A new pope is elected on Serendipity Farm and this one is for Bev…

Hi All,

This is going to be a first…more pictures than words! I decided that it was a lovely rainy day and that we would celebrate by taking photo’s of our morning and our processes to celebrate the very first lighting of Brunhilda this autumn…

DSCF0068

Saturday is cleaning day…you can see the dogs are delighted…

DSCF0074

Steve just cleaned the loungeroom and the boys just put their seal of approval (or is that disapproval?) on it…

DSCF0076

Steve putting the firebox door back on Brunhilda after oiling the catch

DSCF0077

Earl thinks that he isn’t getting his fair share of attention…

DSCF0079

Steve talking to Earl about dogs that demand attention…

DSCF0081

Earl thinking about what Steve just said to him whilst maintaining his position…

DSCF0085

And completely disregarding what he has just been told. Earl had to be physically removed from his new preferred spot (and yes, I will be washing that cake rack before I use it again πŸ˜‰ )

DSCF0086

Steve feeding Brunhilda after her long hibernation

DSCF0087

Steve just about to close the firebox door on Brunhilda after giving her a degustation platter of treats to keep her happy

DSCF0094

The dogs have just realised that Steve is lighting the fire!!!

DSCF0095

The kettle goes on IMMEDIATELY and the dogs couches are all ready for their inhabitants for the next 8 or so months

DSCF0100

Proof that it has actually been raining and I am not just fibbing

DSCF0101

Every year this Clematis vitalba grows back from a large old stump that I think I have hacked to death the previous year and has gorgeously scented flowers that are perfect for the bees

DSCF0103

According to Brunhilda the new pope has been elected…Pope Frances the first… I RULE! πŸ˜‰

DSCF0106

What happens when possums are robbed of their stolen nightly bird cheese by the wrens having a late evening snack…revenge is terrible 😦

DSCF0107

Brunhilda’s food of choice

DSCF0109

Various jars of “flours” that I have made after making almond, coconut and soy milk and dehydrating the pulp. I make my soymilk with organic Aussie beans and will be growing my own next year. I have 1 cup of tea a day with soymilk in and don’t consume it at any other time so I figure it won’t be something that I have to worry about πŸ˜‰

DSCF0112

The lower portion of one of our pantries. The noodles were an added bonus (along with 2litres of whole milk) when Steve got home and unpacked the groceries and found them. He didn’t buy them so I guess someone left them behind and we were not going to take them on a 100km round trip back to the city. We have lost groceries before, I guess this time was our bonus but neither of us want to eat those noodles!

DSCF0113

The shelf groaning with grub…better than being empty I say! πŸ˜‰

DSCF0114

My soymilk maker, lots of empty jars and herbs in the spare pantry in the middle room and all of those paper bags are packed to the gills with dried seeds ready for next springs planting events

DSCF0118

Dehydrated okara in the foreground and on the left Kid Creole and on the right, his coconuts getting used to homemade coconut milk and doing a very good job now that they understand that they won’t be getting cows milk any more πŸ˜‰

DSCF0124

A Grey Shrike Thrush waiting for me to move away from the window with the camera to come and get some tiny cheese cubes from the windowsill

DSCF0126

The view out my kitchen window and the only safe place that I could put my shoes away from the weather and Earl, twin problems for shoes on Serendipity Farm πŸ˜‰

DSCF0127

Earl attempting to play ball. For a dog, he is considerably unco!

DSCF0129

I swear I saw Brigadoon!

DSCF0132

More proof of rain and don’t the trees look happy πŸ™‚

DSCF0133

The tree that fell down reasonably close to the house in the wind and rain on Thursday. Now we just have to work out how to get it safely onto the ground!

