Happiness is found in simple pleasures

Hi All,

 

It’s 4.30am on Sunday morning. Its 3C outside apparently but inside Chez Serendipity it’s lovely and warm thanks to our amazing woodstove Brunhilda. We have our winter routine down pat now. We dry logs out in her ovens overnight to make hot toasty logs for her gustatory delight the next day. Even if the wood is a little green in places, an overnight toasting renders them perfect for burning. I was just putting a few extra logs on the fire and enjoying the ambiance that a wood fire brings to your home. The small delighted tongues of golden flame that caress the logs as you place them into the firebox, that pure rush of warmth that carries encoded memory for we humans…we have fire, at least one of our happy boxes is ticked.

DSCF1082

If any day was designed to challenge potential happiness it was today. take a look at those grey clouds! We are probably going to get a lot more rain and even thunder storms tonight. WOOT says me because Steve hooked up the pipe system he designed to harness the water from the main roof so now our tank is going to fill to the max 🙂

I was about to close the firebox door and head back to my RSS Feed Reader when I decided to take another few moments to enjoy that blissful warmth and the sense of contentment that was radiating through me and infusing me with happiness. What a simple thing? A fire + a narf = happiness. Put me in the middle of January and give me the same equation and the results would be significantly different however right here…right now…I am happy. What is it that makes us happy? We are led to believe that happiness is something to be aspired to…fleeting…unattainable and if you are selling a product its in your best interest to maintain that line to ensure that your prospective customers keep coming back after the elusive bluebird of happiness but is it really that hard to be happy?

DSCF1077

Do you get the feeling, by their expressions,  that a certain two rear seated creatures just worked out that they weren’t going to get much of a walk in the city today?

I don’t think so. I lead a pretty simple life. I don’t have a lot of “stuff” and I don’t WANT a lot of stuff. What I desire tends to be based more on prospective opportunities to learn things rather than the acquisition of anything in particular. I won’t tell a fib, I DO want a Nautilus wind turbine for our home but that’s not for it’s own sake, that’s to shore up our lifestyle. I guess what I am trying to say is that the older I get, the happier I get. Weird really because society would have me believe that I should be miserable…after all I am getting wrinkles (quell horror!) I am not as youthful as I used to be, the slow decline into oblivion is starting to set in so surely I should be racing out and buying any, and everything that will halt this decline or at least whack an “in stasis” sign on my countenance?

DSCF1068

The white pipe that you see running along the side of the bricks is Stevie-boys ingenious way to harness water from the main, much larger, main part of our roof. We will now have enough area to collect enough water to fill our tank 🙂

I was only saying to Steve yesterday that I have never been more genuinely content and happy in my life as I am right now. I think the older I get the more all of those concepts, those ideas and ideals that I have been formulating and fulminating all of my life are coming home to roost and are finally starting to make sense. About time you guys…I was starting to wonder why I had crammed you into my head for so long…you were taking up precious space that math could have been taking or knowing how to weld or how long is a piece of string…but I digress (my specialty)… I was sitting on a small 2 seater couch that we had purchased from a charity shop specifically for Bezial to lay on next to Brunhilda. My portion of the couch seat was significantly smaller than the other cushion because Earl ate half of it in spite. Note HIS chair hasn’t been eaten in the slightest…there is a lesson here ;). I had a glass of late harvest Riesling (the best of the Rieslings in my opinion…) and was bathing in Brunhilda’s wafting warmth and all of these factors combined made me deeply and incredibly happy.

