More Serendipitous Photo post padders

Hi Folks,

I actually had a blog post all done and dusted on Monday morning before Steve tumbled out of bed and we headed wearily out to the great monolith of a vegetable garden so you might be wondering why I am offering you another image post…well I took so many images that it seems a shame to cull them for words. I have also been very busy today and completely forgot about posting till late so the post can wait and you get lots of photos of what we have been up to this week. Let the images commence…

DSCF5020

We managed to get the 3 remaining fig “cuttings” (really root layers but we won’t quibble) out into the ground and in the background you can just about see where I have put the portable compost bin. What you might not be able to see is the chooks circling around it like Indians circling a cowboy caravan. What the chooks don’t pull through the possums climb over and sift through but at the end of a month the soil should be nice and moist and ready to plant another tree, probably an olive.

DSCF5013

The pot at the front has samosa mix and the pot at the back is a spicy homemade dipping sauce for the samosas

DSCF5016

The process of forming the samosa’s proper shape commences…

DSCF5131

Leftover samosas. I was brave and made my own pastry for them.

DSCF5053

Secondary fermentation of this weeks Kombucha. You can see the bubbles collecting on the side of the containers. By the time I put it in the fridge and then drink it it’s bubbly

DSCF5064

One of the many aquilegia’s that have sprung up all over the garden. If you look closely (click on the image) you can see a little ant. He is most probably carrying an aphid buddy to infest it πŸ˜‰

DSCF5073

Another aquilegia, one of the more common “Granny’s bonnet” variety that grows so well in hot dry conditions

DSCF5069

Most of these potted plants will be given away as soon as we can work out which ones we want to keep and can assemble them all into one spot

DSCF5062

This might look like a jungle but it’s another potted plant area that appears to be going over to the pink side

DSCF5002

Eggs and sugar being whisked together…

DSCF5010

Custard being gently heated to make white chocolate ice-cream that will join some milk chocolate mocha ice-cream we made the day before.

DSCF5160

Some women like flowers, some like chocolates but Steve knows exactly what makes my heart sing and gifted me a large tub of Korean miso seasoning πŸ™‚

DSCF5125

Narf7 gets artistic in a dusty shed

DSCF5019

It might look like a gypsy’s tent but it’s actually a partially covered glasshouse just about to get some much needed relief from the hot sun

DSCF5029

A small Chinese woman working on the fully enclosed veggie garden (or is it… πŸ˜‰ )

DSCF5032

No, I should be so lucky! πŸ˜‰

DSCF5033

The glasshouse with it’s “double skin” of netting that makes it nice and warm and humid inside minus the blazing heat thanks to the layering effect. It should be more useful to us for propagation over summer now and is actually part of the veggie complex now

DSCF5022

Steve figuring out how to mount an old screen door on the side of the old wood shed

DSCF5051

A well earned beer after a hard days work

DSCF5045

Since I swapped to making sesame milk for my tea I end up with pulp that I now ferment using non-dairy kefir. The results are very tasty and quite “cheesy” and I am going to experiment to see if I can’t make a kind of probiotic rich cheese out of them…waste not want not

DSCF5057

Another attempt at an artistic shot looking down from the deck at one of Steve’s lovely weeping maples below

DSCF5066

More aquilegias, lucky I love them πŸ™‚

DSCF5068

It might be time to weed this table of potted plants methinks, however the weeds are actually vetch, a nitrogen fixer so for the moment it can stay πŸ™‚

DSCF5079

One of the garden beds that we cleared out last year must have had these lovely iris’s tangled up inside it. We never noticed them before but this year they are flowering beautifully. Another reward for all of this hard work πŸ™‚

DSCF5075

We still haven’t found time to cut up that felled tree but it would appear nature is our ally and is attempting to cover over the evidence for us

DSCF5080

It might be time to plant out that grape vine that appears to want to climb up the freezer…so much to do!

