And now we are three…

Hi All,

Technically we are 4…but if you add our peripheral family in we are 9 but the title refers to this…

nowwearethreeBecause yesterday Earl turned 3.

Here is a photo of the original toys that the stories were based on…

Original and real Pooh bear and friends

Eeyore and Bezial are very much one and the same critter and Earl has “Tigger” written all over him but maybe this Tigger is not as representative as this one…

thylacine

That’s an image of the very last Thylacine (Tasmanian Tiger) in captivity. Earl and this “Tigger” are more closely related methinks πŸ˜‰

DSCF5350Because he is a “Big Boy” now, Earl got to drive the car for his birthday. He was checking the rear view mirror here…

DSCF5411

Remember the old Batman series on the television when the villains were on screen everything went sideways…Here is our own resident Serendipity Farm villain with one of the 25 balloons that he had the BEST time bursting.

DSCF5365

I emerged from my OH&S repressed state like Heimlich from A Bugs Life…I felt like a “Beeoodiful butterfly” and headed out the door to go flitting from flower to flower but was met by this…overgrown weeds EVERYWHERE!

DSCF5369

Get a gander at that grass!

DSCF5370

So being the tenacious narf7 that I am I headed down the driveway to rid it of its weedy extremities

DSCF5371

When I say “weedy extremities” I mean “Extreme weeds”. Here you see a gorgeous forest of Scotch thistles and forget-me-nots waving in the breeze

DSCF5420

Here one minute…gone the next…

DSCF5419

Everything was going swimmingly until I tackled this scotch thistle and it ate my whipper snipper line

DSCF5374

Back to the shed to get more…I found plenty of it BUT I couldn’t work out how to get the whipper snipper head off so that was it for the day…but then I headed off and did a lot of pruning, mulch shovelling…

DSCF5375

and general tidying up until lunch time and after lunch the boys and I headed up to the veggie garden to fill in the holes left by pulling out the walkway partitions that were previously installed and I spent 3 hours shovelling horse poo into the wheelbarrow and driving it to the garden beds to fill them…

DSCF5391At least SOME of us were working hard…

DSCF5379

Ducky still sitting on her clutch of chook eggs

DSCF5384Earl hunting lizards…Earl nil, lizards 1

DSCF5389

Earl hunting watering cans…Earl 1, watering can reduced to rubble 😦

DSCF5383

Got to make sure that the boys don’t go thirsty…all of that lizard hunting and laying around tires a body out you know

DSCF5380Scarlet runners from last year have decided to grow again!

DSCF5406Sorry Pinky…those lovely pristine gardening gloves that I dare say you imagined me pottering around like Margot Ledbetter out of the Good Life in her rose garden withΒ got a sterling workout yesterday.

DSCF5416The rest of the images in this post are of this mornings walk with Earl. I figured that you might all be interested in a narf7 perambulation. Here you see the newly shorn driveway and the newly 3 Earl eagerly forging ahead…note the taut lead…

DSCF5423The first sniff for the day…

DSCF5424The first pee for the day, and we haven’t even gotten out of the driveway yet. It’s going to be a long 5km

DSCF5446For all my New Zealand readers “we have them too!” A lovely tree fern growing on a steep incline on a hairpin bend. Probably the only reason why no-one has pinched it πŸ˜‰

DSCF5455The only thing holding this section of bank together are this trees roots. You can see a good cross section of what our soil is like here…can you imagine trying to dig this?!!!

DSCF5458“You KNOW you want to give me a treat now…”

DSCF5461

“Cheers!”

DSCF5555Standing over the road from the Auld Kirk Church looking at the Batman Bridge where we are heading

DSCF5526

Walking across the Batman Bridge

DSCF5533

Looking back at the Auld Kirk Church and that red and white “thing” is the lighthouse where we took that picture of the Batman (are you dizzy yet? πŸ˜‰ )

DSCF5480Some of the incredibly water wise plants that are growing sans water in the park on the other side of the Batman. This is a hebe and hebes will grow just about anywhere and are very drought tolerant. Apparently it is “Earl’s” park…just so’s you know…

DSCF5482Another incredibly water wise plant, an Escallonia. These will grow from a cutting stuck into the ground and produce lovely honey scented flowers that bees adore

DSCF5486This is a Cistus xΒ purpureus and originally comes from the Middle East. There is a white variety called Cistus ladanifer that is equally as hardy

DSCF5494No idea what this is aside from it having squared stems so it is most probably in the laminaceae family but it’s pretty, the leaves turn a lovely grey colour as they age and it gets HUGE. I am going to take hard wood cuttings of all of these shrubs and get them growing on Serendipity Farm. A wise gardener takes good note of what is growing well around them because that’s what will grow well in your garden too. These plants don’t get watered ever and so they are perfect for Serendipity Farm and most of them are pretty as well so its a win-win situation

DSCF5513Council chopped down all of the old HUGE Pinus radiata that were in this area of the park. I know that a few branches blew down in the strong winds but this makes me sad.

