:05

      Cheers for this lovely comment Ms Snail :). I worked in between studies and outdoor work and had some seriously excellent patterns to work from. There are some amazingly generous people out there (the hand pattern and the base overcoat pattern were both fellow Aussies 🙂 ) that made this job a whole lot easier and without them pointing in the right direction I wouldn’t have been able to do this. It is amazing what a bit of determination and the will to succeed will do for you. Glad you liked them, they are a niche market 😉

      Reply

  6. Chica Andaluza
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 05:28:32

    Bloody hell – the two of you are amazing! So creative, so patient and I love all the recycled bits and bos you used. Stunning – so why didn’t you win the booze vouher? And who did and what on earth did they come up with? I love what you did, and I know your daughters did too 🙂

    Reply

  7. The Twisted Yarn
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 07:57:16

    Oh. My. Goodness.
    The crochet dolls! They’re breathtaking! What’s with all this can-only-crochet-trebles nonsense?! And the attention to detail is amazing. Love the hair and jewellery. OK so I’m not very au fait with K-pop, other than humming Psy’s Gangnam Style and knowing that the Korean government is enthusiastically promoting it, but these chaos look cool. Your daughter will be so impressed. And tell Stevie-boy, the wooden chest is a masterpiece.
    (Now I need to listen to the Youtube clip which includes you singing, but I’m away from home and on my micro cellular contract so will have to wait.)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 18, 2014 @ 09:19:27

      Before this challenge I COULD only crochet trebbles. That was my one and only crochet party trick. I didn’t even know how to crochet singles and had to look up how on Youtube (on the shame!) As I mentioned here, determination to do something is 99% of the job done and the rest came from those seriously awesome pattern shares that made it all possible. I was really happy to note that a lot of them came from Aussie crafters and that we have a really good amigurumi community right here out in the outback antipodes :). Hopefully, if they ever stumble over these dolls they will realise how very grateful I am to them for their generosity in making those patterns freely available :). I take it you meant “chaps” look cool not “chaos” but seriously, that hair was complete chaos to try to replicate so maybe it’s more appropriate than the original meaning ;). Narf is one of that crowd. I am sure you will be able to pick me out from among the throng 😉

      Reply

  8. quarteracrelifestyle
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 09:43:52

    Fran, the dolls are amazing! And the box is gorgeous, what a creative and truly lovely gift! Very impressive!!!!!

    Glad you enjoyed the concert 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 18, 2014 @ 09:56:04

      Had a ball, once in a lifetime concert Wendy and so glad I went :). Cheers for the feedback on the dolls. I tried really hard to make them as authentic and personalised as I could. I am pleased with how they turned out and Steve did a wonderful job on that box as well 🙂

      Reply

  9. Littlesundog
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:44:43

    OH MY GOSH!!! Fran, those dolls – what an absolute labor of love! I can’t even speak at the moment – my jaw has dropped! I used to crochet a little a very long time ago and I know what kind of work went into those – especially being a bit of a novice. Fran, I am so very proud of you. And that trunk/box is gorgeous… just beautiful! A treasure box to cherish… made with loving hands. You two are so thoughtful and loving.

    I’d better do something about my jaw now. 😀

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 19, 2014 @ 03:44:03

      Thank you for your lovely comment Lori. I loved learning how to make those little guys and they all had individual personalities even though they were created from the same pattern. I think that’s the amazing thing about homemade gifts, they are always unique due to the makers little personal touches. I am glad you liked them and I am having a giveaway in the New Year where I am going to give one of my dear constant readers a personalised doll of their choice. It would be fun to make a Lori doll 🙂

      Reply

  10. christiglover
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 14:05:08

    Action figures! Lol These are a riot. Genius. Love in every stitch. And I agree with Pauline, they’re huge! Their hair and jewels and little hands, I love it all. Madeline will LOVE it. Steve’s box is magnificent as well. I love boxes. Especially well made ones with silky finishes and locks and a purrrrpose. Maybe it’s a feline thing, eh? Bethany will LOVE it. Thanks for sharing such an upper Christmas post, gifts from the heart. Mele Kalikimaka! (Merry Christmas in Hawaiian) xo

    p.s. We have passion fruit on our acre! Here in Hawaii it’s called Lilikoi.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 19, 2014 @ 03:47:22