DSCF5084

My daughter Madeline has discovered horticulture and found these honeydew and rockmelon seeds and some red capsicum seed growing in their compost heap and asked me if I would like some…”Yes please!” :).

DSCF5082

We have had to resort to buying seedlings again but next year we will be well placed to produce all of the seedlings that we need from seed.

DSCF5088

I couldn’t resist…more seedlings

DSCF5090

Various transplants languishing in seasol and water and recovering from their various trauma’s nicely

DSCF5098

2 very healthy yacon plants champing at the bit to be planted out into the new veggie garden

DSCF5105

Steve’s and my garden creation kit, the hole in the hat is for airflow πŸ˜‰

DSCF5107

Some of the kilometres of rope that we have been cutting from the ex fish-farm netting that we used to make our fully enclosed veggie garden

DSCF5137

Cherry seed and lemon seeds along with some other seeds that I can’t even remember what they are (but they are “food”) ready to be planted out

DSCF5129

NOT an aquilegia

DSCF5115

Using our automatic sprouter last year gave us beans that were ready to plant much quicker than planting them directly into seed raising mix. These are purple king beans after 3 days in the sprouter

DSCF5111

These borlotti beans came from our own bean cube harvest that the possums allowed us to collect last year

DSCF5112

We collected these yin-yang beans from our garden last year as well and as you can see, 3 days has given them a great head start

DSCF5108

Even the scarlet runner beans are sprouting! We are on to a winner πŸ™‚

DSCF5121

I bought this wrought iron single bed head at the progressive garage sale much earlier in the year for $2 thinking “I could do something with that in the garden…” I am going to integrate it into the new veggie garden

DSCF5138

The fixings for my standard warm season breakfast, a healthy probiotic rich smoothie. On any given day they contain at least sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, both kefir and Kombucha, organic vanilla, ginger, soaked buckwheat, carob or cocoa and sometimes some non-dairy protein powder to add a bit of oomph

DSCF5141

The only way I can force myself to drink “water” on warm days. I load it up with sliced fruit (in this case a fresh lemon from a neighbour) and work my way through it in the day. It works.

DSCF5147

Last but by no means least the dogs now have a “new” rug to lay on out on the deck. We remembered we had some old rugs in the shed and decided to give the boys something nice to lay on when they are basking in the sun.

I hope you all enjoyed a pictorial post of what we have been up to on Serendipity Farm over the last week. Hopefully normal service will resume by next week. See you all then when I will (hopefully) have created new garden beds and will have planted out all of those new babies you saw in this post (along with some “old” babies that have just been waiting for this moment πŸ™‚ )

63 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chica Andaluza
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 23:29:23

    Loved the photos – and I love seeing all the flowers, the sprouting beans, the small chinese woman (!) and the kitchen experiments. How did you make your pastry (am guessing not with butter or lard)…do tell!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 03:24:54

      I didn’t believe that the pastry would turn out. It’s flour and oil and water and as far as I am concerned that’s fatty glue! I sighed heavily, did what the recipe said and when it was time to roll it out it worked! We even cooked them on the covered bbq and they worked a treat :). Here’s the original recipe that I used…

      http://www.vegrecipesofindia.com/samosa-recipe-punjabi-samosa/

      Its an excellent and authentic tutorial and mine worked out wonderfully. Steve was very happy and I just used some leftover mashed spud to make them.

      Reply

      • Chica Andaluza
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 04:48:53

        Ooh that;s a good one. I make olive oil pastry (did a post a while back) so was curious πŸ™‚ Love samosas….mmmmm.