DSCF1067

Earl dancing with me to “Fantastic Baby” a most wonderful Korean song by my daughters favourite Korean band “Big Bang” that Steve and I are both addicted to. Heres a linkie to it on Youtube if you would like to hear it…Earl says “Fantastic Baby” 😉 (I just realised that I look like half of Santa in this photo…did you know that there are only 161 days 07 hours 14 minutes and 45 seconds left to Christmas in Australia…)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAbokV76tkU

I started to think about “happiness” as something that isn’t elusive, but is perhaps overlooked because our gaze is elsewhere. Maybe happiness is right here all the time? Maybe we just don’t see or experience it because we are too busy waiting for our lottery win, our superannuation payout, our ship to come in and we miss it in our planning for how happy we are going to be when we lose 40kg, when we meet “that man/woman” we get the perfect job…it might have been the late harvest Riesling but I had one of those little moments in life where you just KNOW something profound has gone through your head. Life is full of small moments. We live in those moments. If we are focussing on our lives and living them to the fullest one moment at a time then we have that secret to happiness right there within our grasp. Happiness is being content with who you are and where you are. Happiness is accepting that your life might not be picture perfect and it might be SO far short of the “idea’’ but it’s YOUR life and you are making the best of it…THAT, my dear constant readers is true happiness. You can’t buy it in a jar, it doesn’t come in a golden ring or a Faberge egg or a lottery winning, it comes from inside YOU and we all have that most elusive of abilities built into us, we can be entirely responsible for our own contentment and happiness

DSCF1073

Earl studying design. He has managed to acquire a ruler and has been predominately influenced by dada and that series of light lines on the table in front of him. He contemplated chewing off Bezial’s ear so that he could be like Van Gough but then decided that it was all too much like hard work and went off to clean his private parts…

I can hear people saying “well how can I be happy eh? I have a mortgage…I have to go to work! It’s alright for old narf, she landed on her feet when her dad left her a mortgage free home and she can choose to live how she likes…” true, I was left an incredible gift by my dad. We don’t need a lot of money to live on as we are pretty easily pleased. We don’t aspire to anything aside from the odd Nautilus or new guitar and we know how to save up for years if needs be for these kinds of things. We are money poor, time rich and I do have the time to indulge myself in thought, in taking life at a slower pace than most people and in being able to stop and smell the roses to the max if I feel like it (unless I have been procrastinating all week about my studies and end up having to spend a solid day knocking them out…no time for rose sniffing THEN! 😉 ).

fruitshop Fran

One of my earlier designs created in Illustrator. This is a logo for a fruit shop that we had to create. I initially had a white interior but there were problems with it so I went with the other colour for dragon fruit (Pitaya) which is pink. Hopefully you have been up for a while prior to having to look at this…I appologise deeply if you are now blind.

A persons circumstances can certainly affect how they look at life but I need to point out that some of the poorest people in the world are also the happiest. The less stuff you have, the less going on in your life, the more you live close to nature and adhering to its cycles the happier you are. How many of us have a job these days where we can say “I created something today”. We humans have a deep seated need to create, to learn, to go hunting for new ideas. Our brain cells can only grow if we apply ourselves to learn something entirely new. We have lost track of our true needs in the quest for societal needs and in the process we forgot where to find happiness. It’s in the metaphorical equivalent of a shoebox under the bed folks. It’s a little seed planted inside all of us. The problem is that seed isn’t going to grow unless we nurture it. We need to pay attention to it, water it, let it out and sniff around a bit (happiness is a puppy?!) interact with happiness…take part. Enjoy those simple things and immerse yourself in those simple pleasures. Give yourself permission to live life right now. Don’t put it off till your boat comes in because what if it doesn’t and you have spent ALL of this time waiting for something that never comes? You could be enjoying those simple little moments in life that are just waiting for you to notice them right here…right now.

assignment F2_Page_1

Sorry it’s not a great image but you get my drift and if you click on the image you can see it bigger. We had to create a flyer in InDesign for an International Melbourne Design yearly event. I drew the light-bulb in illustrator and am proud of how it turned out as I used gradients and shading and an outer glow. This is the first page and here is the second page…

assignment F2_Page_2

This is my second page of the flyer project (to be seen as the rear portion of the flyer). I created a word cloud in a program called “Image Chef” where you can create all sorts of word clouds, use your own photos in all kinds of situations and you can make Meme’s that you can use on Facebook, Pinterest etc. I found a mobile phone template, used “design” type words and put a photo that we were required to use in our project as the screen inside the word cloud mobile. I chose to use a most interesting sculpture that stands (somewhere) in Melbourne to finish off my flyer

