Wednesday wanderings and last posts

Hi All,

There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.

W. Somerset Maugham

I get a little chuckle sometimes when I get the little witticism that WordPress gives me, most graciously, whenever I post a post. I shared it with you last post and this one made me smile so I am going to share it with you again. Do you Blogspotters get that? If not…time to rise up against Google’s oppression! Sorry…my bolshie self-overpowered my well behaved beginning of post self and snuck out there for a moment…please disregard that last sentence ;).  It’s Sunday and I found myself up and typing at 2.30am. It would seem that misery LOVES Company and Bezial is taking his own degree of schadenfreude from his personal refusal to eat his tea last night (for whatever reason… Bezial is a complex conundrum at the best of times and at the worst of times he is a neurotic bundle of self-appointed restraint processes…) to avail me of an early rising time so that I can listen to him drinking water after being forced to eat DOG BISCUITS to prevent himself from starving to death…and expecting me to shepherd him back to my side of the bed…to my nice warm pillow where he will rest his head until approximately 6.30 where he will get out of bed and lay staring at me until I go to the cupboard and retrieve some form of treat to fill his nagging stomach… dogs are children for life people…CHILDREN FOR LIFE!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our current “children” after an impromptu walk and swim at Swan Point yesterday

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A hound and his rock

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not to be outdone, Earl on HIS rock

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bezial walking on water…”You WIN Bezial” 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How we get our “children” to listen to us and do what we want

Sometimes we find ourselves in the midst of something or somewhere we really don’t want to be. It might be right off the beaten track and all we can see is the moment and how stuck we are BUT sometimes we need to be dragged away from our comfort zone so that we can find something new. I guess what I am trying to say in my usual convoluted word paths are that every cloud has a silver lining and that where you are at the moment might just be the pathway needed to get you to someplace better. This experience that you are going through right now might be important for some prospective future happiness and we just don’t know it now. I am in the process of trying to not sweat the small stuff and learn to find “something” positive in every situation. It makes me cringe to type that because murphy’s law dictates that someone who is cocky enough to type something like that is going to take a tumble post haste and have to ruminate on the true meaning of their words but there comes a time when you have to start honing your behaviour and your responses to what life hands you so that you can get the best out of every situation. What’s the point sitting in a pile of ashes and lamenting your lot when you could rise up like the phoenix and make something beautiful out of what life has handed you? There is our true strength of character…the ability to keep getting up and facing what we are gifted and making the most out of it. That all came from me finding a recipe that wasn’t particularly what I was interested in this morning but that had links at the bottom of it to some really great recipes. If I hadn’t clicked on this recipe, thinking that it was worthwhile (it wasn’t…) I wouldn’t have found the other recipes. We have to step out in faith that we are going to make it, that we are going to make a difference to our lives and knowing that in being brave enough to face what life hands us and deal with it, that we are going to live a more honest and productive and “real” life in the process.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Serendipity Sunset moment

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The pretty pebble beach at Swan Point

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The only shot of about 70 that I took that has something even VAGUELY looking like the wasps that live in this hole in the photo. They were exiting in a steady stream totally ignoring me with the camera perched up close and personal to their exit hole. The wasps and I are mano-a-mano 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A lovely Pinus radiata right on the edge of the pebble beach

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A closeup of the pines root system showing how they grow right into the river

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This little section of beach reminds me of Victorian England for some reason

