Of standing still and mentally collecting ourselves

Hi All,

In the spirit of the mania of the season I find myself feeling like a starfish being pulled in the tidal rip of “Christmas”. I appear to have been washed over by some giant force much bigger than I can resist but amongst all of the dragging (sometimes kicking and screaming, can’t let the bolshie babe side down now can I? πŸ˜‰ ) there is the knowledge that I am not doing this alone. That there are people out there kicking and screaming in unison with my desire to live a simpler, more fulfilled life and that together we can make a difference. Just saw this on another blog post and loved it. It instantly said what I would like to say to all of you, my dear constant readers. We are “connected”…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ggSgATQ_vRA

Here’s wishing you the best of this season, whatever you celebrate, believe in or adhere to and if you, like me, find yourself drifting around helpless in a sea of tidal Christmas consumerism just remember…there are lots of us and I guessΒ one day when the tide slows we are all going to wash up on the same shore, battered and bruised but alive and knowing the bliss of a newΒ year, full of possibilities, where we canΒ pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and have the opportunity to live our lives to the fullest each dayΒ πŸ™‚

Narf7 πŸ™‚

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old Fart
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:37:39

    Like ways guys, same to you and yours πŸ˜‰
    Happy New Year from me , AND MAY ALL YOURS WISHES POSSIBLE COME TRUE ?? πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 20, 2013 @ 18:48:23

      You probably don’t want all of my wishes to come true… it might involve a degree of chaos to say the least! But getting this forest garden up and running and a water tank (or two) would go a long way towards achieving a goal or two this coming year. By the way 2014 is going to be a magnificent year… I feel it in my waters πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  2. Angela @ Canned Time
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:05:06

    Couldn’t have said it better, and sending hugs and good energy across the oceans to you and your lovely home and family β™₯

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 20, 2013 @ 18:47:07

      Ditto Ma’am, I am looking forwards to more of your amazing creations in the New Year…bring it on…I am ready for them! πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Angela @ Canned Time
        Dec 22, 2013 @ 07:08:38

        Had to add this to your thoughts here…I left for work around 4am this morning, knowing it was the Saturday before Christmas and the whole of D. C. would be shopping. One of my stops for work is inside a shopping mall in Virginia. I wasn’t sure, but thought with the holiday, their mall doors might open a little earlier and I could slip in and out to get my work done prior to the crowd. I drove up to one of the entrances around 6:45am and to my disgust, saw at least 60+ people, most sitting in lawn chairs, outside the doors waiting for them to open.
        I drove on without mingling in any way with my, I hesitate to admit, fellow humans condemned to their material quest. Lets hope these types wash up on a different shore from us, eh?
        πŸ™‚

      • narf77
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 04:30:16

        China? That would be a good shore for them to wash up on as most of the “stuff” that they are trying to buy comes from there anyway…may as well cut out the middle man and be done with it eh? Kill 2 birds with one stone, my favourite thing! ;). It would be very hard to have to fit in shopping in the middle of this craziness…lawn chairs? In winter?!!! What is wrong with people! Makes me feel positively blissful that I am out of the loop this year ;). Have a great one whatever you are choosing to do and I am sure your Christmas table will be full of gorgeous and inventive vegan grub…I am having Luxury Vegan Nacho’s OLE! My new Christmas tradition and you know what? I am REALLY looking forwards to them :).

      • Angela @ Canned Time
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 04:47:14

        YUM, vegan nachos sound like my dream Christmas dinner.
        We’ll be at my parents house for a very un-vegan dinner and I’ll fill up on canned corn and rolls ;(
        Your dinner sounds fabulous and I wish you all the peace and yumminess you can stand. Thanks Fran β™₯

      • narf77
        Dec 23, 2013 @ 04:59:25

        Time to show your parents that it might be time to provide you with something other than corn… make that corn into a snowman girl! Take some vegan buttah and slather it onto your corn and form it into a small effigy and then when your parents are staring at each other like “where did we go wrong?!!!” you put the whole corny snowman into a roll and you bite into it saying “YUM YUM CORN!” Next year they will either not invite you (SCORE!) or will at least remove the corn and rolls from the menu. Obviously they would have to put something else in its place! I think it might even be time to have a care package in a handbag. Take a shopping bag with something delicious in it on a plate. Stash it under the table where you are going to be sitting (parents are old, they won’t notice this stuff πŸ˜‰ ) and when it comes time to sit down to your delicious “corn fest” pull out the platter of deliciousness and say loudly “Oh Mum and dad you are TOO kind… for me?” and again, they will be too busy looking at each other questioningly (“did you do that? I didn’t…it MUST have been you?”)… needs must when your parents choose to ignore your dietary choices ;). My mum thought that I was constantly going to starve to death. I would eat an enormous bowl of food and she would still want to slather it with butter or cream or something “healthy” at the end of her life she understood but I actually lived with her with my girls for a bit when I left my ex husband and it was a real eye opener for both of us πŸ˜‰