I haven’t been philosophical for a while but the combination of a good late harvest Riesling and that blissful warmth coupled with a loving dog cuddled up to me, the promise of more Riesling, a meal that I didn’t have to cook and the deep sense of contentment that flowed through me gave me the idea that maybe we all need to be reminded that simple happiness’s are the bomb. Let yourself take the time to pat your dog and really enjoy that moment…give yourself a little treat, whatever takes your fancy and don’t feel guilty about it (unless it involves something nefarious then FEEL GUILTY!), hug your partner, your pet, a tree…hugging is good for your soul. All of those simple moments, that first beverage of the day, knowing that you paid a bill before it was due, seeing your kids getting along, knowing that you have enough money to pay for your groceries next week, simple little moments of pleasure but truly where happiness is to be found 🙂

Postcard F_Page_1

The second part of our Mid Year assessment was to create a post card of “Australian colours”. We were given a lot of freedom in this part to create our own ideas using whatever we wanted. I wanted to recreate a sort of Aussie landscape idea using the colours of Australia. I started with the blue of the sea ranging through white beach sand, darker soil, the red soil of middle Australia and the predominate greens of our wide brown land. I then added a couple of blues for the sky and a dark night sky as well as a sun to make it more obvious that this was a landscape. I decided to leave the black lines in between the coloured layers. If it is good enough for Pro Hart, it’s good enough for Narf! 😉

Postcard F_Page_2

We had to produce a front and back of the post card and this is the back of my card. The text is just blurb that we had to include as part of the assessment. I wanted to add interest to the back of the card and so I washed out the colours on the front and removed the stroke/lines around the colours. The whole idea of a post card is to get someone who is visiting Australia to buy it and send it home. I wanted mine to be VERY bright as that’s part of the battle of the post cards won…”Pick me…PICK ME!” 😉

Well guess who forgot it was Wednesday all over again. Stevie-boy and I headed into town with the hounds this morning to take our car in to be mended (water hose leak) and for Steve to check out a swapsie with another guitar collector of one of his guitars. You may recall the lesson learned last week about scammers, well this man was most definitely not a scammer and invited Steve to his house to test drive the prospective swap and Steve is now very happy with his trade. When we got back we threw ourselves into working on our mid year assessment as it is due on Monday and as Steve is home this week we have been able to spend the hours needed to do this task. Not easy when you both need the same PC to work on but we are learning to share and should graduate to “sharing without having temper tantrums” some time mid next year. These things can’t be hurried you know…

tasmap Fran

I am quite proud of this map. I had to trace around a map of Tasmania and then add a few roads and town names. That was what I had to do for my assignment but narf being narf didn’t want to stop there…I decided to take an existing map of soil types and run with it. Sorry its a small image but because there is so much detail in it, it is HUGE. Steve and I are really starting to enjoy ourselves with Illustrator. It is a wonderful program full of possibilities. The only limit is your imagination

We had some news for Earl while we were in the city. Earl’s favourite tree that he loves to urinate on every single day fell down. He is both sad to lose a good old friend and incredibly happy because he, single handedly, slayed a mighty tree using only the power of his urine. Time to get this post onto the printing presses. I may have to cheat a bit and use some photos that I “prepared earlier” as all of the amazing photos that I was going to take today for you didn’t eventuate because it has rained solid all day BUT in saying that, the rain is now a reason to tap-dance because Steve’s new system is up and collecting a large amount of water from our roof now. Happy days!  Have a lovely and prosperous week folks. Remember to look for your own happiness in those small moments…those simple pleasures, and take happiness where you find it. Don’t wait for magic carpets and lottery winnings and you will soon be happier than you have ever been 🙂

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecontentedcrafter
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 17:14:09

    Well said, quite right and ‘Bravo!’ I love it when you wax philosophical. 🙂 Do you know Bhutan does not measure its wealth in GNP [Gross National Product = $$$$] like the rest of us do? They have GNH – the ‘H’ standing for ‘Happiness’. Now there is a progressive country! And most westerners would be appalled by the living standards, yet the people [I am told, for I have never been] are very happy. Mental illness, addictions and suicide are all extremely rare. Having written all this I now sadly have to add that Bhutan’s latest leader [heavily influenced by the west] is making moves to destroy this form of measuring his country’s success.