Now that the philosophy is out of the way I can talk about a few more processes that take you from A to B. It’s just on 6am on Monday morning. Once a fortnight Steve joins me on my early morning wake-up session not quite at 4am but I deliver a cup of strong coffee (his last till 11am when he gets back home) just before 6am and he gets up, puts the shopping list on his phone and heads out the door armed with veggies for our daughters in the city, the ubiquitous gas bottle that needs filling over summer and anything else that needs to be done on the day to take advantage of the $40 of fuel used to do this trip. Today Steve has a doozy of a “doing” day. Last night we had to head into the chook run to catch as many young chooks as we could. We are giving some to the woman that we buy our dog meat from as her husband’s hens are getting a bit long in the tooth and are no longer producing eggs. I had NO idea if we were choosing roosters or hens because it’s dark by the time that we are able to go into the run or all of the chooks would turn into a seething mass of squawking flapping chaotic feathers and we would stress them out unduly so after dark we sneak quietly into the coop armed with Steve’s trusty L.E.D. torch and try to work out what we want to catch and what we don’t. Steve went first to check where the younger chooks (ascertained by their size) were roosting on the perches and came back armed with one of them…BONUS! Only 4 – 5 to go! Next I headed in and grabbed 2 from a perch that Steve had directed me to with his torch. We got out to the shed where we had a larger cage with hay in it to hold them overnight until we could put them into boxes for their trip to the city. When we got to the shed we realised that one of the chooks we had nabbed was Pingu!!! So back to the shed she went protesting all the way and was put back onto a perch and we spent the next 15 minutes trying to find young chooks whilst not retrieving older hens. We managed to get 5 and I have the strong feeling that at least 3 of them are roosters but I am NOT feeling guilty about it anymore because the rendezvous that Steve set up with our dog food lady that she was supposed to turn up to resulted in him waiting around for her to turn up and it being a non-event. He had to drop the boxed chooks off at our daughter’s house and they have to stay in boxes till 9am till he can take them to her shop and drop them off. He is NOT a happy camper to say the least! When someone puts a LOT of effort into giving you chooks for free, you at least bother to turn up to get them!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Apparently this is where Thomas the Tank Engine resides in the day time…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A closeup of the Batman Bridge in the distance from Swan Point

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the way that the conifers grow right into the river

Next on Steve’s long and winding list is heading to our daughters home. He put the chooks in the shed where Qi, the girl’s little staffy dog, will be MOST interested in the blucking contents of those boxes.  After spending ages rolling around on the floor in the unit out the back of our daughters home with Qi, Steve went through a few stored old boxes and found where he had stashed the tripod to his camera ages ago and some large containers of Spirulina, some protein powder and some other useful products that we may as well use as leave sitting in the unit. Madeline picked him some pears while he fossicked around and he delivered the eggplants, tomatoes a couple of corn cobs, some cucumbers and a few zucchini to them. After that he had to head off to Polytechnic over the other side of the river (Launceston sits at the mouth of the Tamar River) and get some student I.D. (photo library card) to prove that he is, indeed, studying so that we can get our student copy of Adobe CS6. He also needs to print out some A3 pages from our course so that we can draw 50 Pumpkins (badly) for task number 7. We are up to task 14 at the moment and have studiously avoided the pumpkin drawing efforts but as the due date is racing towards us we figure we had best bit the bullet (almost literally!) and get scrawling. We also have 3 pages of instructions for David, the owner of our local health food shop for how to look after and use Kefir and Sourdough Starter. I gave him lots of links so that he shouldn’t have any problems with it. Jessie from http://rabidlittlehippy.wordpress.com/ most generously swapped some real sourdough starter and milk kefir grains with me a while ago and both of them are doing extremely well. Audrey produced a sterling child to send off to David and Kid Creole waved a fond goodbye to most of his coconuts in the same transaction. Next I will be getting some water kefir and I even found a recipe for kombucha SCOBY manufacture by using only purchased kombucha. I am going to have to see if any of our local health food shops sell it. I don’t think David does and here in conservative Launceston where people who eat only vegetables are seen as mutants from outside space, it might be best not to advertise that said “mutant” is trying to breed colonies of strange growing fungi and bacterial relationships… you never know where something like that could end!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The mist on the water was really pretty this morning

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is something very romantic about mist on the water and yachts

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am ONLY allowed to use this photo if I call it “Reflections on rock 1” apparently…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

closely followed by “Reflections on Rock 2″…(sigh…)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that Steve has given up his Yoko Ono phase in photography for today here is another pretty shot taken while we were walking the dogs

