Short and pictorial mid winter on Serendipity Farm

Hi All,

 

Is anyone else a teensy tiny little bit “SICK TO BLOODY DEATH” of the soccer yet? Yes “SOCCER!” that’s what it’s called here in Australia. NOT football…just soccer. I will accept “U.K. Football” but every time I head to my old mate Google these days I have to wade through a plethora of letters all doing a Mexican salute or waving some countries flag and if you have 10 pages open like I do at any given time, that’s a whole LOT of Mexican waves to wade through every time you want to make a simple search. Angst abated and shared now. An angst shared is an angst halved. No bright comments Ms Jessy Twinn by the way. You have been infested with the soccer bug and are NOT to be listened to OR encouraged in your crazy soccer watching ventures (and neither is Steve…just sayin’ 😉 )

DSCF0826

I love my shiny-shiny aluminium crochet hook. I am probably going to get Alzheimers from it but at least I will go out hooking. Happy days! 😉

DSCF0829

Here’s a close up of the wool and my AMAZING hooky ability to do a stitch that I don’t even know the name for. I completely and utterly love how fast this is working up as I am using 2 strands of wool to crochet it and it is incredibly thick and heavy which means that it will probably end up on the floor as a rug more than on my knees as an afghan

DSCF0832

It’s probably 3/4 done now…afghan…rug…tablecloth, whatever this ends up as, crochet is therapy for narfs and soothes my inner savage beasts of which I have many…all of them masquerading as muses

I have reached the three quarter mark of my very thick, doubled wool crocheted afghan for draping casually over my knees when I am sitting in frigid early morning conditions before Brunhilda gets around to warming up the kitchen with her first hot toasty logs of the day. After I move all of the potted babies that we have left in our stash to either side of the driveway (I may or may NOT get back to why at some point in this post…) I plan on spending the rest of the day finishing off my afghan. Yesterday was 1C until 2pm and today it is a heatwave…4C and so that afghan would be most appreciated around about now and there is nothing more likely to get narf7 to do something than an immediate pressing need

DSCF0797

These are some of the 40 orphaned babies that the quoll left motherless working methodically through my pile of horse poo and oak leaves prior to Stevie-boys mass haul of dung on Saturday that resulted in a whole lot more dung on top of this pile and a tired narf from having to shovel it all up and back in between his deliveries in order to keep it in a pile and not a long swathe that took over the driveway. We can’t deposit it around the back of the house near Sanctuary (my veggie garden) as there is a large log pile in the way so for now, this is where the dung pile lives and coincidentally, where my chickens can be found at most times of the day

DSCF0804

The pile is significantly higher here as Stevie-boy has finished depositing masses of dung and you can see most of the blueberries that we scored up to their little rootlets in spent dung. There IS a rooster in this image but it’s not Mr “X”, its Mr Big Yin the head honcho of the gang with some of his posse out to scrape the pile flat. If you look closely you can see Ms ducky, Mr Big Yin’s bestie, up on top of the pile tunnel mining for worms

DSCF0820

I took this photo today. All of the blueberries are here now, I have a stack of horse poo and oak leaves to rake up from the driveway and we still have a large pile of wood blocking our pathway up to the back of the house but at least we have this luscious pile of garden happiness and as we all know, possession is 9/10th’s of the law! By the way. Mr “X” must have decided that it has knobs on hanging out under the deck on a 1C morning and wisely moved his feathery derriere back into the coop with the rest of the flock last night. I could hear him crowing from the distance but thats AOK by me…right under the deck was wearing a bit thin especially when Steve told me that he had been crowing since 12am!

Mr “X” the rooster is crowing under the deck. I cleaned out the hen coop on the weekend and won’t tell you how long it has been since I last did it aside to say that some of the straw had trilobites in it. A short aside…if you are putting off something that you really don’t want to do, you might be surprised to find that inside your head it is a whole lot worse of a task than what it actually is outside your head in the clear present danger of the day…just sayin’ 😉 After mucking out the hen house I pulled a large ex oil container thingo out that we had been stashing in the coop. We had visions of storing grain in it as it is huge, metal and has a lid but who could afford that much grain?! A hen has died down behind it and another one almost did the same thing. We pulled it out from the wall at that stage but when I decided to give myself a hernia and pull it out of the coop entirely when cleaning the coop out (Steve was off getting his own particular version of a hernia digging out a HUGE blueberry bush) I discovered that a rooster was lodged down the back of it. This thing has a BIG hunger for chickens! The rooster was fine aside from being hungry and somewhat square shaped after his ordeal and the chook coop is nice and clean now. What has this got to do with Mr “X”? Well he used to sleep on top of this drum and now he is homeless…well, that isn’t strictly true, he is under the deck crowing! I called him Mr “X” not because of his stealth in avoiding us when we locked his relatives into the coop last night but more because it is a most accurate description of him for he is soon to be an ex-rooster…nuff said!