    I still don’t really understand all this illustrator stuff you are doing but am impressed with the pictures of what you produce. A skill is a skill and always worth having in my book. I am just a Luddite when it comes to computer programmes I have not yet discovered I need to know about for any particular reason 🙂

    Earl must be almost ready for college soon? I suggest a ‘crude arts course’ as I think the lack of opposable thumbs makes ‘fine arts’ a bit challenging for him. But I may be wrong – if he can rule a straight line anything could happen!

    Great post Narfie! xoxo

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 16, 2014 @ 17:21:29

      Illustrator allows you to take art to the next level and even if you aren’t all that crash hot with the old paint brush or pen or pencil (moi) you can use it to create some pretty wonderful digital images anyway. The creative tool for the masses ;). I am SO loving Bhutan! Time for that despot to be toppled me thinks before he can stuff up all of those centuries of good work! I didn’t understand all of that Illustrator stuff till this year when I was forced (kicking and screaming) to learn it but I must admit, I can see a whole lot of benefit to learning it and to applying it in this neck of the woods so that makes it a much easier thing to learn. You can sell ice to eskimo’s if you allow them to see how it can benefit them ;). Earl is very happy that you recognised his latent talent. He was putting on his most studious face in that photo and says that he doesn’t need opposable thumbs (LOL I never cease to be tickled pink by spell checks desire to change “opposable” to “disposable” thumbs 🙂 ) or rulers, he can create art with just his teeth and a chunk of wood. It might be raining, It might be cold, it might be grey outside, I might be succumbing to a cold, but narf is happy as a church mouse in a mountain of cheese 🙂 (Practicing what I preach 🙂 )

      Reply

  2. The Snail of Happiness
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 19:06:53

    Well said.. I too get happier as I get older!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 17, 2014 @ 04:15:54

      I am just starting to “get” a lot of life lessons. Not sure why 50 is the magic number but in the “getting” I am also gaining an enormous amount of pleasure and happiness in the process.

      Reply

  3. foodnstuff
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 21:47:21

    Love that postcard 🙂 Can Illustrator be downloaded for free?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 17, 2014 @ 04:17:55

      Nope, you have to pay through the nose for it Bev. We had to buy (the student version) last year for our media course which was part of the reason why we took this course this year to make sure that we got the most benefit out of it to make it worth it to us. It certainly allows you to get very creative (The Adobe Suite), especially if you aren’t (like me) particularly able to draw/paint or anything else like that. I am really enjoying learning how to use Illustrator 🙂

      Reply

  4. Margaret Griffin
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 22:03:43

    Hi, ‘Fantastic Baby’ indeed. Those handsome, fit looking young men clearly had access to a team of excellent design artists and stylists to create their eye catching and toe tapping music clip. I don’t know if young musicians would want their music described as ‘toe tapping’ but there you go.

    I appreciate the thought you gave to your comments on happiness. Yes, happiness can be found in the simple things of life. I volunteer at a local community lunch and today happiness was the sound of the fair citizens of Mt. Alexander Shire contentedly munching their lunches whilst engaged in convivial conversation at the Newstead Community Centre.