After getting the printing done at the Polytechnic library where we only JUST found out that your first $5 worth of printing is free… (After 4 years of Polytechnic you would think that SOMEONE would have told us that by now?!!!) Steve will head back into Mowbray to do some veggie shopping because finally some of the shops he wants to shop in are opening. He has already picked up the 2 x 18kg sacks of free range chook food at the stock feed place on the way to our daughters home and done most of the shopping at Woolworths in Legana but he likes to check out Coles as well and Mowbray has the best Coles shop in Launceston and is conveniently right next to David’s shop and our grocers store. Steve then has to head back to our daughters on the other side of the river to pick up the poor long suffering chooks in boxes to take to Suzie’s and drop them off. He is going to make sure that they are not going to be left in her car till after work or he is going to bring them back home! She is going to guarantee him that she will take them straight home or he won’t leave them. After picking up our $80 dog steak order for the fortnight Steve will head over to Bunning’s about 15 minutes away from Suzie’s shop and pick up 2 gas bottles and anything else on the list that is “hardware” based and by that stage he should be well and truly ready to come home. He will drive back the West Tamar way and will drop off my library books that are due back today whilst picking up at least 1 book that has been languishing there for ages waiting for both us to go to Exeter and the library to be open (not easy when it’s only open Monday, Wednesday and Friday and last Wednesday it was closed for a horserace!) I sometimes don’t “get” Tasmanian mentality but that might be a good thing ;). Steve will get back home laden with “stuff” that will need to be put into fridges, onto pantry shelves and batched up and frozen and whether he is tired or not it all has to be done pretty much immediately and all whilst fending off excited dogs who miss him like crazy when he goes. Do you wonder why I don’t volunteer to do the shopping? ;). Seriously though, Steve loves the cut and thrust of a crazy shopping day. He lived in cities all of his life and he just doesn’t process the bampf like I do. I get UBER stressed out when hurled into a day spent handing over the readies and driving back and forth all over the city in ever decreasing circles of frustration so it’s VERY lucky that he doesn’t mind doing it. We can’t afford the bail money if I am let loose on an unsuspecting Launceston all on my own 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bezial furtively hunting for fish and the mist has almost cleared

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s hard to feel anything other than blessed when you get to walk someplace like this any day you like 🙂

I am researching vegan cheeses yet again. I am now able to add a few extras into my new eating habits and the odd bit of something reminiscent of cheese would be a “tick” on my part. I found a great site called http://www.veganwiz.com/ on my early morning travels and have been trawling their cheezy back posts and found something called “Vegrino”…not wanting to miss out on something that looked frankly amazing, I headed off to Google the recipe after being unable to find it on the site. There were plenty of references to it with variations but not the original recipe. I ended up finding a recipe for it on the Italian sister site to Veganwiz “Veganblog.it” http://www.veganblog.it/ and have added this to my rss feed reader as well because nothing stops me from a good recipe! Google translate has given me a means to an end when it comes to seeing something scrumptious and being hampered by a lack of comprehension (on my part) for the language being used to explain it. After spending 30 minutes translating various explanations for what Vegrino was (and initially having to find the site through Pinterest…) I managed to find a translatable and understandable (not always the same thing! 😉 ) recipe to follow. From what I can see it is the vegan equivalent of labna and is a soft mild soy yoghurt cheeze. Was it worth an hour of my time to find it? I don’t know to be honest but you can be sure that when I try it, you will be the first to know :o). I have taken to rinsing things out in the sink and taking the rinse water out and tipping it over the deck rail into the garden below. I don’t know why it took me so long to think of this idea but finally I found a way to stop feeling guilty about running water down our sink. Steve has an idea for how to irrigate the garden with our grey water from the sink and when he sorts it out I will share it with you. I will be checking Bev’s ideas from Foodnstuff as she is ingenious when it comes to irrigating using waste water and run-off water. I also have an idea to turn the pantry in the kitchen into a little nook for me along the lines of this beauty…

Lovely book nook from a cupboard

I don’t know who owns this photo but please don’t sue me! I am giving you acres of kudos for this amazing cosy nook and aside from shamelessly stealing your idea the kudos is ALL yours!