DSCF5519To give you a bit of scale to see how big the trunk was on this smaller one

DSCF5523Guess which narf7 will be taking the trailer back for a few of these gorgeous big pine chunks to make into features in her new veggie garden. Council is just burning them and I feel like that is sacrilege…so does Earl. Here he is contemplating just how much urine he is going to have to produce to make sure that EVERYONE knows that they are all his

DSCF5563We finally arrived back home and decided to take a final shot of Serendipity Farm peeking out from behind the Auld Kirk Church…all of this before 8.30am “bring on the rest of the day!” πŸ˜‰

I hope you don’t mind me giving you another image intensive post. I had a very busy day today with an unexpected drive by “dropping in” from a friend who decided that we were going to plant out a vegetable garden there and then…the garden is now FULL of veggies and I will have to share photos in my next post as for now I am absolutely knackered! See you next week when I should hopefully have some good photos of how the garden is progressing. I have plans to fill tyres with soil and plant out pumpkins to grow all over the place in the top part of the veggie garden that we won’t be developing till next year (no time this year) to cover the soil and keep the moisture in. I will also be planting out lots of sprouting spuds that I just found in my cupboard and that my friend brought with her and will be wheelbarrowingΒ a couple of cubic metres of home grown black gold compost to make a large compost heap at the top of the garden. It’s all hands on deck…it’s summer on Sunday! See you in Summer/Winter πŸ™‚

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brymnsons
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 19:33:18

    The photos were lovely and had me feeling nostalgic :). I feel very sad about those trees too Fran, and then to just burn them as well! I hope you manage to rescue a few nice pieces for your garden. You could make one into a drinks table :).

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:10:09

      They are HUGE Kymmy…Imagine how many drinks tables there are up there (and Earl has personalised almost all of them πŸ˜‰ )

      Reply

      • brymnsons
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 10:36:23

        Shame I couldn’t put one on the plane lol. I’d have to hose Earl off first though πŸ˜€
        Well done on all that planting too x

      • narf77
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 12:10:03

        I am crippled today though after 2 days solid hard work and have put off walking Earl till this arvo when my poor back settles down a bit. I think that they might cost a bit sending them through the post so you might just have to live vicariously through me pinching a few of them πŸ˜‰

  2. Jo
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 20:39:53

    Good to see Earl, your personal trainer, is making sure you get a good workout every day. Happy birthday crazy puppy!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:28:48

      Earl is very photogenic Jo and loves his photo being taken. He is my chief personal trainer (I can’t walk Bezial as he is too strong for me and just pulls me around like a rag doll) and hot water bottle. He says “cheers for the birthday wishes” but he is still asleep on our bed with Steve as it’s 3.28am. Bezial is up with me but covered in a blanket on a recliner chair, guarding involves it’s comforts as well ;).

      Reply

  3. triciatierney
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 22:30:39

    As fierce howling winds announce the nearing winter this morning, it’s lovely to take this walk with you and see your bit of heaven there across the world. Thanks.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:14:47

      You are welcome but I am already missing the fierce howling winds…not that Tassie misses out on wind at any time really, it’s a very windy place here and one day we are going to harness that free energy for the house with a small wind turbine…just have to raise the capital first but the idea is planted πŸ™‚

      Reply

  4. Angela @ Canned Time
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 23:00:02

    You scared me with that headline in my email this morning in the pre-dawn fog. Thought something much worse may have happened to ‘old’ Earl than adding another digit!! He looks almost as successful at chasing lizards as my Mr. Floyde. They love to sunbath on the cement front steps in Summer and usually are already back in the bush by the time Mr. Floyde even sees they’re there. Ah the frustrating lives of spoiled pets ;(
    That is one tough looking thistle Woman!
    It’s 28 degrees here this dawn and we’ve had 2″ of rain and sleet for the last days. Your beautiful flower pics brighten my chilly days πŸ˜‰
    Glad you’re back in the garden and I’m soooo looking forward to seeing all the lovely eats you can bring us this summer there….even if it’s only virtually ;(
    Enjoy the warm weather.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:19:11