        Christmas Luxury Nacho’s are my homage to simplicity but deliciousness. I don’t eat them any other time in the year as I stay away from grains whenever I can. I decided that one meal of corny goodness (organic and non G.M. – easy to get here) wouldn’t kill me and I am slathering them with homemade gorgeous sour cream, cheeze, guacamole, black bean and rich tomatoey sauce full of mushrooms, olives and a jar of artichokes that Steve (who is MOST fascinated about my Christmas nachos πŸ˜‰ ) thoughtfully tossed into the shopping to include. He wants to see how many of the items in the cupboard I can cram into my nachos…quite a few babe! ;). I will have a delicious slippery unctuous mountain of happiness and THAT is what Christmas food should be methinks. A new tradition on Serendipity Farm and bollocks to the salad! Remember…make a cornman! Make him nice and big and make sure to make a lot of noise about him. You SHALL go to the Christmas vegan food ball girl…you shall…albeit next year! πŸ™‚

  3. cathyandchucky
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 14:58:29

    Merry Christmas oh “Wise one” πŸ˜€ Love you Big Sis. You inspire me to be a better person all the time. Just wish I lived a bit closer xoxoxoxoxoxox

    Reply

  4. Sincerely, Emily
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 16:54:13

    LOVE IT! I am avoiding getting caught up in it all and doing well. I just plod along making my gifts and love it. Happy Happy and Merry Merry to you! Hope to wash up on the same shore with you one day!

    Reply

  5. quarteracrelifestyle
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 19:09:25

    πŸ™‚ Very best wishes for a lovely Christmas at Serendipity, both of you. We are celebrating tomorrow so it’s coming even earlier at our house…..yay ?!

    Reply

  6. Littlesundog
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 03:16:31

    The energy you send over thousands of miles to a little po-dunk town in Oklahoma, is always welcomed (and often needed!!). From the start, I was drawn to your positive energy, wisdom, creative nature and humor. I’m so happy you are my friend Fran… you and Steve are amazing people who are a gift to many of us! Happy Holidays!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 21, 2013 @ 04:41:44

      Right back atcha Lori and I am equally as happy to count you amongst my good friends as well :). I really love being able to meet people who I would have never had the chance to meet via this blog. I have met some amazing people including yourself, who make my life more colourful and interesting than it would have otherwise been. Thankyou for your friendship and your wonderful comments and Happy Holidays to you as well πŸ™‚

      Reply

  7. Ally
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:14:54

    I can relate to your starfish analogy. Trying to swim against the tide of Christmas consumerism can leave one very exhausted! Just keep kicking. πŸ™‚ Wishing you and Steve and all your precious animal friends, a happy and peaceful 2014.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 04:08:04

      Cheers Ally and right back atcha. Have the best time over the break (if you have one) and here’s hoping you get to relax and gird your loins for the New Year πŸ™‚

      Reply

  8. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 13:35:26

    I’m feeling that same manic force, too… But I’m happy to be able to avoid most of it now, since Chanukah is safely behind us. It’s pretty strange to watch from the outside! Regardless, I hope you have a very happy holiday, no matter how you do (or don’t) celebrate. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 04:13:19

      I feel like I am looking at it from the outside as well Hannah because we are bypassing most of the hype this year so it just doesn’t feel like Christmas. Maybe I should be aiming for that Chinese takeaway on Christmas Day rather than my Vegan Luxury nacho’s? πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  9. Linne
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 14:50:18

    Thanks for that link, Narf7; I’ve emailed it to most of my family and friends, some of whom rarely hear from me for months at a time or more. I love it! I’ve avoided the whole Christmas thing this year; it’s all a bit much sometimes. If I could only remember that Christmas will come in December and start making things early in the year . . . why didn’t anyone TELL me? lol

    You and Steve are a great example for others, and so are our friends here in the village. Having you all out in front, building a better way, is just what the world needs.