DSCF0135

Bezial showing his appreciation to Steve for lighting the fire for his basking pleasure πŸ˜‰

DSCF0148

Pretty much where you are going to find the dogs for the next 8 months πŸ˜‰

DSCF0150

Steve says “there’s no use crying over spilt milk”…

DSCF0149

Fair enough…but this is kefir! 😦

DSCF0164

Draining kefir to make it as thick as Greek yoghurt to use in recipes

DSCF0156

Still raining…the feral cats live underneath that large conifer

DSCF0157

A bit more rain (that last nude rain dance that I did at midnight appears to have done the trick πŸ˜‰ ) and the nerines are loving it although Steve is muttering about having to bail out The Mumbley Cumumbus tomorrow πŸ˜‰

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Steve and I are officially genius’s now. We took this panoramic shot with a camera that doesn’t take panorama’s. We are learning so much about photoshop and pretty soon will be selling our own BigFoot, Alien sighting and Tasmanian Tiger photographs…autographed for the tourists ;). Let us know if you want any terrible photos doctored, we HAVE THE POWER! πŸ˜‰

Well that’s it, that’s all folks…not quite wordless but for me, it’s a miracle. Enjoy your weekend and see you on Wednesday when words will return (sorry Bev πŸ˜‰ )

63 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pinky
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 18:22:18

    Wonderful photos Pope Fronkii and Steve. Love your stove too. Glad you got the rain I sent you. It was a tad hard to wrap I must admit πŸ˜‰ Looks like that dead tree will be a boon for winter firewood. Make sure to check other trees around the place out as they may have had their roots weakened over the hot dry summer. Love the sight of the rain dripping from them.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 14:15:27

      It wasn’t the roots that took that tree out Pinko, it was rotten inside thanks to branching fungus that has started to kill off all of the Eucalyptus Obliqua (big leaves) but doesn’t touch the viminalis (thinner leaves)…all I can think is that the obliqua are stressed by the lack of rain we have been having for a few years now and are easy targets for the fungus where the viminalis doesn’t mind a bit of hot and dry and is surviving admirably. We have had the fire going for 2 days now and it’s lovely. Apparently Victoria has low 30C temperatures forecaste, hope they don’t share! Howzit with you two by the way? Might send you an email methinks… long time no chat ;). Have a great rest of your sunday and hugs to Jason πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. foodnstuff
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 18:55:47

    Endorse the great photos comment! What a lovely view from your kitchen! Hey, I’ve just realised Firefox loaded quickly without crashing (its usual behaviour for your verbosity ;-). I think it likes the minimal-text option!

    Who was it who said, “a picture is worth a thousand words”?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 03:45:00

      Don’t get used to it, it is an anomaly ;). I pity the poor person who just decided to follow the blog based on that post! I am predicting that I just got another “sleeper” πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  3. rabidlittlehippy
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 22:05:46

    I too would cry over spilt kefir. However, spilt breastmilk would have me in a straightjacket and medicated up to the gills. πŸ˜‰
    How wonderful your rain looks. Not a drop here sadly. Ignisa was lit yesterday though but she’ll be off for at least 2 days. Gonna be 31 next week. What the…?!
    Love all the pics and nice to see pics of you too . πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 03:51:02

      31?!!! I don’t know if I can continue to talk to someone who is so bloody OLD! ;). Remember…this is a BIG year for me too…I turn (too…scared…to…type…it…) “50” this year! W.T.F.!!! I was watching a television show with Steve about some guy fixing up an old Volvo to sell and this old man came around to look at it and buy it and he said “It’s my 50th birthday and I wanted to treat myself…” this guy looked about 65 if a day and I had a moment of twitching before my happy reality set in and I remembered that I am, indeed, narf7 who accepts aging as a graceful part of living this amazing life and that is what hair dye is for! ;). I allowed Steve to put those shots of me in the post for the sake of art. Don’t expect a lot more of them ;). Hope you had a ball last night and didn’t disgrace yourself in the sorbet and Martin had to carry you home ;). I will be baking cinnamon muffins today and have about 1 1/2 kilo’s of uber thick kefir dripping away in the fridge overnight that I have to think of something to do with…soft cheesy goodness anyone? Not quite sure what to do with it but I will find a cream cheese recipe and run with it :). Have a great sunday and hope you get a bit of rain out of it, it was positively blissful and gave me back hope that we hadn’t just up and moved to the Gobi desert like I was starting to suspect… πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:09:22

