The sparrows are back and they brought a friend…General disarray…

Hi All,

 

Last year there was a bit of a sparrow problem. They were dropping dead all over the place and I thought that our small population must have croaked as well because they suddenly stopped coming. I forgot that we are upside down here in Tassie and so the sparrows had buggered off on holiday up North for the summer and are now back down south here for the duration of the colder months. That means that they are primed, ready and raring to go for cheese pinching. We put cheese out for the grey shrike thrushes and this is the object of their desire. Short of buying an extra kilo of tasty cheddar cheese a fortnight for the sparrows we have to spend our days thwarting their efforts which isn’t easy because as anyone who has had anything to do with sparrows (rats, squirrels, cockroaches…) knows, they are clever little bollocks.

DSCF0338

Talking about cockroaches, here is the Serendipity Farm equivalent having just been released by Stevie-boy to wreak their havoc and breed exponentially for another day…

DSCF0339

A wise move Stevie-boy, that very fetching plastic bowl should prevent the chooks from hijacking your brain and making you their mindless puppet slave…but then again it might not!

DSCF0357

This should be a quiche…it isn’t. It is a potato bake. If we HAD some eggs it might be a quiche…those cockroaches are living on borrowed time!

It is around about this time of year that an uncertain malaise tends to settle on narf7’s generally happy demeanor. I just headed up to the veggie garden where I was greeted with a mass uprising of white flies, some half dead pumpkins, the scene of some pumpkin carnage (some are still OK but a fair few of them have been reduced to a few seed husks 😦 ) and the overwhelming and frankly terrifying prospect that I am going to have to “do something”  out there. Good LORD where do I start? The possums have managed to trampoline the top of the enclosure, breaking the thin ropes that we stretched across to prevent them from accessing Poland (at least through the netting) and they pretty much have squished the garden down to about 3ft high in some areas. My poor yacon is still thriving but is also 3 feet high thanks to possums tap-dancing on it. The pumpkins are showing no signs of slowing down despite some obvious frost damage to the outer perimeter and there are tomato plants still producing tomatoes. Fear and a sense of “Where the heck do I start?!” is crippling me at the moment. I am holed up inside with a nice hot cup of tea where it is safe from sparrows, possums and actually having to be proactive about my immediate problem…”move over under that bed Earl…make room for a new tenant!”

DSCF0355

I was going to show you a photo of the garden but I don’t think that you are ready for that yet…so here is a photo of what the kitchen looks like at 6.30 in the morning. Check out the view…

DSCF0377

And this was Monday when it poured down for the whole day…

DSCF0378

And this was yesterday where the river was covered in mist. The view never looks the same way twice out of my kitchen window

You know how they talk about “putting on hats” to change situations? Well remember my post about reality a couple of weeks ago? I recently bought one of those Nepalese style ear flap beanie type hats (complete with a bobble on top). It has been pretty cold here lately and as someone who has a lot of earrings I can attest to how cold your ears get when all of that metal starts to chill down and this hat promised to be my ears winter saviour. I picked it out because it was bright and easily visible (so the drivers might avoid the rest of the lesser spotted early morning narf being dragged along behind Earl if they could at least see the head portion…) and as Mr Billy Connelly once said “This’ll do ME!” I bought it, brought it home and headed to my reality mirror (stupidly) and placed the hat on my head. It is amazing how many things can go through your head at the same time when you can usually only process one thing at a time like “make a cup of tea”…”drink the cup of tea”…

DSCF0394

I think I am part squirrel. I have this incessant need to collect seeds and store them. Unlike the common garden squirrel I don’t use hollow tree trunks…not THIS little black duck! No other squirrel is going to nick MY stash…I store them all in containers on my kitchen window where I can see them and gloat over them…might be about time to plant a few of them out so that I can free up a bit of space to start collecting some more methinks!

