A Serendipitous Stromboli for The May 2013 Virtual Vegan Potluck

vvpLOGO

DSCF0896cropped

I hope you enjoyed your flight over from Colorado in the U.S. where you just explored Reia’s wonderful culinary creation at The Cruelty Free Review to Sidmouth Tasmania. I guess you are all starting to know how Santa Claus feels on December 25th 😉

Welcome to Serendipity Farm for the May 2013 round of The Virtual Vegan Potluck. This is my very first time as a participant but I have avidly followed the previous 2 events and found a lot of amazing new vegan food blogs to tuck into my overstuffed RSS Feed Reader. If you want to check out a list of all of the participants in one fell swoop you can click here. Otherwise you can start off hungry and end up stuffed like Mr Creosote from the Monty Python movie “The Meaning of Life”. The trick is to eat slowly folks and not get overwhelmed or the fate of Mr Creosote might be inevitable with 169 fantabulous recipes for you to try. As this potluck is going to have you zipping from one side of the world to the other in a dizzying race to the finish line I figure we can all indulge freely…how many calories does it expend to race from one side of the earth to the other? Quite a few methinks and we are running this marathon all night folks!

DSCF7126

Here on Serendipity Farm we do things old school. Not because we shun the amazing plethora of vegan short-cuts that are available, but simply because as penniless student hippies living in Tasmania who are trying to live as sustainable a life as possible we choose to try to grow or make our own before we turn to the supermarket shelves. Secondly, most of the amazing vegan items that are simple shelf selections for the rest of the world just aren’t available here in Tasmania. I shop at our local Chinese, Korean and Indian stores to get my “interesting” ingredients and everything else we grow or we create ourselves from scratch.

DSCF0775

DSCF7142

My recipe for the potluck is a conglomeration of several other recipes. Some I borrowed and adapted and some I invented. The mushrooms, tomatoes (Fresh, sun-dried and dried and powdered), jalapeno’s, spinach and walnuts used in this recipe were all grown on Serendipity Farm. I wanted to show you all that even if you can’t get vegan convenience food or takeaway where you live, you can make something just as satisfying and delicious with a bit of planning and thought. My Stromboli came about because Steve was watching “Man vs. Food” one night, that horrific show where one man attempts to eat his way through the American fascination with everything HUGE and comes out the other side with a t-shirt and a case of indigestion that would haunt him for a week. Neither of us had ever heard of a Stromboli but I am game when it comes to invention and invent I did! I hope you all enjoy the results. Steve did and as a picky Omni who doesn’t like kalamata olives at ALL he managed to polish off this entire enormous Stromboli in 2 settings. What better praise could a vegan want?

20626_4406679479230_281891643_n

Without further ado, here is the recipe…

Serendipity Farm Stromboli

DSCF0893

Stromboli dough ingredients: –

Adapted from http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/399/calzones with my own personal touch…

8g of instant dried yeast

1/2 tsp. ground Himalayan pink salt

1 tsp. caster sugar

3/4 cup warm water

2 cups plain (all purpose) flour

2 1/2 tbsp. olive oil

2 tsp. Italian dried mixed herbs

1/2 cup of home dried tomatoes ground into a fine powder in a coffee grinder

1 tsp. dried chilli flakes or more to taste

Filling Ingredients: –

1 batch of tomato and walnut pesto (see recipe below)

½ batch of Vegan Colby Cheeze (see recipe below)

2 medium sized ripe tomatoes sliced

1 medium onion sliced very thinly

Approximately 250g (just on 9oz) of button or field mushrooms thinly sliced

1 bunch of fresh spinach shredded

½ cup Kalamata olives, seeded and cut in halves or sliced

A little olive oil for frying the mushrooms and sautéing the spinach

Fresh ground black pepper and sea salt to taste

Method:-

1. Combine the yeast, sugar and warm water in a jug and stir with a fork. Cover with plastic wrap and put in a warm place for about 5 minutes or until bubbles form on the surface.

2. Sift flour and salt into a large bowl. Stir in the dried tomato powder, the mixed herbs and the chilli flakes evenly.

DSCF0797

DSCF0789

3. Add the yeast mix and 2 tbsp. of oil. Mix to form a soft dough. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead it for 8 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Put it in a lightly greased bowl. Cover with cling film and set aside in a warm place for 15 – 20 mins or until doubled in size.

DSCF0804

DSCF0807

4. Preheat the oven to 220C (428F). Line a flat biscuit (cookie) tray with baking paper. Aside from preventing the Stromboli from sticking to the tray you can use it to guide you when you are forming the Stromboli.

5. While the dough is rising prepare the filling ingredients

6. Finely shred the spinach, slice the mushrooms, tomatoes and Kalamata olives and very thinly slice the onions.

DSCF0828

DSCF0832

7. Gently fry the mushrooms in a little oil to remove some of the moisture to ensure they don’t make the Stromboli dough wet.