      Wish we were closer as we could collaborate on veganescent gorgeousness…I could give you the weird and wonderful veggies and you could create your magic with them…I am just going to have to trawl your back posts for ideas when the harvest comes in. My mental friend turned up yesterday armed with a bootload of veggie seedlings and seeds. The bush rats had been eating all of hers and so she figured that she would grow “her” garden in mine! We are going to share the harvest and I have more garden beds to build now to fit more in! The joys of gardening eh? πŸ˜‰ Those flowers are all living on incredibly hardy shrubs that withstand a period of about 4 months where we get very little rain every year and constant grazing by wild animals. If a shrub can handle that, its IN on Serendipity Farm. I am off to get cuttings soon the next time Earl and I head over the Batman for a walk. Today we are heading the other way but “the other way” has a small plant stand with plants for $2 a pot and I noticed a couple of lovelies last time I passed so might take a bit of moola with me and add to my garden…there is always something good when you walk πŸ™‚ (except for the dead snake that Earl and I found on the side of the road the other day…NOT good!)

      Reply

  5. Littlesundog
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 00:00:29

    Any time you feature Earl in a series of photos, you know you’ve made my day! I love when you post a lot of photos, Fran. I feel like I’m on that walk right alongside you, listening to you rattle off names of this and that, filling me in on plans and pointing out problem areas. Hey… I think I can FEEL Earl yanking the leash and catapulting me forward! EEEEGAAAAAAD!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:22:25

      MAN that dog can yank! He is built like a tank and knows how to push his advantage to the max! He also knows that I weigh less now and sometimes he really puts a bit of “wellie” into his pulling and he almost has me…but not quite! ;). I will never have to go to the gym again as Earl is my exercise machine. I was thinking of you when I posted the narf7 cam images of Earl. He loves his photo being taken and likes to pose and that image of him on the tree stump was a goodn’ Glad you liked the post as I was a bit worried that people would get the hump at me for not posting a “wordy” post but I have been flat out working outside for 2 days and words didn’t have time to get onto paper…as it was I didn’t get my images loaded and the post completed till after 7pm last night (almost my bedtime πŸ˜‰ ). Hugs from Sidmouth in your frozen tundra πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. Spy Garden
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 02:38:55

    I love the photo walk. Gives a nice idea of your perspective. Lovely place for a walk! And of course my favorite are the shots of the garden–I DO love that netting!!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:27:03

      That netting is the BOMB. It is designed to stop seals from chewing their way through so our possums have BUCKLIES of breaching it (unless they can dissolve their bones and slither through the gaps and then that would make them SO creepy that they are welcome to my veggies…I will be hiding under the bed to avoid them…might need The Spy to assist me in boneless sloopy possum eradication…there could be a business in it…like “Billy The Exterminator” …”The Spy, killer of all things AND zombies a specialty…”). The garden is cram packed full of green goodness now. My crazy friend had bush rats eat all of her seedlings and had just bought a whole lot more of them and hatched up a plan to bring them out here as she knows that we don’t have rats (or anything smaller than a large possum) because of the feral cat problem so we spent the afternoon outdoors planting all of “her” veggies and mine as well. We are going to share the harvest together and have plans for massive pumpkin vines sprawled over the top part of the garden where I won’t be gardening this year… and watermelons…we LOVE watermelons…and we NEED to set up a table and chairs in the shady bit so that we can sit around and have a beer like ladies of leisure when it gets hot πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  7. christiglover
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:42:07

    That’s a wonderful walk you’ve got there! I love the “Batman Bridge” and the Auld Kirk church and your driveway and all the now familiar sights of Serendipity. Earl’s lead is impressive and I love the picture of the two dogs in the garden beds. Happy Birthday to Earl and congrats on finishing the dreaded OH&S. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:50:22

      Not quite finished yet…just a few “re-do’s” for our picky lecturer and then I am completely free!!! Well…not really as I am now a slave to the veggie garden but that’s a joyful slavetude rather than indentured ;). Give Arly a cuddle for me, he looks wonderfully snuggly and cuddly and obviously loved and well cared for with that gorgeous shiny coat. I bet the B.O. adores him πŸ™‚

      Reply

  8. thecontentedcrafter
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 05:03:18

    Hi Fran, where to start? Loved your lead in – [happy birthday Earl πŸ™‚ ] As a W-t-P and all things 100 acre wood fan I really enjoyed those images! My boy Orlando’s nick-name is ‘Tig’ after Tigger, on account of his extreme bounciness when very young – it’s stuck and he is only now growing into his posh name as he ages and slows down and becomes wiser.

