Only the very BEST turn 50

Hi All,

Today I am going to depart from my usual post format because aside from being under the influence of a haze of white wine that seems to have settled upon me (curiously and most coincidentally) shortly after Kym set foot on Serendipity Farm, I have a plethora of photos to share with you that too many words would negate so here is the past week in images and captions…

DSCF3471

The hero who managed to stop Serendipity Farm from drowning single handedly. We had torrential rain that didn’t let up for days and suddenly backed up all of the drains at once and Steve headed out into theΒ deluge and shovelled out all of the blockages single handedly…my hero :o)

DSCF3484

Kym and I stayed in Hobart on Saturday night right on the waterfront in Salamanca Place in Hobart. Here you can see the kitchen taken from the stairs leading up to the loft.

DSCF5759

Kym managed to capture the spirit of the evening (well the wine of the evening anyway! πŸ˜‰ )

DSCF5762

Kym at least accompanying her wine with some food

DSCF5767

crawling up to bed…

DSCF5770

A HUGE bathroom with a washing machine and dryer…my kind of luxury!

DSCF3511

Small mugs? No problems! Just give me 2 Kymmy and everything will be fine πŸ˜‰

DSCF3512

Delicious breakfasts and another cuppa (or two) set us up for the day

DSCF3562

One of the biggest dogs (or smallest horses) that I have ever seen…he managed to slobber all over my coat and leave his hairy calling card behind after I gave him a cuddle…dog lovers don’t care about their clothes when a big cuddle is on the horizon

DSCF5792

The coat in question being used to ward off the frigid air of a cold Hobart morning

DSCF5800

I doubt they would get many tourists hurrying to sit upstairs on this double decker bus in the middle of winter

DSCF5812

At the first lookout point on the way up to the top of Mt Wellington to see the snow

DSCF5810

Kym asked me what I thought about the steady stream of cyclists attempting to ride to the summit of the mountain…actions speak louder than words folks!

DSCF3611

A typical facial expression that Kym likes to effect…I am starting to get used to it now but if the wind changes Kymmy…you’re stuffed! πŸ˜‰

DSCF5833

“Well looky here…what seems to have found it’s way into my hand?”…

DSCF5834

“It’s SOOO heavy…so VERY heavy…”

DSCF5826

“OMG did you see that Grizzly bear behind you Fran?! I just tried to stop him from eating you alive!”

DSCF5827

“Sigh…”

DSCF5849

“There’s that Grizzly bear again Kym!”

DSCF5850

“Hang on…I will get him for you!”

DSCF5851

“Narf7 saves the day! Another crisis averted…my job here is done!” πŸ˜‰

DSCF5836

“Hmmm…Frank Zappa said “Don’t Eat the Yellow Snow”…”

DSCF5837

“No yellow here!”

DSCF5838

“MMMMM Snow!”

DSCF5839

“AAAHHHH BRAIN FREEZE!”

DSCF5847

“Here’s lookin’ at YOU Kym (kid)”

DSCF5824

Anyone can make a snowman…we made a snow duck :o)

DSCF5846

Just to show you how far away Kym was standing because of my AWESOME ability to throw snowballs πŸ˜‰

DSCF5853

At the summit…Kym decides to become a Kymscimo or is that a Kymcycle?

DSCF5857

Almost frozen to death after waiting for Kym to find her keys (again…)

DSCF3628

Look…Bjork! (and yes…I am thinking about renting Kym out for impersonations…any takers?)

DSCF5860

Bezial waiting for his new BESTEST EVER friend to get back from Hobart

DSCF3651

Me trying to stop Bezial from drowning Kym in slobber while Earl looks on

DSCF3649

Kym fitting in on Serendipity Farm completely πŸ™‚

How was that for a post? A bit different to usual and a bit later than usual but we have a delicious roast chook dinner to cook with roasted veggies, gravy and a HUGE homemade sponge cake to decorate for Kym’s 50th birthday TODAY FOLKS! Feel free to wish her happy birthday through the blog here as she will be here for the next few days (albeit plastered). Now that we are both 50 we are free to be as reprobated as we want to, in fact, we tag teamed on some wineries today and they didn’t know what hit them…”Look out Launceston…you’re next!” ;). See you all next Wednesday when I may (or may not) have recovered from Kym’s visit. I doubt Kym will EVER recover from her visit…sorry Bruce, she might be a shallow husk of the woman that you sent away but she certainly had a good time! πŸ˜‰

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allotment adventures with Jean
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 19:08:20

    Happy Birthday Kym.

    Reply

  2. cathyandchucky
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 20:38:22

    Happy Birthday Kym πŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. thinkingcowgirl
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 20:39:19

    Think my favourite one is the one of Kym and all the bottles. LOL. Happy Birthday! Though the snow duck is pretty cool…if a little forlorn.

    Reply

  4. Florida
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 21:52:25

    Happy 50th girs! The best kept secret is that it only gets better from here on in. Hold onto your hats (or heads) and enjoy the journey. Kisses Florida.

    Reply

  5. Littlesundog
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 23:09:35

    Jeepers! I think I need to travel to Serendipity Farms and have a re-do of my 50th birthday (from 2 years ago!). What grand fun, and yes, the 50’s ROCK!! Happy Birthday Kym!