8. Flash fry the spinach in a little oil till just wilted

9. Shred the vegan Colby cheeze

DSCF0836

10. Assemble all of your filling ingredients together on a plate, not forgetting the pesto, ready to layer on the dough when it is ready

DSCF0847

11. Once the dough has risen, punch it with your fist. Knead it gently on a lightly floured surface. The dough should be quite soft and easy to work. Press the dough out to a 30cm x 35cm (11 x 14 inches) rectangle and try to ensure that the sides of the rectangle are reasonably straight. This will make it easier to roll the dough around the filling.

DSCF0856

12.  Spread the pesto over the rectangle leaving a 5cm (2 inch) border all around the outside of the rectangle. Top with the spinach, tomato slices, onion slices, fried mushrooms, olives and lastly the vegan Colby cheeze shreds.

DSCF0861

DSCF0862

DSCF0863

DSCF0864

DSCF0865

DSCF0866

DSCF0867

13. Season with salt and fresh ground black pepper

14. Starting with one of the longer (35cm/14 inch) sides of the rectangle and using the baking paper as a guide, roll the Stromboli up like a sushi roll. The dough will probably stick a bit to the baking paper so do this slowly and tease the dough from the paper as you go. When you get to the end of the roll, press the sides and ends of the dough together. The dough should be soft enough to meld together. Once you have pinched the dough shut and using the baking paper as a guide roll the Stromboli back onto the sealed edge.

DSCF0869

DSCF0871

15. Using a bread knife or other serrated knife, make slices 2 ½cm (1 inch) apart along the length of the Stromboli, ensuring that you only cut down halfway through the roll.

DSCF0875

16. When you reach the end of the roll put it into the preheated oven and bake for 15 – 20 minutes until golden brown

DSCF0883

17. Remove from the oven when done and allow the Stromboli to cool for about 5 minutes and then slice into pieces and serve with salad or on its own.

DSCF0892

18. ENJOY! 🙂

Sundried tomato and walnut pesto

DSCF0762

Note: – you will need a full batch of pesto for the Stromboli

Ingredients: –

DSCF0764

1 cup of walnuts

1 cup of Sundried tomatoes preserved in oil patted dry on paper towel

1 tsp. dried Italian mixed herbs

3 cloves garlic

1/2 tsp. chilli flakes finely ground

1 tsp. pink Himalayan salt

2 tbsp. Chili Bamboo Shoots a wonderful Chinese product that adds a lovely cheesy taste to this pesto

DSCF0756

Method: –

Put everything into a food processor and whizz until the pesto reaches a consistency that you like. It’s nice smooth or chunky. For this recipe I used it chunky to give added texture to the Stromboli. Note: – if you can’t find the chili bamboo shoots just omit them. They add flavour but the cheezy flavour can be somewhat replicated by using 2 tbsp. nutritional yeast flakes (nooch). If you like your pesto a little looser you can add a little olive oil to the mix.

DSCF0770

The only vegan “cheeze” available in our local Tasmanian supermarkets is plain nasty. Its soy cheeze and looks like soap. It kind of tastes like soap as well…I only ever tried it once before wondering at the desperation of the masses purchasing this more than once and keeping it on the shelves. We might be penniless student hippies but we never compromise on taste. If we can’t buy it better, we make it better! I turned to my trusty old agar stained copy of “The Uncheese Cookbook”. I imported this book from the U.S. and after making most of the uncheeses contained within its hallowed pages, Steve and I ended up loving this version of Colby Cheeze.  The only additions that I make is to add 2 tsp. of miso and swap the mustard powder out and add yellow American style mustard to add colour and just the right flavour.

Colby Cheeze

DSCF0734

Adapted from “The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook” by Joanne Stepaniak

DSCF0608

Ingredients: –

1-1/2 cups water

5 tbsp. agar flakes, or 1-1/2 tbsp. agar powder (I used powder)

1/2 cup roasted red capsicum (peppers) skin and seeds removed, or pimento pieces

1/2 cup raw cashews or skinless Brazil nuts (I used cashew pieces)

1/4 cup nutritional yeast flakes

3 tbsp. fresh lemon juice (I used bottled as we didn’t have any lemons)

2 tbsp. tahini (I made my own using this recipe http://vedgedout.com/2013/01/02/toasted-sesame-tahini-pictorial/ )

2 tsp. onion powder (I made this using dehydrated onion flakes in my repurposed electric coffee grinder)

1/4 tsp. garlic powder (again, made from garlic granules in my repurposed electric coffee grinder)

DSCF0610

DSCF0614

1 tsp. salt (I use ground pink Himalayan salt)

1/4 tsp. mustard powder (I subbed 2 tbsp. of prepared yellow American style mustard for flavour and colour)

I add in 2 tsp. of Hikari white miso paste to add an umami cheesy flavour to my uncheeze but feel free to skip this ingredient if you don’t have it, it isn’t in the original recipe.

Method: –

  1. Lightly oil a 3-cup plastic storage container and set aside. I used a small metal rectangular muffin pan and a small round ceramic bowl.
  2.  Combine the water and agar in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, stirring often, until dissolved, about 5 to 10 minutes.

