Come and visit Serendipity Farm for The Virtual Vegan Potluck tomorrow…

Hi All,

vvpLOGO

Click this link to take you to the full list of participants. I am SO excited to be taking part in this event πŸ™‚

This is a teeny tiny little post just to test my scheduler is working correctly. I am very excited to be posting in a worldwide event tomorrow and would love for you all to come and take a look. I promise there are at least 800 words less than I usually type and LOTS more pictures and a wonderful and most tasty recipe to boot. This post has taken a whole lot of work and I really do appreciate those amazing food bloggers out there that do this every single day. I would go banana’s! Here’s a gratuitous shot of vegetable head for you all to enjoy…I am using it as a lure for prospective blog followers tomorrow ;). Have a great Friday guys and enjoy yourselves to the MAX this weekend.

20626_4406679479230_281891643_n

narf7 the great Stromboli maestro of old Sidmouth town πŸ™‚

DSCF0892

Hows this for a vegan recipe folks? And we grew most of the ingredients and made everything ourselvesΒ πŸ™‚

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angela @ Canned Time
    May 10, 2013 @ 10:37:54

    That Stromboli needs to be in my mouth nowWWW!!! Looks awesome Fran. Can’t wait to see your VVP entry πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:03:30

      Hopefully my mammoth post won’t put people off! Lots and LOTS of photos (to illustrate “how”) and not all that many words though…A picture speaks 1000 words apparently πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  2. christiok
    May 10, 2013 @ 11:22:07

    Go Fran Go! I’ll even try to make the recipe. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:04:14

      You can sub meaty and cheesy things inside it Christi, it’s a great dough and I am sure that the B.O. and Austin would love Stromboli πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. Ally
    May 10, 2013 @ 11:44:59

    Oh yum, that looks delicious!
    Good idea to test your scheduler. I’m hoping that mine decides to cooperate. I have had occasions where it hasn’t worked. I’ll be sitting right by my computer just to make sure!
    See you tomorrow!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:06:34

      I wanted to make sure to iron out all of the possible (probable πŸ˜‰ ) problems first up and make sure. We should be back from the progressive garage sale by 3pm so I will be glued to my P.C. as well (never EVER trust technology! Those robots are just waiting for a lull in our watchfulness! πŸ˜‰ ). This is exciting isn’t it? I had so much fun putting links to words and images and learned a whole lot about what I can and can’t do in my posts which was a great thing to learn even without the Potluck πŸ™‚

      Reply

  4. Littlesundog
    May 10, 2013 @ 12:38:00

    Oh my! That stromboli looks scrumptious!!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:08:38

      Cheers πŸ™‚ It’s my entry in the virtual vegan potluck on Saturday (today). I was running a test email because I set up a scheduler to post the post at the right time just in case I forgot (highly likely πŸ˜‰ ). Hopefully people like the recipe. I did 3 recipes, the Stromboli, a vegan “cheeze” to grate onto the Stromboli and a sundried tomato and walnut pesto, made with our own walnuts and tomatoes to spread over the Stromboli instead of a tomato sauce. Apparently it was very tasty πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. cathyandchuckyPinky
    May 10, 2013 @ 12:45:40

    I want that Stromboli in my belly right now Fronkii! It looks divinely scrumptious πŸ˜€ I’m making a huge pot of lamb shank soup at the moment. Might be me eating the whole thing if Jason turns his nose up at the textural quality of it as I like lots of chunky veg and he likes his soups smooth and velvety. 😐 I’ll try and check out the virtual vegan pot luck tomorrow too. Love you heaps xox

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:10:58

      I remember when you found that lamb shank soup in a magazine and we loved it beyond belief back then! I also remember that shanks were cheap as chips at the time! Not any more…That soup has certainly stood the test of time. I hope you are sharing it in a post? It would make an amazing share as it is gorgeousness on a lamby stick :). remove the shank, pour Jason’s bit into a blender/food processor and render it mush. That’s what I do when Mr. Fussyboots himself turns his nose up at something ;). Love right back atcha sis :). Wish me luck for the potluck. I don’t plan on winning but I just wanted to at least make my entry worthy of this esteemed event πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • cathyandchucky
        May 11, 2013 @ 13:24:14

        I tried opening your Pot Luck site but all i’m getting is wing-dings and jibberish! Aghghh I was looking forward to seeing what was on there. Oh well, will try later and see if it’s working properly then. xox

      • narf77
        May 11, 2013 @ 14:32:55

        You can go see it now Pinky…all sorted. There was a bit of a stuff up with times (not on our side!) and we had to post it manually so now you should be able to read it πŸ™‚

  6. Hannah @ Gypsy Roller's Veggie Kitchen
    May 10, 2013 @ 13:55:30

    See you tomorrow! I’m participating in VVP as well πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:16:57

      I know I saw you in the list :). I was going through the list and recognising friends and blogs that I follow all over the place and feeling decidedly at home there :). An amazing event, a great time and it certainly opened my eyes up about how much hard work goes into compiling food blogs! I just type what spills out of my brain most posts but this one had to be organised, I had to check that I didn’t step on anyone’s toes visa-vi pinching someone else’s words/work without giving them all the credit and I had to compile the recipe when I usually just “bung things in”. Kudos to you guys for all your regular hard work! Glad I only have to do this a couple times a year ;). Good luck in the Potluck, hope you win πŸ™‚ I am just really happy to be taking part and being amongst some of my vegan food blog heroes in the process…Alex Willow Harvey, Vegan Richa, Annie, Somer, Angela from Canned Time I am SO excited! πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Hannah @ Gypsy Roller's Veggie Kitchen
        May 16, 2013 @ 05:06:52

