Steve at the helm

Fran has been saying she didn’t want to share this , but I think she should as it a very good job. this was part of our final web assessment by the way . (she don’t realy mind me sharing )

Steve

http://www.ddmstudy.com/fran/

Any feed back on this would be appreciated as we are thing of making a website soon 🙂 thanks fans lol

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Florida
    Dec 13, 2013 @ 19:23:24

    Good work, you guys. That is really brilliant! I’m proud to know you.xxx

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 14, 2013 @ 03:19:13

      Hi Florida! (Waving from under the bed) Steve said that he has been chatting to Miles of late and you are doing a permaculture course :). Say Hi to Heather and Nick for me and tell them that we managed to sort some of our possum problems out :). Have the very BEST Christmas and enjoy Green’s beach, we will be there in spirit with you all 🙂

      Reply

  2. triciatierney
    Dec 13, 2013 @ 22:13:37

    I think it’s a great idea – a lot of need! Love the pictures. I would suggest sticking to the nice short paras in the text. So easy to lose readers if text is too long, I think. You guys have a nice shared ‘voice’ and thing going there on your farm – inspiring. Definitely start a website! (then the book… the movie…haha!)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 14, 2013 @ 03:24:11

      Lol! Yeah, where does it stop eh? I don’t want to go all commercial with anything that we do. I don’t want to start seeding posts with advertisments and product placement. Most blogs these days are paid work for their creators. Ours would be a shared information hub and that’s about it. Serendipity Farm is my muses “out”. I often post long posts and my dear constant readers know and accept that (I think! Well they are still reading… 😉 ) but anything where sharing was the imperitive would be short, concise and to the point (all meaning the same thing but hey, you have to know when to labour the point don’t you? 😉 ). Cheers for your positive feedback. We are on the lowest rung of website development and so our site wasn’t really all that exciting and we had all of 3 weeks total to learn how to use Dreamweaver and then submit our final assessment so obviously we would need to familiarise ourselves with the potential of Dreamweaver a WHOLE lot more than we did, but it’s a valuable tool in allowing us to share what we are learning with anyone out there who might be interested or want information about our climate, our conditions and how we are doing things. Again, cheers for the feedback 🙂

      Reply

  3. quarteracrelifestyle
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 05:27:15

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE and look forward to seeing where this takes you. Good on you both, you have so many skills that should be shared in this way!! And love the photography here!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 14, 2013 @ 05:56:24

      Cheers for the positive feedback Wendy. You just made my day :). To be honest, this was a bit primitive because we only had 3 weeks to learn the program (Dreamweaver) and make a basic website with what we had learned. Hopefully anything that we made would be better than this but again, cheers for the wonderful feedback 🙂

      Reply

  4. thecontentedcrafter
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 06:01:45

    Wow – this has enormous potential Fran – and Steve! It is also much needed – my guess is that more and more people are out there looking for blogs and websites that tell them [us] what to do and how to do it and then what to do with what we’ve done!

    I see inspiration galore coming from Serendipity Farm in the days ahead – well done you two!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 14, 2013 @ 06:06:10

      I am starting to get a fat head with all of the compliments. Cheers Pauline :). We want to find a way to share what we are learning here on Serendipity Farm with everyone that isn’t going to run out any day soon (space wise). A permenant home for Serendipity Farm where narf7 can have a page all of her own for her rants and raves and the rest of it can be dedicated to sharing. No ads, no grovelling to companies, no selling out…just good old fashioned information and experience sharing, the whole reason why I post each week. The connection with other like minded people 🙂

      Reply

  5. teawithhazel
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 08:03:12

    very impressed fran and steve..if you can do this in 3 weeks what will you do in 3 years? x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 15, 2013 @ 04:23:50

      Probably forget everything that we know about it ;). We are studying print layout and how to use Adobe Illustrator and how to make E-books this year so I might be getting some free material together to share with people which excites me immensely. I LOVE sharing 🙂

      Reply

  6. Angela @ Canned Time
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 08:39:10

    Fran, Fran Fran!! What a great site you built. The header on the Savings page is FAB! and those planter boots? I bet you could sell those in the States for top dollar as shabby chic. What a great resource for us all. ♥

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 15, 2013 @ 04:26:51

      Hi Angela, as I said to a few other people, we only had 3 weeks total to learn how to use Dreamweaver and to get a rudimentary website up and operating. The object was to ensure that the links worked, that our images didn’t look naff and that everything that you clicked took you someplace. The text was not important but I added some relevant text as I thought that a “job worth doing is worth doing well”. Steve and I are going to mess around with Dreamweaver over the coming months and work out how to make a schmick website but we were pretty chuffed that our links worked and I am buoyed by the positive feedback that my dear constant readers are giving me that we are at least on the right track with what resonates with people. Cheers for your lovely positive comment. I doubt I would be able to design a website as nice as yours but it’s good to know that we are at least on the right track 🙂

      Reply

  7. foodnstuff
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 12:27:23

    It’s looking good! How great to be able to create your own site and get away from the nasty wordpresses and bloggers and all their problems. Wish I could do it!