      • narf77
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 04:58:04

        These were easy peasy (last minute idea for tuck) and turned out really well. If I can make them on the bbq, anyone can make them πŸ™‚

  2. Old Fart
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 23:32:31

    Keep up the good work, it will be HARD WORK, PATIENCE , PERSEVERENCE and a long way to the top πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 03:26:15

      “A long way to the top if you want to rock and roll!” Too true Mr Fart. I couldn’t agree with you more! On that journey I will be able to eat cake because we are certainly wearing off everything that we eat in the process ;). No boredom for narf7 and Stevie-boy I can tell you, not for the foreseeable future anyway πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  3. Littlesundog
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 02:04:22

    Those samosa’s look delicious! I believe I have a problem… all of your food photos have me salivating and licking my chops! On another note, your landscaping, gardens and efforts in horticulture are nothing short of amazing. I love that you include so many photographs so that we get an idea of the magnitude of it all. I secretly think you have got to be Wonder Woman!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 03:34:23

      I secretly wish I was Wonder Woman Lori ;). Now we have to ensure that the enclosure is Earl proof from the inside so that we can let the dogs off inside while we are making the garden beds, chopping up all of those branches to line the base of the beds (sort of narf7 hugelkultur) and hauling out the large steel tubes that were left there when dad was alive. There is also an entire yacht mast inside…we thought we might use it to create a sort of circus tent look but aside from it being heavy, there is no WAY that we could dig enough of a hole to cement it in. We will just have to make do with our bivouac tent ;). The old saying “where there’s a will, there’s a way” is certainly true of us. We are both stubborn and we might be penniless but we always find a way to get what we want. We might have to go so far sideways that the new project might bear very little resemblance to how we initially envisaged it but what the heck, it’s all gravy! πŸ˜‰ Glad you liked the photos. I took so many it seamed a shame to waste them and this is probably one of our most photogenic months so I may as well make the most of it πŸ™‚

      Reply

  4. christiglover
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 03:42:34

    Your inside and outside worlds are equally vibrant, exotic, and full of energy. I can tell that the sun is getting higher in the sky down there, as ours gets ever lower. Your photos are a balm and I’m putting the “ant” flower on my desktop. πŸ™‚ Hugs from Olalla!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 04:04:41

      I will send you the flower AND the ant (and his aphid) if you like to keep you buoyed through your coming winter. Do you get snow in Olalla? It was decidedly hot yesterday and promising to be moreso today. If you would like a rooster I will package Little Boy Blue up and will send him with the ant and the flower and the aphid (sounds like a good name for a kids book! πŸ˜‰ ) and you can have a little taste of life here on Serendipity Farm every time you pass your coop and he is sitting with the girls reading Byron to them πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • christiglover
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 12:22:14

        Any rooster who reads Byron is welcome here. πŸ™‚ And as to snow, yes, we get it every year, some more than others. It doesn’t stay around for weeks like up in Edmonton, Canada for Linne. We’re too coastal. Our usual winter day high is 4-5 degrees C, cloudy and wet. πŸ™‚ Keeps us green.

      • narf77
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:13:10

        :). Little boy blue wants to know when he should start packing his suitcase…

  5. quarteracrelifestyle
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 06:25:17

    Busy, busy!! I have never seen a bean sprouter like that, interesting.
    Totally in awe of your caged garden. We are so lucky we don’t get possums where we now, one house I lived in we did and it’s gutting to lose your garden to them, your food! You guys are doing a great job Fran.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 08:45:07

      Not bad for 2 penniless student hippies eh? ;). Cheers for your praise, it means something from you because you guys are like us (only on steroids) and understand how hard it is to make ends meet sometimes. The damned possums wouldn’t be so bad if the stupid Launceston city council didn’t bring all of the trapped possums that they catch all around the district out to the Batman bridge (500m from our house) and dump them…what’s a homeless possum to do but go hunting for the nearest tasty treat? GAH! They appear to have taken a brief hiatus from the dumping at the moment as we have roses!!! Our elderly neighbour Glad is so “glad” (sorry…couldn’t help myself there πŸ˜‰ ) to have them as she has stoically been bearing bared (see…I did it again! πŸ˜‰ ) stalks for years now and finally she got some flowers :). Now we just need to assemble the garden beds, fill them, get those babies into the ground, plant out the various sundry “stuff” that needs to go into the compound like hops and grapes and passionfruit etc. and get growing. Easy really, don’t know why everyone isn’t doing it… πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 12:13:24

        Not bad at all!! I laughed about us being on steroids, certainly I am not…Roger maybe lol

        Yep, I sure do know how hard it is to make ends meet sometimes and food is too important to share with wildlife who come without invitation.