    Reply

  6. christiok
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 00:53:24

    Happy Birthday, Kym. And how lucky you are to spend it with the likes of Bezial…and Fran and Steve and Earl. Bezial is an attentive love. πŸ™‚ That’s my favorite picture, on the couch, with Fran and Bezial. Wish I was there, too! And the good news is that, like Littlesundog says, “the 50s ROCK!” My best decade yet… Love you. (And Steve is so dang cute!!!!!!…and handy, too)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 16:32:29

      Kym has just headed home for some much deserved rest and to go into rehab for her liver. She appears to have taken the rain back with her and not before time girl! Our driveway couldn’t take much more! As it is, we are going to have to fill in the rivers before we can drive down again. Steve is blushing about the cute πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  7. dwayland
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 02:13:20

    Happy Birthday, Kym! It’s funny, my bestie’s name is Kym, and you, Narf, remind me very much of her. Unfortunately, I don’t get to see her too often as she lives in Colorado. Thanks for the snowy pics too. Summer is too long here. Enjoy your wine!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 16:33:07

      My liver couldn’t cope (narf) but Steve and Kym soldiered on bravely. Kym might have to go into rehab now she is on her way home πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  8. Angela @ Canned Time
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 03:03:55

    Wow, I am truly envying you two. What a wild way to grow older ;0 So glad you got a few days of fun after all the prepping and gardening you tend to in your pre-50’s lifestyle…take care and have fun!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 16:33:51

      Back to normal tomorrow Angela, Kym just winged it back to W.A. and I am going to attempt to wring my liver out and give it a rest πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  9. Lynda
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 07:44:12

    Nothing beats a day out with the girls, or girl in your case. Have Fun rocking 50! Path the way my friend.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 16:34:41

      Time to recover and for a bit of R&R now after I head off shopping and lunching with my daughters tomorrow that is…it never stops around here! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  10. teawithhazel
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 07:52:25

    happy birthday kym..you two look like you’re doing a fine job of not acting your age..thank goodness πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. Jo
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 15:35:41

    Wow, look out Launceston indeed! I will be staying indoors for the next few days! How wonderful to spend such a good time with a great friend. Enjoy fun times together!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 16:36:30

      We did our best Jo and painted the town red. I reckon we might have even been up your way on the odd occasion so apologies in retrospect for our actions πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  12. twotreesherbals
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 07:18:58

    what fun to get to virtually partake in the festivities! thank you for all of the joyful photos, and i’ll be sure to keep Kym in mind next time i require a bjork-impersonator (it happens more frequently than you’d think!)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 16:38:32

      She did a good job didn’t she! Birthdays are all over now and now it is time to rest and recover before we get back to normal around here πŸ™‚

      Reply

  13. Joanna
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 17:40:12

    Love the photos and you are having such fun and Happy Birthday Kym !!! Love the snow duck and the snow pics! What a great time πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 16:41:42

      The snow duck was a bit accidental…he started off generic and suddenly a “duck” appeared ;). Hopefully I have recovered by Wednesday so that I can post about it all πŸ™‚

      Reply

  14. Finn
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 20:50:33

    Looks like you guys marked the occasion in fine style. I like the ‘crawling up the stairs after a long evening’ shot. Haven’t been there for a long time but I remember it well! How was the hangover? πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 08:00:40

      To have a “hangover” you have to stop drinking long enough for your liver to register that it is time to self clean. When Kym (the instigator) goes back and I stop imbibing of the debil’s drink, my poor liver is going to go ballistic but for now we are in a happy haze of intoxication that seems to have been going for the past week…lots of stair crawling and we don’t even have stairs ;). You have this to look forwards to next year πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  15. brymnsons
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 16:45:06

    Thanks everyone for my birthday wishes. We had a fine old time of it. Yes my liver is now in rehab, just in time :). Don’t let Fran fool you, she is a mighty powerful catalyst lol. I was wined (to within an inch of my life), dined, and spoilt rotten. I know you will all be jealous to hear I receiveed two beautiful spoons for my birthday! Thanks Steve, I have put them to good use already. If that wasn’t enough I have also been given two small wooden spoons. So thank you Fran and Steve, what a great week and such good fun. xxxx Kisses to the dogs, especially Bezial (don’t let Earl know πŸ˜‰ )

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 20, 2013 @ 04:54:57

      Bezial is missing you like crazy and Earl is sulking. I had to go shopping Monday and when I got back Earl wouldn’t eat his tea! My liver is in confusion and I am going to have to take up jogging to lose that 5kg I put on but we had a great time, caught up on everything that has happened since we lost touch 32 years ago and had a whirlwind of a tour of our local Tassie area. Glad you liked the spoons and the small ones as well. Kym gave me a MAGNIFICENT wall quilt that I am going to share with you all in Wednesdays post. She is a most talented lady indeed and an incredibly generous one to boot :). Kym insists that since she turned 5.0. here in Tasmania, and Tasmania is obviously not a real part of Australia or it would have bits hanging on, she isn’t really 50. Not too sure how that is going to cut it girl but kudos on trying ;).

      Reply

  16. Chica Andaluza
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 07:05:22

    Oh what a wonderful, wonderful time you had! Borthday greetings to Kym and I love the photos – they really capture the friendship and laughter πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 20, 2013 @ 15:18:38

      I am only just starting to emerge from the alcoholic haze! I have put on 5kg (not bad for only 9 days) and am going to have to work hard to rid myself of them over the coming month but you are right, we had a great time πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