DSCF0848

The potted babies deposited to the side of the driveway at the side of the house and the (offending) tank in the background that we have to roll to the house (behind where I am taking the photo)…this could be VERY interesting folks 😉

DSCF0817

I just read a post about my sister Pinky saving a pod of Dutch iris bulbs from oblivion and realised that among my Jerusalem artichokes I had inadvertently uprooted a couple of little bulbs as well. I am going to plant them out so that they get a new lease on life on Serendipity Farm. Isn’t nature the bomb? 🙂

Ok so I was hauling those potted plants to one side of the driveway back in paragraph 2…it took me a while that’s why I didn’t mention it till now. We are going to roll our large water tank into place this weekend which involves first moving the potted plants (tick, just spent the afternoon doing…) and then deconstructing the perimeter fence that acts as an Earl protective shield against Earl and the rest of the world. As you can imagine, we need to make sure that Mr E can’t just sidle off while we are rolling 10 000 litre water tanks with impunity so we have to ensure that we shut the 2 gates that we situated halfway up each of the side decks…we might not be pretty but we ARE clever and we envisaged a day when we might want to confine the dogs to either the back or the front of the house and these gates have been invaluable. Earl and Bezial will have to stay on the deck while we remove this segment of fence but prior to all of this is narf7 entering the cavernous gaping mouth of the water tank. Yup. I have to crawl inside and remove the pump housing so that we can roll the tank rather than just drag it. Stevie-boy’s shoulders are too big for him to fit inside even though he has slim hips so poor fat hipped narf7 has to fit her thin shoulders into the water tank hole at the top of the tank and attempt to squeeze that rotund derrière after them

DSCF0796

This is my niece Sabrina, she of the rake riding persuasion in my last blog post saying goodbye to her Tasmanian fan club

DSCF0809

Sad number 2 fan

DSCF0811

Even sadder number 1 fan

This could range from “interesting” to “hilarious” depending on several factors the chief one being my derrière actually fitting into said hole and NOT getting stuck which would indeed be hilarious for you guys but not so much for narf7 who would have to be greased up and shoved like a champagne cork. Once inside (shudder…) I will remove the pump housing and then exit with ease (I am ever the optimist…) and Stevie-boy and I will roll said 10 000 litre water tank up the driveway, through the hole in the fence and tip it upright into place with quintessential ease. No, I don’t believe it will be that easy either but lets just see what happens. At the very least it will make for some interesting blog images…

DSCF0815

My last (1kg) jar of pumpkin and date butter that has been gracing my breakfast buckwheat porridge since I made it

DSCF0825

This mornings large (vat) stockpot of buckwheat porridge being materialised to a hungry narf after a long haul behind a short dog in the mist. This makes 6 breakfasts for a hungry narf that can be grabbed as soon as I get in from my morning walk and heated to my little hearts content with pumpkin and date butter and served with homemade sesame milk. The perfect way to start my day 🙂

DSCF0845

Lucky I am a bowl freak and have so many of them isn’t it Stevie-boy and you said I should get rid of some of them! “Pfft!”

I am just about to make some more pumpkin, date and apple butter to use up the apples that turned from crispy to soft and that need to be used. Making fruit butter is a good way to use up soft or slightly old fruit as it tends to be quite sweet which means you don’t need sugar, especially if you use dates like I do. I still haven’t made the tahini and the coconut butter but I did find a recipe for how to make smooth lump free coconut butter on Pinterest today so perhaps that was a bonus. Once I make the tahini and coconut butter I can make pumpkin, date and apple fudge with a bit of cinnamon and a lot of anticipation.

spudjean

These are jeans…this is Beartato in the jeans…it was our photoshopped rendition of the son-and-heirs rear jeans pockets stuffed with baby potatoes freshly dug from sanctuary (my veggie garden) on Sunday when they dropped by on an impromptu visit. The only thing better than a rear pocket or two full of fresh baby potatoes is Beartato in your pocket…

DSCF0813

No Beartato here but a whole lot of apples that I didn’t get around to eating before they turned a bit mealy and a lot fragrant. They are going to be made into pumpkin, date and apple butter

Sorry about the reblogs this week but sometimes you just have to make a stand for what you believe in and seeing that book for free was too good to not reblog and share the love around. I love the concept of being generous for generosities sake, not expecting anything in return, just giving out to the universe and expecting that when you are in need, the universe will give back. I think that takes the expectation and the frustration and resentment out of expecting the recipient of your generosity to return the favour/gift which at the end of the day isn’t really generosity, it’s more a negotiation. It’s a brave step to let go of things and just let the universe dish it out to whoever needs it the most. The more we learn to be generous the better off we will be.

DSCF0821

I am trying to do what Mr Bean did with his Steak Tartar (don’t ask, just go look it up on Youtube if you don’t know what I am talking about 😉 ) and thousands of kids try to do with their broccoli every day…spreading the pumpkins around so that they don’t look like so many…

DSCF0823

Only 3 small ones! See? (and the 2 large ones in the laundry sink but we won’t think about them right now…)

I have been spending my early mornings wandering in the mist with Earl and contemplating my navel whilst building myself a pair of built-up platform shoes that Mr Herman Munster would be extremely proud of. The council, in all of their wisdom, has decided that now is the perfect time to grade all of the road verges back to soil and when you grade road verges in winter you are actually grading them back to purest mud. As a narf who is prone to walking on road verges this ranges from mildly annoying to dangerous, especially when wandering in the mist. Add cars that forgot to put on their headlights this morning and the deafening quality of fog and simply stepping out onto our driveway is a risk factor. Luckily Earl has a habit of dragging me into ditches so I tend not to be in harm’s way but until the fog clears it’s a strange and eerie world that the early morning narf inhabits

DSCF0836

I am outing myself here…I admit it…I am a wool hoarder…a wool AND a bowl hoarder. We can’t all be perfect (or entirely sane)…