        Bahahahaha! Not me, the weather. I’m 35 in October but the weather will be 31 sometime this week! Tee hee hee hee. πŸ˜€ (Ok, I didn’t word it well) Nothing wrong with 60 either. It’s just a 6 and a 0 together after all. Only numbers. πŸ™‚ Another way to look at it is that you have 60 years of memories and 60 years of experiences and 60 years to look back and remember (before the dementia sets in πŸ˜‰ ) and 60 years of wisdom that baby hippies can look up to you and ask you to relay. πŸ˜‰
        Didn’t get around to eating sorbet last night after a DIVINE vegetarian curry that had my pigtails spinning so to speak (zingy!) and then sticky date puddings dripping in butterscotch sauce. Evil! We also had a lovely walk between the courses, scavenging walnuts and picking blackberries which was just amazing! I made the sorbet and left it with my friends but if it’s not all gone by 9pm tonight I will be stunned. πŸ˜‰
        Just as happy for the rain to hold off today as I think our builder is coming to build our shed today. DESPERATE for our shed and to start shifting out boxes.

      • narf77
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:28:52

        60 will be fine, its 50 that I am twitching about ;). By the time 60 hits me I will be hopefully a lot more mellow about where I am heading. 50 is the big one (get it 50…I AM TURNING 50 NOT 60!!!! πŸ˜‰ ). You are excused, it is still relatively early and after a night out scarfing veggie curry (emmm!) and date pudding and hunting walnuts and blackberries you are excused πŸ˜‰

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:32:06

        Whoops, sorry. Got 60 in my head. Sorry. So, substitute everything I said about 60 for 50. πŸ™‚ On an aside, my husband is only 5 years younger than you are turning! I’m cool with old people. πŸ˜‰ Sorry, couldn’t resist that one. πŸ˜€ (Where the hell did I get 60 from!!! Sorry, still whoopsed about that).

      • narf77
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:41:55

        Yeh, Steve is closer to Martin’s age, he is 48 πŸ˜‰

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:32:25

        Forgive me?

      • narf77
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:42:32

        Once I get out of the foetal position (sometime around midday methinks) I might consider it πŸ˜‰

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:43:08

        I am really so sorry. :((

      • narf77
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:51:21

        Pfft! I am messing with you girl! ;). I am in the process of compiling a list of interesting posts because you have hoppers and a life and I have the benefit of time (and the ability to wake up at 3.15am every single morning πŸ˜‰ ) to excite and delight you and yours. Hope you like them. I will send them later on in an email. I have hide like a tippo πŸ˜‰

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:58:33

        I am glad you’ve forgiven me and I look forward to my email. Yesterdays ideas were awesome.

      • narf77
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 07:07:03

        Nothing on the magnificence of todays πŸ˜‰

  4. christiok
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 03:03:56

    I love the picture story of this post — dripping with rain and kefir, dogs on couches and tables, and pantries full of magical ingredients. I have just received some cream cheese kefir from a neighbor and will be getting some grains from her this week. Because of you, I knew what she was talking about! You are so ahead of the curve, Fran. Love from Olalla. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 03:43:37

      Lol, I sometimes think that the curve is a bit more twisty than normal around here on Serendipity Farm ;). Earl would STILL be on that table if Steve didn’t take the little sod down. He knows that we put interesting things on the table and likes to check on a regular basis in case he is missing out ;). I have some mature kefir in a sieve over a bowl dripping slowly to make a thick cream cheese consistency. Steve actually likes it now so I can use it with impunity. I have a sourdough starter mix for fresh cinnamon muffins that has risen nicely overnight. I add kefir to my starter and flour overnight soak to make sure that the grain gets softened to the max. You end up with the most tender crumb ever and very luxurious muffins. I made some a few weeks ago that included rolled oats. I was prepared for a really rustic texture but the starter and kefir digested the oats overnight and the results were a very light and spongy muffin without a hint of chewiness. Brunhilda is probably going to get another day of work today. It was great to have hot water from her again and I made a huge pot of soup on her and the kettle was constantly tapping away (we put a stone inside the kettle so that we know when it boils) and ready for coffee and tea whenever we wanted it. I LOVE autumn :). Hopefully we get to walk the dogs today because it rained all yesterday and we couldnt. If we don’t, Earl might not stop at “standing” on the table and might progress to “eating” the table! πŸ˜‰ Have a fantastic Sunday and hopefully our glorious rain will be matched by your gorgeous sunshine and verdant green vista πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. kittee
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 14:36:30