        And you made your Glad glad, a bonus πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • narf77
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:09:23

        Well the lack of possums made her glad so technically Launceston City Council made her “glad” by not dumping any possums under the Batman lately ;). I will make her glad when I collect that massive great pile of mowed grass off her huge lawn area and deliver it safely into my veggie garden…nothing like mutual benefits to make neighbours happy πŸ™‚

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:24:12

        Lol, exactly πŸ™‚

  6. quarteracrelifestyle
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 06:25:17

    Busy, busy!! I have never seen a bean sprouter like that, interesting.
    Totally in awe of your caged garden. We are so lucky we don’t get possums where we now, one house I lived in we did and it’s gutting to lose your garden to them, your food! You guys are doing a great job Fran.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 08:46:28

      That bean sprouter was for my “health kick” a few years ago and got used once for alfalfa where they promptly grew enormous long roots that tangled up the mechanism and involved me using a toothbrush for hours to scour it. I never used it again for “food” but then rediscovered it to use for sprouting bean seeds that take a long time and we get ours sprouted and with leaves in about a week this way, like forced rhubarb only beanier πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • quarteracrelifestyle
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 12:15:47

        Ah Ok, I had no idea one could buy an automatic one! I have a bench top plastic one I use but never would’ve thought of that, cheers for the very handy tip!

      • narf77
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:10:29

        It is a most interesting contraption that automatically waters the beans and maintains a specific level of humidity (apparently). Not sure it was worth the moola but back then it didn’t take me too long to get a craze for some new gadget πŸ˜‰

  7. Angela @ Canned Time
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 07:19:46

    Those flowers are just gorgeous. I don’t think we have them here in the US.
    And the boys look oh so happy with their rug, pads the elbows for sure.
    You’ve done so much with your veggies I expect great recipes coming from you summer crop….I can’t wait to see you well the netting does. Envy, envy envy ;0

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 08:54:02

      LOL! Envy me not girl I can hardly walk as after standing in there reaching up for 5 hours has rendered me suddenly middle aged in all the worst ways ;). We will spend all weekend lugging rocks and hauling sleepers and shovelling horse dung and generally wearing ourselves out but one day we WILL have veggies and that makes all of this peripheral stuff completely and utterly worth it :). Envy away, I deserve it! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  8. teawithhazel
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 07:46:54

    wow! you two are amazing..such energy..maybe i need to copy your breakfast recipe! x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 08:56:30

      I think “I” need to copy it as the way my brain is these days I keep forgetting what I put into it from day to day ;). All I know is that it gives me a lot of energy to keep going and at the moment, that’s the most important thing πŸ™‚

      Reply

  9. cathyandchucky
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 10:03:25

    Beautiful blog Fronkiii. Dad would be really happy with the way you’ve re-created the garden and surrounds. The life you’ve chosen is going to pay off with huge dividends both now and in the future mainly in both of your health and monetarily. Also, you know where your veg/food comes from and exactly what has been sprayed on it or dug in around it. πŸ˜€ I’ve told Kym that you’ll be fermenting lettuce beer for when her and Bruce come over in January so get cracking! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 11:04:54

      lettuce and slug…the duck is on the cluck so no-one is eating the slugs at the moment so best make something out of them πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  10. brymnsons
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 11:34:49

    Lettuce beer, maybe, but no slug please :). It’s shaping up Fran (ha ha ha sorry thought it was amusing….. I’m going insane with missing Bruce, sigh.