DSCF0396

The view out the kitchen window today. -1C on Serendipity Farm and again I give thanks for Brunhilda 🙂

I recently converted to complete honesty in my year of living honestly back in 2011. It wasn’t an easy conversion mind you as some things are harder than others to be honest about (like how many chocolate biscuits you can REALLY pack, hamster style, into your mouth in one go…) but it was an entirely cathartic experience and cleaned out my back passages of dusty self-delusion that had been festering away for many years. I realised how very honest I had become when I posted a photo of myself wearing the hat of terror (as it shall be known from now on) on my brothers Facebook page for the whole world to see (for indeed, my brother appears to have friended “the entire world” on his Facebook page). I thought it was only fair as I had shared a picture of him in my last blog post. Not only did I bare my crazy Nepalese hat wearing moniker to my brothers doting public but I allowed Stevie-boy to then go on and Photoshop me further. There is a degree of honesty that is dignified and then there is just getting silly and I think that I might have veered straight out of dignity and into that wild world of “silly”…

DSCF0307

Here’s that picture. “Crazy is as crazy does my mamma used to say…”

 

DSCF0327

The only way I could stop Earl from attempting to eat my hat was to let him wear it

Early morning is a great leveler. You have nothing to distract you (aside from forty squillion roosters who are hell bent on squawking in the new day but that’s another story…) and you can really focus on what is real and what isn’t. Real is narf7 before her first cup of tea where she is lucid but not very nice. I have had my first cup of tea so I can now discuss Plato with impunity AND I can tell you that I learned something new and exciting this morning. I realised that if I can post a MOST unflattering picture of myself, on my brothers Facebook page where all of his (crazy) friends can see me in all my twitchy glory, I can do anything. Outing yourself is liberating. Being unafraid of your aging and slightly terrifying countenance is taking liberating to a whole new dimension. I just realised that I don’t care what people think of me…how liberating is that! I just realised that if I want to wear my chalupi hat of great ear warmth I will. I just realised that people are going to be judging you no matter what you do and whether you slap a tonne of makeup in order to blend in with the natives or just go al fresco and wear your crazy chalupi hat isn’t going to make a lot of difference. Ok, so maybe you might get pointed at and laughed at a bit more but let’s be honest, there are worse things than causing a bit of jocularity in the native populace and if I can bring a smile to someone’s dial, far-be-it from me to deprive my people of that joy

DSCF0324

Looks like I might have to lay off of the carrots again and Stevie-boy is toting his woolly Russian hat from last year as this year is just that bit colder than last year so he can wear it

DSCF0330

Earl demanding equal time again…

DSCF0329

Can’t be playing favourites now can we?

OK, I am off for my early morning walk with Early (surely that sentence is something… a palindrome? Alliteration? Why oh WHY didn’t I pay ANY ATTENTION in English class?!!) Wish me luck, we are walking with Jan’s brother Peter and Mieka today as Jan is AWOL driving a camper van back to a terminal as a (very clever) cheap way to get from point “A” to point “B”. Remind me to tell you about how clever Jan is some day when I am not contemplating just how much drag coefficient Earl is going to subject me to in my immediate future…

Nothing for nothing

I stole this with impunity…I liked it when I saw it. Feel free to steal it from me with impunity if you see fit

DSCF0337

After managing to get Bezial to wear a hat, Steve suddenly got visions of starting a website and taking daily shots of Bezial with strange things on his head…I am glad to say that he forgot about that idea almost as fast as he thought of it but NO-WHERE near as glad as Bezial was 😉

DSCF0389

When they say “seedless dates” on the packet, don’t believe them. Just sayin’…

DSCF0381

A wonderful friend just gave me some figs. I LERVE figs. I decided that to eke them out I would cook them with some dates into a compote so that I could have them in my morning buckwheat porridge

DSCF0406

Not pretty…but DELICIOUS 🙂

I just got kicked out of bed by Bezial on my sleep in day! I don’t really mind because that meant that I remembered the dream that I was just having as he started pressing me with his nose to remind me that I was an hour overdue to get up (lazy sack that I am who needs reminding…). I was dreaming that I saw Mr Robert Downey Jr. and asked him for his autograph. Not a strange connection as I have been talking about him and sharing him with the most delectable Pauline and Ms Lori from Oklahoma so entirely reasonable that I should dream about Mr (delicious) Robert Downey Jr. BUT the bit of paper that Mr Junior handed to me had a most interesting symbol drawn on it. It was the mathematical symbol for zero. I am not a mathematical genius. I am not even a mathematical dunce and can only dream of aspiring to dunce one day but the other day (Mother’s Day to be precise) My mathematically minded son told me that the symbol for zero has a line through it. OK, good o…but what does this have to do with Mr Junior? Well apparently, early on in his career he made a movie with the word “Zero” in the title. I know this because I have forgone my long suffering RSS Feed Reader this morning to hunt down all things Mr Junior to see if I can make some sense of my dream. Seems that movie won him critical acclaim and was almost a parody of what his life was to become…

