Grey Shrike Thrush Life Coach

Hi All,

 

Who needs to pay someone to “coach” you to a better life? The better life is right here inside us and Mr Grey Shrike Thrush just shows us how living simply and getting “enough” is really the best life indeed :). We get Grey Shrike Thrushes visit us on a daily basis. I reckon I am going to view them as my life coaches from now on πŸ™‚ Please note that the image below was taken from my Facebook feed and originated from the original artwork of Mr Michael Leunig, the human version of the Grey Shrike Thrush πŸ™‚

 

The Grey Shrike Thrush Life Coaching Session by Leunig

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rabidlittlehippy
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 05:23:25

    Life lessons come from all sorts of different places don’t they. πŸ™‚ Made me think of our cat Maxxie when he caught a rather sizeable rat which I caught him with at the back door. When I went to offer much praise to my wonderful little black and white ratter (it was mere seconds after comandeering the rat carefully by the back of the neck in case it still lived – it was dead) he had gone. Maxxie took satisfaction from a job well done and not the praise he received for doing it. Lesson noted!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 30, 2014 @ 06:48:05

      The satisfaction that you get from “doing” is backed up by the satisfaction that you get from praise. If we didn’t get feedback (praise per-se) from our dear constant readers I doubt that most of us would keep on putting it out into the ether. It is a fine balance and we humans are designed to elicit praise in order to give ourselves a feeling of acceptance for what we are doing. That’s what gets us following the Joneses if we aren’t aware of what we are doing. Part of our primal need to fit in as if you are part of the pack, you don’t get picked off by the hyena’s! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 30, 2014 @ 07:55:27

        And then just to complicate matters we throw in tall poppy syndrome. It’s all about fitting in and being exactly the same. No better, no worse. Don’t stand out by being too superior, just enough to keep the Jonses syndrome feeding those lesser than you and to keep you wanting to stay just that bit better. Don’t lag too far behind either. Sell yourself into slavery to the bank to make sure you look right, have the right gear and keep the chain feeding along. Constant growth, not too fast, not too slow. Feed the machine. Feed me! Feed Me!! FEED ME!!!
        Ah bugger that. I’m getting off! πŸ˜‰ I’m going to focus on the satisfaction I will get from the job itself. I am well proud of my gardens yesterday and although I sought (and received) praise for it the satisfaction of the dirt under my nails and knowing I’ve planted out food for my family for the coming season actually trumps the praise. Watching it grow, harvesting and then eating it will bring even more joy. The simple things in life really are the best. πŸ˜€

      • narf77
        Mar 30, 2014 @ 09:33:21

        πŸ™‚

  2. Littlesundog
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 06:32:31

    Wonderful little reminder to stick to the basics and keep life simple. That’s what I love about nature… there are messages of simplicity, being alert, and following instinct everywhere! Great life coaching going on all around us!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 30, 2014 @ 06:50:17

      We tend not to notice those little reminders to be content with our lot and this just made me smile and I wanted to share it πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. cityhippyfarmgirl
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 09:31:11

    I think a grey strike thrush sounds like a far better option as life coach. Although I’m not sure we have them here…actually a seagull gave me a life lesson yesterday and a pretty sobering one at that. Fishing line was all caught up on it’s leg and grown into it’s skin, amputating the rest of his leg. That was a pretty big lesson for me, poor thing.

    Reply

  4. teddyandtottie
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 14:25:11

    Love this Narf7! Thanks so much for sharing! xoxoxoxoxox

    Reply

  5. brymnsons
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 16:39:19

    Hey I posted on here and it is not here 😦 sigh…

    Reply

  6. thecontentedcrafter
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 16:47:53

    Blow – there goes any chance I had of plying my trade with you!!

    Reply

  7. Chica Andaluza
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 04:31:30

    Love it! Am actually a trained Life Coach but am completely rubbish at it (not practising thank god as I’d be a public menace) as I kept wanting to give people a good shake and tell them to get on with doing the bleeding obvious 😦

    Reply

    • narf77
      Apr 01, 2014 @ 05:09:11

      That sounds like a true life coach to me…someone who stops people from wallowing in “self” and who wakes them up to possibilities outside themselves, the place where they are really going to live their lives :). I love the little reminder that we are really part of nature that I get whenever our little grey thrush shrikes give me a cheery “G’day!” from the window ledge. I know that they are just here for the cheese but who isn’t? Cheese is a perfect leveller πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