    Reply

  11. Ally
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 13:08:53

    Awesome! Beans, seedlings, sesame milk, miso, beautiful flowers – lots to love here!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:15:36

      Glad you liked it Ally. My food choices fuel my days now and give me everything that I need to keep me going. Today I carted barrow loads of big rocks up a steep slope and back in “the day” I would have managed 1 barrow and called it quits but today I finished the big pile of rocks and am still full of energy. I figure all of those ferments are doing something positive (I think I am comprised of mainly probiotic organisms now but hey, they seem to be doing the job so they can stay! πŸ˜‰ )

      Reply

      • Ally
        Nov 07, 2013 @ 20:54:39

        You will sleep well tonight! Probiotic organisms sound good to me. πŸ™‚
        (Yay, my comment worked. Maybe I’m not being mistaken for a spammer anymore.)

      • narf77
        Nov 08, 2013 @ 03:22:40

        I have been getting that as well…my comments keep disappearing and yesterday I had to keep logging in every single time I wanted to comment…looks like WordPress is playing silly buggers again πŸ˜‰

  12. triciatierney
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 13:19:01

    You guys are sooo industrious! Love the cloaked greenhouse. Ingenious.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:16:22

      Not so sure we are going to love it when the feds turn up on our door step after the drug spotter plane goes over and logs us as “suspicious” πŸ˜‰ “Yes officer, please feel free to inspect my tomatoes!” πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  13. rabidlittlehippy
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 13:50:49

    LOVE! i have to laugh at your bean sprouter. A plastic bag (naughty me I know) and some podded peas and as I’m shelling them, almost half had sprouted in their pods. Peas now planted in the garden. πŸ˜€
    I didn’t think lemons grew to type but I guess you’ll get plenty of rootstock if they don’t hey. You could graft any and every type of citrus you could get your hippy hands on. πŸ˜‰
    Your veggie patch ain’t so much a patch as a sports field, fully enclosed! I am looking forward to seeing where it goes from here. πŸ˜€ AND how much you harvest over the year. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:23:21

      Just spent most of the day lugging rocks to the wheelbarrow and pushing them up steep slopes to line the outside to prevent the wallabies from getting any ideas about invading Poland. They will also prevent Earl from getting any idea for escaping Poland when I eventually manage to get the rocks all around the perimeter and the dogs can be let off lead. The lemon came from our neighbour and I am loath to not grow the seed. I might ask him for some cuttings because the lemons were magnificent. He also has a kefir lime tree that I might ask for a few cuttings from. He has a lot of angelica that he said I can have seed for (it’s in the process of going to seed now) and he says he uses it for a green crop. It’s certainly green! That reminds me, I have pink angelica seed from a gorgeous garden that I visited earlier in the year that I should get planted out…SO MUCH TO DO! I wish Earl had opposable thumbs then I could press gang him into helping me ;). Love the sloth of the peas and it just goes to show that being a lazy so-an-so sometimes pays off ;).

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Nov 08, 2013 @ 09:08:57

        A lazy so-and-so I most definitely AM. πŸ˜€ But yes, this time it’s worked in my favour.
        Earl has the energy to make a great helper but I would have though Bezial would have the nature to want to please and to keep on keeping on long after Earl has buggered off to try to invade Poland. πŸ˜‰
        I think the idea of a seed lying unplanted must give you the heebies. You’re inspiring ME to get all seed focused (was going to write seedy but then thought that might not be the right word πŸ˜‰ ) and the other week when we walked up into town I grabbed some daisy seeds on our way home and shoved them in a small coin bag I had on me. I need to invest in some small paper envelopes or bags (or make them – pinterest? πŸ˜‰ ) to carry on me at all times. πŸ™‚ I’m also on the browse for a deserted and running rampant fig tree in town so I can swipe some cuttings. πŸ™‚
        Keep on keeping on with those rocks. And more veggie enclosure photos please!

