One man and his dogs

We may mow a meadow today if it don’t rain.. Ok so here is the great steve boy , and I will guide you into this blog post. What I am going to do is a little tutorial on my Christmas tree  design and then I will talk about the week here and what we have been up to . I for one have chopped and split a lot of wood and Fran have finished the great gift at last. No I cant say a word about it but its done J . Ok I need a drink of something here as its Tuesday night and we went out today to sign up for a new exciting course . Cert 4 in digital Media. This consists of playing with lots of cool things and developing phone apps and playing with other cool things and looks like it may be a good year .

Heres a sureal image i made

Heres a sureal image i made

Frans a little nervous but she is very good at all these things when she gets the idea , I am very good but I fiddle to learn which is a very infuraiti8ng way for her to see me do things as sometimes I cant even remember what I have done. I am not a great typist so that’s going to do something next year as I will have to more than likely improve at it …Ok I want a little glass of Sol. Better .. ok where was I then , oh yeah I have been playing in photoshop here a lot of late and as you may know I will be getting a new camera for my 50th so I will become a more prolific photographer, its something g I have enjoyed for years and now with the technology about I can reuse some of my old Nikon lenses with a new state of the art camera.

Same image different look

Same image different look

I have just been online checking out mobile phones with android software and have found one I think we may have to buy as then we can just take the card out of the nokia and use that for the next season of study ( we could use an android device to test apps on ) One problem with Sol beer is it comes in a 940ml bottle but its not a screw cap so I have to drink it all now , shame eh .

the bottom of the drive

the bottom of the drive

Now my Tree , ok I used a threaded steel bolt and some corresponding nuts to tighten it all up at the end , I ran some timber down to about 20mm square and then cut them to some lengths , the length isn’t that important, ok then I made some little spacers of the same wood and they are to separate the branches a bit and allow you to put ornaments on it, I sprayed it green and then voila a tree that you can shape and pose and make look how you like , again we didn’t cut any trees down (personally) in the making of this tree and its flat pack and can be stored any place and if I wasn’t so quick in making it I could have made all the edges nice , or here’s an idea folks used some dowels for the branches and build in the same way … that would look very nice , the possibilities are endless really

The finished article

The finished article

I am sorry about the punctuation I use when I type I’m not a great fan of full stops I like to use commas better , lol  I’m artistic you see and that means I can have free reign over my words and how I use them J I will however spell check this document before I send it to Fran’s blog.

Framed

Framed

The boys are both here with me and they are snoring on the sofa, I have never really owned a dog , I did have one for a short time as a kid but not for long, I love dogs and they seem to like me a fair bit , we ran into a friends dog Bonnie today and she likes everyone I think, but I bent down as she was tied up outside the shops and went close and said hey bonnie and she climbed on my leg . If I ever ( which I never ever will ) left the boys tied up Bezial would jump crazy at anyone that came near him and scare them  and Earl would do his big cute face and melt them and then steal all there treats as well as their hearts. Bezial is a lovely boy but he has issues , many including Fran would say the same of me ,  Bezial hates to walk home and always drags , he loves to splash in puddles and is all-round a good guy, Earl is a great friend and is filled with enthusiasm ( again yes Fran says like me) and would if he had half a chance go mad at the drop of a hat , when I say mad I mean frenzied racing around , barking with exuberism and generally loving what he is .. Earl Dog.  The girls rang the other day saying they wanted to take Qi our little girl to an emergency vet as she had a lump , we didn’t like the sound of it as we feared the worst and she is an adorable little thing , it turned out she had an abscess from a grass seed in her neck or something and she’s going to be ok and may not even have to have a cone of shame on , which is good as we want to take the boys over when we go for Christmas and Qi in a cone would just be way to much fun for Earl to bear lol.

The man himself

The man himself

 

Ok back tomorrow as I’m done today my eyes are sore and I have a headache from lack of coffee ( yes I hear you all say then what are you drinking beer then ) (cause I want to lol)

Ok i am dreaming as i dont have a photography business lol

Ok i am dreaming as i dont have a photography business lol

Wednesday morning, dogs waled back home and I was going to whipper snip the back compound today but as I sit here at 9am its become very dark so I may have to change my plans .