    Love the row of boots!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 15, 2013 @ 04:30:05

      Any time you want to get away from WordPress, let me know. We can help you get into your own site whenever you want. The thing is, wordpress.org is MUCH more fun…you don’t have to pay for it, you just have to design and implement your own site and you get tonnes of amazing plug-ins to choose from including a seed saver plug in that I would love to have here on this blog but that isn’t supported by wordpress.com When I say “we can help you get into your own site”…I am talking help you set one up NOT going into business as web designers. That can be left to the “big boys” and to people who want to make money out of other people. We are all about helping people “learn to fish” here on Serendipity Farm. Nothing like seeing someone do something themselves and feel dead chuffed at the results :).

      Reply

  8. christiglover
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 13:42:39

    I absolutely LOVE this, Fran and Steve! I feel the two of you and all your interests and abilities and story in every word and image. I think it will find and feed a devoted audience because of its joyful focus on living cheaply and richly — which shines through in every section. Good job, mates!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 15, 2013 @ 04:34:26

      Steve says it appears you are turning into an Aussie there girl! Next you will be wearing a hat with corks on it ;). Glad you liked the site. It will disappear in a couple of weeks because the server only hosts it for this year. Next year we won’t be learning about websites. I would have liked to have carried on and done certificate 4 in the subject but it would involve us heading off into the city 5 times a week and that’s 500km on the clock and altogether too expensive in petrol so it’s not on the cards. We picked up a course that is teaching us how to use Adobe Illustrator…the artistic package with Adobe, and something that we were after learning when we first started the course that we just finished (they don’t touch on it in the website course much). It also teaches a VERY interesting Adobe program that shows you how to make e-books…imagine how excited I was when I found that out! I can make e-books and people can find out about Serendipity Farm and what we are doing for free!!! I love sharing and this would be a way that I could do it artistically and in an attractive format :). Glad you liked my site and hopefully we can get something similar up and running in the new year as Serendipity Farm’s permanent home 🙂

      Reply

  9. Linne
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 17:01:31

    Awesome job, Frannie! And I agree with Steve; it’s ready to go; remember, you can always tweak and twirk later. As you add pages, you can shift the design subtly (if you want to). I love this lots!! And I found several new sites to add to my favourites (and I haven’t looked at all the links yet . . . oh, no! . . .) 😉

    Go for it, I say! And I forgot to mention: I LOVE the photos, too. That one of the boots on the bridge is priceless . . .

    Big hugs . . . you deserve a break now . . . ~ Linne

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 15, 2013 @ 04:41:34

      The problem with being an Aussie is that you finish up at the end of the year (studies, work whatever) and unlike you guys in the north, it’s not time to slow down and start relaxing into our winter with Christmas culminating into a few months of slow time…our Christmas comes at a most inconvenient time for us…smack bang in the middle of the busiest season that finds us having to get firebreaks cut, plants pruned, cuttings struck, vegetables growing, seeds planted (our crazy Californian mate gave me a bag full of last seasons walnuts to get into the ground growing yesterday), plans formulated and implemented and all of our garden work planned and going including cutting up next years firewood etc. We are WAY too busy to stop for Christmas, but stop we do…I wonder if we could succeed from Christmas and have it in July?!!! Cheers for the positive feedback and those sites are great. We had to make a rudimentary website that had links that took you someplace, images that didn’t suck (distorted and stretched) and that did what it said it would do. We didn’t even have to have text that made sense in it but being “me” I figured “a job worth doing is worth doing well” so I put a bit more effort in to add some relevant text. I am chuffed that so many of you think it was worth commenting on :). By the way…as for having a break…yesterday I whipper snipped the front verge and all the way up the driveway and liberated some of our plants from the dreaded scourge “vinca” (periwinkle) and we headed over to dump some rubbish at the tip and I got lots of wonderful things from the tip shop for a very small amount. Well chuffed! Another bugbear…you guys in the north have the end of your year where you finish up studying/work whatever it is that you choose to do with your time and you get a REAL break. Over here we are racing through our summer in our break…I guess we get the bonus of being able to go to the beach etc. BUT we don’t have the time! Catch 22 eh? 😉

      Reply

  10. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 13:36:38

    Awesome, I seriously love it! Glad you shared it, Steve. I can’t imagine why the talented and inspiring Narf wouldn’t have in the first place… It’s really something to be proud of!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 16, 2013 @ 03:19:41

      Cheers Hannah, I am glad that so many of you didn’t shoot it down in flames. It is a very basic website but I tried to represent our ideals in the text (we weren’t even required to add text to it, just make sure that the links all worked and that the pages took you “somewhere” 😉 ). We saw it as a learning exercise and a place to start…again, cheers for the kind comment. I am just glad that you guys were kind! 😉