      • narf77
        Nov 08, 2013 @ 11:17:58

        Not today, it’s hissing down raining and will be for a few days. No complaining here, the ground was getting dry already and we were watering the plants. We get a few days respite to regroup and get over that mammoth effort. Bezial is as bolshie as Earl but would rather lay about doing nothing than running amok but in his younger days he was actually WORSE than Earl…hard to believe but he would never EVER come back when you called him. At least Earl looks around at you as if to say “eh? You talkin’ to ME?!!!” πŸ˜‰ Earl Pacino ;). I just took a cotton tote bag with me with lots of small ziplock bags in it. I would collect seed heads (I call it deadheading for free…I AM a qualified horticulturalist you know! πŸ˜‰ ) and shove them into a bag. Most of the time I would remember what they were when I got home but there are mystery seeds that I am, just going to scatter to the breeze in the side garden to see what grows (if anything). Just saw a large wallaby and her baby down grazing on the lawn in front of the deck. Looks like we got that veggie garden completed just in time πŸ™‚

  14. Linne
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:01:08

    Having read all of this and the previous post, I am now exhausted and must go for a lie-down . . . πŸ™‚ Seriously, I am SO impressed with your accomplishments that anything I say will not be worthy of what you two have been doing. And even though it’s tiring and hard now, at least you won’t be doing it in your 70s!! By then, you will only have to harvest (well, and plant, I guess) and serve it all up in your enticing ways. I just love your balcony and if I ever get down there, the pups will simply have to move over and share . . . I might lie there for a week or two, enjoying the sun and view. Those aquilegiae are so gorgeous; those and the iris; both among my lifelong favourites. I call the aquilegia ‘columbine’ as that’s what my Auntie Alida called them; the first time I remember seeing them was in one of her gardens. Wish I had a photo now, but I was only a girl then. She had gooseberries and both red and black currants, too. On one of our visits, she took me ’round and showed me everything and told me the names. I’ve forgotten a lot of things, but not that day . . . thanks for reminding me of some lovely memories.

    We need a picture of the roses, now. Wish the ‘net supported scent as well as sight; I’d love to sniff your plants, the earth, even the chooks . . . yeah, I know; I’m a bit weird that way . . . πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 14:19:12

      Glad you liked the posts Linnie :). Its certainly heating up here in Tassie and there are lots of smells to be smelled (not all of them good…roadkill anyone? πŸ˜‰ ). I hadn’t ever seen an aquilegia before we moved here and was delighted to discover that they grow so easily just about anywhere. The Columbines (Granny’s bonnets) are amazing survivalists. There is one directly outside the back door and Earl pees on it every single morning. It’s leaves are singed but it flowered prolifically this year. I have to say I wish I was that tenacious!

      Reply

  15. Sincerely, Emily
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 15:28:54

    Love all your photos. The blooms are beautiful. Your enclosed garden is wonderful. You and Steve have worked really hard on that. It will be a great growing season for you now!!! As you heat up, we had a cold front move through and dropped the temp a bit so it feels more like fall now. Enjoy each day!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 16:42:12

      You too Emily :). I adore autumn and would rather bypass summer completely if I had my druthers but at least we have our veggie garden to take our mind off the heat this year and we should be able to actually use the glasshouse for propagation as it no longer resembles the Sahara desert on a hot day :).

      Reply

  16. Lynda
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 18:45:55

    What plans for all that rope? You both have alot on your plate, actually (love the samosa) and metaphorically (gardening). Emjoy the both.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 08, 2013 @ 03:29:43