Naughty boy

Stevie-boy obviously delighted to have me take a photo of him but I needed it for comparison…

robert-downey-jr-1207-lg

As you can see, Mr Junior has taken to dying his hair blond in order to look like Steve and is it a coincedence that he has a beard>?! I rest my case…

Robert-Downey-Jr-Gucci-Trek-Boots-UpscaleHype-7

Well look at you Mr Junior! Anyone who can be swayed into wearing a pair of lederhosen and still look rather fetching is AOK by moi! He looks like he is thinking “How many times can I do something stupid like this before they stop letting me make movies…” 😉

Maybe I was channeling Mr Junior? Maybe he hitched a ride in my sleeping brain (dangerous waters Mr Junior…) and sent a little sentiment out to the universe that my sleeping brain reached out to in its somnolent state…whatever the reason if you are reading this blog post Mr Junior (and indeed, why wouldn’t he be?) I have a message for you from narf7…THE narf7 of Serendipity Farm. “Sir, you have risen from the ashes like a phoenix (a sweet and most delicious phoenix) and are currently listed as one of the “A” list in Hollywood. You made more money last year than most of us can even begin to contemplate and I think it’s time that you used your wealth to go find yourself some happiness outside of Hollywood. Go sit on a rock (a very expensive one) someplace out in the desert and find yourself. You are worth it Mr Junior. We are ALL worth that much. I owed you that bit of precious advice for you giving me your autograph…now if I can only find it under my pillow…

DSCF0350

Steve first thing in the morning…

DSCF0333

Steve first thing in the morning AFTER  a cup of coffee…

Well this brings me to the end of another blog post. The terror of the sheer effort needed by me to just return the veggie garden to a semblance of order is starting to recede (a little). It has been joined by a nagging in the back of my head reminding me that I “really should get back out into the rest of the garden and plant out trees, shrubs, source some perennial veggies…blah blah…” yeah my inside brain is a whole LOT more organised than my outside skin! I am going to head out in a moment and rake up the pile of horse manure that Stevie-boy got us last week before the car decided to put its 2c worth in (off to the mechanics tomorrow with YOU young  fellow-me-lad!) I am doing this because I NEED to feel like I am doing something productive. I might even have a go at learning how to crochet this afghan that I have nailed to my PC desktop…

http://www.allfreecrochetafghanpatterns.com/Mile-A-Minute/Make-it-Quick-Afghan/ml/1/?utm_source=ppl-newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=allfreecrochetafghanpatterns20140516#yOZjUpFIVoxf5dhU.99

They assure me it is fast, reasonably easy to make and reliable and at the moment on Serendipity Farm, I NEED me something to take my mind off all of that “other” stuff that is clamouring in the wings just waiting for me to attend to it

 

55 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brymnsons
    May 21, 2014 @ 19:42:00

    The look on Bezial’s face with that shoe on his head is priceless! I love your Nepalese hat, or is it a beany?? Nice colours, suited Earl too 🙂
    I rather like Robert Downey Jr, he is a very talented man and some pretty nice eye candy too. How lucky you are to have him visit you in his dreams, and sign an autograph too! I think I might have to see if I can channel him too 😀
    Stevie boy is lookn good himself, love the before cuppa and after cuppa photos x

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 02:42:50

      STILL can’t find that autograph! Pity really, if I could find it we would be set eh? I reckon Earl was jealous of Mr Juniors good looks as he thinks he is the best looking one here and I reckon he ate my autograph…sigh…oh well, back to the drawing board! (Now if I can just remember how that autograph looked I could practice it…) 😉