      You inspire me with your Hawaiian Christmas greetings Ms Christi. You have passionfruit? Yummy! Ours is probably feral but it looks different to the banana passionfruit flowers on the property so I am growing it to see what turns out on the vine. You never know (I probably do, but I am an optimist 😉 ). Glad you liked the dolls and the box. We tried really hard to make something that the recipient would love. I learned a heap of new skills in the process and love that I can now make dolls for friends and family, always good to have a new skill or two. Avagoodn’ that’s narfanese for Merry Christmas 🙂

      Reply

  11. Robbie
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 04:07:13

    I agree with all the comments above-really wonderful. I agree-you are very crafty + artsy-don’ t ever say you are not! My internet was down for several days since the entire metropolitan area was down-crazy, I know. It was for about two days. It seems some stuff would load but others would not–but unllke you, I stared at my creative projects + did not do anything-to be honest been chasing my grandson around ( he is 17 months) and my middle daughter is finishing nursing school, so we have had him a lot-
    LOVE your photos of your “views” really paradise there you live in!
    Keep on making-those are amazing:-)
    You both are so talented! I am starting to sound like a broken record here:-)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 19, 2014 @ 04:45:30

      LOL a most welcome broken record Robbie and I am amazed that you can even still type after racing around after a 17 month old. I remember a friend bringing their 2 year old daughter to visit a few years ago and being totally and utterly exhausted ourselves when the visit finished let alone their poor dad who had to live with that every single day! ;). Hugs and have a fantastic Christmas 🙂

      Reply

      • Robbie
        Dec 19, 2014 @ 05:02:04

        You too-lol-yeah, I rode almost 30 miles last saturday along the river with a friend + I was not even tired until….the GRANDSON came + I was on the couch for the rest of the day-lol…that is why young people have babies + we stop breading-lol!!!!
        ditto to you-happy one to you and all your furry buddies

      • narf77
        Dec 19, 2014 @ 05:21:14

        Just commented on your post 🙂

  12. Robbie
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 04:07:38

    + Merry Christmas to you all + Happy New YEAR!!!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 19, 2014 @ 04:46:43

      Happy New Year to you all as well :). Thank goodness we have a nice cool weather forecast for Christmas Day and it might even rain. Considering it could have been 40C and sweltering on the deck, I like my chances of seeing Christmas out fully clothed ;). Not so sure about the New Year though, it will probably be hot by then!

      Reply

  13. jem arrowsmith
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 08:48:16

    Wow, these gifts are just amazing! Your attention to detail on the dolls is incredible with all the tiny jewelry and accessories, and the box is just beautiful.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 19, 2014 @ 15:06:17

      Cheers Jem, before I started the doll project I could only do trebles (doubles U.S.) and had NO idea how I was going to make them but there are amazing patterns out there for just about anything if you look hard enough. Thank you for your lovely comments 🙂

      Reply

  14. cityhippyfarmgirl
    Dec 19, 2014 @ 14:04:45

    So amazing. I’ve got the biggest smile on my face just seeing all your gorgeous hand made gifts. Did everyone ooohhh and ahhhh for really long periods on seeing it all? I’ve just scrolled up and down, and scrutinised every corner of it all. Absolutely gorgeous! Not enough creativity in my day at the moment…seeing your post makes me want to remedy that.
    Ps. Black cockatoos are my all time favourites.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 19, 2014 @ 15:08:28

      Glad you liked them Ms Cityhippyfarmgirl and did you notice the bit where I made the arm amour out of a discarded German non-alcoholic (is there such a thing?!) can that I found on the side of the road? I had a great time making them and I learned a heap about making amigurumi etc. I am going to have a giveaway in January where the winner gets to choose an amigurumi doll that they would like me to (attempt to) make for them. If you win you will have to think of something fun. Maybe a Valkyrie? 😉

      Reply

      • cityhippyfarmgirl
        Dec 19, 2014 @ 21:32:28

        Sigh…Ive just spent far too long looking up amigurumi people. So much talent out there! I think a Valkyrie is an excellent idea…I actually can’t think of anything to top that!