A bit of Frame fun

A bit of Frame fun

Ok I have to spray my tree now so you can have a pic of it, done ok did I mention earlier that you have to drill the dowels at 9 mm? or whatever size rod you get? Ok now I am going to make a base for it , I was going to use a log but I may go and make a base from some wood and spray it green to , I will see how it goes and let you know, but the tree is starting to look a lot like Christmas .

Meika

Meika

Tree is done and I made a new base for it also , whipper snipping’s done to as it didn’t rain today (yet) ok well that’s this weeks blog folks , I have a few images here to attach nothing to good but it’s a small post with a few images, ok bye for now hope you enjoy this break from normality

Launceston on a lovely day

Launceston on a lovely day

 

Steve

 

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecontentedcrafter
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 18:13:46

    Ah Stevie-Boy! How grand of you to write this cheery post while your Fran swans off to visit with Ben! Yo are a whizz in Photoshop – I used to play around in it a few years ago and never achieved anything much. I like the second photo very much – it has the look of a real vintage shot. Also nice to see a photo of Bezial, he usually gets passed over for young Earl, who is clearly Fran’s favourite!

    I like your tree, the idea is pretty clever and I hope you will take a photo when it is all baubled up for us to admire.

    I’m glad Qi is okay, it’s always a worry when the babies get hurt or are unwell. One of my cats once got a burr stuck in his fur and it burrowed into his skin and made a nasty mess.

    You made a great post Steve – but I do wish you would find the full-stop key, I was quite breathless by the time I got to the end 😀 Have a great rest-of-the-week!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:21:11

      Stevie-boy dictating to Fran…”I make everyone breathless, it’s my stunning charm (seriously, he said that! 😉 )…next he said he doesn’t need full stops as he is an “artiste”. The reason you always see pictures of Earl is he is a camera hog and Bezial slinks off whenever we get the camera out. Something to do with his “black soul”. We made cinnamon/salt dough ornaments today, we are working on how to recycle some old wooden finial things that we had on our 4 poster bed (that Steve made) but we removed them when “Bohemian” went out and low ceilings came in ;). Lots of fun over the next few days and “The gifts” are all photographed and wrapped ready for next Wednesdays post when I have to take over again.

      Reply

      • thecontentedcrafter
        Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:54:24

        Bohemian went out? Why didn’t somebody tell me? Now what will I do with my fabulous Tree of Life wall hanging?

        Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha… breathless ….. splutter …. stunning ….. ha-ha-ha …. snort ….. charm ….. bless! Gurgle …… 😀

        I am so excited about seeing the tree dressed up and the pressies – yours must have been pretty good too – maybe even hard to top? Perhaps the young ‘uns might win the bottle of booze.- just a thought.

      • narf77
        Dec 13, 2014 @ 07:15:51

        Bohemian went out when Earl came in…just sayin’ 😉 Yeah, we already thought about our “competition” and we have decided to do what all older people in our position would do…nobble them. I bet you thought we would say “bow out gracefully?” NOPE we worked too hard…nobbling is the go! 😉

  2. brymnsons
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 20:29:03

    Well done Stevie boy, great blog post :). I love the tree, very innovative, but how will you stop Earl from having a munch?? Great photos too. I don’t know if you read my comment on the last post, but that pile of wood was very impressive. You can be proud of that lol. Give Fran an extra hug from me x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:22:53

      (Dictated by Steve to Fran typing so you can read it 😉 ). “The tree goes up 4ft off the ground on a cupboard. Earl isn’t very interested in eating ornaments since he discovered that the ones we put on the bottom of the tree are made of salt dough…That pile of wood is keeping me fit (and in beer). Fran is exhausted after the concert and trying to keep up with the girls and will need a weekend off to recover ;)”

      Reply

  3. cathyandchucky
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 21:39:33

    Steve, you are such a gifted photographer 😄. Loved the one of the yachts at Sidmouth. Love the tree too. Good luck on the course next year.