      Reply

  2. brymnsons
    May 21, 2014 @ 19:43:30

    Oops, your dreams that should be but you never know he just might visit you in his dreams too! 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 02:44:43

      OBVIOUSLY Mr Junior would be reciprocating with the dreams swappsies…I dare say he had a most entertaining dream the other night under the bed with Earl, angrily trying to make head or tail of my latest study assignment and my signature with my favourite number 7? Now NO other Hollywood star has THAT! You are WELCOME Mr Downey Jr. 😉

      Reply

  3. cathyandchucky
    May 21, 2014 @ 20:26:37

    Love and adore Mr Junior 🙂 Have you thought of hooking an electric fence type thingy over the top of your jungle gym…woops veggie patch I mean? That would surely make the possums think twice. The hats are functionally furry and are as much a fashion statement for the doggies as for you. What about possum skin hats? Kind of like coon skin hats but different 😉 Loved Steve’s before and after coffee photos and the one of you together is brilliant. Xox

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 02:46:33

      The electric fence idea is a goodn’ but too pricey for this pair of little black penniless student hippy ducks however the possum skin hats are a definate idea! Thinking about starting an Etsy store selling Aussie possum skin chalupi’s to crazy middle aged bolshie hippy women in other countries. I reckon they would be lining up for the chance to buy a Serendipity Farm original! 🙂

      Reply

      • cathyandchucky
        May 22, 2014 @ 10:00:31

        For the electric fence, all you need is an old car battery and wire Fronkiii. Ask any farmer in the area and they should be able to give you a hand 🙂 they’d probably give you some wire as well. You could also branch out into possum skin coats and sell them to kiwis who hate Aussie possums over there.

      • narf77
        May 22, 2014 @ 17:28:11

        Or possum skin hats 😉 Not sure how to make the fence you are talking about, sounds like Tassie bodging to me! Dad would have been proud of you for even suggesting it… 😉

      • Linne
        May 29, 2014 @ 13:16:27

        Cathy is right, Narfie; you need some insulators to fasten to your poles or trees or whatever, then the wire is run from insulator to insulator 9winding around or passing through in order to hold it up), then hook up to the battery. Two wires might be an idea, as possums may learn to step over the first one . . .

        As to the possum chalupis, this middle aged bolshie hippie woman says ‘pass’; I’ll be seen in public in a lot of weird outfits, but I’m not ready for possum hats . . . yet! Now, possim capes . . . that would be another story . . . 🙂

  4. Chica Andaluza
    May 22, 2014 @ 03:33:53

    Love the dogs in hats (shoes)! Maybe it could be a monthly feature?! And as for all the tasks – just take them in bite sized pieces (How do you eat an elephant….slowly?!) Well as for Mr Junir vs Steve – how can you even begin to compare…Steve wins hands down and by a mile! Never trust a man in lederhosen (and I should know, I’ve made a complete fool of myself dancing on tables at Munich’s Octoberfest) 😉

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 03:37:50

      Wise advice Ms Chica…so should Mr Junior ever discover Serendipity Farm I shall tell him to “PUSH OFF SUNSHINE!” as I already have the best deal 🙂 Stevie-boy was born the same year as both you and Mr Junior, it was a very fine vintage of a year ;). I would like to point out that I don’t eat elephants at all ma’am! I don’t have any experience munching on pachyderms and so that is why I have to hide under the bed with a paper bag over my head (with eye holes in it…I am under there with Earl remember and it is ALWAYS wise to be aware of what he is up to at all times…)

      Reply

      • Chica Andaluza
        May 22, 2014 @ 03:41:43

        It was a good year indeed! And I don’t think even I’d tackle an elephant…apart from the fact I lurve the big beasties, my oven’s not big enough 😉

      • narf77
        May 22, 2014 @ 03:45:01

        Its so cold here we could leave the entire elephant outside in the “frozen tundra’s” and just hack off bits at will to be roasted/braised/fricasee’d but I fear that Earl would soon become the king of elephant mountain and that would be that! I can only BEGIN to imagine Earls delight with an elephant leg bone. Quite lucky that they don’t wander the plains of Serendipity Farm to be honest!

