Looks like a plan

I know that I have asked you to indulge me a bit over the last few weeks with posting links to other people’s posts. I swore that I wasn’t going to do any more re-posting but then Steve found this today and I just HAD to share it. This is where the cutting edge of necessity meets the determination of the poor…THAT is where true creativity lives . I LOVE this. Steve is off into the recycling bin to make himself a land fill-harmonic guitar and I am going to recycle this years hot water bottle and some old irrigation pipe into bagpipes…

 

http://www.upworthy.com/watch-the-first-54-seconds-that-s-all-i-ask-you-ll-be-hooked-after-that-i-swear?g=2

 

Thank you for indulging me. If you head to that link you will see why I feel extremely grateful and thankful this morning ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs to you all ๐Ÿ™‚

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. quarteracrelifestyle
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 09:39:20

    Very cool!

    Reply

  2. LyndaD
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 18:44:53

    Thank you Fran for passing it on. Very emotive.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 12, 2013 @ 03:32:34

      I chose to see it as people without much hope in their lives taking back the power that they needed to find a voice (or sound) that was beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  3. brymnsons
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 18:22:03

    Wow Fran the cello made my hair stand up. This is an amazing thing to be doing. I love the quote about not throwing people away too.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 13, 2013 @ 04:59:06

      I agree Kymmy, that sound that came out of that cello did exactly the same thing to me, it was awesome how beautiful it sounded and made from garbage? Amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  4. Allotment adventures with Jean
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 19:35:26

    This is amazing Fran.

    Reply

  5. Namita
    Oct 14, 2013 @ 00:43:47

    Hello Fran, your blog always has so much to ponder over. I loved the film, I and Yogi (my husband) watched it. It pulled our heartstrings! Thank You for sharing.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 14, 2013 @ 03:40:51

      You are welcome Namita, it pulled my heartstrings as well and that is why I shared it with you. The news never shares wonderful stories like this. We all need to hear about how real people are picking up their lives and making the most of what is around them in the most astounding ways ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  6. Sincerely, Emily
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 05:45:29

    Oh my gosh – the photos of Earl and his box are fantastic. I can just see the wheels a’spinnin’ in those eyes.

    Reply

  7. Chica Andaluza
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 07:44:54

    Very beautiful, very humbling – Big Man and I were in tears. How marvellous the human spirit is to make something so beautiful out out of rubbish. What a sad world sometimes, what am amazing world other times.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 15, 2013 @ 12:57:05

      I love the hope in this post. The hope and the ability to think outside the box to get what you want. It’s a really positive message to all of us penniless student hippies who would aim for the stars…you can get there, you might just have to make your spacecraft out of trash is all ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply

  8. Linne
    Oct 19, 2013 @ 08:50:54

    Another great post! Haven’t checked out the ‘recycled instruments’ link yet, but I will. Good to be catching up with you again. As always, I loved the photos; makes me feel that bit closer to your world.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Oct 20, 2013 @ 04:25:38

      Good to see you back girl ;). I think I have been overly affected by you Northerners because I have started reading again. Reading is a particularly autumnal pastime. Spring is when I should be outside going nuts in the garden but up till yesterday we hadn’t had a dry day in months! I only did our first load of washing (well 4 of them and another one to go today as the washing line is now officially full to the brim ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) since early August yesterday! Steve and I were down to buying underpants and socks as we were officially out of them and we can’t dry washing in front of Brunhilda because Earl is a snow dropper ;). The amusement quotient was high…well dressed spirits were low and we were wearing the dregs of our wardrobes and I am sure the locals have been taking up a collection for “those poor destitute neighbours” who have been seen walking the streets wearing strange clothing with their dogs ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