        I thought you did a great job with your recipe – it’s a bit of a masterpiece, in fact! You even photographed each step while you were making it – now THAT’s impressive! Now that I know what a stromboli is I’ll have to give it a shot next time I’m feeling ambitious in the kitchen πŸ™‚

      • narf77
        May 16, 2013 @ 05:42:03

        A very easy recipe despite the steps. I had to make everything from scratch because we don’t have another option here in Tassie…we just don’t have the range you guys have over there. We don’t even have hemp seeds! Illegal here…sigh…you have to be VERY innovative when you are faced with nothing on the shelves and thats where things like the VVP have been amazing for me so I just wanted to show other people out there in the same place as me (productless πŸ˜‰ ) that you CAN do it yourself and to head out there and experiment with the plethora of amazing recipes that people like you share here every day πŸ™‚

  7. rabidlittlehippy
    May 10, 2013 @ 15:12:15

    Drool! I eagerly await a chance for a cup of tea tomorrow to sit and read the post. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:20:16

      Tomorrow is just a recipe girl! Only 2080 words at that! Lots and LOTS of pictures though. A picture tells 1000 words ;). Hopefully it showcases our desire to grow our own and to live simply without throwing ourselves in at the deep consumerist end. I wanted to show people that you might not have money but you really don’t have to compromise on taste. Knowledge is really power. You buy good quality ingredients, you preserve things yourself, you grow your own and you control your OWN quality as much as you can by buying local, knowing the deal with how your food it produced and making your own things from scratch and you are so far ahead of the game you win :). I had to do a recipe for vegan cheeze and for sundried tomato and walnut pesto along with the Stromboli because I wanted people like me, who just can’t get good quality vegan cheeze etc. from the supermarket shelves to be able to have a go. Hopefully the message gets across…let me know if it does πŸ™‚ narf7 had an agenda! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        May 11, 2013 @ 06:43:22

        Hey, I eagerly await ALL your posts! πŸ™‚
        I totally hear you on being a locavore, whether it’s as an omni, vego or vegan, locavore is the ONLY way to go. And just cos you’re a locavore it doesn’t mean you can’t be a gourmet in the process. πŸ˜€ Knowing your eloquence I am sure you will get that message across. In fact, I have no doubts whatsoever. πŸ˜€

      • narf77
        May 11, 2013 @ 06:49:50

        blushes πŸ˜‰ See you in the post and guess how my sourdough experiment turned out…not so good :(. BUT that aint gonna stop me from trying! Might start back a few steps in the sourdough evolutionary process and see if I can’t actually make something edible ;).

  8. Bread & Companatico
    May 10, 2013 @ 16:19:11

    those are amazing veggies you are holding there, amazing you guys can grow your own. and that stromboli can almost talk πŸ™‚ ciao

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:23:36

      Maybe I could enter that Stromboli in your next bready compilation? It is yeast based and is a bit “different” and might help any of your readers who can’t have dairy or eggs to find something yummy for tea one night and it IS based on an Italian recipe after all πŸ˜‰ (albeit AmeroItalian πŸ˜‰ )

      Reply

  9. Allotment adventures with Jean
    May 10, 2013 @ 18:38:54

    Sounds really interesting Fran. Hope you have a great turn out!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:26:32

      There are 169 entries in all Jean and it is worldwide. I don’t tend to push my veganism on anyone but as you would know, it feels really good to just be “yourself” amongst a group of peers and chew the non meaty fat so to speak ;). I learned SO MUCH about how to link a picture to another web page, how to link a word to a web page or list of text elsewhere on the web that it was worth all of the hassle that I went through to produce it. I LOVE learning new things :). I really have a lot of respect now for people that churn out food blog posts. They are quite difficult to get right and they are very organised and structured. Not like just thinking about things and typing them out and banging a picture or two in like I do now! “Kudos to all of the food bloggers, you guys RULE!” πŸ™‚

      Reply

  10. brymnsons
    May 10, 2013 @ 22:52:00

    Good luck and looking forward to checking you out :). That photo of the stromboli looks great, yum!

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:27:45

      You are going to have Stromboli for one of your meals here Kymmy, just yours will be chock full of Nigel on Tamar’s gorgeous peppery cabana sausage, lots of lean bacon, 2 – 3 kinds of cheese and anything else you fancy…Steve is looking forward to it! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  11. Linne
    May 10, 2013 @ 23:53:59

    That looks scrumptious, Narf7!! Can’t wait for more information . . . and pictures πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      May 11, 2013 @ 04:31:02

      There are SO many pictures that they actually dwarf the words…a first in my blogging history ;). I really did gain lots of information on the way. I can now link a word to another website and images to other websites and I learned how to schedule a post! Worth the hassle just for that :). I hope you all enjoy the recipe. I just wanted to take part in an amazing blog hop that spans the globe. There are 169 entries this year and they range far and wide. Most of them are from the U.S. and indeed the blog in front of mine is from Oklahoma and the blog after mine is in Canada (and looks AMAZING and drool worthy…my money is on “Mermaid CafΓ©” folks! πŸ˜‰ ) and anyone (like me) who is going to start at the first blog and work their way through to the end blog is in for a gustatory treat of enormous magnitude! I am up for it as a glutton and gourmand from way back…”BRING IT ON!” πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  12. veghotpot
    May 11, 2013 @ 08:08:35

    Looking forward to seeing your blog tomorrow, with all the photos!! πŸ™‚ I’m posting a main course so will see you there hehe. Oh and that Stromboli looks soo good! Xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