  5. The Snail of Happiness
    May 22, 2014 @ 05:24:28

    You look fabulous in your hat… whatever any crazy friends of your brother might say on Facebook. Bezial, however, has every right to be disgruntled about the shoe.
    I’m intrigued by ‘Afghans’… here in the UK an Afghan always used to be either a person from Afghanistan or a sort of hound… I’m not entirely sure that I want to crochet either of those things… although I do have a great pattern for a Jack Russell. Perhaps I take lateral thinking too far…

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 08:45:25

      Sometimes I would LOVE to crochet a dog…that way I would get a most leisurely gentle walk with NO PULLING! 😉 An afghan (I am assured) is a word for a throw rug that you wear over your knees when you are a tad cold (like when you are up at 3am sitting at your computer and your wood oven hasn’t quite boosted up the room temperature just yet…that sort of cold…). I don’t think that any of my brothers commented about my hat to be honest as they really didn’t know who I was 😉 Lateral thinking will take you a LONG way down the roads to ruin, insanity AND success…you just have to make sure that you choose the right road to follow 😉

      Reply

      • The Snail of Happiness
        May 22, 2014 @ 15:59:59

        There’s pulling involved with both our dogs – Sam pulls us and we pull Max. We are thinking of fitting Max with wheels, so we can just drag him along like one of those children’s toys… we think he is, in fact, 50% dog and 50% soft furnishing!

      • narf77
        May 22, 2014 @ 17:37:18

        Bezial is 50% dog and 50% seal (LOVES water) and Earl is 20% dog, 30% Tractor, 25% alligator/crocodile (not sure which), 15% weasel and 10% ninja If we were (stupid) clever enough to harness either of them to wheels whoever was being dragged by the wheels would probably deserve their fate 😉

    • Linne
      May 29, 2014 @ 13:19:06

      Do you know why they don’t let you take your knitting needles on an airplane?
      Because you might knit an afghan . . . (I’d say ‘sorry’, but I’m not . . . )

      Reply

  6. The Snail of Happiness
    May 22, 2014 @ 05:25:04

    Oh and I love those views from your kitchen… I wish I could call round!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 08:46:19

      A little far away indeed but at least you can share the views on the blog 🙂 We are SO lucky to be living where we live. I never tire of those views and am so grateful to my dad for leaving us this place. We could never have afforded a view like that anywhere else 🙂

      Reply

  7. thecontentedcrafter
    May 22, 2014 @ 06:15:40

    I’m running late this morning and just leaving a quick not to say I’ve been – laughed my head off and asked but where are all the photos of the garden? Narfie’s just recycling all those fb shots ’cause it’s too cold to go outside and take ’em!!

    Also need to mention that you look so darned healthy in your mug shots! And the two / four of you have fun together [remain unsure how much fun it is for Bezial – Earl I know is happy full stop as he thinks the world belongs to him – but Bezial is a gentler doggie soul] And, as we all know, fun is a major component in attaining happiness!

    BTW that afghan link you put up – looks quite complex to me – better to have a go at Dani’s Bavarian! I LOVE MINE!! 🙂

    I think if Stevieboy was given a make-up artist and a pro photographer he would out-beautify and out-charm Mr Junior hands down – but don’t do it as I don’t have time to handle a huge influx into his fan club right now – gotta get these organisers finished and into a post!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 08:53:09

      I will tell Stevie-boy to hold over on the makeover so that you can (stop procrastinating and) make your organisers 🙂 I started to make that afghan… I really did…I unpicked it twenty eleven times and finally gave up in disgust! I think Bavarian crochet SURELY can’t be as hard? It wasn’t that it was hard, you just had to keep counting to 5 all the time and I must be count dyslexic as I kept missing stitches and ending up at the end of the row with a few left over or not enough…sigh…I am making a plain double yarn afghan that is thick enough to be used as insulation now. Working away happily at it and keeping my hands and my mind busy (and away from that garden! 😉 ) Good manufacturing with those organisers 🙂

      Reply

  8. quarteracrelifestyle
    May 22, 2014 @ 07:38:35

    Fran…you are a character and a half. While I am sitting, yawning, drinking coffee to at least get some vague essence of life in the old girl you are creatively and energetically thinking all sorts lol.