DSCF0619

DSCF0624

  1. Transfer to a blender and add the remaining ingredients.
  2. Process several minutes until completely smooth, scraping down the sides of the blender jar as necessary. I use a Vitamix to do this to ensure my mix is completely smooth
  3. Pour into the prepared container and cool uncovered in the refrigerator. NOTE: – I find that this cheeze sets almost as soon as it is made so make sure that you pour it out of your mixer into your moulds as soon as the mix becomes smooth
  4. When completely cool, cover and chill several hours or overnight. As I mentioned above, don’t hang around once your mix becomes smooth in your blender or your uncheeze may set in the container. This has happened to me on more than once occasion so take note!

DSCF0628

  1. To serve, turn out of the container and slice. Store leftovers covered in the refrigerator. Will keep 5 to 7 days.
  2. This cheeze can be grated easily and will soften nicely when used in hot dishes

DSCF0625

Variations: – In place of the red peppers, use 1/2 cup cooked chopped carrots, 2 to 3 teaspoons paprika, or 2 tablespoons unsalted tomato paste. For Chedda Cheeze add 2 tablespoons light or chickpea miso prior to blending. For Olive Cheeze replace dry mustard with 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard. After blending, stir in 3/4 cup chopped black olives or sliced pimento-stuffed green olives.

I managed to find a YouTube video of how to make this cheeze and it looks like Jack Black beat me to it! 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3FYduSF-dw

So there you have it folks. Hopefully you will enjoy our Stromboli creation and will be fortified enough for the long haul flight over to the next blog in Canada, the amazingly delectable Mermaid Café where your chef for tonight will be the lovely Mira. “Please ensure that your carry-on baggage is stowed safely in the luggage compartments above your head and enjoy your flight…”

go_bck-300x257       go_forward-300x243

125 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. quarteracrelifestyle
    May 11, 2013 @ 14:48:06

    This looks amazing!! I can only say “YUM”! I will have to try that stromboli.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 14:50:17

      Its very easy to make and absolutely delicious whether you use vegan filling or meat etc. Steve snarfed this one up quick smart so my guess is that it tastes good either way 😉

      Reply

  2. Anthropogen
    May 11, 2013 @ 14:52:56

    Now THAT looks like a read-deal stromboli!

    Reply

  3. veganmiam
    May 11, 2013 @ 14:53:06

    Ah, that looks amazing!

    Happy Virtual Vegan Potluck 3.0 Day!

    ♡ rika, vegan miam
    http://www.veganmiam.com
    ★ we travel + eat vegan blog ★

    Reply

  4. thecrueltyfreereview
    May 11, 2013 @ 16:13:05

    Wow! For never having heard of a stromboli before, you knocked this out of the park! It’s wonderful that you grow so much of your own food; those veggies look fantastic. I can only imagine how fresh this tastes. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply

  5. The Little Foxes
    May 11, 2013 @ 16:46:47

    Looks delicious. And so perfect for a party – a stromboli in one hand and a nice beverage in the other. Winning!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 16:50:58

      I guess that means I could have entered appetisers as well! 😉 A great idea and something I am going to try at my next get together 🙂

      Reply

  6. alexanderwillowharvey
    May 11, 2013 @ 17:47:39

    Wow! You have truely kicked but with this! Loving all the home grown veg, like little foxes said WINNING!

    Reply

  7. cathyandchucky
    May 11, 2013 @ 18:43:38

    Great recipe Fronkii. I wanted to eat the screen! Check out my blog. I’m posting my making of Chilli Marmalade and a recipe of my Lamb Shank Soup and picture.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 03:33:03

      People are going to LOVE that soup Pinky :). You made some chilli Marmalade? I am going to have to check that out too :). I loved mums chilli jam and so did our lecturer Nick.

      Reply

  8. brymnsons
    May 11, 2013 @ 18:54:44

    Well done Fran. Looks easy enough for me to try 🙂 I’m just going to head over and check out Cathy’s recipes now

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 03:34:09

      That lamb shank soup is amazing Kymmy. I remember Pinky making it years ago (would have been about 15 years ago now!) and it was so delicious we ate it all the time. Pity shanks are now “gourmet” items isn’t it? ;).

      Reply

      • brymnsons
        May 12, 2013 @ 16:44:20

        This recipe is the same one my mum cooked for us kids. We loved it! The only difference is that mum put pearl barley in too. Yes can’t believe the price of lamb shanks now. Use to give them to the dogs when I was a wee lass!

  9. The Vegan Green
    May 11, 2013 @ 20:25:50

    Wow, this is a gorgeous recipe, thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Poppy
    May 11, 2013 @ 22:06:11

    I have to try this, looks soooo yummy!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 03:35:55

      Cheers Poppy it was also very easy to make (despite all of the steps 😉 ) and you can sub prepared vegan cheeze and pesto to make it a very quick weeknight meal. The dough only takes 20 minutes to raise and it is a soft, easily squished out dough at that 🙂

      Reply

      • Poppy
        May 12, 2013 @ 04:02:45

        Easy sounds good to me! 🙂
        Great that the dough only takes 20 mins to rise – I’m too impatient for the 1.5 hour long rises most of the time! Your step by step pics are a great tool also! I wish I could eat it off the screen 😉