    Reply

  4. Littlesundog
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 02:30:08

    Hey Steve! I really enjoyed this post – a man’s perspective and logic. I know FD (my husband) would totally approve of the beer “cause I want to”! I hope you have recouped from the headache. Your photography is stunning… and your accomplishments in Photoshop are amazing. I’m excited for you to have your new Nikon. I hope you’ll continue with the guest posts when Fran has to be away. I’m a fan! 😀

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:26:29

      “I always love to post while Fran is away and at other times that she can’t and enjoy having a say but wouldn’t want to do it every week as I don’t have as many words as Fran. Thankyou for the commpliments on the photos. I was looking at your squirrel post the other day (Fran showed me) and your images are awesome. Earl says “Hi” or is it “Howdy Ma’am” 😉 and sorry he wasn’t in this weeks blog post but no doubt he will have done something memorable for the next post (hopefully not eating his weights worth of salt and cinnamon dough decorations and having to have his stomach pumped! 😉 ).

      Reply

  5. Robbie
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 09:32:02

    You + Fran are very talented!! I really liked you photos + have no doubt a photo business may be in the future. Have to admit when winter sets in -photoshop or digital art is a blast + and easy escape when garden duties are not calling:-) Exploring what all those elements can do + layering what can I say, well, It can be addictive!
    Great post + photos:-)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:28:29

      Stevie-boy says “you certainly sound like you have used Photoshop before. You know more than Fran does ;). The media course we are doing next year has the potential for us to make video games. We saw one students efforts and they were awesome. Lots more scope to explore the Adobe suite and lots of the peripheral software that we haven’t touched on today. We are going to sign up for the creative cloud next year but Fran has her hands over her ears yelling “I CAN’T HEAR YOU!” as I say that (funny how she is still typing…must be with her nose 😉 ).

      Reply

      • Robbie
        Dec 13, 2014 @ 00:54:30

        Oh, I got into all of it ( adobe etc) last winter + got a back spasm! lol
        I am not kidding. I was so addicted, I spent hours sitting there playing with all the features and photos. It was fun, but I got a back spasm ( + neck issues)that had me down for a week:-(
        Well,the chair I was sitting in did not help, so I learned about sitting in THE “correct” chair.
        That stuff was so exciting and I did not even have the “newer” versions!
        I learned that I am a person that needs “balance”:-)
        I did get the newer version when I purchased a used computer ( this summer) from a local guy that takes older computers local businesses throw away when they upgrade. He rebuilds them and sells them very cheaply for people like me:-) that don’ t have a lot of money to update all the time. They come with software for your personal needs.
        I now have ( updated) adobe + illustrator + I have been exploring it at times this summer…but not like I did last year-lol-I have an addictive personality when it comes to creating:-) I was in the “flow” with that stuff last winter! Forgot to eat but drank a lot of tea!
        I can imagine how exciting all the stuff you will be doing-video games-WOW—That would be AMAZING. I am not a video game person, but if someone was-I have no doubt you could be lost creating from dawn to dusk+ never change your clothes or come up for air-lol
        You both are so talented, I know it will be AMAZING…..I still want a graphic (wacom) drawing pen for my computer + all that stuff….I have been afraid of myself-what I become! lol

      • narf77
        Dec 13, 2014 @ 07:20:31

        We have a pen but it is a lot easier to use the mouse as we are conditioned to use it. Using a pen is hard to get used to as what you draw is on the screen and it feels foreign for a bit. I quite liked using it and might have to dig it out and mess around with it over the summer period as I think that it would be an asset to this new course. We are both addictive personalities and are slaves to our plant overlords. Steve has made the Adobe suite his “biotch” but I am still wary of it all to be honest and prefer Illustrator to Photoshop if the truth be told. We can all be addicted together and support ourselves in our addictions 😉

      • Robbie
        Dec 13, 2014 @ 07:52:48

        ain’t that the truth:-) lol

  6. quarteracrelifestyle
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 18:26:46

    Nice effects on the photos Steve, I can barely find my way around my camera let alone photoshopping!
    Nice tree too, very cool! I have no idea what Sol is…beer?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:30:19

      Sol is Mexican beer. Fran loves the bottles. Thankyou for the compliments and I have been taking photos for years and learned all of my tricks years ago when I bought a decent SLR camera back when they used film and I messed about a lot with black and white photography and sepia. Luckily we don’t need film now as those specialty films were VERY expensive and I doubt that I could afford them now!