DSCF0839

While I am at it (and nicely segueing and deflecting the attention away from my own vice in the process…) I am outing Stevie-boy as well. People might wonder why he is such a happy-go-lucky scamp well HERE is part of the reason why. This box of  “goodies” is stashed in his music room because it won’t all fit in his treat box. Stevie-boy is on a permanent sugar and preservative high that knows NO boundaries and when coupled with his fetish for wine we make quite a hoarding, guzzling couple. Just be thankful that we live out in the sticks and away from society or you might have to read about us in the papers 😉

DSCF0841

Another one of Stevie-boys fetishes…he LOVES those solar groovers that have a teeny little solar panel on the front of them that gives them the energy to wave happily at anyone that wanders past. This is Stevie-boys music room window and yes…that garden gnome IS giving you 2 fingers…we breed them bolshie around here 😉

I spend about an hour and a half thinking about the state of the world, the meaning of life (those built up platform shoes and how the HECK I am going to get all of that mud off prior to entering the house) and by the time Earl hauls me back up our steep driveway my brain is satiated and saturated with thought and I am ready for breakfast and a rest. I have decided that I am going to spend this afternoon crocheting my afghan and seeing if I can get close to completing it as I really want to start on my Bavarian crochet lessons before everyone else who has been dabbling in the Bavarian arts forgets how to do the stitch and isn’t available to help a stranded narf in her hour of need so as I have been taxing your reading ability and your stamina of late I might just throw you a curve ball today and finish this post right here…right now. I hope that you all have a wonderful week ahead of you full of purpose, potential and actualities and that by the time we next break metaphorical bread together you will be satiated by all of that wonderful experience that has passed under your bridges in the last week. Me…I will just be happy if I get this afghan finished and my derrière doesn’t get stuck in that rainwater tank but if you have greater aspirations, knock yourselves out 🙂

96 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecontentedcrafter
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 18:33:57

    That rug is looking quite spectacular! I can see you adding ‘crazy crocheting narf7’ to all the other ‘crazy’ labels we, you, I have for you 🙂

    It must be a global thing, digging up roads in the bad weather. Our CC is busy turning Dunners into a pot-hole, trench ridden labyrinth of detours, closed roads and single lanes appearing abruptly where once there were three……. I’ve decided it might be better not to leave the house til they have done whatever it is they are doing. YD is living in hopes it is super fast broadband, bless her optimistic heart 🙂

    As soon as I have your organiser finished and off to you [not my fault, blame puppy please!] I intend to throw myself into the invention of a bavarian stitched version of a sleeveless cardy – think circa 1970 if that is possible for you.

    I’m a bit worried about you in that round tank thingy – I hope Stevieboy will be on hand with some grease of some kind, just in case. And Mr X – poor Mr X!! But I chortled happily at the square rooster, poor thing I wonder how long he had been stuck there.

    Take care on those early morning walks Fran, I don’t think a dip in the Tamar would be that much fun right now!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 03:24:30

      Tell Ms YD that “Super Fast Broadband” is more of a curse than a blessing. WAY back in 2006 Stevie-boy, the kids and I headed over to Old Blighty to see his mum and she had super fast broadband and it only cost her a pittance a month. Here in Tassie, where it all started, we are being “tantalised” by limited downloads/uploads for a whole LOT more than we are currently paying for a bit more speed? Who cares! I am happy with my trundling ADSL2 speed that is absolutely fine for me and my needs and I get unlimited downloads/uploads for $39 a month. The best I can hope for is 1000G a month for $90 according to a recent pamphlet that was dropped into our mailbox…PFFT! To the Super Fast Broadband and bollocks to me having to take it up (we are going to be forced onto it soon)

      I am not tapping my foot waiting for my organiser. I am still surprised out the wazoo that I won ANYTHING and am happily able to wait in perpetuity for it till you are ready to send it ma’am 🙂 I am completely able to remember the 1970’s and turned into a teenager in the mid 70’s when I wore a kaftan, those thin leather based Indian sandals (that ALWAYS broke after you wore them twice) and had a crocheted jacket (cheers mum 🙂 ). I DO know what you are talking about and it will be magnificent in Bavarian stitch. I am yet to master it so be prepared for some angsty emails about the subject 😉

      I always take UBER care on the sides of the road as there be log trucks and container trucks zooming up and down the highway. I headed over the Batman Bridge yesterday with an excited Earl and it was amazing to walk across a fully fogged up bridge (there is a safe bit to walk on either side) and not to see the water below. I am fine as I just veer off into the freshly dug up clay that is nice and damp and that allows me to add about 3 inches to my height. I come out the other side feeling like a super model 😉

      Reply

      • thecontentedcrafter
        Jun 19, 2014 @ 03:57:29

        I will be most happy to attend to any angsty emails regarding the lovely bavarian stitch. We could even do a personal tutorial via skype if you wished 🙂

        Oh, and here is the question of the day: Why is Oz riddled with the name Batman? Is it someone of significance?

      • narf77
        Jun 19, 2014 @ 04:00:44

        “Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na…BATMAN!” 😉 Seriously though, someone called Mr Batman started out here in Tassie up north and sailed out of Tassie to go settle Melbourne so he got to spatter his moniker all over the place in both states 😉

      • thecontentedcrafter
        Jun 19, 2014 @ 04:06:31

        I am pleased to see you know your local history – even if it is confined to Mr Batman! It was indeed in Melbourne that we strolled Batman Ave and swung by Batman Park – no sign of Robin though!