      • narf77
        May 12, 2013 @ 04:06:19

        It got eaten a month ago LOL! I wanted to make sure my first entry into the virtual vegan potluck went smoothly WELL before time ;). I am an impatient cook and hate having to wait too long for things to prove, marinate etc. and this dough is amazingly versatile. It’s actually from a calzone recipe that we make a lot and adapted to the stromboli with ease 🙂

      • Poppy
        May 12, 2013 @ 04:16:33

        Ah. Maybe I won’t eat my computer screen then! Haha..
        Good idea to have made sure you had time to patch any errors should they have arisen!
        I look forward to giving it a go! It will be my finishing exams treat next week! 🙂

      • narf77
        May 12, 2013 @ 04:36:22

        As a fellow student I wish you well! :). Eat lots of good vegan food and you can’t help but pass with flying colours 🙂

      • Poppy
        May 12, 2013 @ 04:38:44

        That’s the best mantra EVER! And thank you ever so much for wishing me well. I wish you well also 🙂

      • narf77
        May 12, 2013 @ 04:56:12

        Cheers for that but at the moment we are wading through a media design course and learning to use CS6 etc. SO lucky my husband is doing the course with me as he is the tech-head in our family ;). I am sure you are going to ace your exams…just pace yourself and don’t get overwhelmed…panic leaves you like a rabbit in the headlights and if you can’t think of anything to answer something, at least give the exam marker a laugh, that’s my mantra 😉

      • Poppy
        May 12, 2013 @ 04:59:23

        You’re so lovely! And that made me smile ‘at least give the marker a laugh’! Your course sounds very techy! Mines more half sciency, half hands on in wellies – animal management. If all goes badly in the exams, I’ll draw the marker a bunny rabbit! 🙂

      • narf77
        May 12, 2013 @ 05:08:00

        This techy course is a sideline to our regular study which is Horticulture so we would be side by side with you in those wellies 🙂 I would draw a daffodil 😉

      • Poppy
        May 12, 2013 @ 05:14:12

        Fabulous! What a lucky marker to be drawn a daffodil 🙂

  11. Emily
    May 11, 2013 @ 23:45:44

    Looks delicious!!! 🙂

    Reply

  12. christiok
    May 12, 2013 @ 00:51:44

    I love the way you take us through every step in creating the vegan ingredients, Fran. You make it look easy, or at least doable. Does anyone use their coffee grinders for grinding coffee beans anymore? I certainly don’t! lol 🙂 Wish I could just wiggle my nose and come for lunch. Hugs from Olalla.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 03:37:55

      That Stromboli was made and eaten a month ago ;). If you come for lunch today you are likely to get a cheese sandwich ;). I wouldn’t use my coffee grinder for beans now as they would taste like an Indian takeaway! I guess I could make a chai latte? 😉

      Reply

  13. The Healthy Flavor
    May 12, 2013 @ 02:08:49

    Oh wow that looks incredible! My husband waked absolutely love this!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 03:39:07

      Hi Brandi, Steve certainly loved it and he is a pretty fussy Omni at that :). He HATES kalamata olives but ate this very quickly. It would go really nicely with a cold beer and as another poster said, you could slice it and serve it with drinks as an appetiser 🙂

      Reply

  14. An Unrefined Vegan
    May 12, 2013 @ 04:19:27

    You brought it in a serious way, Fran!! Stromboli speaks to me, you know? Must be my Sicilian/Italian heritage. And the photos! You’re joining us next time, right?!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 04:37:25

      I might have to start working on my next Potluck now Annie ;). And I will certainly be taking notice of Daylight savings…my type A personality fainted clean away when I realised I was late…LATE! 😉

      Reply

  15. sammysfood
    May 12, 2013 @ 04:58:09

    wow! Looks incredible! Seriously….

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 04:59:06

      Cheers Sammy 🙂 My omni man certainly scarfed it quick smart without any protest (even though I hid kalamata olives, his pet hate, inside 😉 )

      Reply

      • sammysfood
        May 12, 2013 @ 05:00:34

        hahahaha..cheeky thing! I love doing that though, it gives you a sense of satisfaction that they are eating it without knowing 🙂

      • narf77
        May 12, 2013 @ 05:09:44

        What’s good for the kids is good for the omni husband and they tend not to know ;). When I first met Mr Omni, he swore black and blue that he didn’t eat garlic. I cook everything with garlic (garlic pound cake anyone? 😉 ) and just threw it in anyway. He had no idea. I think people are “fussy” because they are suspicious and if you just serve it up to them anyway (heavily disguised as puree or inside the Trojan horse of a delicious cake) they tend to love it 🙂

      • sammysfood
        May 12, 2013 @ 05:11:03

        Totally agree! 🙂

  16. fitfulfocus
    May 12, 2013 @ 07:23:59

    oh my goodness! This is like 500 recipes in one! I can’t wait to try this out on my carnivorous boyfriend!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 11:08:31

      If my picky Omni husband loved it (and ate the second half the next day by choice) it must be tasty! ;). The only thing he didn’t like about it was the kalamata olives but that didn’t stop him polishing the whole Stromboli off all by himself… 😉 Glad you liked it 🙂