      Reply

  7. foodnstuff
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:24:43

    Hey, Steve, nice to see you here and thanks for the extra info about the tree. I am definitely going to make one, but maybe not in time for this Christmas. I like the idea of a log at the base rather than the timber. How about little notches in the branches to hang ornaments on?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:33:29

      You can get little cup hooks that screw into the pine easily, are hardly noticeable and you can spray them the same colour as the ornaments. We made salt and cinnamon dough ornaments today. I made a really good discovery about the top as I thought that people might want to have different things on top of their tree each year so I drilled a hole and whacked the right sized nut into the hole into a small piece of pine (the same size as the spacers) that fit on top of the long bolt. I then cut a groove in the piece of pine the same thickness as a piece of plywood that I have and then I cut a star out of plywood and whacked it in the groove and screwed the spacer onto the bolt thread. That way I can make angels, stars, snowmen anything I want to put on top of this spacer with a nut on. I thought it was a good idea 🙂

      Reply

  8. christiglover
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 16:04:27

    Wonderful post, Steve! “A break from normality.” LOL You are so dang cute. Your “voice” comes through loud and clear, which is the mark of a good writer, in my opinion.

    I love Bezial the best, I admit it, and now I know why. Issues! Why am I always drawn toward this type?:)

    The tree is genius and I love it. I used your gorgeous wooden spoon tonight with the pasta and it’s still the prettiest kitchen utensil I have. Mahalo (thanks in Hawaiian) for it, again, and hugs to Fran when she returns. xo Christi

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:38:26

      Stevie-boy says (Fran typing, Steve dictating) “AH you made me blush :). I am chuffed that you liked the way that I wrote it. I am glad you love Bezial. He is an awesome dog and he is very loving in his own way. He isn’t as “in-your-face” as Earl so he doesn’t get as much of a look in as Earl does in the blog posts (he also behaves himself so he doesn’t get highlighted as a “naughty dog” as much as Earl 😉 ). He has the brains in this doggy operation and Earl is the brawn. He also doesn’t like getting his photo taken so that’s why we don’t have lots of images of him where Earl loves it. I am glad you are using your wooden spoon. Stay tuned, Fran will be running another giveaway very soon but not for spoons this time! I have a few more ideas for wooden utensils that I am planning and might have something for you in the New Year if you would like. I am wondering if you have run into Dog the Bounty Hunter yet? ;). Our daughters bought some special cans of Hawaiian macadamias for their father this year and the retailer is very remote. I wonder if they are somewhere near you? Fran has been hugged and is most grateful to be back home 🙂

      Reply

  9. Chica Andaluza
    Dec 13, 2014 @ 05:08:13

    Oh those dreaded cones of shame – too awful for any pup 😦 We’re loving you’re tree here in England maybe next year Big Man will make me one. Beautiful photos – love all the different images from one image. And damn those big bottles of beer that just insist on being drunk completely 😉

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 13, 2014 @ 07:23:01

      Yeah, those Mexican’s know their (alcoholic) stuff! ;). Glad people like Stevie-boys tree idea. Its a “Save the trees” idea that comes from being slaves to our plant overlords ;). Qi didn’t end up needing a cone of shame but the girls are now going to have to work out how to keep her from eating grass seeds again. She has a VERY expensive addiction! 😦

      Reply

      • Chica Andaluza
        Dec 13, 2014 @ 08:34:52

        A pal of mine has a dog who eats conkers 😦 It’s cost them a fortune having him operated on…and he’s a boy dog who had to wear the cone of shame several times! That’s from the film Up isn’t it? Which I loved….I was crying in the first 5 minutes.