      • narf77
        Jun 19, 2014 @ 04:11:43

        Nope…he has the rest of Australia covered 😉 I only know that history because my own peculiar version of a furry tank decided to take an inordinately LONG pee on a monument on the other side of the river when we were walking in the park so that I had the time to read what was on the monument before being yanked off to another tree…another shrub…sideways to a large tuft of grass…etc…I am most ejamacated me! 😉

  2. The Snail of Happiness
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 19:29:30

    Pumpkin, apple and date butter… mmmm, that sounds good… drool

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 03:25:17

      It IS good and once I make it and stash it in the fridge, I am going to make some homemade tahini and some homemade coconut butter, mix them into a jar of it and make healthy homemade pumpkin, apple and date fudge…YUM! 🙂

      Reply

  3. brymnsons
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 21:02:02

    The afghan is looking magnificent! I love the colours too. It will be nice and snuggly for your early morning sojourn on the computer. Brrrrrrrrrrrr 1 degree until lunchtime sounds damn cold! We have had ice on our grass, but mainly frost. It has got down to -0.6 degrees so far and it isn’t August yet. We have changed our doona over to our winter version, aft trying the one that is too hot for winter, can you believe it. I can’t remember where I bought it from but it is so hot that even our winter is not cold enough. Might have to ship it over to you guys 🙂
    I have to say that is a pretty impressive dung pile. I know how high up that deck is and that pile is just huge! The chooks must think it is xmas.
    I must admit I chuckled, just a tiny bit, with the thought of you stuck in that tank!! Then I just about wet myself laughing with the image of you stuck in that thing and rolling down the drive!!! I hope it is only in my imagination and that all goes smoothly for you both, but especially for you 🙂
    Poor wee doggies looking so sad, such a hard life for those boys 😀

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 03:29:41

      We have our own version of that too hot for winter doona. We bought it when we bought our bed and the salesman TOLD us that it was probably too hot and we didn’t listen so it’s our own fault. It’s goose feather and down and MAN is it hot! Poor Sabrina who was full of flu/cold and is skinny-malinky enjoyed snuggling under it when she stayed here so for that, it was worth buying :). I chuckled a bit about it myself till I realised that if I had to be rescued it would get on the news…imagine…me…in my undies…legs and bum out of that tank…ON THE NEWS! Steve would be delighted to be paid for that and I would NEVER RECOVER from the shame ;). Yeah, those mutts have the HARDEST life sitting on either side of Brunhilda wafting out the warmth don’t they? 😉 I should be finished that big whatever the heck crochet thing it is soon and then I can start on a mug warmer, some wrist warmers and I am going to make something for that charity thing on the front of the booklet you sent. I will pop into a Guardian pharmacy on the weekend when I am shopping and will pick up the free knitting book and will commit to making something for it 🙂

      Reply

  4. brymnsons
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 21:03:29

    Oh yes, how do you make that butter???

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 03:33:51

      Easy PEASY to make that butter. “Butter” is technically a misnomer as no butter touches it. You cut up (I cut mine small as I like it to cook quickly) pumpkin and throw in LOTS of dates (no recipe, just to taste) and enough water to simmer them both in. Keep topping up the water as those dates suck it up and will burn if you don’t keep an eye on them and let the mass conglomerate cook together till the pumpkin is soft and turned to mush and the dates are the same. Looks pretty horrendous (brown is the new beige 😉 ) but tastes scrumptious and is very healthy for you and full of iron from the dates and beta carotene from the pumpkin. I am adding apple to the mix as I have that bowl of soft apples on my kitchen table so may as well add a bit more fibre and flavour to the mix. I then have to make some homemade tahini out of some of my stash of sesame seeds and coconut butter out of 2 bags that I had bought a while ago specifically for the purpose and the benefits of making your own coconut butter is that it’s cheap and it sets things (think copha but tasting MUCH better 😉 ) so I am going to have some homemade scrumptious fudge ready for winter snacking to go with my fully clothed mug of hot tea poured from my teapot of GREAT beauty and happiness all thanks to my best mate from W.A. 🙂

      Reply

      • brymnsons
        Jun 19, 2014 @ 09:39:31

        Cheers for that Fran. I will give it a go. I remember that snug as a bug in a rug quilt too. Mine must be hotter!!! Maybe it’s because Bruce is next to me, will have to push him out lol.

      • narf77
        Jun 19, 2014 @ 11:18:03

        Give him a good shove but let the doggies in, they will need that lovely ambient heat 😉

  5. cathyandchucky
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 21:14:33

    Shame Sabrina wasn’t still there. She would’ve fitted in to the tank quite easily 🙂 So your now “the happy hooker” dearest sister 😉 hee hee hee. That afghan will be just the ticket for the knees in this bitter cold. Keep Earls fangs away from it. We could’ve done with your rainwater tank today as it poured all day here. Lovely blog Fronkiii xox

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 03:36:48

      We haven’t had any rain for a while here which is good because it stops me feeling guilty about not having that rainwater tank installed. Stevie-boy and I had a few angst ridden hours (think twitching Stevie-boy and angsty me) trying to work out how to make a 10 000 litre rainwater tank gravity fed so that we don’t have to use the pump that came with it. I want to have a tap on the tank to just draw water out manually and Steve wants to pump water into the house and neither of us are budging on our desires…sigh…why is it with old age comes STUBBORNESS 😉 Forget the wisdom, we are too stubborn to learn from our “fights” 😉 Steve might just leave me bum and legs stuck out of the tank if we don’t resolve it soon 😉 You are RIGHT! Send Sabrina back post haste. You could fit 3 of her in at the same time and STILL have room around the sides 😉

      Reply

  6. Florida
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 00:22:05

    Hi honey, still happy to have some extra blueberry plants, if you can’t house all yours!
    I love those early walks with dogs, when everything snaps, cracles and pops under foot. It makes me realise what the rest of the world world misses every morning in the mist/fog/frost of a glorious sourthern winter.
    Talk soon. Xx

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 03:38:54

      You are absolutely right Ms Florida about those early morning walks but your doggies are well behaved and my Early is a tank. He walks well when its just him and me BUT when we walk with Ms Jan and Ms Mieka twice a week he is a bit bolshie and thinks that he needs to pull a bit more (to show off as you do when you are male…) and when he walks with Bezial he is a twitching mass of sinews that MUST…PEE…ON…EVERYTHING… sigh…I guess it keeps me fit! I am going to take a lot of cuttings from these blueberries and you can be sure that if any strike, you are number 1 on the blueberry recipient list and you can hold me to that :).