      Reply

  17. Elle Kay
    May 12, 2013 @ 07:44:17

    This. Looks. And. Sounds. Amazing. I need to try it. It is bookmarked. 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 11:12:09

      The dough is easy peasy and only takes 20 minutes to rise and doubles as a spectacularly adaptable recipe for calzones as well. Steve loves it with chilli flakes and Italian dried mixed herbs but the sky is the limit for flavourings and it would lend itself really well to any form of dehydrated powdered veggies (think carrots, beetroot, spinach etc…) to add flavour and colour. The fillings were to showcase that you don’t have to be able to “buy” the ingredients (like vegan sour cream etc.) in your local supermarkets. If I had to buy them, I would die waiting for our shops to stock them! ;). I go hunting and thanks to the amazing online vegan community, they NEVER let me down and I always find innovative and amazing ways to create what I need for my recipes :).

      Reply

  18. teawithhazel
    May 12, 2013 @ 07:49:45

    you might be impatient waiting for bread to rise but you certainly don’t shirk the hard yards when it comes to creating beautiful food from scratch..including cheese! your stromboli looks stunning and so healthy..i can imagine it would go down well with a glass of red!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 11:13:33

      Cheers for that Jane! You are making me blush :). Steve scarfed that Stromboli and it is now a regular fixture on our fortnightly meals calendar. Steve imagines it would go down well with a bottle of red 😉

      Reply

  19. veghotpot
    May 12, 2013 @ 08:35:07

    Yay I’ve been looking forward to this recipe 🙂 lovely recipe! Loving all the photos x

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 11:15:24

      Glad you liked it :). Let me know if you try it. That dough is incredibly easy to make and only takes 20 minutes to prove. Adding oil to the dough makes it very elastic and easy to work with and you can spread it out by hand on the baking paper before you top and roll it. Very soft, very easy, very tasty…you can’t lose! 🙂

      Reply

  20. Littlesundog
    May 12, 2013 @ 08:58:56

    I believe you’ve ROCKED THE HOUSE DOWN on this one Fran!! Amazing photos and instructions! You always amaze me and yet… these are the king of stunning results I have come to expect from you!

    I need a bib right now… excuse me!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 11:21:28

      I am so glad you liked the look of it :). I was a bit worried that my dear constant readers would go “PFFT!” The Stromboli is apparently scrumptious. Steve ate it all in 2 settings and it would serve 6 people with salad or quite a few if you sliced it through and served it as appetisers with a drink or two. The dough is really easy (thanks to the addition of oil) and only takes 20 minutes to prove before you can use it. I use it for calzones as well (it makes 4 enormous calzones) and you can fill them with anything you like (so long as the filling isn’t too wet). Thank you for forgiving me a day of veganise 😉

      Reply

  21. Angela @ Canned Time
    May 12, 2013 @ 11:19:35

    Mr. Creosote Rules! I know he would love such a lovely homemade Stromboli,,,,,very impressive and so much work, love this 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 12, 2013 @ 11:29:58

      You are SO right about Mr Creosote ;). I didn’t know if any of you guys in the U.S. would “get” Mr Creosote… so glad you did :). It shows we share a sense of humour as well as our veganism :).

      Reply

      • Angela @ Canned Time
        May 12, 2013 @ 11:33:46

        Grew up memorizing any Monty Python we could get our hands on…..pretty sure that my older brother can quote that whole scene and most restaurants here will understand if you tell the waiter that you ‘need a bucket’…I’m feeling stuff right now with all these recipes to get through X)

  22. sugarcoatedvegan
    May 12, 2013 @ 11:34:23

    This looks AMAZING! I need to try it! Love the photos and the instructions! What a great addition to the potluck! Happy VVP!

    – alexis
    http://www.sugarcoatedvegan.com

    Reply

  23. Allison (Spontaneous Tomato)
    May 12, 2013 @ 14:05:15

    That is one fancy and impressive stromboli! I never really thought about how they were constructed before, but I like the step-by-step photos. 🙂

    Reply

  24. Trackback: Bacon, mushroom and spinach Stromboli | quarteracrelifestyle
  25. LyndaD
    May 12, 2013 @ 19:50:17

    From the number of comments you have, i would suggest that your Vegan Potluck recipe is a big success, well done! It does look yummy and very easily adapted to “non-vegan” if you felt inclined (and i do). You went to alot of effort and i hope you feel great!. Sorry it took a while to comment – ive worked all weekend.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 13, 2013 @ 02:20:52

      Hi Lynda, I know how busy you must be as it’s your “busy season”. I know that because my son is an accountant with a large firm in Melbourne and sounded really tired when he phoned me up yesterday for the ubiquitous “mothers day” phone call ;). He said “why does EVERYONE wait till the very last minute?” The human condition eh? ;). Did you see that quarteracrelifestyle, one of my dear constant readers, newly conscripted to the fray, had made the Stromboli with bacon, cheese and spinach? It turned out looking almost exactly like the one that I made and she was chuffed. The dough is nice and easy and only takes 20 minutes to prove in a warm place so it can be ready and on the table within 3/4 of an hour (prep the filling ingredients while the dough it proving) and as it has a little oil added to the dough it makes the dough very easy to work with and very forgiving. I just press the dough out to a rectangle with my fingers, no need for a rolling pin. Here’s her blog entry about her non-vegan Stromboli…

      http://quarteracrelifestyle.wordpress.com/2013/05/12/bacon-mushroom-and-spinach-stromboli/