      Reply

  11. Chica Andaluza
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 19:18:27

    Seriously impressive. Like the layout, the pages and the photography is stunning! You should both be incredibly proud and I know you are top of the class as far as I’m concerned! Well done guys 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 16, 2013 @ 03:24:41

      I think Steve and I and one other class member might have been the only people that passed this course this year! I know that we were the only ones that handed in all of our work (we checked everyone elses blogs 😉 ). Gotta say it certainly was amazing to stop. Next year we are learning how to use Adobe Illustrator and will be wading in with artists and designers so hopefully we don’t get swamped (or “camped out” 😉 ) by their talent. We started this year very intimidated by everyone else and what they were saying about themselves but decided just to plod through the workload and turns out humble little Stevie-boy and I had the right idea. The AMAZING website developers didn’t bother to hand in their work or turn in anything quite so amazing as they said that they could (funny that 😉 ) so we aren’t going to start next year too worried about how out of the loop we are. We are also going to learn how to use an Adobe program that teaches you how to make e-books…what fun! Let me know if you want me to make you a Chica grub/decorating book for your dear constant readers and I will be glad to do it for you (practice makes perfect) :). Cheers for your very kind comments about the site. It really was a means to an end and is pretty simple and rudimentary but the kernel of the idea is there and that is what mattered (and that the links worked…that was a BIG one! 😉 )

      Reply

  12. Joanna
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 07:45:58

    It all worked beautifully for me and left me wanting more 🙂 Well done, these things are always harder than they look and I really like the fact that it was clear and readable and made me want to hunt around and see what it was all about. Inviting and full of potential, like all those seedlings and green goodness bursting out all over down your way. Meanwhile back under the grey skies of the twilight zone that is the west of england in darkest december I can report that my fennel is perky and some italian chicory is hanging on in there and the wintersweet is getting ready to burst into bud. I hope you are having an outrageously good summer !!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54:53

      We are racing about like chooks with our heads cut off at the moment, one step ahead of getting fined for not having our firebreaks mowed but it’s good exercise getting out with the whipper snipper (strimmer) and going nuts on a pile of grass that is up to your shoulders thanks to exponential and torrential rain in winter…at least we are not bored! The veggies are going crazy with the sudden onset of summer with a vengeance. It looks like we are going to have a lot of zucchini this year…better start working on how to make “zucchini cakes, zucchini caramels, zucchini washing powder, zucchini hairspray…” ;). You still have fennel? Never grown chicory but I adore wintersweet, gorgeous plant :). Have the best Christmas both of you and enjoy your real hot meal when we are trying to work out why we are stuffing ourselves on what is probably going to be the hottest day of the year…Australia certainly IS upside down! 😉

      Reply

  13. rabidlittlehippy
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 08:40:40

    1. Get out from under the bed and take a bow. Why? a) you finished, b) you passed and c) it’s an awesome site with truckloads of potential to really reach people, help and go as far as you want it to go. 🙂
    2. You’re hired for when I publish my book. 😉
    Great work Fran. Truly. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Linne
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 09:50:31

    I missed one thing on my first read (no idea how that happened!); that link to the recipe for clay dough ornaments. I’m doing nothing for Christmas this year, but I’m going to make some of those just for fun. I’ve done the bread dough thing, too, but these look so awesome! Thanks lots and lots and big warm hugs (I’m surprised I have any left, but the weather has warmed up enough to let us have dangerous amounts of freezing rain a day or so ago; now it’s warm again, but snow and down to -20C coming soon to an area near me . . . Oh, well, only nine days and then the days get colder, but marginally longer . . . I know I shouldn’t gloat, as it means shorter days for you lot. But, as you say, whatchagonnadoeh? 😉 ~ Linne

    p.s. the e-book bit sounds fascinating. I was planning to look into that myself one day (in my ‘spare’ time, ha!). I’ll be looking forward to the further adventures of the slightly aging hippies and their amazing companions . . . ~ L

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:07:21

      Welcome on the dough, I was chuffed to find it as well and wanted to get a print of each of the dogs. Once day it will be a lovely memory :). It doesn’t matter how many hours in our day we get, I am still asleep WAY before the end of it thanks to my early morning habits and I have been doing a lot of work outside over the last few days so I am sleeping particularly well. Gotta say, I have a whole load of energy for someone who lives off bacteria and plants…must be something in the water methinks ;). Have fun with that dough, I think you can make ornaments out of it as well and I saw that someone made themselves a wedding cake topper although my talents run to pouring some of it into a crumpet ring, pressing the dogs foot into it and letting it dry DONE! ;).

      Reply

  15. Littlesundog
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 15:07:32

    Fran, have you gone all humble? Your site looks great! You should be proud of the work the two of you have done! I love the photography – VERY eye-catching! And I think it is an awesome time to come out with information on sustainable living. Non-techy me is just bowled over at your talent. I’m so happy for you both!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 19, 2013 @ 16:01:12

      🙂 The site will be gone in a few weeks as it is being hosted by the TAFE host but the material is safely tucked away in our hot little hands should we ever want to resurrect it for our own purposes 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