    I still have an image of you and Earl in my head from the last post and it just won’t go away – maybe I shall have to have a go at drawing it out – but I’m no cartoonist sadly – it is he pulling you like a torpedo down the driveway………

    Aren’t councils just plain naff? Can’t believe they chop all those trees down and then just burn them – if they must destroy at least give the wood to the elderly or poor or something.

    Green with envy over your vege garden – I’d even be happy to do the digging and lifting and spreading of poo – I long to be able to grow more than a pot of lettuce and a straggly nest of parsley. Sigh …..

    Thanks for the walk through your week – so enjoy visiting πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 05:10:45

      Orlando? Excellent Tigger fodder methinks :). The wood is pine and so isn’t much good for burning either to be honest (except to make a LOT of smoke…maybe that’s what they want? πŸ˜‰ ) but those big round discs would be amazing in the garden or carefully dried and turned into some amazing furniture wouldn’t they? Earl was standing on a small one! The veggie garden is now officially full of veggie seedlings and seeds (planted yesterday) but that’s just the small garden bit we had ready for planting. Over the next year that whole garden area is going to be turned into a series of raised gardens with flowers, fruiting and vegetable vines, hop vines (now THAT will be interesting πŸ˜‰ ) and so much more…it is officially now my sanctuary and a place that I can bugger off to whenever the world starts to make me twitch. I feel instantly calmer inside there…Steve could care less about vegetable gardening so it’s all mine and I get to make it exactly how I like. Now that the possums and wallabies can’t help themselves (the snails and slugs are still going at it though…) I have a modicum of security in thinking that I might just get something back this year! Can’t wait :). Would love to see hurricane narf being pulled behind its own personal trainer on the driveway…no idea how you would draw it though! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • thecontentedcrafter
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 07:07:13

        Me neither – we’ll just have to wait and see if the muse comes up with anything. I remember hop vines from when I lived in Kent a life time ago – they were beautiful! I used to teach in an old converted oast house and lived in a converted barn on a manor estate connected with Thomas a-Becket – it was all very romantic and swathed in history and alcohol πŸ™‚

      • narf77
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 08:43:03

        My favourite kinds of history are related to alcohol… you can’t remember so you make it up and it is ALWAYS bigger, better, brighter and more fantastic when you do! ;). Tassie grows hops as we are a lot like the U.K. in temperature except up North (where we live) where in summer it has a decidedly Mediterranean feeling to it. Best of both worlds I guess? πŸ˜‰ Do you have any photos of that gorgeous time? It would be lovely to see some photos but if you are like me, you were more concerned with living life than recording it for posterity…the “photos” are where they are most important, in your memories πŸ™‚

      • thecontentedcrafter
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 09:20:59

        It’s the oddest thing to admit to, but I didn’t even own a camera back then – I had zero interest in taking photos – I guess I was too involved with just living. It was also before mobile phones were invented/common……… Just think – I travelled the world without a camera, a phone or a blog!! How did I do that? It wasn’t that long ago surely – ??? I came home in 92 and except for a short trip to Melbourne 5 years ago, haven’t left again. There are still extant a few photos taken by other people, mostly of me looking young[er] and somewhat dazed …….I have my stories that I trot out at parties and that’s about it πŸ™‚

      • narf77
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 11:59:51

        As a poverty stricken student who married very young we couldn’t afford a camera let alone to develop the photos back then so we had precious little photos of anything other than family events. I gave most of the images to the kids and just keep what I want to as memories…that way I can make them whatever I want at any given time ;). Yeah, we both lived back last century! πŸ˜‰

      • thecontentedcrafter
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 12:04:35

        ditto πŸ™‚

  9. caribougrrl
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 05:19:08

    Happy three-day, Earl! Our Sam just turned 5, though I could swear he only just turned three…

    No surprise you’re tired. I’m tired just reading about it…

    And nice job with the “early” scarlet runners. Funny about being on the far side of the earth, all that’s left to ours are some dried up stems tangled in the fencing, covered in a light dusting of snow.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 05:51:44

      At least you grew them, that is what unites us all isn’t it? πŸ™‚ This year we might actually be able to harvest a few pods now that the possums have been banned πŸ™‚

      Reply

  10. quarteracrelifestyle
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 05:21:39

    Lovely photos Fran, it looks like your piece of paradise is indeed a paradise πŸ™‚ What a shame about those trees, bloody councils! Nice that your friend helped you plant your vegetable garden, wish I had friends like that, ours just “oooh” and “ahh” and hope for some eggs on their way out the door!