      • narf77
        Dec 20, 2014 @ 05:17:18

        You have just done what I did when I first though of my idea to make the entire band amigurumi style. I love the clean lines and simplicity of it but all of that single crochet makes it take quite a while to create. I must admit, there is a great deal of satisfaction creating something that looks like that and I must also admit to being a teeny bit addicted to it now. Stevie-boy found this gorgeous pattern while he was looking for a pattern for Krampus. As a Nordic queen you would be well aware of who Krampus is but Steve found one in his searches online for something and someone had created it amigurumi style! This gorgeous search was part of his search for a pattern for me to make it for him…

        http://www.knitaholics.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/20120304-ew-haekeln-nana-EN.pdf

        Here’s the amigurumi Krampus that Stevie-boy is lusting after…

        https://www.etsy.com/listing/89762670/custom-krampus-antigurumi-amigurumi-set

        Holy MACKERELS I just saw how much the creator was charging for her work! Hopefully your kids have all been good. The alternative is terrifying! Have you ever checked out “Krampus” on Youtube?! Those Germans are very strange people!

      • cityhippyfarmgirl
        Dec 20, 2014 @ 05:58:25

        Holy cow Krampus is expensive!
        That Nana however is all kinds of awesome, I wonder if I could pull one of them off?….

      • narf77
        Dec 20, 2014 @ 06:03:08

        See that’s the beauty of amigurumi…there is a gorgeous community of amigurumiites who are out there supporting we clueless to enter the fray and become hopelessly addicted. Nana looks gorgeously possible. After seeing photos that Steve took of the dogs and I on a hike in Hollybank yesterday I fear I have “become” nana! EEK! The only thing missing is the boobs :(. Oh well…best get crocheting. I think I am going to bedeck the top of our new tree with a nana Christmas Angel this year…

  15. aFrankAngle
    Dec 20, 2014 @ 00:09:48

    Oh my … not only are you a high-level quip master, you’re also a master with your hands. Well done! … and I hope you didn’t forget the Made in Tasmania label.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 20, 2014 @ 05:09:48

      Its amazing what a bit of grit, stubborn refusal to be bewildered and sheer unmitigated angst will do for learning new skills Mr Frank. I was “Made in Western Australia” so am an interloper here in Tasmania to be honest so won’t be jumping on that old band wagon ;). Glad you liked my efforts. I am going to have a giveaway so that my dear constant readers can take advantage of my newfound skills in the New Year and will give away a customised doll to the winner. They get to choose what I make so goodness only knows what I will be asked to create. My dear constants are a crazy lot and are likely to ask for the moon and stars. I bet my sister Pinkiii wins. If she does, I will have to make a lifelike representation of her husband with Cthulhu on his head. OH the tangled web we weave when first we learn a new crochet skill! 😉

      Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 20, 2014 @ 05:19:17

      By the way, cheers for following the blog. You might need therapy after reading it but whatchagonnadoeh? 😉

      Reply

  16. Sue Dreamwalker
    Dec 20, 2014 @ 08:16:39

    Oh my Oh MY…. Double WOWser.. 🙂 I held back and didnt scroll down while I read and went through your post.. I have to say I had not even heard of this Band.. But what an AMAZING!job you have done.. I so love all your attention to detail.. And to learn various stitches and adapt a pattern.. I am seriously IMPRESSED.. VERY IMPRESSED..
    And Stevies lacquered box.. is something that will also be treasured and so love those plaques and chopsticks.. and goodies inside too.. .. I Know your daughters will love them.. 🙂
    And what a view you have revealed too.. I had no idea you looked out on such a fantastic view … Glad you remembered to put the holes in the salt dough.. 🙂 I remember forgetting to do that some years ago.. LOL… I didn’t make half as many as you have though.. 🙂