    Thanks for letting me peak into your beautiful life! Your place sure looks cozy, with a gorgeous view.
    xo kittee

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 14:40:34

      Hi Kittee, if I am right, It is I that should be thanking you for your share of your beautiful home and Vee :). I don’t know how I haven’t found you before now as a dedicated vegan food blog hunter but maybe I left the best till last? :). Glad to meet you and love Love LOVE your home, your style and your wonderful little dog πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. Finn Holding
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 20:03:40

    You’ve got some happy looking hounds there. But I bet there they’re not the only ones that are pleased to see Brunhilda woken from her summer slumber! The views from Serendipity Farm are terrific, it must be easy to hunker down infront of the stove when it rains and just gaze at the surroundings, especially with all the wildlife you have around and about.

    Congratulations on the election of your new spiritual leader. I hope she’s benevolent and wise πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 20:16:29

      More like meglomaniacal and tyranical (if you would believe Steve, Bezial and Earl πŸ˜‰ )… It is very easy to hunker down when it’s cold and raining and just watch the birds etc. outside. I was amazed that even though the sky was pelting down raining I could hear the little birds (sparrows mainly) chattering away and the wrens kept coming in a steady stream for small pieces of cheddar cheese that we leave for them when it is cold. I actually hand fed a Grey shrike thrush a little bit of sliced beef today. She must be very hungry. We have been trying to ensure that we don’t forge dependancy and that we only supplement their natural food when times are tough. It’s lovely living so close to nature πŸ™‚

      Reply

  7. Sophie33
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 21:43:43

    Great pics & a beautiful read aka post, my friends! Your clematis is looking beautiful too!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 05:07:45

      That clematis smells amazing as well. Sort of a sweet peppery nasturtium smell and the bees love it. There isn’t much else in the garden for the bees so they are all over it πŸ™‚

      Reply

  8. brymnsons
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 23:23:33

    I fell off my chair laughing when I read rabidlittlehippy’s comment about how wonderful 60 is! I was choking and chuckling so hard Bruce thought I had swallowed something. Oh it is definitely a biggy the old 5 0. My mind is finding it hard to get around it, but 60!!! Oh well like you say I will probably be more chill about that one :). I keep remembering mum at that age and thinking how old I thought she was, and now here I am facing it down the barrel and I feel so much younger. My body is betraying my mind lol

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 05:11:03

      Yeh, Rabid knocks me out eh? πŸ˜‰ You are right about the age thing. When you are 20 you think that you will NEVER see 40 and then suddenly you are staring down the barrel of 50 (or 60! πŸ˜‰ ) and you think “I’m not OLD! I certainly don’t feel like it!” Again, who cares what society thinks is “old”, it’s what YOU think is old and how you choose to live and act that really matters πŸ˜‰ Don’t forget your toilet rolls by the way, I get the newspaper dress and you get the toilet paper dress πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  9. christiok
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 05:33:41

    I love that rapidlittlehippy was talking about the weather! lol And that you, Fran, took it as an age reference. And that 50 and 60 are sort of synonymous to someone in her 30s. Perspective is so interesting!! I’m 56 and all of my friends, except you Fran, are older than me. Most of my peeps are in their 60s. The difference between the 50s and 60s from my window is grandkids. I don’t have them yet, but their atoms are floating around in the Mount Baker neighborhood of Seattle. Aches and pains are another issue, and I’m getting glasses refurbished in a much stronger prescription…bifocals. My mother-of-the-bride dress for our daughter’s wedding this summer has no waist. And I’ve been told I must wear a bra. πŸ™‚ Bummer. I don’t own one! Other than that, 50 and 60 aren’t that different. In fact, more change seems to happen in 6 months of my twenty-something children’s lives than in a decade of mine!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 05:50:01

