Learning To Speak Squirrel

2 reblogs in a week? Yup…this is a most gorgeous post of care and possibilities and Lori’s amazing photo’s capture the essence of these wonderful little baby squirrels. I hope you enjoy this post as much as I have 🙂

Day by Day the Farm Girl Way...

The week after we acquired Punkin, a five-week-old female squirrel, I received a call about taking in another orphaned squirrel. “Why not?”, I thought to myself. If I was raising one already, how much extra work could two be? Besides, this would provide Punkin a friend to play with.

Two young women brought the little fella to our home. He had just recently opened his eyes. They admitted they had acquired “Gambit” the week before but, after trying to feed and care for him on a regular schedule, it had become more work than they had anticipated. These young ladies told me Gambit had been discovered crying out on the front porch of their Aunt’s house. In the street lay a dead mother squirrel, who had apparently been hit by a vehicle. Whether the baby had made its way down from the nest in search of its mama, or perhaps that the mother was…

View original post 1,590 more words

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecontentedcrafter
    Oct 06, 2014 @ 06:14:32

    I don’t usually take much notice of re-blogs, but this one caught my attention. What a wonderful story – and what good things she is doing on her bit of land. Don’t you wish we had squirrels in our countries?

    Reply

  2. Littlesundog
    Oct 06, 2014 @ 07:20:20

    How nice of you to reblog, Fran! That just made me feel warm and fuzzy all over! I am discovering more and more that not everyone has the experience of squirrels. Unimaginable! Here they are often called tree rats, but I find them a complete delight! Their playful mannerisms and agility leaping and weaving from tree to tree make them some of the most magnificent acrobats I’ve ever seen! Yes, they can become destructive, but with a little warding off – or simple chasing away, they find another place to camp out. I’ve already noticed some gnawing on the back porch – I’m so glad I’m not into a “perfect” porch! 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 07, 2014 @ 04:31:32

      We don’t have squirrels here Lori and I find them delightful. When we went to the U.K. back in 2005 we headed out to a woods near where Steve’s mum lives and we fed walnuts to gorgeous husky big red squirrels. I am not the best shot in the world and accidentally threw a walnut that bounced off one of the squirrels backs and he just looked at me as if to say “c’mon lady…throw it in FRONT of the squirrel, not out back!” ;). A LOT of chutzpah in a little furry package is what squirrels are ;). I had to reblog Lori, I wanted all of my dear constant readers to see what you do, your gorgeous photos and to get a chance to revel in Punkin and Gambini like I just did. Sometimes you gotta share the love around or other people just won’t see it 🙂

      Reply

  3. Chica Andaluza
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 01:00:28

    Awwwww – what a great story!

    Reply

  4. Sue Dreamwalker
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 03:17:13

    Will be running, hopping and climbing my way over the branches to go have a looks see Narf.. Thank you 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 07, 2014 @ 04:45:15

      I loved this post and Lori looks after rescued wild animals in the U.S. and takes the most amazing photos. I hope you loved this post as much as I did 🙂

      Reply

      • Sue Dreamwalker
        Oct 07, 2014 @ 21:27:32

        I did and I told her so. 🙂 Its great when there are those of us who work with nature.. I know there are far more of US than those who seem hell bent of destroying it.. 🙂 Always good to drop by 🙂

      • narf77
        Oct 08, 2014 @ 04:45:34

        🙂 Cheers for that Sue, people like Lori need to be reassured that we all appreciate her kindness and her efforts when it comes to injured wildlife. Thankyou for sharing your thoughts with her 🙂

  5. Yelena
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 04:30:03

    Thank you for such a lovely story!

    Reply

  6. Allotment adventures with Jean
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 07:00:25

    A lovely post, thanks for sharing Narf.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 08, 2014 @ 13:46:34

      You are welcome Jean. I like to share great posts around as it’s hard to get to see most of them in the huge mass of blogs out there and sometimes really excellent posts get swallowed up and rubbish ones turn viral. I like to redress the balance whenever I can 🙂

      Reply

  7. Lynda D
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 22:18:25

    Oh im in love with squirrels. My son asked if we could have one and i had to tell him that ummmm because we dont have them here. He had no idea at 17.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 09, 2014 @ 05:03:03

      I come from Western Australia (lived there for most of my life and was born there) and at the Perth zoo they have a squirrel problem. Someone accidentally let them out and they have been running wild ever since. The local cats keep the population from spreading into the local area but they are rife all through the zoo (but not in the lions cage 😉 ). There is a sign up saying “If you can catch a squirrel, you can keep one”. It certainly kept my sister and brother and I running around trying to catch one on the odd visit that we made up to Perth as kids. I am with your son…I want one as well and I am 51 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