    Earl’s just such a cutie, wish him Happy Birthday from his Kiwi mates πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 05:54:04

      Earl says hi (cover the furniture he might need to mark you as “mine!” πŸ˜‰ ) My friend hijacked me and made me plant veggies till the garden was full…bossy but she certainly stopped my procrastination and the garden is now cram packed full. Got to make more garden beds (but I bet my slave driver will be back to harness me up any day soon! πŸ˜‰ ) We studied horticulture together so did the hard yards. Nothing unites people like “doing the hard yards” together methinks!

      Reply

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 06:02:41

        Yes that’s true. It’s good to have someone to share a long job with. As the procrastinator in our house “I hear ya!” πŸ™‚

      • narf77
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 06:06:54

        πŸ˜‰ You would be AMAZED at how important it becomes to sweep the floor, make the bed, walk the dog when it comes time to having to do something that I really don’t want to do (but then…maybe your wouldn’t πŸ˜‰ )

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        Nov 28, 2013 @ 06:27:13

        Yeah…nah I wouldn’t πŸ™‚ There is ALWAYS something more pressing than what I should be doing…doesn’t matter what it is. The Queen of Avoidance Strategies lives in this ol’ house.

  11. cathyandchucky
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 11:10:30

    Good to see your getting some use out of the gloves Fronkiii πŸ˜€

    Reply

  12. Sincerely, Emily
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 11:55:37

    Happy Birthday to Earl! What great day/week he has had. I am glad Earl helped you So much moving all that horse poo to the gardens. Oh how your veggies are going to grow!! So happy! That pine must have been HUGE! What a great shot with Earl on the stump for size comparison. AMAZING! I would be heading up there also for some of those log cuts. Impressive! Have a Great Day!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 28, 2013 @ 12:11:16

      Cheers Emily and it was 10 pines that they cut down and Earl was standing on one of the smallest stumps. They must have been there for a hundred years and it just made me sad that they cut them all down. Earl sends slobbers and is still pooping out bits of balloon πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  13. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 13:24:32

    Aw, happy belated birthday to Earl! Looks like it was a dog day indeed, and in the best sort of way. Three is a big birthday, but my goodness, he’s still a little pup! Many more happy years to come. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. Chica Andaluza
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 03:38:36

    Loved our brthday walk together. Birthday licks to Earl from Alfi and Luna πŸ™‚ I laughed out loud at the comment about how much urine he’ll have to produce to personalsie all those logs – although from further comments I am glad to see he has set to work on his pee project.

    Reply

  15. Linne
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 15:46:51

    That was a scary headline, my friend; I thought something had happened to one of you . . . (did Narf77 do away with SuperSteve? did the possums do away with Earl? or the feral cats . . . did they gang up on Bezial?) I was fairly sure you were ok, ’cause you appeared to be writing a post . . . πŸ˜‰

    I read a bit more and began to breathe again . . . phew, it’s a BIRTHDAY! Well, once I get my heartrate up again, I will cheer three big cheers for Earl!! I’m glad he had fun with the balloons . . .

    The garden planting was a well-needed giggle, too . . . we all need a friend like that at times. Although I do have to say that any well-meaning friends who offer to ‘help’ me sort and pack my stuff get very short shrift . . . I know what they’re up to!

    The photo of the Batman bridge was so lovely I gave a link to this page to the lovely Jean Tubridy of the ‘Social Bridge’ blog, which I came across thanks to a re-post on Barbara’s blog ‘The Idealistic Rebel’. Jean loves bridges and I immediately thought of yours. You will have to explain the name one of these days; I’m sure it’s not related to any caped crusader . . .

    I felt for you, discovering all those trees cut down. I have a lot of negative emotion around that sort of thing, but I won’t waste time preaching to the choir just now. The size of those stumps is pretty impressive, especially with Earl posing atop one of them to show how big they really are.

    Loved all your walk photos; especially the one showing Serendipity Farm from the Auld Kirk. Makes me feel like I am there with you . . .

    A very special thanks for the photo of the original animals from the Winnie the Pooh books. I still love them . . . some people just never grow up, you know . . . good thing, too, I think.

    I’d never heard of the Tasmanian Tiger. How sad they are no more. I wonder if they could clone one from DNA? Do they have a relic in a museum somewhere? Of course, then you’d have more to deal with than possums, etc.