    The wait was well worth it and I think you can be well proud both of you…

    Happy Christmas to you and Enjoy your family time of togetherness.. Sending you Love and Hugs and Many thanks for your wonderful visits and comments..
    Blessings Sue xox ❤

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 20, 2014 @ 18:08:27

      Thank you Sue I loved learning all of those new skills and now I can make custom dolls whenever I need to. They make interesting gifts thats for sure! ;). Merry Christmas to you all and here’s hoping you have a really fantastic 2015. You can bet your booty I will be visiting in the new year 🙂

      Reply

  17. Born To Organize
    Dec 20, 2014 @ 14:49:40

    PS I got so caught up in the dolls, that I failed to say that I admire Steve’s work as well. What a beautiful box.

    Reply

  18. Linne
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 15:16:13

    I remember when we first ‘met’, you telling me you weren’t crafty or artsy; ha! you fibbed!!! I am awestruck at the details of the dolls; I’ve done a fair bit of crochet, but nothing that complex. I bow to your superiorness . . .

    As for Stevie-boy, what can I say? You are both very unique artistes. I wish I could have shown those photos of Steve’s work to my Dad; his father was an amazing fine carpenter and Dad would have really appreciated the work, love and care that went into such an amazing gift.

    I noticed that several people have enquired as to who won the voucher and what for . . . do you plan to answer? Enquiring minds want to know . . .

    Thanks for the crochet linkies, too; heaven knows when I’ll have time to pursue another interest, but just in case . . .

    As to the cinnamon ornaments, did you just add cinnamon to regular salt dough? I’ve only made them by buying cinnamon in bulk, then adding just enough applesauce to make dough; shaping them, then drying them in a slow oven. Yours look wonderful. I so prefer hand-made ornaments to bought (except for the lovely glass antique ones such as the ones my Mum and Dad had when I was young. Those were delicate and lovely. Another great post, Narfie; thanks a lot.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2014 @ 17:14:15

      I seriously crochet anything but double crochet before I started this project. It took me ages to pluck up the courage to start making them but when I did I was hooked. I love amigurumi, it’s a great way to make toys :). We just made salt dough with lots of cinnamon (1 cup) in it and it is wafting it’s lovely scent around the lounge room and doing it’s best to make everything Christmassy. Steve is going to make applesauce to go with his roast pork but we don’t make applesauce much otherwise. It’s not a big thing here in Australia like it is in the U.S. etc. I am really touched that you would have shown Steve’s box to your dad. I think it was lovely and am glad that you think so to :). I remember lovely delicate glass Christmas decorations and I also remember them disappearing one by one as we kids accidentally broke them :(. Bezial just licked my elbow to say “Hi to Linne”…Just passed it on boy 🙂 Have a great Christmas Linne and see you in the Christmas Eve post that I still have to cobble together! 😉

      Reply

  19. Margaret Griffin
    Dec 25, 2014 @ 21:53:46

    Hi Fran and Steve,
    What do you mean you got the brief wrong? Who got the brief right and was their gift as awesome as yours? I hope your daughters kissed your feet on being presented with these lovingly made gifts – the like of which I am sure they have never seen before.

    I am embarrassed it has taken me sooo long to read this post and comment but Life has been taking my attention elsewhere.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 26, 2014 @ 03:53:50

      Life has a way of hurtling past you while you are concentrating on other things Margaret. I completely understand as it happens to me all of the time. Please never feel embarrassed about skipping posts etc. That’s the beauty of social media. You can wander off and smell the roses for a while and then you can come back and check up and we are all still here pootling along with life. Much like “Day’s of our Lives”, it’s an ongoing saga that you can leave off and pick up whenever you see fit ;). I hope you had a gorgeous day celebrated however you wanted yesterday Margaret. We had a lovely day on the deck, eating what we liked, drinking what we liked and I even did 2 loads of Christmas washing and potted up some gorgeous seeds a wonderful friend had sent to me for Christmas. I LOVE easy Christmas at home! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