      Reply

  7. Chica Andaluza
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 06:51:13

    Love crochet, porridge, blueberries and even football (although Big Man is disgusted with Spain 😦 ) I even have a certain amount of love for dung in the right situations 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 08:50:31

      I take it Spain lost? Should get them to play Australia, that’s a guaranteed win 😉 I mean, HOW sad is it when your opposing team is being encouraging about you and saying nice things…that can ONLY mean you are the lamest of the lame ;). The dung is in the right situation otherwise I might be complaining about it. The only reason to complain is the chooks distributing it around the driveway…mutter…mutter. Give my commiserations to Big Man and tell him it could be worse, he could support Australia 😉

      Reply

      • Chica Andaluza
        Jun 19, 2014 @ 17:50:29

        Yes they lost and won’t go through to the next round 😦 They still have to play a final match against Australia though and I’m hoping it will be a nice friendly draw! Let those chooks get to work once the dung is in the right place – they’re fantastic workers when the moment is right!

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:02:07

        LOL! We didn’t lose magnificently to the Dutch, I think 2:3 is a pretty noble loss to be honest and better than anything that we expected (saw it on the news last night). We were never likely to go through to any rounds but at least we had a good time (the Aussie anthem for life. We are WELL known for our anthem world-wide 😉 ). A friendly draw would be excellent as there isn’t any point in knocking themselves out, they are both out on their arses so they may as well have a bit of fun. Lets just hope that no-one does that heinous throwing themselves on the ground pretending to be injured to get a point thing that I HATE about soccer. In Aussie rules if you do that you get the team running over the top of you and that’s your OWN team! ;). Have a fantastic weekend Ms Chica and hugs to The Big Man from an Aussie who could care less about the soccer and who is willing to let his team win if it makes him happy 🙂

      • Chica Andaluza
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:23:38

        Hear Hear – Ms narf – have a great weekend too!

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:30:00

        🙂 ❤ (just learned how to do that from Facebook and am suitably proud of myself 😉 )

      • Chica Andaluza
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:32:24

        Clever clogs! (I don’t know how, which is why I can’t send you one back) 🙂

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:39:11

        You type the less than sign and the number 3 together and then click “enter” how amazing is that? Heres a linky to more and most of them show up in WordPress knock yourself out! 🙂

        http://www.sherv.net/facebook-emoticons.html

      • Chica Andaluza
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:52:09

        >3 Not sure I did it right but will check out the link!

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:53:49

        Nope, you did the wrong sign, you did the greater than and it looks like that 3 is angry! 😉 Try the other one and voila…happy days…hearty goodness 🙂

      • Chica Andaluza
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 05:12:07

        Oh dear, hang on I’m trying again ❤

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 05:18:24

        You got it!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ :|] (where did he come from?! 😉 )

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 05:19:45

        He didn’t work 😦 I guess not all FB symbols translate to WordPress he was supposed to be a robot…back to the drawing board for narf!

      • Chica Andaluza
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 05:22:05

        He was quite cute though!

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 05:28:31

        Indeed he was but SO much cuter on Facebook 😉 “Domo Arigato Mr Roboto” 😉

  8. teawithhazel
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 07:56:36

    the annoying google images and my hairdresser alerted me to the soccer but i’m ignoring it..sport and i don’t like each other..but i do love bushwalking..fine bit of craft going on at your place fran..but i just wonder where you get the time with the myriad of other things you do every day..would love a bit of tasmanian winter..the coldest it’s been here in the day is 15-16 deg c..that is not cold enough for me..x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 08:54:46

      Ditto with the sport and I. I had some ingenious ways to get out of it when I was a child and have been getting out of it ever since ;). I crochet while I am digging post holes while I am contemplating my navel, cooking dinner and learning to speak Swahili…didn’t you know I am multi-talented? 😉 I agree with you on the cold front. When I lived in W.A. the winters stopped being so cold and that’s why I was very happy to move to Tassie where it’s still cold for most of the day and my friend who lives inland a bit from the Tamar River has frost on her property all day.