      No idea what we are going to do with all of that rope Lynda to be honest. It is just a byproduct (but a most useful one) from the fishfarm netting. There are at least 5 ropes on each 20m x 10m length of netting that need to be removed before it can be used so we have a shed full and I just carted a wheelbarrow full back to the shed and that was AFTER I gave 3 very long lengths away to my friend who just delivered us 20 metres of high tensile steel chain in order for us to allow Earl to accompany us up to the veggie garden where we can work in peace and he can investigate his environment. The chooks and feral cats are not used to Earl having 20 metres of freedom…they had better learn fast or it will be a short, sharp and very painful lesson! I wish I was metaphorically gardening to be honest…this real stuff is certainly tiring! Yesterday I loaded up wheelbarrow after wheelbarrow full of big rocks (our soil is predominately rocks with clay in between…) and had to push them up a steep slope in order to line the sides of the veggie garden to stop wallabies from pushing their way in and Earl from pushing his way out. Again, if we could unite the 2 events together there wouldn’t BE a problem but they are usually out of sync πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  17. Lynda
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 19:13:45

    Blood Hell, more spelling mistakes. Im going to give up. I meant ENJOY. Maybe i need glasses.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 08, 2013 @ 03:30:40

      Maybe your keyboard is giving up the ghost? It’s lucky I touch type because ours has worn out all of the letters making it hard for stubborn Steve who refuses to learn to touch type and looks at the keyboard. He spells terribly anyway and at least now he has an excuse πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  18. Deena Kakaya
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 10:49:30

    What a gorgeous and packed post! Look at those samosa! I felt like I was on a good holiday whilst reading that post, just lovely. X

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 10, 2013 @ 04:06:44

      Hi Deena, thankyou for your lovely comment and those samosas were amazingly easy to make with a great recipe from Veg recipes of India, a great site that I have in my RSS Feed Reader because I don’t want to miss any of their amazing posts. Glad you enjoyed our post and cheers again for your lovely comment πŸ™‚

      Reply

  19. Joanna
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 10:52:32

    Just popping in and look at all your acqueligias !! I love them, love them so very much, makes me happy to think that they grow all over the world like that. Also very intrigued by the sesame cheese, and the milk, is it oily and tastes like halva or something? I can’t quite imagine it. We are watching the leaves fall and the thermometer drop and winter is definitely on its way, though the Antipodean plants in the garden are flowering, well they would wouldn’t they? Maybe that is why there are so many to be found in English gardens? I am waiting for the oca to tuberize properly so I can dig them up, but we need some proper frost for that I think and it has been quite mild for weeks. Keep planting out those seedlings, they are counting on you ! xx

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 10, 2013 @ 04:15:43

      The sesame milk is slightly bitter but I like that and I add a little well processed date paste (smooth) to the milk to give it the same slight sweetness that cow’s milk has and I really like it in my tea. It’s thin but creamy, very white and I use the husky bits left over from making the milk to culture with my non-dairy kefir and after it ferments a day or so I add various other ingredients and make a soft spreadable cheese with it. Cultured “waste-not-want-not” that tastes delicious. I use most of it in making homemade hummus and it tastes great and I haven’t died yet so it can’t be that bad for me πŸ˜‰

      I adore aquilegias and had never seen them when I lived in Western Australia. They grow like topsy here and I just hurled out a whole lot of seed into the garden in the hopes that they will grow mad over the growing season and we might end up with more aquilegias than forget-me-nots…wishful thinking I know πŸ˜‰

      I have oca that I completely forgot about in my strawberry pots! I wonder if they are still viable down there. If they sprout they can be moved to the safety of the veggie garden, if they don’t, I didn’t pay for them so I will count it a lesson learned. I have Jerusalem artichokes going nuts in a protected garden bed but the tubers that I planted out in the garden have been eaten off down to the base by the wallabies (and probably the chooks if I am being honest) so even though people keep warning me about “they will end up like weeds” I don’t think they have a future as a weed specimen any day soon on Serendipity Farm. I wish the chooks ate forget-me-nots! I am seriously thinking of changing the name of the place to “Forget-me-not farm”!