      I reckon your family would love it! 🙂

      Reply

  26. rabidlittlehippy
    May 12, 2013 @ 20:20:27

    I’m seeing a sourdough version of this on the horizon. 🙂 Looks delicious.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 13, 2013 @ 02:24:01

      It’s such an easy dough to make Jess, just 20 minutes to prove and you just squish it out to a rectangle, no rolling or fussing. It’s very forgiving. It also makes 4 large calzones if you are that way inclined and doubles easily to make 2 large Stromboli’s or 8 calzones. Did you see that quarteracrelifestyle, a recent follower, had made the Stromboli the night that I posted the recipe (Saturday) using bacon and cheese and spinach? It looked almost exactly the same as the recipe I shared so that proves it is easily replicated ;). I reckon you could get the hoppers joining in on making it if you wanted to give it a go. Might be fun? Here’s the non-vegan version. It looks remarkably like the vegan one 😉

      http://quarteracrelifestyle.wordpress.com/2013/05/12/bacon-mushroom-and-spinach-stromboli/

      Reply

  27. The Food Duo Ⓥ (@thefoodduo)
    May 12, 2013 @ 22:02:03

    I have to try this soon! We make stromboli often at our home. I love the look and read of your recipe.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 13, 2013 @ 02:10:29

      I have already had 1 person report back that they made it and loved it AND blogged about it! I guess I can’t hope for more than that :). Let me know if you make it and how it goes. It really is a very easy dough recipe to make, especially if you don’t deal with bread dough’s much. It only takes about 20 minutes for the dough to rise and it is very versatile. You can use it to make calzones (it makes 4 large calzones) as well and it’s a nice soft malleable dough that is very forgiving.

      Reply

  28. Sophie33
    May 13, 2013 @ 01:30:12

    What a fantastic, amazingly tasty well filled stromboli from you 2!! Waw!! It is even FABULOUS!! REALLY TASTY FOOD!!! I love it all beautifully combined, like you only can do it! xxx

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 13, 2013 @ 02:28:52

      Thank you Sophie for your wonderfully enthusiastic comment 🙂 Glad you liked my very first entry into the virtual vegan potluck :). Yours was amazing too. Combine the 2 and you have a wonderfully satisfying meal…who says that vegan food can’t be great eh? They should visit the virtual vegan potluck. There are some seriously awe inspiring recipes here by some amazingly creative people. Don’t you LOVE being part of this? 🙂

      Reply

  29. Linne
    May 13, 2013 @ 07:47:57

    Incredible, Narf7!! I’m going to have to try a version of this (have to tailor to my elders’ tastes and digestions) soon. I’m thinking it would make lots of little calzones for appetizers that wouldn’t drip or drop while I was eating them . . . esp if I had a glass of something or other (Delilah’s Delicious Delights?) in the other hand . . .

    I loved the photos, too, and once things settle down a bit, would like to try your authentic version. I am SO hooked . . . I’m re-blogging for my non-foodie, non-hippie homesteader followers. 😉 Thank you SO, SO much!! ~ Linne

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 13, 2013 @ 08:53:21

      Welcome my dear :). This recipe has since been adapted to Steves desire to have pepper sausage, bacon, 3 cheeses and spinach and makes magnificent calzones as well. The dough is amazingly versatile and would be great for tiny calzones 🙂 Let us know if you do make them :). The dough is soft enough to be easily digested and you could put anything you like in there to adapt to tastes 🙂

      Reply

  30. Linne
    May 13, 2013 @ 07:48:58

    Reblogged this on A Random Harvest and commented:
    This looks like the BEST Stromboli ever, thanks to Narf7! I will be making this soon myself. ~ Linne

    Reply

  31. Ally
    May 13, 2013 @ 21:56:24

    Wow! You have out-done yourself 🙂 This looks amazing!
    Your photos are great too.
    I am intrigued by the cheese. I remember when the uncheese cookbook first came out. Now I’m thinking I should have bought myself a copy!
    I am keen to make your stromboli.
    I am still making my way through the VVP. I have already made one recipe. So much fun!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 14, 2013 @ 04:10:47

      I haven’t gotten TO the VVP yet! My RSS Feed Reader got overfull and I have had to work my way through these posts first although the bonus is that a fair few of them are from the VVP ;). Have you seen Miyoko Schinners amazing Artisan Vegan Cheese book? I bought it from Amazon when it first came out and it has some fantastic aged vegan cheezes using probiotics and rejuvalac, a good homemade yoghurt, sour creams and an amazing brie along with the very best vegan Mozzarella you could hope for 🙂

      Reply

  32. Trackback: Looking back at an Awesome VVP | The Vegan's Husband
  33. Somer
    May 14, 2013 @ 01:48:50

    Dang tasty! Now I’ve gotta try that cheese, I even watched the video link! Funny that the guy who made the video says there’s no reason to make vegan cheese now that there’s Daiya and Teese. I beg to differ! Question…. does it melt? xx