      Reply

  9. Robbie
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 08:10:35

    You are very crafty! that is a beautiful wrap and I am glad you have it to warm you, but here in USA , zone 5, Illinois we are sweating!!! I was outside working in the garden and just dripping, it was like a sauna today. LOL. Blankets are not on my mind right now, but it is fun to see how our worlds are complete opposites weather wise. You don’t get really cold, below zero , do you? When does your winter usually end + spring begin.
    Be careful climbing in the tank, I would go crazy if I got my front in, and could not get my backend out, OMG…I hate tight spaces, so I would go nuts! Have a “spotter” when you crawl in since if you don’t have anyone around, how will you get someone to oil you up to get out! lol..just the thought of being stuck head first would drive me crazy-lol….
    I am thinking about these things lately since we are empty nesters and if I tackle a difficlt project, I like to have someone around incase I get stuck, fall or just miss a step-lol. I am getting so easily distracted lately. The other day I almost set the house on fire, I left something on the stove + went to the garden, and then after that, saw my bike on the back of the car decided to take it off , and then I started smelling something burning! Geez,, when did I get so spacey-lol…so be careful on those foggy morning walks, watch where you are going and don’t get distracted…, so be safe and have a “spotter” on those projects that you might get stuck, fall or slip!
    I love the pictures of your dogs wrapped up in blankets, they are too cute for words!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 09:00:08

      I remember reading about everyone complaining about how cold it was and how long winter was dragging on back in January when we were sweltering away and it was incredibly dry and wishing for winter. I LOVE winter and am hoping that it lasts well into November like it did last year :). Our winter ends when your autumn starts, exactly the polar opposite, in September 🙂

      Steve will be standing by otherwise I wouldn’t be going into that tank full STOP! I am only going in to make getting the spiggoty thingo off easier otherwise I would pass on it and thats only so that we can roll the tank into the area where we want it rather than having to drag it in which is MUCH harder. Nothing is ever easy if it is worth it, is it? 😉 I can just see my bottom and legs sticking out of the tank and being greased up by the local emergency department and hauled out by a firetruck and being on the 6 oclock news! I think I would rather live in the tank than have that happen 😉

      The dogs were both sulking at the time so I decided to take photos to show them when they were refusing to believe that they were sulky buggers ;). They are sitting on their own chairs on either side of Brunhilda my huge big 4 oven wood burning stove basking in the warmth. Winter? Where is thy sting! I realise that is supposed to be death but Winter seems particularly fitting for that quote on this occasion. Sorry Mr Shakespeare 😉

      Reply

      • Robbie
        Jun 19, 2014 @ 21:59:44

        lol, me too! It would be so embarassing..”Local Women stuck in tank + greased up, pulled out”-too funny….I love how you feature your dogs since my dogs are like family,too. They do sulk! They also are naughty when they don’t get what they want, for example, play catch. Chance cut his upper foot on some glass last week, so I found him sulking in front of the porch door as I walked by..he gave me that “the sulky eye look”….made me feel badly, but his foot was bleeding every where and he can’t jump until it is healed:-) They have replaced my kids!

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:06:08

        I am SO with you on the kid thing! At the moment, for some reason, my 2 boys are competing for my affections. It’s just like the “you love them more than you love ME!” thing and I have to be SO careful to hug them both and pat them both at the same time or the wounded un-patted (rejected) pet slinks off giving me wounded stink-eye…sigh…I had 3 kids. My eldest is 32, my youngest is 24…I started all over again when we got dogs! The problem is that they hit the 6 year old mentality and stay there! 😉 I will be very careful to grease myself up well and my friend told me to strip down to my undies but I reminded her that if the S.E.S. (State Emergency Service) were to have to be called out that I would NEVER be able to show my face in public again if my well greased underpanted derriere was sticking out of a water tank…NEVER! 🙂

  10. missmaudy
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 09:19:06

    I have to confess to a passing interest in the Game With the Round Ball. When I was up the duff with Chaos, I was obsessed. Absolutely, unequivocally obsessed (to the extent of planning my entire life around what time a game was on. Didn’t actually care who was playing, round ball was good). I don’t generally like sport, which made the obsession even stranger (odd pregnancy that, I craved soccer, fish finger sandwiches and jam donuts). I’ll also confess to shouting at the telly on Saturday morning, and I might have leapt out of bed this morning in search of the scores from this morning’s game.

    I’m also an early walker – although it’s just bloody cold and dark where I am, and we’re only in danger from The Ginge and a really seriously savage little dog who wants to eat The Hound (don’t think he realises she’s bigger on the inside!) Chaos usually comes with me and we tend to have a nice chat about stuff once we warm up a bit.

    (And crochet – we are SO secret sisters!!! I’ve been making a rug from granny squares. I did thirty squares last winter, and the aim is for another 30 this winter, and I’ll probably spend *next* winter putting it together!)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 11:17:16

      Oh LORD it is contagious! Look what you have done Ms Twinn! I can’t be held responsible for this rash of soccer loving that seems to be pouring out on the comment section. I had a weird craving for eating charcoal from the fire when I was pregnant with all of my kids but I put that down to their alien parentage (nuff said about that…)…
      You need Earl and I out there walking with you as NO-ONE takes on Early boy ;). Stevie-boy and Bezial usually come with us but as Stevie-boy is otherwise employed at the moment and off by 7am it’s just Early the tank and me weaving maniacally across the road, the bridge, dangling over the precipices of Sidmouth. Everyone waves to us (I think they are thinking “best wave as the poor woman looks bereft!” 😉 ) and we have our regular beats down-pat and I am almost to the point of timing our outings in order to break the Sidmouth records…hurry up and finish that bit of gainful employment Stevie-boy, I think my mind is starting to suffer talking to Earl! 😉
      I crochet because it is amazingly good stress relief. I don’t actually have any reason to be stressed (other than Stevie-boy isn’t here and so I can’t do ANYTHING that I want to do around here in the garden…) but I just fell in love with it all over again :). Secret sisters INDEED and next I am going to make Dani from Teddy and Tottie blogging fame’s AMAZING Bavarian crochet rug. I need to learn how to do the stitch first and it involves some kind of crocheting into the back of some stitch and I will probably end up with no hair left (pulled out or falling out, take your pick…) but I SHALL go to the Bavarian ball! Hugs from frigid foggy Sidmouth and slobbers for the hound from Earl and Bezial 🙂

      Reply

  11. Angela @ Canned Time
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 10:15:14

    What a beautiful throw your making. The thought of using it right now with it still in the low 90’s at 8pm is a little off putting but you stay warm with it there and enjoy!
    And be careful in that fog Woman!!!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 11:22:08

      Just survived another foggy morning. Is it just me or does EVERYONE come out in the cars in the fog?! I can’t remember a string of days when I have seen so many cars meandering down the beat that I walk…madness!