      Enjoy your seasonal slow-down and think of all of those gorgeous books you can get your nose into! I adore autumn and winter and if I had my druthers I would be found all winter curled up on the couch next to Brunhilda’s wafting warmth with a good library book in hand and a huge mug of tea. I would probably be fast asleep but there has to be some payoff for all of that gorgeousness! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  20. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 13:59:24

    Your samosas are making me -so- hungry! They’re one of my favorite appetizers, but I’ve actually never made them myself. I know, it’s a real shame since I’ve seen recipes and they seem easy enough, but I’ve never felt confident that I’d be able to spice them correctly. I guess I should just give it a try already, huh?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 10, 2013 @ 04:24:04

      Give it a go because they are so easy! I had always balked at making the pastry and the recipe that I used seemed like it would fail (oil, water bleh!) but not only didn’t it fail, it was excellent and we even cooked them in our covered bbq so they are most forgiving. Steve loved them and ate most of them the night I cooked them and as he is a fussy Englishman I figure I am on to a winner ;). They give you lots of scope for experimentation as well and I am going to be messing about with spinach and pumpkin and lots of flavour combinations. I think so long as you stick with a starchy veg as the predominate component the sky is the limit. The pastry could also be doctored with chilli, flecks of nori, herbs, spices, think cumin seed and turmeric and a filling of mashed pumpkin with red curry paste, onion, garlic, red capsicum (pepper) and peas and you could make green ones with spinach powder or orange ones with carrot powder… you could make a rainbow of samosas! I got the recipe here if you want to have a go…

      http://www.vegrecipesofindia.com/samosa-recipe-punjabi-samosa/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+VegRecipesOfIndia+%28Veg+Recipes+of+India%29

      An excellent tutorial and they even give you a video but I don’t bother with video’s there were enough images for me to work out how to make the pastry. Have a go, they taste amazing and it’s another chance to feel great when something new works πŸ™‚

      Reply

  21. Spy Garden
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 12:31:42

    Quibble…cull. You have a way with words! And the gypsy tent is awesome!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 10, 2013 @ 15:59:46

      I have a “swag” of words (Aussie vernacular) that all come together to form a festering pile of language (some of it bad) so I think I might be qualified to post as something akin to landfill language methinks…you just never know what you are going to turn up but most of it has seen better days ;).

      Reply

  22. caribougrrl
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 22:59:51

    You make me feel lazy. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 11, 2013 @ 03:42:58

      “I” make me feel lazy. I spent yesterday out lugging rocks from our rock strewn property in a wheelbarrow that is threatening a meltdown over long grass that is full of holes (“cheers potoroo”) to completely surround the perimeter of our new veggie garden. I just found out that it is, indeed, Earl proof so methinks that might be a good sign that other “wildlife” can’t get in either ;). Have a great day and think of me dragging my sad, sorry middle aged derriΓ¨re around today protesting all the way ;). That’s the bit I DON’T share in the blog πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  23. thinkingcowgirl
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 22:50:45

    Beautiful images, very impressed by the netted greenhouse! But my favourite has got to be the one at the back of your house and the fallen tree … it looks so exotic, somewhere I can imagine being on holiday. Sigh, the trouble with land is that it is really hard work…What about getting a woofer?!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 14, 2013 @ 03:35:26

      we have 2 of them ;). Seriously though it’s a good idea but I am still in the process of starting a permie group up out here and as a logical progression of that we could permablitz each others gardens. A great way to get lots of experience landscaping and seeing how other people live and garden while getting your own garden problems sorted at the same time. Community on steroids :). It has rained every since we finished the garden and I NEED to get out there… I am itching to get into my space and make it truly “mine” πŸ™‚

      Reply

  24. gardeningkiwi
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 06:00:16

    Wow Fran – the garden space looks amazing. Well worth the effort! I’m sure in a few months it will a thriving productive haven and all the hassle of putting it together long forgotten! Cheers Sarah : o )

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 15, 2013 @ 08:45:57

      And in the meantime Earl is having a BALL! You should see how much fun he has careening off the sides of the enclosure. I think he missed his true profession, he should have been a circus dog πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