    Congratulations on the full tank of water.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 17, 2014 @ 04:22:37

      Those handsome, fit looking young men ARE the team of design artists and stylists…most of them are also models that work in the fashion industry and know how to pose, sell themselves to the max and are a very well oiled team indeed 😉 When you have a 49 and 50 year old rocking to your music you have to agree that it spans genres ;). Seriously though at least we can find common ground in our musical taste and our daughters. A good place to start ;). Steve and I used to volunteer with cooking at the local Salvation Army for homeless people when we lived in the city. I completely agree with you about the sound of contentment being convivial communication between people who otherwise might not get together and have a chance to chat and interact :). Simple pleasures indeed 🙂 Tank not full yet but our last couple of days of water have been funneled into the tank rather than flooping off into the drainage system and decamping post haste down into the river. ALWAYS a bonus 🙂

      Reply

  5. quarteracrelifestyle
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 06:28:57

    Oh, I am pleased to hear the guy wasn’t a scammer after all!! 🙂

    I am hopeless with technology and programs such as the “Illustrator” so hats off to you, as a non-computer geek I applaud your savvy in keeping up with all things computer.

    It’s always nice to read of people who have found where they are happiest at 🙂 🙂 I am also at my most contented and it is with the simple things in life, a back to basics little world we have created for ourselves. Not for everyone, other people have different priorities, but good to find what suits us and be comfortable with who we are and where we are at. I recently had a sister and her husband come and stay and I did become a bit anxious beforehand as they are rather well off and live in a very flash apartment in the city – both workaholics and high achievers. We also hadn’t had much to do with each other for many years as our lives were poles apart so I wasn’t sure what to expect. But she invited herself and I know it was to try and develop a better relationship. What we got was a huge amount of genuine interest in what we do from both her and her husband, on the last night a very tiddly sister saying with tears in her eyes “You know, I really envy you Wendy, you have it all”. Made me cry, I had expected judgement from her as I had had in the past but got recognition our rather humble “status” in life was a pretty good thing 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 17, 2014 @ 09:56:43

      And THAT is what makes it all worthwhile 🙂 The guy that Steve swapped with wasn’t the scammer guy, that guy WAS a scammer BIGTIME but he got several genuine replies and ended up swapping with a Launceston man. Our priorities change as we get older and we start to ask ourselves what our lives are worth and living simple genuine lives is what makes this whole life journey worthwhile. Being genuine about ourselves and our simple lives and trying to use love as our mantra (whenever that’s possible sort of like “I LOVE ROBERT DOWNEY JR. now THAT is an easy one 😉 ). You would be surprised who would be envious of your humble lifestyle Wendy and I call that a reconciliation most satisfactorily 🙂

      Reply

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        Jul 17, 2014 @ 13:58:02

        Oh, sorry I misread!!

        I don’t know how many times my sister told us we are living the dream. It surprised me a little as they have the money to do whatever they wish but don’t choose “the dream”. What didn’t surprise me was though that they felt being closer to nature a dream, it seems to be the call of many, an instinctual urge – whether they choose to follow it is another thing.

      • narf77
        Jul 17, 2014 @ 17:42:36

        But at the end of the day its the simple life thats the drawcard…like Barbara and Tom in The Good Life as it’s what resonates with people because it’s how we are supposed to live. Nothing else feeds you like doing what you are meant to do 🙂

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        Jul 18, 2014 @ 05:21:58

        I agree 🙂 I LOVED that program!!

      • narf77
        Jul 19, 2014 @ 03:44:38

        So did we 🙂

  6. teawithhazel
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 09:20:38

    couldn’t agree with you more fran..i get so much pleasure from simple things..and i’m grateful for what i have..and i don’t have a ‘bucket list’ of things i want to do before i die..i can’t relate to that concept at all..i’m doing what i want to do right now..and i’m really happy too..x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 17, 2014 @ 10:04:43

      I have 1 bucket list item. It involves me, a trip to Cape Tribulation in Queensland, my weights worth of tropical fruit and a bib 😉