      Reply

  12. christiglover
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 10:24:34

    Hi Fran! We’re not crocheting or making butters here, but we are moving a water tank! Water catchment that is. Is that what you have? The spot is cleared and Austin shoveled many loads of gravel onto the pad area today. How’s that for synchronicity and serendipity? Love from Hawaii. xxoo

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 11:23:54

      Utter synchronicity ma’am! We are getting our gravel tomorrow to do the very same thing and installing our 10 000 litre water tank on the weekend to take advantage of “winter” and “rain” things that we don’t get in summer ;). Another parallel universe experience! WOO-WOO! 🙂 Hugs and hope your summer is treating you well. I wish I could visit and raid your garden for cuttings! 😉

      Reply

  13. foodnstuff
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 12:34:59

    Thoroughly sick of soccer!! (won’t tell RLHippy though). You be careful playing around inside that tank. Bad things can happen!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 20, 2014 @ 03:58:09

      The tank is nice and clean and pristine (was practically brand new when we bought it and always under cover and only ever used to pump low pressure mains water into it to get better pressure) so the tank won’t give me cooties but my derriere getting stuck might but seriously though, I did a bit of a test run the other day and most things appear to slither easily into the tank. Now we just have to stop Earl from slithering into the tank after me or THAT would be chaos! 😉

      Reply

  14. rabidlittlehippy
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 22:05:54

    5am my friend. The alarm is set! England Paruguay. Martin and I will be up watching the FOOTBALL for certs. 😀

    This is for you Steve.

    If finding trilobites is in order for chook pen cleaning then I might sic my dinosaur-loving son onto the job. 😉 Mine needs clearing too. BADLY. 😦

    Tank + Narf = HAMSTER WHEEL! 😀

    Clearly in a cheeky mood tonight. 😉 Time for me to go finish off my knitting too. 🙂

    Reply

    • rabidlittlehippy
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 23:05:40

      Just realised that should have been Uruguay. Doesn’t matter who the opposition is. I only follow Australia (c’mon boys), England (again, c’mon boys) and then Germany (followed in that order). I’m guaranteed at least 1 good game out of 9 so it’s all good. 🙂 Off to bed to wake up early.
      VINDALOO! VINDALOO! VINDALOO VINDALOO NA NAAAAAAA!

      Reply

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:13:11

        I think your best bet out of that lot is Germany to be honest…might put your money on them ;). Steve’s money is on France to win for some reason. I dare say he has been watching highlights when I fall asleep at 7.30 over my crochet. Tonight I start a new crochet project. Might be a nice simple quick one that I can finish in a night or two like some wrist warmers or a mug cover in bright colours with ^*(( on it…(supposed to be narf but ^*(( is MUCH easier to replicate in stitches than narf 😉 ). Might even knit something but don’t hold your breath, crochet is MUCH faster and when it boils down to it, I am all about the soothing repetition of the task rather than the end result 😉

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 07:14:12

        Yeah, I like those small quick to finish projects. Baby hats are somewhat of a favourite. With several pregnant friends I guess I’d better dig out my yarn and needles soon. 🙂

      • narf77
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 11:23:13

        Looks like the U.K. is out of the cup so you had best start knitting German hats! 😉

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jun 20, 2014 @ 18:37:19

        Nope, England still stand a chance depending on who wins from the other games yet to be played in Group D. 😛
        And the baby hats are for non-football followers so I’m sticking to plain colours. 1st 1 1/4 finished. 🙂

      • narf77
        Jun 21, 2014 @ 04:13:40

        Show off with the baby hats and good luck with England getting through as it means that Italy have to win and have you SEEN their competition? 😉

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jun 21, 2014 @ 11:09:32

        After the 19th world Cup I am not exactly an Italy supporter so no, I’ve not looked them up any. If they have to win for England to get through that does pose a support conundrum for me. Big time. 😦

      • narf77
        Jun 21, 2014 @ 15:42:44

        Stevie-boy says that England then have to beat Costa Rica by a SHITELOAD to go through on goal difference and Italy still have to win both of their matches in order for them to even get this far. As Stevie-boy says “they are going home with their tail between their legs…and they KNEW how dangerous that player was but still they let him do what he did!” The thing is he plays with them in the U.K. so they SHOULD have been ready for him 😉

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jun 22, 2014 @ 08:06:28

        It was an enjoyable match though. Cleaner than many South American/England matches usually are and the goals were good goals, particularly the Uruguayan ones. Well worth waking at 5 to watch!

      • narf77
        Jun 23, 2014 @ 03:11:21

        (You tell yourself that 😉 )

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jun 23, 2014 @ 08:06:06

        Hey, I enjoyed the thrill of the game, the thrill of an England goal followed by the less than thrilling calming down of 2 boys who had the crap scared out of them by our goal screams and the fun of getting up early to watch a game with my husband and best friend. I’m happy with that even if we didn’t win the game. We are fans but not rabid and 2am matches for the remaining Aussie/England/Germany matches means we’re not watching any more. I’ll take the win of a good game and good goals.