      I lived in Albany Western Australia (I know there are several equivalents in the U.S.) and 50km away was a small town called Mt Barker and every time I see Mt Baker I think of it :). I KNOW! Isn’t it funny how time goes on for days when you are a child sitting in school listening to the teacher drone on…and on…and ON and you just want to get out into the day and play with your friends and then you hit puberty and time speeds up exponentially and suddenly there is so much more to do than you can even BEGIN to fit into a day and you hit adulthood running flat out and everyone and everything wants your time. 3 decades just disappear into the ether leaving you shellshocked and spat out at 50 wondering “What the hell just happened?!!!”. Most people get spat out at 65 when they retire but we were lucky and got spat out in our mid 30’s and have had time to process all of this before we got to achy and painy and are ready for it (as ready as we will ever be I guess πŸ˜‰ ). Suddenly after 50, 60 just bleeds into everything else and one day you look in the mirror and think “I look old! I don’t FEEL old, but I look it!” and as you say those grandchildren atoms are suddenly more palpable than they were when you felt too young to contemplate future generations ;). I actively want grandkids (especially as there isn’t that long period of labour before being presented with them πŸ˜‰ ) and I want to teach them everything I know and find precious. I want to watch them learn all about the world and I want to know that something of me, a memory perhaps, will live on inside them long after I am gone. That’s the legacy that my grandparents gave to me and I KNOW I am a better person for knowing them and sharing with them all. If my kids don’t have grandkids, I will just find some grandparentless kids and adopt them! Simple really πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 25, 2013 @ 07:30:20

        OMG I am dying of embarrassment! πŸ˜‰ Age means so little to me, whether someone is 20, 40 or 60 (or even just short of 50 πŸ˜‰ ), it’s all just a number. I guess that’s why I sorta mucked up 50 and 60. And thinking of you as my online mum doesn’t help that either as my mum turned 60 last year. and 5 and 6 ARE next to each other on the keyboard. Have I given enough excuses to dig myself out yet? πŸ˜›

  10. Linne
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 07:46:15

    Hello, my friend! I have awarded you the β€œVery Inspiring Blogger” award. Please see my post today for information. (Note that you may use short answers to the seven questions; I just never know when to stop!). You SO deserve this award, for you, like the other recipients, have inspired me many times. πŸ™‚ ~ Linne

    Reply

  11. christiok
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 07:57:31

    Rabid, I admire you tremendously for all that you do to live consciously and sustainably, AND with 3 little ones! Our neighbor is your age and has an 8, 6, and 4-year-old and my husband and I watch the intensity of the children playing, the coming-and-going, and think about the stages of life and how we are NOT in our 30s anymore. Maybe because the 20s and 30s are so intense it takes years to realize it’s over, and like Fran said, usually it’s more like 65 and official “retirement” before we process what’s happened. I want to “act my age” — at least a bit calmer and wiser, as well as slower — and not lay any guilt on you guys. You are working too hard, directly nurturing the next generation!! Cheers to you, Rapid!

    Reply

  12. brymnsons
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 10:10:02

    Toilet paper, with those rabid dogs of yours, no way lol. They will see me as a giant play thing, I will be a pile of torn pieces and slobber πŸ˜›

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 11:43:31

      a naked pile of torn pieces and slobber at that! πŸ˜‰ photo’s for the blog anyone? At least I will still have a few shards of newsprint left, either way the two of us will have a 50th to remember FOREVER!!! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  13. rabidlittlehippy
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 11:20:46

    Hi, I’ve nominated you for a very inspiring blogger award. My latest post shares your blog and what to do if you would like to nominate your own inspiring bloggers (no pressure to forward).