Now I am off to finish off my Rss Feed reader for the day then I will be hunting out an interesting font that I like. I need to do an exercise using the font of my choice to construct a typeface box of glory. Steve has finished his…Steve is a girly swat. I haven’t finished mine. I am a procrastinating sloth. Now that I have said it, there is nothing for it but to head off and hunt! Shopping I suck at, hunting is where I excel so long as it stays in the mental realm :o). Ok you lot, we have spent enough time writing and reading this post of randomness. Hopefully your minds are now cram packed with interesting facts and wonder and you are eager to head off into your day/night and make the best of the fantastic information that I just gave you… OR you could just go and watch telly and “forgedaboudit”… see you on Saturday guys, enjoy your telly watching 😉

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allotment adventures with Jean
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 22:34:23

    Beautiful photographs Fran. An interesting post as always. I love your philosophy.

    Reply

  2. Deb Cameron
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 23:28:41

    Your river pics are spectacularly beautiful.

    Reply

  3. brymnsons
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 23:37:56

    Lovely photos, the misty ones were very pretty. Poor Steve, why did that women not turn up?? Very rude, unless something urgent and or important happened.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 07, 2013 @ 03:40:58

      She just forgot Kymmy but in my estimation she got 3 roosters in with her 5 chooks so I am not protesting too much ;). The poor chooks had to be kept in small boxes for hours though which didn’t sit well with me :(. Steve took the misty photo’s and now that we have Adobe CS6 photoshop we are going to learn how to make our photos amazing. It will be very interesting to learn how 🙂

      Reply

  4. thinkingcowgirl
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 23:40:07

    The first photograph of the red covered boat is my favourite, closely followed by the river scene with the mist in the trees.

    I’ve just got to say it…no wonder you’re penniless feeding your dogs steak!! 😉 Actually I read a really interesting book about a guy who walked across Afghanistan and picked up a dog as a companion – the Afghans were weirded out by this as they don’t think of them as pets – but the dog was starving and he took pity on it. But as there was very little food, the dog just lived on bread. I had no idea that a dog could live without meat. He got so attached to the dog that he wanted to take him home to Scotland, met up with a Medecin sans Frontiers team who took the dog back to Kabul to prepare him for the journey, but they went and killed the dog with kindness – it wasn’t used to eating meat and died after eating a lamb chop! It was so sad, I really cried. Sorry, went off on a tangent there, I think you must be infiltrating my mind 😉

    Haha that bookcase is about the size of our whole living room…

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 07, 2013 @ 04:02:44

      Dogs are omnivores like we humans are. Cat’s are true carnivores but people think that dogs can only have meat which simply isn’t true. The steak is dog meat! Isn’t it amazing? We sometimes open up our 20kg bag once a fortnight and think “no-one would be able to tell this wasn’t human grade!” but I dare say they could ;). The photo was taken to tease a Facebook friend in the U.K. who spends a fortune on meat and who was complaining about being poor. Steve said that he hadn’t had a steak in ages and she said “You know what to cook him for tea tonight Fran” so we posted that pic and said “Is this big enough for you Pim?” ;). I just used it to break up all of the river shots for interests sake. That is so sad about the dog :(. I didn’t used to be a dog person and it’s only through satisfying Steves desire to own one that I have learned about how loyal and loving they can be. Earl might be 4 parts crazy but he has the most lovbing spirit and there is nothing like watching a 35kg Amstaff roll upside down for a tummy scratch whilst wriggling his tail maniacally in pleasure to give you a joie de vivre for your shared relationship :). Did you ever watch the movie “UP”? I loved it! If you haven’t seen it, find it and watch it. I haven’t seen a kids movie like it in years and it had the most delightful dog in it 🙂
      Isn’t that “nook” gorgeous? My kitchen pantry doesn’t work. Hardly surprising because Tasmanian “craftsmen” tend to err on the crazy side and make things up as they go along…who needs qualifications when you can just bodge it eh? The pantry involves doing calisthenicas to enter it and is a big waste of space. I don’t know why it was built to be honest but built it was and space wasted isn’t my idea of happiness. Steve saw that photo and said “do you want me to turn that useless pantry into a nook?” and the idea was born :). Steve has his shed and I could have my nook for reading, early morning tea sipping and he even went as far as to say “you could have the computer in there…” in other words “it was nice knowing you Fran, have a nice life in the cupboard!” 😉
      Glad to see that my muses are spreading their mass chaos and are contaminating your literary mind. I am in the process of reading about paring my words back…reading is the first stage of me attempting to harness my muses. I don’t think they are going to like it. There are so many of them I might end up a bit like my early morning walks with Earl and I am not entirely sure I am any good at water skiing! ;).
      I hope the weather is warming up where you are, mainly because I have a selfish desire to be basking in the opposite effect that will surely eventuate if you generously take some of this heat off our hands. We have a week of high 20’sC weather here with no chance of rain and the first steady rainy week that we have here I am going to dance nude out in the rain for an hour! I don’t CARE if Frank next door is watching with his binoculars…it will just be his own fault if he goes blind ;).