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 14, 2013 @ 04:13:27

      Hi Somer, because it is grated it does actually melt in with the other hot ingredients :). Yeah, I didn’t watch the vid, it was a last minute inclusion for the lazy vegans who couldn’t be bothered reading a recipe… I thought of everyone! ;). I posted it more because he looked like Jack Black! 😉

      Reply

  34. Somer
    May 14, 2013 @ 01:51:59

    p.s. would you mind updating your go forward and go back buttons to the permalinks of the blogs before and after you so the potluck can stay linked? Thanks in advance! Here they are:

    Go Forward:
    http://tothemermaidcafe.blogspot.com/2013/05/fiddlehead-barley-risotto.html

    Go Back:
    http://thecrueltyfreereview.wordpress.com/2013/05/10/virtual-vegan-potluck-3-maple-brussels-sprouts-pizza-with-serranos-and-lemon/

    Reply

  35. Maggie Muggins
    May 14, 2013 @ 05:56:18

    First of all, who doesn’t like kalamata olives? that’s just crazy! Secondly, this is amazing! You’ve outdone yourself, especially since you made all the components from scratch! I’ve never tried anything from the Uncheese cookbook but now you’ve peaked my interest. I so want to try that stromboli right now! I probably should not be reading this on an empty stomach, it’s not helping matters 😉

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 14, 2013 @ 06:05:22

      Lol I know…I am up early here in Tasmania and MAN I am hungry! Not a good idea to start your day off with one of those gorgeous VVP dessert creations methinks! 😉

      Reply

  36. Trackback: Virtual Vegan Potluck Roundup! | Fitful Focus
  37. Trackback: An inside job on the pizza | rabidlittlehippy
  38. coconutandberries
    May 15, 2013 @ 08:00:43

    Oh my word! This looks phenomenal. Just working through all the vegan potluck posts and your stromboli is a real standout. Love that you made all the components from scratch.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 15, 2013 @ 18:49:19

      Cheers for that, we can’t get a lot of vegan ingredients here in Tassie and I just wanted to show people that you can make good vegan food from scratch 🙂

      Reply

  39. Debi at Life Currents
    May 16, 2013 @ 07:04:58

    I simply cannot tell you how super excited I am to try this!

    Reply

  40. sweetveg
    May 17, 2013 @ 05:22:25

    Way to go for rocking this potluck with stromboli. I am so inspired! I never really missed cheese much, but I am starting to think differently about the benefits of adding some home made vegan cheese to my diet. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 17, 2013 @ 05:25:09

      Cheers Sweetveg 🙂 Did you see Angela of “Canned Time” has done a wonderful post about a gorgeous homemade vegan cheeze along the lines of mine but with herbs, chillis and pumpkin seeds? I love it when people run with an idea 🙂

      Reply

  41. spinachrevolution
    May 18, 2013 @ 05:15:07

    I have never heard of Stromboli before. I am very glad I have now. It looks so yummy. I am sure yours must taste so much better since most of the ingredients are home grown and made from scratch. I am super impressed that you produce a lot of your food yourself. It is an inspiration. Thank you for the very interesting and new recipe.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 18, 2013 @ 05:27:09

      Spinachrevolution indeed 🙂 I grow a lot of spinach here on Serendipity Farm and adore the stuff. I have it in my green smoothies every morning and it plays a part in almost all of our meals (even when you are married to a fussy Englishman who is suspicious of it 😉 ). I just wanted to show people that anyone can do this. It’s not difficult or rocket science, it’s simple and it’s very satisfying to make your own from scratch 🙂

      Reply

  42. Eat,live,burp
    May 19, 2013 @ 16:42:51

    your stromboli is making me hungry now. thank you for the step-by step pictures.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 19, 2013 @ 17:31:15

      What an EXCELLENT name you have there! You are welcome regarding the step-by-steps and its a lot easier than it looks…I have been making them heaps ever since that post and from go to whoa (remembering that the dough is yeasted) takes about 3/4 of an hour and the results are scrumptious and you can customise them however you like 🙂

      Reply

  43. tinykitchenstories
    May 21, 2013 @ 07:42:06

    Wonderful recipe–I’d like a slice of that right now! Great instructions too, very thorough and detailed. Awesome contribution!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 21, 2013 @ 17:04:18

      Cheers for the wonderful comment tinykitchenstories :). The Stromboli works really well for all kinds of reasons, you can eat it with chips or salad for a meal, you can slice it into slices and serve it with drinks and you can reheat it and it tastes just as good (if not better) the next day according to my über fussy Omni husband 😉

      Reply

  44. vixbakes
    May 21, 2013 @ 08:38:32

    This stromboli looks gooood! I absolutely must make this. Soon.
    x Vix
    vixbakes.com :: vegan baking + raw desserts

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 21, 2013 @ 16:57:18

      Cheers for the wonderful comment. This Stromboli is easy peasy to make and tastes great. It’s also very easy to adapt to just about any taste and you can even make it half vegan, half Omni if you have to ;).