    I wish you water tanks in the new year . . . πŸ™‚ ~ Linne

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 04:15:08

      Even if it means we have to build them ourselves, we will get water tanks someday :). I just hate the way that Christmas has been hijacked…the spirit of Christmas is still there but it is incredibly hard to hear it when everything else is blaring over the top of it. Have a good day and something nice to eat and enjoy the fact that you didn’t get suckered in to anything πŸ™‚

      Reply

  10. Lynda
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 22:11:58

    Very eloquent and so in tune with the madness surrounding us at the moment. Arhhh. Make it go away. Is there an island that we can all go to till “They” all settle down, that would be about mid Jan. Normal life is hard enough!!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 04:22:21

      You’re darn tootin’ Lynda! Wouldn’t it be amazing if we could all succeed for the month of December… what about Bruny island? Lots of gourmet food, wine and our friend has a good mate that lives there so we might be able to camp…sounds like a plan! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  11. Yelena
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:39:32

    Wishing you all the beauty of this lovely time of year, the snow, and warm house, and fireplace and hot coco and many friends and loved ones!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 16:56:06

      I am on the other side of the world Yelana where it is hot for Christmas, we wear short sleeved shirts and we eat cold food because hot food just doesn’t feel right. Australia is most definitely “upside down” from the rest of the world πŸ™‚

      Reply

  12. Joanna
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 02:52:00

    Hugs to you glorious Narf and dogs and Steve and all who whirl around at this time of year. Have a great time this Christmas xxx

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 24, 2013 @ 03:38:32

      Think of us being molested alive by mosquitoes, standing stoic besides our Christmas bbq raising a glass to our Northern Relatives and friends and wondering “who the heck thought that Christmas in the middle of summer was a good idea?!!!” πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  13. Chica Andaluza
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 09:59:15

    Sorry I haven’t “visited” for a while – horrendous internet and laptop probs here 😦 But just wanted to stop by and wish you, Steve and the pups a wonderful Christmas!

    Reply

  14. gardeningkiwi
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 16:30:07

    Merry Christmas Fran and Steve. I am amazed with all the hard work you have done in your garden so far this season. It looks fabulous. We are all wrapped up in the excitement of Santa and holidays by the beach, which is what goes hand and hand with having kids. As much as it takes me away from my garden – I wouldn’t trade it in for hours of weeding and watering! All the best with your horticultural and sustainable endeavors in the new year. I’m sure you will have a really incredible year ahead. Cheers Sarah : o )

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 25, 2013 @ 03:11:53

      Cheers Sarah :). My garden is teeny compared to yours but I have a vision of when I manage to get it into full production and am going to learn from your example and PLAN this year. Next spring I am going to grow everything myself from seed. No more paying for punnets and I am going to buy heritage seed and will seed save as well. Have a blast at the beach and I have the same feeling as you do about the New Year. I think it is going to be a great one πŸ™‚

      Reply

  15. thecontentedcrafter
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 16:00:43

    It’s Christmas day and I am only just reading this post……. this is what happens when you decide to go off on crazy road trips to celebrate birthdays that fall 2 days before Christmas…. But guess what? I am about to join the crazy bargain shoppers!! I have been given a beautifully written ‘gift certificate’ that states my eldest daughters intention to take me to Harvey Normans tomorrow morning to get the best bargain brand new computer the store has to offer! Yay me!! No more waiting for five minutes for the page to open on screen, no more waiting ten minutes for a photo to open in photoshop editor….. no more crashing, blanking or freezing for no apparent reason! No more hitting ‘save’ every sentence I write on a blog post………… I shall be a proper person with a proper computer! I love Christmas πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a happy one Fran at Serendipity Farm and those nachos went down well. We had a cheese [and fresh fruit and vege] platter washed down with a bit of bubbly and it was a lovely heart-warm day even though we couldn’t use the lovely Outdoor Entertainment Room on account of the naff weather! xoxo

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 26, 2013 @ 03:10:16

      We had a gorgeous day here and didn’t go outside once…go figure! Can’t wait to see your new baby when you pick it up today :). Your daughter certainly knew the perfect gift to give you and it will make SO much difference you will be amazed :). You will have to share a new “baby photo” when you pick it up πŸ™‚

      Reply

  16. thecontentedcrafter
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 16:01:58

    And I have to wait until I have a new computer to watch your link – my computer won’t let me watch You Tube any more – apparently it is censored!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