      Reply

  7. cathyandchucky
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 09:21:39

    Beautiful blog Fronkiii 🙂 . Slowing down and smelling the roses is wonderful. Now I’ve gone week on, week off at work, I’ve relaxed a whole bucket load. When I go to work, the things that made me twitch (and certain people) are no longer an issue as I’ve learned that it doesn’t really matter. I’m still finding it an anxious time by the end of my week off as I am still learning how to do stuff that isn’t necessarily a chore 🙂 . I’m slowly starting to plan what the garden around the renovations are going to look like and comprise of and am getting excited! Just want the plumbers to hook up the down pipes on the Munster Ave side of the house to the storm water pipe then I can get cracking!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 17, 2014 @ 10:06:30

      Can’t wait to read about what you are up to in your garden. It’s probably the first time you have thought of it as really YOUR garden and now you can make it exactly what you want it to be 🙂 The possums ate all of the rose leaves but they left the flowers…go figure! I get to smell the roses without the worry of the leaves covering up the thorns 😉

      Reply

  8. brymnsons
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 12:31:34

    Yes isn’t it funny how we take about 50 years to realise that the simple things in life really are what its all about. Love the photos of the doggies. What expressions they have lol. Unfortunately I can’t see the other photos of your designs :/ I will have a look on the laptop later to see if they are there… Got me another order for a tea cosy so stand by for photos lol. Instead of the crazy cat lady I’ll be the crazy tea cosy lady ha ha 😀
    Happiness is a full tank, whether it be water or wine x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 17, 2014 @ 13:48:55

      If we had a full tank of wine Steve would drown…but he would die happy 😉 I wonder why you can’t see the pictures? They were JPEG’s (regular pictures) and I think everyone else saw them? Hmmm…not sure, a mystery afoot! I am going to call you the crazy tea-pot lady from now on. Bruce probably already does (as well as “the crazy chook lady” 😉 ) but whatchagonnadoeh? 😉

      Reply

  9. christiglover
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 13:57:15

    Terrific blog and comments, too, Fran. Simple pleasures, happiness, yes yes. The fifties have been the best so far for me. And I love the picture of Earl. It looks like a Renoir painting, except it’s Earl, not a girl. And no earring. 🙂 lol I’m completely impressed with your illustrator tech abilities, girl. Hugs and Aloha from Hawaii.

    Reply

  10. brymnsons
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 21:08:59

    I can see them on my lap top 🙂 Love the postcard x

    Reply

  11. Sid's Sea Palm Cooking
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 00:31:19

    I just found you via Chica Andaluza and have now bookmarked you for further reading pleasure. Love your thoughts.

    Reply

  12. Chica Andaluza
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 05:17:33

    It was so good for me to read this – we’ve had a tough week here with some not so good health news for Big Man. Keeping our fingers crossed but staying positive. We do need to be reminded that it’s the simple things in life that make us happy and that one crappy issue aside, I’m with you 🙂 And I did laugh at the start as I mis read what you wrote and thought you’d popped the dogs (instead of the logs) into the oven to dry out!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 19, 2014 @ 03:37:57

      Earl could certainly do with popping into the oven sometimes as he leaves a dog shaped outline on my jute mat ;). Sorry to hear that Big Man has a health problem. At our age we start to get things like this more and more, you are still a spring chook (like Steve) so hugs to Big man and fingers and toes crossed for good news. My cousins daughters little girl has been diagnosed with a rare form of very aggressive brain cancer. The prognosis isn’t good and neither are her chances. She is only 7 and it was a HUGE reminder to stop and smell the roses to me. I find myself thinking about her whenever I get snitty because someone left a dirty coffee cup on the bench or when the dogs track mud into the house or when Steve forgets to wipe his feet…life is too short for twitching the small stuff, we should be making sure that we live every single moment. HUGE hugs to you both…big snuggly winter warm narf hugs. Sorry if I overheat you and my armpits are a bit “French” but them’s the breaks when you hang with narf7 😉

      Reply

      • Chica Andaluza
        Jul 19, 2014 @ 11:13:24

        The hugs are warmly appreciated! Poor little girl and her family – I can’t even begin to imagine what they are going through. You’re so right, we must bless every day that we have and take joy from all the small and wonderful things 🙂

  13. Linne
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 12:30:34

    Great timing, Narfie! You are very wise, methinks. I remember reading “Man’s Search for Meaning” by Viktor Frankl a few years ago; he made a similar point (among others).