      • narf77
        Dec 14, 2014 @ 05:41:04

        I was bawling in the first 5 minutes too Ms Chica (Fran, not Steve 😉 ) so we must be truly kindred spirits :). I think that you can judge a person by whether or not they loved/got “UP” 😉

  10. Margaret Griffin
    Dec 13, 2014 @ 18:10:22

    Hi Steve, That is a fine photograph of Bezial – he looks so happy and confident. So often he looks a bit sad and bewildered in photographs. Perhaps Earl is a disturbing influence in photographic sessions.

    I wish you and Fran success in the digital media course – sounds like a lot more time will be spent in front of the computer.

    Have a great Christmas celebration! No doubt lots more Sol will be consumed.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 14, 2014 @ 05:42:13

      Someone who knows what Sol is! ;). Earl does tend to squash Bezial a lot of the time and the only reason he was looking happy and confident was that there was a bag of dog treats being waved in his direction. They say never work with kids or animals… 😉

      Reply

  11. Spy Garden
    Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:45:13

    Love the tree; you’re right it is rife with possibility! Fun to have Steve do a “guest post” of sorts. I shall have to get Smoochie in on that action on Spy Garden. I miss photoshop. I used to use it all the time at work (before I became a nurse, did a bit of graphic design). Alas, now I just use the free photo editing software that comes with windows. My usual MO is: crop. then: turn down the shadows and highlights, turn up the light, and amp up the color saturation and then call it good. Oh and sometimes blur out weeds or powerlines or other unsightly things ahha. Photoshop definitely has more possibilities!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 15, 2014 @ 13:08:51

      With Photoshop you can eliminate the weeds. If you never set foot outside (aka get your partner to take the photos for you) again, you can pretend there is no such thing as weeds 😉

      Reply

  12. Linne
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 14:57:57

    Lovely to see you here again, Steve; maybe you can get Narfie to take more days off and you can sneak in and post? I love that tree; if I had one, I’d not store it under the bed, though; I’d flatten it and then hang it on the wall. It could even have a few seasonal decorations (flowers in spring, etc.). Just thinking out loud here . . .

    That picture of Bezial was so sweet; it really shows all his good nature, doesn’t it?

    Your yacht images remind me so much of the Island (Vancouver Island in BC) or even the Gulf Islands (between Vancouver Island and the mainland). I love that low cloud, almost foggy, look. I can smell the sea now . . .

    Those cinnamon ornaments sound great! Have you ever tried the ones made from applesauce? If you work from scratch, you could even use the green thinnings. Just quarter them, cook them with some water (don’t scorch ’em, though!), then add enough cinnamon to make a dough. I bought my bags of cinnamon at a bulk store here. Once the ornaments are formed, you put them on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and let them cry out in a slow oven. Oh, yeah – remember to form a hole for some string or ribbon to go through. These are also nice to hang on a clothes hanger in the closet; they make the whole thing smell so Christmassy; and now I’m wondering if the same thing could be done with lavender oil and the salt dough . . .

    Well, I’m off now. Hope to see more of your photos and thoughts in future (and your how-to projects, too). Hugs to you and Narfie.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 16, 2014 @ 15:03:30

      Thank you Linne. I don’t like to post much because I am lazy. I like to do things more than think about doing them. When Fran is away and needs me to post I will but as she has now become an official hermit she is unlikely to be leaving the house any day soon.

      Reply

  13. The Twisted Yarn
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 23:35:52

    Your photography is stunning. And I can’t wait to see even more stunning pictures with your new camera. And you live in such a beautiful part of the world. Sigh. More atmospheric pictures, please, whether Photoshopped or not. 🙂
    And your Christmas tree! I am so jealous that I didn’t think of the idea first. Sigh. Genius.
    Sending you cheery Christmassy wishes.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 17, 2014 @ 04:41:40

      I will pass on your compliment to Steve as he is the photographer in the family. I point and click and and hope for the best but Steve actually thinks about photo composition. He will be chuffed that you liked his photos and the tree is all his idea as well. Lots of cheery Christmas wishes right back atcha and I am revealing my hooky Christmas gift that I gave my eldest daughter in today’s blog post. Come back and have a look and let me know what you think 🙂

      Reply

  14. rabidlittlehippy
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 06:40:55

    One man went to mow, went to mow a meadow… 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