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 11:50:26

      Hi Rabid my fine feathered hippy friend, I love being nominated but I tend not to do much with my nominations. It isn’t because I don’t love the praise (waft away πŸ™‚ ) it’s because I kind of think of these “awards” as chain letters sometimes akin to Facebook aps and I tend not to play along. Cheers bigtime for the nomination and please don’t hate me because I don’t do anything about it πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 25, 2013 @ 11:52:49

        Oh I know you don’t do awards. I remember. πŸ™‚ But I still wanted to publicise your blog and tell the world (well, my readers anyway) that you’re wonderful and inspiring. πŸ™‚ They can be chain letters, in fact I agree they are but like emailed chain letters, I do forward some if the story is good or I like the intention or just cos I feel like it. πŸ™‚

  14. brymnsons
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 14:20:38

    I can see the photos now, drunk, disorderly and in shreds ha ha ha ha ha ha. I wish I still had my nice stove, but alas I have a small little government employees housing one, sigh. At least it is only Bruce and I. I am looking forward to meeting Brunhilda in the flesh. Your kitchen looks so interesting, I love the colour. x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 15:36:39

      Photos make our kitchen look a lot nicer than it is… it is permenantly covered in dog hair (no matter HOW much I sweep), the wooden floor needs mopping (all of the time) and there is a constant patina of dust from the silty soil outside that seems to want to migrate all over the place, in other words it is a “real” kitchen and we do real kitchen things in here ;). We can muck around making bread, making sourdough muffins and cake etc. while you are here and if you think you can get some past customs, I will dehydrate some of Audrey for you (with accompanying instructions) to send back with your so you can have your own starter :). My brother is hinting at turning up around about the same time but the bed is already yours (I won’t expect you to share it with him…you can tell Bruce to get off the floor now! πŸ˜‰ ) and he can sleep on the sofa, it must be comfortable as Steve spends a lot of time lying there snoring on a regular basis ;). This could be a most interesting birthday indeed! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  15. Chica Andaluza
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 20:47:02

    I loved this post so much. Thank you for sharing a glimpse into your home and I now have serious Brunhilde envy…hope she looks after you well in the coming months. So funny about the dogs when you are cleaning. Ours too seem to follow me around leaving more mess than when we started! Is it your birthday soon (reading your comment above) how lovely!

    Reply

  16. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 02:06:16

    You are so efficient and organized. Maybe one of my problems is that I’ve never had a “cleaning” day. I clean when the moods hits me and take it in spurts, which is what I’m doing today. Love your stove. I have our wood burning going today. We can’t cook on it though. We had to turn off the regular heat, because I’ve been varnishing the floor since yesterday….think I just put the last coat I’m going to put on it. The fumes are bad enough without it blowing through duct work. I’m impressed by all the stuff you make. And speaking of age, I will turn 60 this year. Oh, well, look at Tina Turner and Cher. Perhaps there is still hope for me.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 26, 2013 @ 04:04:09

      I think we both know where to point the finger at the agism on this site don’t we? (Anyone looking at a certain “hippy” who shall remain anonymous? πŸ˜‰ ). I don’t even believe that you are 50 let alone 60 and all you have to do is remember those gorgeous women who have aged with such beauty and dignity. People like Audrey Hepburn. She didn’t even have the “benefit” of todays desire to turn every single aging woman into either Cher or Jane Fonda look-alikes ;). (have you noticed that almost the entire cast of “Friends” suddenly looks like Jane Fonda?!!!). Aging is inevitable and we just need to suck it up I think. You are a very attractive woman and it would be harder for an attractive woman to face aging. I am NOT an attractive woman and aging is just finding a few more wrinkles and perhaps a few additional hairs where they most certainly shouldn’t be! ;). So long as I keep my mind I am alright with aging πŸ™‚

      Reply

  17. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 10:26:55

    I have to disagree. I saw your picture today and think you look great. I really don’t mind aging so much as long as my husband doesn’t mind it. He is 8 years younger than me. I think age is all in attitude and outlook. I would love to do something really special for my 60th, such as perhaps walk a little bit of the Appalachian Trail just to say I did. I always feel younger when I’m hiking anyway.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 26, 2013 @ 12:23:38

      Its a great idea to do something that you aspire to do on a “milestone” birthday :). Your husband obviously loves you for who and what you are and considers himself to be a lucky man :).