    To think you have your own Steve wannabe to dream about while you have the real thing in your home, you are one lucky girl. Love your hat picture but Earl….!!! 🙂 His face is just precious.
    A funny thing about your dream though?! I once had a dream I was in a very old fashioned train amongst a pile of old women of a very different culture. An old lady was sitting on the floor and looked up at me and smiled a big toothy grin, then she pointed to me my face. She telepathically told me I had beautiful skin but if I wanted to keep it wrinkle free I should rub a clear quartz crystal over it. This was in my early days of having a computer so I looked it up. (I have had many dreams where random information just came to me) There it was, an old use of crystals by the Incans I think it was? I don’t know how this happens only that it does. Never have used the crystal thing though 🙂
    I now cut dates in half before I use them in anything, never trust a packaging claim I have found out the chipped tooth way!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 08:55:57

      Earl loves posing in photos, the exact opposite to Bezial. What an awesome dream! Makes my autograph and mathematically challenged revelation seem positively tame in comparison…I wonder if you had used that crystal if you could be selling books on “My Skincare Secret” now and living the life of Reilly in the Seychelles? We can only wonder…(I wonder if it works in retrospect? 😉 ). I use that many dates I am bound to find a seed or two so I just save them and am going to just shove them into the ground around the place. Who knows, one day Tasmania might be the new Egypt and I will have already gotten a good head start with the palm trees 😉

      Reply

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        May 22, 2014 @ 09:36:30

        Ah, what life could’ve been if only I listened, the story of my life lol. It doesn’t make yours look tame at all, I just wonder at the nature of some dreams..I like hearing about dreams such as yours because there possibly just a step out of “reality” enough to make me wonder all over again about the stuff I have dreamed.

        Just imagine if you could actually grow dates, that would be an ultimate crop!

      • narf77
        May 22, 2014 @ 17:27:25

        I can 🙂 I have already grown them from seeds and have some in pots 🙂

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        May 22, 2014 @ 17:49:10

        That’s exciting….do you know if people do/can grow dates in OZ – like will they fruit in Australian climate? I would love to be able to grow them!

      • narf77
        May 23, 2014 @ 03:20:09

        The would do very well in inland (hot and dry) Aussie conditions. As climate change kicks in, we are going to be able to grow those kind of things and see them fruit in the future. There are always positives and negatives to everything and sometimes it is good to realise that we might just get some benefits from the sodding thing! Date palms grow very easily and are very pretty things. We have them growing here all over the place and they do fruit. You just have to get the right kind. Have you heard of Chinese Red Dates? (Ziziphus jujuba)? They grow really well in our conditions, are delicious both fresh and dried (sort of the prunes of the date world) and are a most valuable food plant and medicine. The Chinese use them for so many things. Check them out…

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jujube

        Its always exciting to find something that you can add to your garden to increase the harvest and that is delicious and exciting at the same time 🙂

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        May 23, 2014 @ 05:54:56

        That sounds perfect for you, I wish we could grow them!
        I hope possums don’t like them, that sunds like a crop you could make some income from!
        I used to buy Chinese Red Dates when I lived in Wellington – they are the absolute ultimate in dates, I LOVE them. I haven’t seen them here at all but am now thinking we do have a Chinese food shop here so I will have to poke my nose in to ask them!

  9. rabidlittlehippy
    May 22, 2014 @ 15:32:06

    http://content.hollywire.com/sites/default/files/robert-downey-jr-hot.jpg – Somebody ate my autograph?!?!

    Glad you got out in that garden. Just wish I could teleport over some fence wire I got for free as it would perfectly hold up your fish farn netting. If it fits a suitcase…?

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 17:31:16

      Fence wire is nice and cheap and Steve is hopefully going to get some soon 🙂 Cheers for the kind offer though :). Guess whose daughters snuck off to Melbourne today WITHOUT THEIR MUM! I could have visited with friends, I wouldn’t even have been anywhere NEAR them for them to be embarassed (or whatever other reason it was that they DIDN’T ASK ME!!!) Mutter…mutter…mutter…

      Reply

  10. Margaret Griffin
    May 22, 2014 @ 15:45:43

    Hi, I love the view from your kitchen window – I am sure it provides lots of opportunities to linger over the washing up.