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 07, 2013 @ 18:39:34

        I knew a Labrador who ended up being vegetarian. Watching that dog scarfing down watermelon rind was, at the time, disturbing. I was sure dogs ate meat, not fruits and veggies but there you go. 🙂

      • narf77
        Mar 08, 2013 @ 03:38:52

        Ours are more meatarian than vegetarian but Earl has been known to put a few dents in a raw sweet potato or parsnip but that’s more to destroy it than eat it ;).

  5. Anthropogen
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 03:36:36

    I think I read that book, called The Places In Between by Rory Stewart? Great book.

    Reply

  6. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 08:56:59

    So that’s your trick to getting dogs to listen to ya’ll, lol. Good one. Looks like they had a great time. 🙂

    Reply

  7. rabidlittlehippy
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 09:57:08

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the first of the mist photos. It’s incredible. Step aside Steve Parish! 🙂
    You’ve got to laugh but I nearly killed Bertha and I have no idea what state Kiefer is in either. Been a bad week in the kitchen. Bertha was rescued yesterday and we shall have bread again this afternoon. I am off to assess the state of Kiefer now.
    How rude regarding the chooks. I know we all forget things sometimes and if it was an inanimate object it would be a frustrating but meh event. Given that 5 lives were involved it totally changes the dynamics.
    Love the randomness of this post. It’s rather like most conversations with me, darting off on tangents and covering all topics. Love it.
    Enjoy the rest of your week. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Debi at Life Currents
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 12:14:47

    Ahhh, the misty river reminds me of Washington. I took loads of pics of my vacation to share with you on my blog. But, alas, I have not yet posted them. I will, I promise! I promise.
    One of your lovely posts you had a picture of a seagull’s skull. I found and photoed a large bird’s backbone and breastplate. Not sure what kind of bird. A scientist friend thinks it may have been an eagle. I figure it’s more likely to be a heron. I didn’t photo the small deer skeleton that we found, as it was a little too sad, but really interesting. Something about mammals that we as humans feel a little more connected to, I guess.
    Anyway, I haven’t forgotten.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 07, 2013 @ 16:46:14

      I agree…there is something pathetic and small about the skeleton of a mamal…a bit too close to home methinks :). I can’t wait to see the photo’s in your blog 🙂

      Reply

  9. christiok
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 14:18:23

    The blue skies in your photos mesmerize me! I know there is a blue sky up there, but we’ve been under cloud cover for so long, I really appreciate the blue (but your mist and fog and beautiful, too 🙂 And I can imagine Steve zipping around Tasmania with his chickens and vegetables and library books. I loved following him through his trek. The B.O. and I shop together…or I would go nuts, too. It’s so much work! I can’t believe I used to do it with 3 little kids! I love the book nook idea, too, and your water-wise ways. Hugs from Olalla. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Linne
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 14:50:29