    Well, that was another lovely ramble ’round your farm, your area and your life. Thanks again for sharing. I look forward to all your posts, even when I don’t have time to respond at length. Hugs from the freezer (actually not too cold these past days, but a huge storm with a foot or more of snow is on the way, starting sometime later on Sunday and going on through Tuesday. With blizzard-like conditions, too. Stay warm and bask in the sun for me, ok? (not hot, just ‘warm’!) ~ Linne

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 01, 2013 @ 19:22:21

      28C degrees for the next couple of days so quite hot on Serendipity Farm but it cools down on Wednesday. I reckon its the after effects from the cyclone that has been pootling around up north, we get a few hot days thanks to the mainland’s weather being pushed down a bit…not happy to get hotter weather but thankful that I have less “me” this year to have to sweat it out. Might even wear a sarong this year! Now THERE is a picture πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  16. Dan Riegler
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 01:16:35

    Hi there, We haven’t communicated in a while, but I still follow and enjoy your posts. Recently I was called upon to think of 15 bloggers who inspired me. You are one of them! Besides your writing, (reading), stories, life with Steve and Earl, Serendipity Farm,, I love how easily you write, network and weave it all together in the blogosphere, tying people, subjects, blogs, personal and global subjects, practical day to day things, ideals, ideas and permaculture into cohesiveness, and an ever expanding circle of friendships and sharing across the globe. And all this done with transparency, intelligence and authenticity. All these conversations going on with “real People”, don’t know how you do it. I think, since I started blogging, I learned from you, how much of this world one blogger could touch, and affect. That when staying authentic, there are no limits.
    Explaining why you a “very inspiring blogger” to me, is proving more challenging than the other nominees. However, all that matters is that for me, you are a very inspiring blogger. Oh,,, I nominated you for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”.
    You are not obligated to accept it though. Your choice. There are some rules which you can find on my post, http://apothecarysgarden.com/inspiring-blogger-award/. It is a little bit of work, finding and contacting 15 bloggers who inspire you, but it keeps this community generated award alive and inspiring admirable standards in the blogosphere. An opportunity to support bloggers one admires. I don’t know if you have a whole closet full of awards, or unaccepted awards, but I know you deserve it.
    I look forward to many more posts from you, and continuing our conversation for years to come.
    Dan

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 04, 2013 @ 03:00:11

      I just had a major “blush” moment there Dan :). How to make me feel a million dollars at 2.54am on a Wednesday :). I love getting awards because it shows me that people are getting what I am talking about but I don’t participate in the stuff that goes with them because it feels a bit chain lettery and the person who thought up the idea found a way to get almost constant hits for their website doing nothing at all (free SEO…but not from THIS little black duck πŸ˜‰ ). I am incredibly humbled and chuffed by what you just said about me. I am just one little black duck trying to share the love. I realise that my optimistic (usually πŸ˜‰ ) view about the world might not be everyone’s cup of tea but I choose to live a positive life and try to shine the best of what I ferret out with everyone out there. Life is too short to be wallowing in anything other than pure simple “living”. Wish I had learned that about 20 years sooner but better late than never :). Again, thank you SO much for your nomination. I don’t think that I have ever been so heartfeltly happy to have been nominated for anything before. You just made my day my friend :). HUGE hugs and appreciation from Sidmouth Tassie :).

      Reply

      • Dan Riegler
        Dec 04, 2013 @ 09:07:37

        Aww thank you! Good SEO point too. There really is no need for any other links than nominees and nominator for this to function as it should. I’m sure most bloggers can figure the technical bits out one way or another. Will remove the extraneous links ASAP.
        Nice to know i still have the touch and can make a girl blush at 2:45 on a Wednesday.
        Dan

      • narf77
        Dec 04, 2013 @ 09:29:08

        Its a great skill…make sure to keep it πŸ˜‰

  17. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 04:56:42

    I haven’t been on my blog or visiting blogs for quite a while. I had to think to remember my blog’s name. I see a lot has been happening. Earl is driving now?
    Plus we are entering winter, and I guess you are coming out of it.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 04, 2013 @ 04:59:43

      Welcome back :). Its sometimes good to take a bit of a sabbatical on blogging and then come back for a peek every now and then. Earl still hasn’t mastered the gear stick yet but is working on it… we are full tilt careening into summer here but its raining today and I am celebrating because I don’t have to water my garden today…YAY! :). It must be getting colder over there but I would gladly trade you some of that winter frostiness in order to get out of having to endure our summer heat…oh well…swings and roundabouts πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