      Reply

  18. 23thorns
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 06:41:51

    How much does it suck to be rugging up for winter while the rest of WordPress gets ready for spring?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 07:25:48

      You obviously had a nice mild summer unlike we Aussies who only barely survived the extended dry season and our gardens all croaked so we are gagging for winter…”BRING IT ON!”…Can’t wait to be wet as a shag and I might even be A.W.O.L. for a while here till I can prove to the psychiatrists that I am NOT mad for running around splashing in puddles and making mud angels. I know that this absolute delight about winter will last all of 2.4 days till my seasonal affective disorder kicks in and I am complaining about the rain, the mud (extra mud…mud with cherries on top “Cheers dogs!”) and anything and everything else including having to contantly stoke Brunhilda (our enormous wood burning stove) to keep her in the manner to which winter intends but for now…I am living vicariously through winter fantasies with my fingers in my ears “LA-LA-LA-I CAN’T HEAR YOU” style πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 27, 2013 @ 08:35:14

        Here here!

      • narf77
        Mar 27, 2013 @ 11:50:48

        πŸ˜‰ oh yeah…”where’s Rabid’s and my book by the way?!!!” πŸ˜‰

      • 23thorns
        Mar 28, 2013 @ 07:07:36

        It sounds like you guys get to spread out your seasonal miseries. Up here summer is wet and warm and green. It hardly rains at all in winter. Everything gets brown and burnt and shrivelled. The drought kills half the garden and the frost takes care of the rest. It’s not all bad though. I went to varsity in a place with winter rainfall, and there’s a lot to be said for towels that actually get dry once in a while.
        Thanks for the mysterious music clip, by the way- I’ve always been a fan!

      • narf77
        Mar 28, 2013 @ 09:41:50

        It comes from having two heads and living upside down…it happens occasionally…occupational hazard πŸ˜‰

  19. ChgoJohn
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 10:04:12

    Love the feel of this post. It’s “a day in the life of … ” kinda thing. I’m partial to the dog shots, though I must admit to being a bit jealous seeing yours have toys they haven’t destroyed. My Max has yet to meet a toy that he hasn’t left in pieces, be it stuffed, guaranteed indestructible, or his personal favorite: a fresh roll of toilet paper. Your rain looks lovely and, judging by your previous posts, must be a relief to see. I’ll be glad to see rain here finally supplant snow as the weather gods’ precipitation of choice. Enough already! OMG! I hope they didn’t see that. We could be in trouble …

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 11:50:21

      You just doomed yourself to another month of snow there! ;). What breed is Max? You didn’t see how many toys the boys destroy before they get bored with the remainder and leave them to “predate” another day ;). Earl just ate his way through an entire leather belt, “snick…snack…snick…” until it was reduced to small bite sized pieces that he promptly ate. Earl also ate an entire pool noodle (that I can STILL see the remains of in the bushland around our walk!) that was rather interesting when it made a grand exit (if you know what I mean πŸ˜‰ ). I just wanted to translate my joy at the rain that we had. I dare say I will be complaining as soon as the rain starts to settle in but for now it is sunny and warm again here and the eggplants are going absolutely NUTS. I might need to trawly your site for some good eggplant recipes soon or we might drown in them πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • ChgoJohn
        Mar 27, 2013 @ 17:39:45

        Max is a rescue and I was told he was a boxer-beagle mix and would grow to 40 (18kg) lbs, “45 (20 kg) at the most.” Well, he’s 80 lbs (36 kg). He’s half boxer and some hound but not a beagle. Unlike your Earl, Max never eats what he’s destroyed. Instead he tortures me with little, pea-sized bits, wanting to play keep away and fetch with them. I don’t know where he hides/finds them but every night, after dinner, he start poking me with his snout and, sure enough, he’s got some bit in his mouth that he wants me to play with.
        I’m sure that, after a spell, the rain will get to be too much. Considering how oppressive your Summers are, you’ve a right to rejoice in the rain. You’ll tire of it soon enough but, for now, enjoy it.