    Hi! I’ve ‘talked’ with you a couple of times over on the rabidlittlehippy blog; finally found (made?) time to check out yours. Love it! You made me laugh so many times just reading this one post . . . just what I needed today. I LOVE your photos of the places you walk. If you ever start complaining about the mud and the wet over the next few months, I’ll be tempted to post a photo of what’s in front of our building: one of the busiest streets in Edmonton! Of course, Mum and I ARE on the 9th floor, so if we sit inside and just look out, it’s not bad; a long view to the horizon over suburbs heavily salted with evergreens. Doesn’t look as urban as it is. But we never sit on the balcony, lovely as it and the view are; the noise and dirt from the street below make it hard to hear each other, not to mention being bad for the lungs (respectively; I’m sure you know what I mean, even if I didn’t say it all that well).
    I’ll be back soon. I’m following you now. (but not in a creepy way . . .) ~ Linne

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 07, 2013 @ 16:49:24

      Lol! Feel free to stalk…I know I spend 3 – 4 of my precious early morning hours a day (from 3 – 4am till 7am) before Steve and the dogs wake up trawling the net and stalking my favourite blogs :). Glad you enjoy the posts and you gotta love Rabid, she’s the bomb! :). You are like me…I live vicariously through blogs sometimes, it is often an amazing way to enthuse yourself into new projects and new ideas 🙂

      Reply

    • rabidlittlehippy
      Mar 07, 2013 @ 18:43:36

      Glad you’ve made it over here Linne. Meet one of my HE-UGE motivations. If I am the bomb then it’s only because someone (yes you Fran) lit the wire for me. Here is me, a die hard night owl, waking and willingly getting up for no other reason than because I want to, at 5:30 in the morning and even contemplating 5am!!! :O

      Reply

      • narf77
        Mar 08, 2013 @ 03:41:04

        LOL! I rule! 😉 Seriously though, I am not up at 3.30 every morning! Stupid eh? BUT I get a HUGE amount done, I am raring to go by 7am when Steve is just yawning and awake, I have all of my “morning processes” initiated when I used to be a grumbling wreck in the morning and I have a new positive attitude that is rubbing off on the rest of my life, I sound like a zealot don’t I?! “Join us sisters…” 😉

  11. rabidlittlehippy
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 08:23:50

    Of COURSE you rule,Did you ever doubt it? 😉 I too am not at my best in the mornings but I’ve settled into the concept of being awake by the time the others get up so my grumping is kept to myself. Mornings are still chaos but less so. We are getting there.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 08, 2013 @ 11:27:23

      I think that is what is going to be put on my gravestone…”I am getting there…” 😉 I found something amazing that I want when I sit up in bed one day and realise that I am no longer alive… check out this amazing and most wonderful idea :)…
      http://urn-cremation.com/en/cremation-urns/urn-bios-detail

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Mar 08, 2013 @ 14:35:54

        LOVE! I have always wanted to be cremated (preference being that I prefer flames to worms) but I believe they’re high energy use and high pollution causers so I’m looking to a green funeral. I heard something a while back about being buried upright in cardboard and a quick google hunt revealed eco funerals are a real option – http://www.uprightburials.com.au/
        http://www.greencemeteries.com.au/
        I’d love to see how one can sit up in bed and realise they are no longer alive though. 😉

      • Linne
        Mar 09, 2013 @ 16:17:50

        Hope I don’t sound morbid (I’m not), but I had two ideas for a gravesite for myself: one was to be cremated and have the ashes scattered/buried near a headstone that says “here lies Linne, still ‘out of the box’ “; the other was to have a gravetop surrounded by those little toy fences, forming fields and paddocks, a wee farmhouse and barn, outbuildings, mini animals and all that. The headstone would say “Here lies Linne, who finally bought the farm”. A weird sense of humour runs in our family, and I have a/n un/healthy share of it. You can read that whichever way you like . . . One of my sisters plays video games and on her stone she wants simply “END GAME”.

        I read a lot of Edgar Allan Poe when I was fairly young and am NOT wanting to be buried in a box, esp. as I don’t care for embalming the way it is done these days. I would like to make and paint my own box to be used in the cremation, though. I have no idea if that is allowed. Maybe I’ll just make a wooden urn; less work, which is good, as I have less time . . . I do believe in greenness, but Mr. Poe warped me quite a bit . . .

