Teeny tiny little repost…

Hi All,

I try not to reblog other people’s posts but for the last few weeks I have been visiting with mortality on a regular basis. I haven’t planned any of these pensive moments, they have just appeared in front of me through various side bars on numerous social media vehicular deliveries. One detailed a series of images of a couple from when the wife discovered that she had breast cancer right through to the lonely shot of an empty hospital bed…the next tickled my cortex from the search bar on Youtube when I was hunting for something entirely different…a 17 year old boy with some kind of cancer wrote a song called “Clouds” about his desire to live each and every moment of his remaining time to the fullest…17 folks and he died 2 months later…and now this…mortality is inevitable but the lesson I choose to learn from these unexpected journey’s as a fly on the wall with other people’s moments are that we need… we NEED to live our lives richly and fully. We need to make ourselves accountable for our own happiness and our own actions and we absolutely POSITIVELY have to live each and every moment of it like it may be our last…because it might. Here’s my repost. I only recently discovered this blog and I love it. Please feel free to ignore this post if you like. I won’t be offended. I just feel I need to share it today ๐Ÿ™‚

http://restoringmayberry.blogspot.com.au/2013/11/spread-out-before-us.html

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. quarteracrelifestyle
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 06:03:00

    “I wish now could last forever”…..yep, me too.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 21, 2013 @ 06:05:49

      It’s a most important moment in our lives when we finally realise how very small and how very fragile we are (please don’t sue me Mr Sting…). I get the feeling that this 9 year old girl will make the most of her life no small part due to her amazing dad ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  2. christiglover
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 07:37:03

    Stunning and lovely. I’m now a follower, too. Thanks for sharing, and give all your boys a hug for me today. xxoo

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 21, 2013 @ 08:01:20

      I will Christi and give Arly and Garfield a smoosh from me :). Just read that article and it has blown me away. I am not philosophically ready to lay down and consider humanity extinct. I am of the school that we are living right here and right now, each one of us, and everything that we do echoes around the world. Humanity is already extinct. Who knows when the last human will die, but it’s up to me to live my life holistically in the best way possible while I am here. I feel articles like this, although incredibly well written, are based on a military and masculine vision. As a woman I can’t help but be emotive and care about the future of my kids, their kids and the worlds children as a whole. I see the world still sparking and where there are sparks, there is fire. Fire started it all and it might finish it off but you know what? It’s warm, it is intoxicating, it fuels our desires and while it still burns there will always be a human crouched down next to it warming their hands…

      Reply

      • christiglover
        Nov 21, 2013 @ 14:15:37

        Yes, there is that militaristic piece to his experience, and his confrontive statement that civilization is dead seems nihilistic, but I took it that he was talking about dying of an unsustainable “civilization” and the constructing of new ideas for an ecological civilization and how to live in the changed world. I see those sparks around the world, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • narf77
        Nov 21, 2013 @ 17:00:01

        He is a military man and sees things in black and white. I read his post as stark, final and unforgiving. It lacked hope and was all about accepting the inevitable. I point blank refuse to accept something that hasn’t arrived yet. I am a creature of hope and love and willingness to work towards a future (whatever that may be) and I won’t have anyone tell me that it’s all over before it is. Call me stubborn (you would be absolutely right there) but I would rather see myself riding into battle like Joan of Ark than sitting at home waiting for the sky to fall like Chicken little ;). Hugs from Sidmouth my dear twin and your small sitting room looks a lot like our lounge room. I really DO think that we are twins ๐Ÿ™‚

      • christiglover
        Nov 22, 2013 @ 03:33:42

        Okay, Joan! Got it. Thanks for the great link to Mayberry… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. foodnstuff
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 12:19:17

    I love ‘Mayberry’ too!! I’ve been reading since The Girl was a tiny tot. The things he’s teaching her are amazing. He will never show her face and she doesn’t even know he has a blog about her. He will show it to her when he feels it’s time. What a life’s diary for her to have to show and teach her own kids!

    Reply

  4. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 13:45:46

    Nothing wrong with sharing the good around! This seems completely worthy of the repost, thank you for bringing such a powerful piece to my attention. I may need to read it a second time to really take it all in…

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 23, 2013 @ 03:10:44

      I just think that this American born dad is awesome. He and his daughter live in Ireland where he has made this blog for her to document their discussions etc. You never see her face and he has been doing this for years and she doesn’t even know that she has a blog about her. It is for him to give to her when she is old enough and I think its a beautiful gift ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  5. Chica Andaluza
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 08:12:24

    Beautiful…

    Reply

  6. Namita
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 14:40:58

    Hello Fran,
    Loved your mails and reflections on life and inevitable death and totally agree with the fact that it does not matter how long we live, what matters is how meaningfully we live. Our Dog Prince is no more…..lost the battle of life ….succumbed to kidney failure. His rug, his bowl all remind us of the lovely time we had together, of the great services he rendered. Today he sleeps peacefully in our garden where once he used to run around and chase the cats. But life must go on…..

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 27, 2013 @ 04:09:23

      I am sorry you lost Prince Namita. It is a very hard life lesson when your loved pet dies and I am not yet ready to think about when our 2 boys go but one day they will and as you say…life does go on…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