    I couldn’t believe you used the phrase ‘not this little black duck!’ This is a phrase I use from time to time. It’s great to see someone else remembers the Daffy duck cartoons of my childhood.

    Poor old Bezial. He clearly does not like wearing dead animals on his head.

    Good luck with the pumpkin eating possums. When I was visiting my sister recently, I was shown a piece of pumpkin which had been left on the kitchen bench and which had been nibbled, chewed, chomped by a possum which had come down the chimney – resourceful creatures, possums.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2014 @ 17:33:43

      I think Steve put a big piece of steel over our loungeroom chimney (that we don’t use) thank GOODNESS as can you just begin to imagine a possum coming down the chimney with Earl waiting at the bottom?!!! I am terrified just thinking about it! 😉 Lucky that was a fake fur hat or Earl would have stolen it off Bezial. I LOVED Daffy. He was my favourite, much better than Donald Duck AND he had better tantrums AND was more eloquent (at least you could understand Daffy 😉 ) Pleasure to meet a fellow little black duck. Maybe we can start a group? 😉

      Reply

  11. Robbie
    May 23, 2014 @ 06:48:55

    shoot you deserves some time to take a rest. After I grow all spring, summer + fall I am tired and just let it sleep…my garden goes to sleep and I wake it up next spring. I just get tired of it and I need a rest. Don’t beat yourself up, I let mine go. I am in the early stages where I enjoy making changes, adding to, growing, etc…,but by the end of the summer I want to just escape to my comforatble chair and read a good book:-)
    Love the hats! I think your hat is great!!! You have such fun in life, great post:-)

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 23, 2014 @ 09:25:40

      The problem with letting ours go is that it takes that break and runs with it! At the end of our winter, if we don’t start dealing with roosters and the garden, we will probably have seventy squillion chickens, a neighbour with a sub machine gun trained on us every time we made a dash for the car…an acre of mixed blackberries and spear thistles and the rest of the property overrun with feral cats and native animals…I think I might just crawl back under that bed again just thinking about it! “EEK!”

      Reply

  12. caribougrrl
    May 23, 2014 @ 22:24:25

    😀

    nice hat!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 25, 2014 @ 06:52:58

      Damned RIGHT it’s a nice hat ma’am and the best bit is that even though I look like a proper pillock wearing said hat, I no longer care…OH the freedom of 50! 🙂

      Reply

  13. Boomdeeadda
    May 25, 2014 @ 00:46:26

    Except for eating rather icky stuff for breakfast, you’re having way too much fun out there on Serendipity Farm. You guys are a cute couple, even in silly hats. I laughed at how Earl and Bezial are so willing to join in on the antics.

    Your Stevie does have an uncanny resemblance to R.D.J. Throw some chickens into the next Iron Man and presto….twins. LOL

    I linked over to the crochet project pattern and I think my eyes actually crossed. That makes no sense to me what so ever. Good grief and good luck.

    I hope your hens start making eggs…..maybe it’s not them at all. Maybe it’s the Rooster? Is he up to the job (if you know what I mean)? Meanwhile, Potatoe pie sounds pleasant enough for a cold fall evening. I hope you got your wood pile all squared away. -1 c sounds chilly without Central heating. I guess the four of you could always cuddle up 😀

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 25, 2014 @ 07:03:16

      I had a go at that crochet…I really did…I unpicked it several times as I kept missing “1,2,3,4,5, change over and then 1,2,3,4,5 of the next step” it wasn’t hard crochet, it was just all of that counting and my anti-maths brain just didn’t get along 😦 I would have liked to make one of those afghans but now I am just going with one of the stitches I learned on that pattern and am making a much less stressful afghan that way. Might not be as pretty but then it will be serviceable AND it will get crocheted and finished (the most important bit! 🙂 )

      Stevie-boy and Mr Junior were born in the same year (coincedence? I think NOT) only difference is that Stevie-boy squoze (that IS a word) into the Chinese year of the Dragon (where all chinese people which to be squozed/squeezen) and Mr Junior had to live with being a snake…that’s why he is SO jealous of Stevie-boy and continually tries to copy him…sad, but true 😉