        And yes, I believe it is possible to sit up in bed and realize one is dead. As I understand it (and I’ve been reading and studying since my early teens, including a great deal of very interesting material that my favourite doctor introduced me to when my older boy was two), once we ‘shuffle off this mortal coil” (sorry, been watching “Slings and Arrows” episodes today with my sister M.), we retain much of our appearance, only not so dense. I know that when my Dad appeared in a dream a few weeks after his passing (to reassure me he was well and not in pain any longer), he looked just as he did here, only a bit younger and in good health. I also gather that some instances of ‘hauntings’ stem from people dying, but not realizing that has happened; they feel the same and continue to hang out where they always did, frustrated that when they speak to friends and family they are not noticed. It’s one reason for asking that those who pass on are helped to face the Light. Then they become aware of how things are and begin to adapt to that next stage.

        By the way, here’s an interesting idea for homestead income-producing: I read about a man in Texas, USofA, who has a large acreage. On it he has built a few small places that people rent when they want to have a silent retreat; some are artists finishing a book or painting; some are meditators; etc. Their meals are delivered to their porches in a box, but no-one speaks to them. But the most interesting idea was his other cash generator: he makes ecologic wooden coffins for a fraction of the cost of the usual ones. Saves people lots of money, is kind to the planet and makes a bit of the ready as well. I’d never thought of it until I read that article. I’ve googled a bit, but not found a link to anything about him. I did discover that both handmade coffins and urns (wooden and ceramic/pottery) are in higher demand all the time. People appreciate beautiful items made with care and skill. Well, it’s a thought, anyway. ~ Linne

      • narf77
        Mar 09, 2013 @ 18:08:50

        A girl after my own heart :). I won’t be here and I would rather everyone reading anything to do with my life had a bit of a laugh rather than stand their piosly ;). I like your sisters idea as well ;). My daughter Bethany loves Poe (but she also likes Bela lugosi, Christopher Lee and Humphry Bogart 😉 ). Here in Australia you can paint your own coffin if you so wish. Thats a good idea about making coffins and it would also give the neighbours something else to talk behind their hands about ;). We are the “weird crazy hippy landscapers” who don’t practice what they preach and keep their grass clipped with nail scissors. At the moment we don’t HAVE grass…it’s all dead and blown away and we just heard on the television that we aren’t going to get any rain for another month and our temperatures are currently in the low 30C’s (90F+) so we think we might have moved to the tropics in our sleep rather than Tassie that is SUPPOSED to be cool… oh well, when it does start raining we will certainly appreciate it won’t we? :).
        I had a dream about being dead a while ago. I was wandering around trying to talk to my family, watching them mourning me and knowing that I was stranded between the living and the dead forever. It was the most desolate feeling I had ever felt. Who knows what happens after we die, but for now, I am enjoying this bit…just wish it was a bit cooler and wetter 😉

  12. littlesundog
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 13:33:52

    Oh, there’s my friend EARL!! Gotta love the dogs! Your photos are stunning, and I particularly liked all of the misty shots. Just beautiful! I think I’d have to bail on shopping day. That sounds like a frustrating day to me… and I try to keep from putting myself through stress like that! Steve’s a good man to love doing it!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Mar 08, 2013 @ 13:42:00

      Steve has an edge of mania that can deal with shopping day and actually enjoy it! I, on the other hand, get stressed out just thinking about it and if he is happy to do it, I am happy to let him ;). Earl says “Hi”, he also says “Can I please move someplace cold?”… we have 31C here today (90F+) with a week of it coming…just wondering where autumn is?!!! At least we are ripening our tomatoes and chillis this year I guess…maybe Tasmania just doesn’t “get” rain any more?!!!!!!!!!! Guess who will be selling up and moving if that is the case! 😉

      Reply

  13. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 01:17:56

    Love that pebble beach. I have a fascination with rocks, as I do books, so love the bookcase as well. We have so many bookcases already, and not enough closet space.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