      Reply

  45. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.
    May 22, 2013 @ 06:16:20

    This looks incredible! I have got to surprise Chris with this or something similar. I can’t seem to follow a recipe without substituting something. We have walnut trees all over the farm and I can’t stand walnuts. This does not look easy though, at least to me. My meals must follow under the category of Easy to the Extreme.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2013 @ 06:17:50

      It’s VERY easy :). The dough is very adaptable and comes together in about 30 minutes tops. I just made that pesto and the cheeze because we can’t get acceptable versions in our local shops. You could sub any of the wonderful shop cheezes and pestos that you have available to you to make this a very quick meal 🙂

      Reply

  46. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.
    May 22, 2013 @ 06:18:57

    Honestly I would use real cheese. I remain lacto-vegetarian.

    Reply

  47. Keely @ Gormandize
    May 22, 2013 @ 09:01:53

    Great vegie garden! This looks quite spectacular. A little time consuming but I think I’ll definitely give it a try!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 22, 2013 @ 13:19:50

      WOW! You are one of my blogging heroes… I am blushing 🙂 I LOVE your site and follow it in my RSS Feed Reader…forgive me for being a bit fangirly but it isn’t often you get to talk to someone that you admire 🙂 Cheers for the great comment (I will never wash this comment box again 😉 )

      Reply

  48. michaelawah
    May 28, 2013 @ 07:07:34

    This stromboli looks monstrously huge – in the best possible way :)) also looks stuffed with all sorts of good things which are, what’s more, very healthy! You put me to shame with all your homegrown or sourced goodies, and how you’re so good with gardening. This is from someone who’s just planted her first herbs. Yes, you’ll laugh, but i had to make someone show me how to transplant a pot of herbs. Yes, please laugh away! I’m just expecting them to die on me at any moment, to the amusement of my neighbours who no doubt witnessed and sniggered away at the comic sight of assisted transplanting :))

    I’ve got your cheese recipe bookmarked. will you reach over and hit me on the head if I ask how it compares in taste to, erm, dairy cheese??

    I read on joanna’s blog (zebbakes) that you’ve got milk kefir as well. I never would have guessed they like sugar! Do they ferment more vigorously?

    And good for you that you’ve got your Brunhilda – what a lovely name. how cosy and toasty it’ll make your home, and indeed, all the things you could churn out! Bread is a brilliant idea! Pizza!!!!!!!! Baking bread and pizza in a wood-fired oven is my unrealised fantasy. Crumpets and English muffins! Even meringues on very low residual heat (100 degrees celsius)! have fun!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 28, 2013 @ 10:40:26

      Hi Michaela, I am a vegan and use milk kefir grains to culture my own version of non-dairy milk kefir. I make my own soymilk with organic beans (so I don’t end up with those nasty G.M. beans by mistake!) or really any other kind of non dairy milk as they are more resiliant than people would think. I used them for culturing coconut cream but the results were a bit too rich for me so I stick with the lighter milks. I use them in my morning green smoothies. The vegan cheeze isn’t the same taste as real milk cheese but it makes a great melty tasty substitute for the real thing especially for people who give up cheese because of dairy allergies. I remember trying it and thinking “WOW this stuff is good!”. My husband who isn’t vegan loves the stuff and ate most of the remains from the Stromboli post out of the fridge every time he walked past it. He said to tell you that his favourite non dairy cheese is “Crock cheese” that you can find here http://social.popsugar.com/Ultimate-Uncheese-Cookbook-dairy-free-crock-cheese-vegan-tofu-13111815 if you would like to give it a go. It’s lovely stuff and very nice spread on crackers and most non dairy cheeses are MUCH lower in calories than their dairy counterpart so you get to eat more of them :). Glad you liked the post and the blog, feel free to drop by any time Michaela and visit on Serendipity Farm here in Tasmania Australia 🙂

      Reply

  49. Allotment adventures with Jean
    May 28, 2013 @ 07:31:36

    That Stromboli looks absolutely delicious. I have some roasted veggies that would go just lovely into that.

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 28, 2013 @ 10:41:25

      YUM! Imagine a delicious pile of roasted to perfection veggies tossed in some of your gorgeous home made pesto all tumbled into a rolled up soft pizza dough… now THAT is a stromboli recipe Jean! 🙂

      Reply

  50. michaelawah
    May 28, 2013 @ 14:34:04

    thanks for the link, i must try making non-dairy cheeses. Homemade soy milk huh? never mind the kefir, i think i would like that myself 🙂

    Reply

  51. Marisa
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 11:21:38

    Wow–I especially love the trouble you’ve taken to add delicious things to the crust itself. This looks lovely 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 19, 2013 @ 13:49:52

      Cheers Marisa 🙂 You are making me blush… I was trying to show that those of us that live in places where anything vegan is still tantamount to “magic” can still have delicious vegan food, you just have to make it yourself. That Stromboli is now on our regular meal plan and Steve adores it. He has asked me to make him a “Stromboli Roly Poly” which apparently is something he has been thinking about and that contains cooked apple and dates and cinnamon sugar all rolled up in a sweet bread dough with a glaze… sounds alright doesn’t it! :). Again, thankyou for your comment, I am glad that you like the look of the Stromboli 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