      • narf77
        Jun 23, 2014 @ 09:18:06

        And “I” will enjoy my early mornings unpolluted by soccer 😉

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jun 23, 2014 @ 11:30:19

        Unpolluted! Pfft!

      • narf77
        Jun 24, 2014 @ 04:19:33

        Yup, actually disinfected the soccer out of my house 😉

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jun 24, 2014 @ 08:09:12

        How are we friends? 😉

      • narf77
        Jun 24, 2014 @ 10:53:42

        They do say that opposites attract 😉

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jun 26, 2014 @ 09:07:28

        😉

    • narf77
      Jun 20, 2014 @ 04:09:35

      Show Jas this…he will want to move to Japan 😉

      http://whenonearth.net/star-sand-beach-japan/

      Steve’s mate Guy already told me that I should roll the tank hamster style so that’s not all that original ma’am! 😉 Seriously though I should be in, out roll…in, out, refix pump housing (so the tank doesn’t drip) and happy days RAINWATER by the end of the weekend. If you see me on the news, pretend you don’t know me OK? 😉

      By the way…regarding the soccer…the SOCCER…”FORGEDABOUDIT!” 😉

      Reply

  15. kellie@foodtoglow
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 05:19:22

    As a former soft southerner from Florida (late of Scotland) I have never learned to knit. Always too damn hot. We should’ve perhaps instead learned to make air con units. I love the afghan and can see it will be a most versatile investment of your time. I had no idea it got so cold where you are, and so early in winter too. Gosh, I almost feel sorry for you! But I don’t because it all sounds ideal down your way. But please, for the love of God, post that pumpkin, date and apple fudge recipe!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 20, 2014 @ 05:28:04

      LOL It’s just going to be a mish-mash of raw or vegan fudge recipes that I have seen on Pinterest and will involve my cooked (so there goes the raw moniker 😉 ) pumpkin, date and apple butter (just pumpkin, apple and dates cooked together in water DELISH) mixed with homemade tahini and homemade coconut butter. I found a great recipe for making smooth as silk coconut butter the other day and can’t wait to make some to create fudge of GREAT happiness for the narf. An Excellent way to enjoy myself indoors while I am crocheting and basking in Brunhilda’s warmth. I LOVE winter…getting down to -2C next week. Not Scottish cold but still cold 😉

      Reply

  16. cityhippyfarmgirl
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 13:31:32

    Look at all your lovely crocheted goodness. I’m making a shawl/scarf thing at the moment and it’s taking forever to complete. 4 ply I’m working with and I’m thankful I didn’t go with the 2 ply as I originally thought as completion would probably never be achievable. As it is, end of winter I should be done. I just may be the only person sporting a woollen shawl come summer.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 21, 2014 @ 04:13:01

      But MAN will that woollen shawl rock! 🙂 I crochet because I love things that don’t require too much thought to do with my hands and that was a very quick crochet thanks to using 2 strands of wool and a very big crochet hook. The results are very heavy and are more like a floor rug than an afghan but whatchagonnadoeh? ;).

      Reply

  17. Margaret Griffin
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 21:06:45

    Hi,

    One of the main reasons I have stuck with knitting and crochet since I took them up in my 50s is their power to calm the inner beast. That repetitive, rhythmic movement soothes the angst. I see you have the seeds of a stash lurking in one of your cupboards. Be careful, or before you know it, it will grow and grow until you need plastic bins and stripy storage bags to contain it. I am being strict and not going near Bendigo Woollen Mills. However, hand spun yarn and novelty yarns continue to be my downfall.

    I could feel myself starting to hyperventilate when you mentioned crawling into the water tank with the possibility of getting stuck……..surely you know some thin person who loves going pot holing.

    As for solar powered novelties, I have Her Majesty, The Queen, waving regally on my kitchen window sill. Her companion is a corgi with a nodding head. They were presents from a loving cousin.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 25, 2014 @ 04:34:33

      You are SO right Margaret. Ms Teddy/Tottie has an addiction to the Bendigo Woollen Mills and after my wonderful daughters gifted me some strange and unusual novelty yarns (last of the range so cheap) for Christmas last year I was hooked (literally 😉 ). I would love to buy some gorgeous alpaca and other scrumptious fibres but they are WAY out of my price range. Till I win the lottery, I will stick with what I am using at the moment which is soothing my inner beast and keeping my hands busy. “Idle hands make the devils work” and I wouldn’t want myself to be making the devil’s work now (whatever that means) would I?!

      Don’t post images of those regal solar groovers Ms Margaret, you wouldn’t want to see a grown man cry now would you? 😉

      Reply

  18. Sue Dreamwalker
    Jun 28, 2014 @ 06:59:41

    I will hopefully be back tomorrow to read in full here.. Late here now so off to bed the wine got to me LOL.. 🙂
    Love the colours of the wool and although I crochet Im a knitter… Love what you have done so far… I enlarged the photo… beautiful… 🙂 see you soon… xox Hugs Sue xxx

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 28, 2014 @ 07:03:22

      Hugs right back atcha Sue and heres to wine and cream cakes, the saviour of we women of a “certain age” oh, and chocolate…and crisps…and well cooked chips…and beer on a hot day…and entire boxes of chocolate… and nachos! SO many food reasons to get out of bed and so little time to eat them! Have a wonderful weekend Sue 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