      • narf77
        Mar 28, 2013 @ 03:14:12

        The snout poking (or “beaking” as I call it) is Earl’s favourite thing to do when he is up for a game. Bezial, our older male, isn’t usually up for a game until the sun hits the yardarm and so Earl needs something else to prod to get a rise out of and that is usually me ;). Yesterday Steve headed off to spend a bit of time in his music room with one of his favourite guitars and Earl tried to follow him. He is usually allowed in to bask at Steve’s feet (that is one dog who is going to be deaf VERY soon! πŸ˜‰ ) BUT Steve decided to shut the gate (rigged up to allow access on OUR terms) and Earl got the ump and ripped up one of the cushions on Bezial’s sofa in retaliation…and they say that dog’s “leev een the moment”…I say that some dogs can be vindictive little sods! ;). Max sounds like your very own personal Earl. I both love him and commiserate with you at the same time with a GREAT deal of empathy having been Earls “fat anchor” on many a long walk (read “me, flying out behind Earl as he explores the world” πŸ˜‰ ).

  20. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 12:46:57

    Ah, dogs are just the best, aren’t they? I can’t tell you how many times I’ve walked in on a scene just like the top photos, with some poor stuff animal gutted on the living room floor. Isis was a real destruct-o-dog in her puppy years! Thank goodness she’s calmed considerably with age. Now she only shreds used napkins left on the dinner table. πŸ˜‰

    Loving getting a glimpse into a slice of your life! As you might have guessed, I tend to be a visual person.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 12:55:17

      Lol…most of my comments have been positive about the pictorial but my muses had to be sedated to get them through that post and I can feel rumblings of discontent starting from deep withing…normal service will be resumed as soon as possible πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  21. thinkingcowgirl
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 06:46:15

    Oh great, more photos than words I thought, as I seem to be behind on reading (and writing) blogs…probably because I’ve undertaken the MOUNTAIN of admin which has been piling up for months in my ‘I’ve got far more interesting things to do’ months. It was all going so well (lovely photos, nice stove!) and then I got sucked into the comment thread…. πŸ˜‰

    So glad you’ve got the rain. The land must be sucking it up. What an amazing view from the kitchen window. I liked looking in your food cupboard too, I love the visual pleasingness of domestic detail.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 06:14:48

      If you like the visual pleasingness of domestic detail what on EARTH did you like about my abomination of a pantry! ;). It’s a matter of “Where is (such and such) Fran!”…”er…not sure babe…just keep wading through it will be there somewhere!” I went to my daughters over Easter and was blown away by their pantry. Full to the brim of amazingness and even though I like to think of myself as a bit of a foodie, they put me to shame! Every kind of Asian noodle known to man, flavours and ferments to die for and so much gorgeousness I almost fainted. Needless to say we had a degustatory delight of a weekend and I am a new Korean food convert and will be continuing to use some of their wonderful recipes here on Serendipity Farm. Sorry about your mountain of admin. I used to procrastinate for the queen but learned the value of throwing myself into the hated processes called “Admin” and now do it as a sort of “eat what you don’t like first and then enjoy what you do on your plate” exercise ;). The rain stopped and hasn’t made a return yet BUT it came at just the right time and the garden has made a complete comeback…along with the possums that are now starting on Steve’s precious rare pine collection! I think it might be time to gift Steve a shotgun! That is how desperate we are getting here 😦

      Reply

  22. dwayland
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 03:08:39

    Thanks for the beautiful tour. I’m a bit behind in my reading, but I’ll get there! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • narf77
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 03:16:18

      I am trying to use lots of photos so even if people are put off by all the words, they can still scan down and get a good idea of what sort of a week we had on Serendipity Farm…the best of both worlds and sort of like a condensed novella inside a large tomb πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