    Love the photos of your work (especially the postcard) and of the clouds (magnificent) and of the pups (that first one definitely does not look happy!)

    Now I see your water tank next the house, it looks ginormous! A person could live in one of those (well, with a little insulation and a few shelves built in for lying on, etc.) Hope your roof runneth over soon . . . We got lots of rain today, so the smoke has dissipated a bit and it’s nice and coolish again. The smoke is coming back, I hear, but we also expect thunderstorms and rain pretty much every evening for a week! So I’m happy! Thanks for the lovely uplift . . . ~ Linne

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 19, 2014 @ 03:40:09

      🙂 It’s always time to remember not to sweat the small stuff and to look a bit further than our personal circumstances and see just how amazing this world really is. We can get bogged down in the small stuff and it takes over our lives but right there, in our peripherals is a whole wonderful world that wants us to interact with it 🙂 HUGS from Sidmouth where there is snow on the local mountains and our tank is starting to fill up nicely (but not this weekend… TOO COLD 🙂 )

      Reply

  14. Joanna
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 19:08:15

    I really enjoyed this post Narf, love your postcards and your funny dogs and their expressions and your thoughts. It must be so satisfying to have got into a routine with the wood and the heating and it sounds like a very mellow time of year. We are having our ‘heat wave’ but so far it hasn’t even hit 28 C, so I bet the Antipodeans are wondering what we are making such a fuss about, (we like to fuss a lot about the weather here in the UK as you may have noticed).Stuff doesn’t make us happy per se, especially expensive stuff that just wants to be dusted and stored, stuff that is useful and beautiful is better and stuff that gets used all the time is better, like a favourite knife or a good pair of walking shoes, but none of it will go with us in the end, so best to enjoy the clouds and the smell of dogs and the taste of porridge and live in the moment if we can. xx Jo

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jul 19, 2014 @ 03:44:20

      We can always tell someone from “The Old Country” as they have their shirts off at the first sign of summer and are out basking on the beach in deck chairs in the middle of winter ;). Expensive stuff makes you twitch. The more you have, the more you twitch and have to worry that someone else wants it and might just decide to take it. If you haven’t got any expensive stuff (that the dogs can break) then you immediately have a whole lot less worries. Simple really :). You GOT IT Ms Joanna, what’s that old Bon Jovi line…”Live while I’m alive, sleep when I’m dead?” sounds appropriate ;). Hugs from 4C Sidmouth. It’s actually pretty mild considering there is snow on the local mountains, must be Brunhilda single-handedly keeping the fort 😉

      Reply

  15. Littlesundog
    Aug 03, 2014 @ 05:24:21

    Fifty IS the magic number!! It’s like Sis-Boom-Bah! We finally “get it” and begin to contemplate and ponder – all experiences of life mean something, and we’re not afraid to talk about it.

    Ah, the many faces of Earl… who you know I adore. Personally, I think he is an enlightened being. I think he may hold the key to the answer of life. I think we won’t have to look too far – somewhere or somehow – to find the number 42 connected with Earl.

    Honest… I haven’t had a thing to drink this afternoon, Hic!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 04, 2014 @ 05:55:33

      LOL! I think that I probably should have had Earl enter our lives when I WAS 42 as MAN 50 is a tough time to start dog wrangling as a way of life ;). I must admit he is the most loyal dog I have ever had anything to do with. I know that he would rather stay up watching television with Steve at night but he comes faithfully to bed with me every night and curls up at my side to protect me. He now “listens” to me when we walk together aside from when anyone else is there and it’s a free-for-all pack experience (complete with me dragging all over the place 😉 ) and at almost 4 he is starting to finally “get it” as well. I think we might both be late bloomers in the “getting it” thing but at least we are both trying (some might say SEVERELY “trying” 😉 ). Earl says “admire away, I am ONE sexy beast!” 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