      Its the plethora of roosters that keep mass raping our poor long suffering hens that is probably the problem and so we set about mass slaughtering them today…hard work but a freezer FULL of rooster mince can’t be bad ;). Brunhilda is so efficient we are usually sweating our evenings away thanks to her sterling efforts to heat our little house. I love winter as it gives us a chance to chill out and just hibernate in style. We can cuddle if we like, just don’t “need” to which makes all of the difference methinks 🙂 Have a lovely week Ms Boomdee and thank you for dropping by and having a visit. I hope you found the chocolate biscuit tin and that Steve didn’t hide it TOO well (this time) and made yourself a cuppa while you read 🙂 See you soon 🙂

      Reply

  14. Angela @ Canned Time
    May 25, 2014 @ 12:37:46

    I’m very late getting around to this and there’s so many other wonderful thoughts here, about your thoughts, I’ve decided to just leave you with this:

    Have a safe, warm week out there in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 26, 2014 @ 03:21:25

      LOL! That is priceless Angela :). That tenacious little guy could do that with Bezial as Bezial would just look on in a most bemused way but there would be 2 problems with Earl…1…his fur isn’t long enough to hide an acorn and 2…SNARF! Goodbye little squirrel 😦 (and then he would eat the acorn for dessert!)

      Reply

  15. cityhippyfarmgirl
    May 27, 2014 @ 20:53:44

    ahh, look at your beautiful kitchen view. What a stunning thing to wake up. I can just imagine it, deep dark winter…brunhilda (oh spelling?) on, the sun slowly sneaking up and the mist rising off the water. Gorgeous.
    (perhaps a dog snore in the back ground?)

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 28, 2014 @ 03:35:17

      2 dogs snoring and one husband… 😉 Usually my view is pretty dark at 3am (when I get up) but when there is a full moon it is amazing to stand at my kitchen sink and fill my kettle to start my day. Brunhilda sends warm wafting hugs 🙂

      Reply

  16. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    May 28, 2014 @ 11:50:25

    Ack, those date pits look deadly! That’s one of my big food fears, since I’ve frequently broken teeth chomping down on much more benign stuff. Of course, most of the damage has been done by accidentally biting forks (I swear, I understand basic etiquette and utensil usage…) but it still gives me pause anytime I consider a “seedless” treat. Olives are the worst offenders, in my experience, but then I’ve never gotten dates that we quite that loaded.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 28, 2014 @ 11:53:07

      I keep them and plant them out…one day I will have a whole forest (grove?!) of them 🙂 I find them in my soaked dates that I make my non-dairy kefir with. I soak them and then squeeze the softened dates to check for seeds. If I miss a seed it ends up in the vitamix and I certainly know about it! 😉

      Reply

  17. Linne
    May 29, 2014 @ 13:35:22

    Oh, my, where to begin? I love your hats; yours especially, as it’s so colourful! The view from your kitchen window would have me standing there in awe for ages . . . I love views over water; the mists, the moons, the masts . . . 🙂

    I’d be tempted to let the garden rot, then cover it in composted manure and other such things and just keep on planting, but when I saw your list of things that would run amok, I felt a bit daunted by that idea. Guess you’ll just have to gird your loins and get out there . . . or have a ‘garden’ party LOL Invite people to help and promise them food at the end of the day . . . 🙂

    Mr. Junior is nearly as good-looking as Steve, isn’t he? Maybe if he tried a bit harder; or maybe he just needs his own Serendipity Farm . . . whadda ya think, eh?

    I love chopped dates and figs cooked up with a bit of water, then a handful of cornmeal added and eaten with milk (I prefer goat milk when possible; but it’s been a long while . . .) Almond milk would likely do fairly closely.

    Love this post, but I’m running out of time and have the next still to peruse . . .

    Reply

  18. Littlesundog
    May 30, 2014 @ 11:02:39

    I’m loving these hat photos… really, we should all try them out!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 30, 2014 @ 11:56:16

      I reckon if the world (especially military leaders) wore silly hats there would be a whole lot less war…only thing is I think that most of them have no sense of humour so it might not work…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

