A Small interruption in normal transmission

Hi All,

EVERYONE knows that I am not tech savvy. I have given myself the moniker of “luddite” and generally shuffle anything vaguely technical over to Steve. I can’t even work the remote control for our television (much to Steve’s delight 😉 ) and my first instinct when something doesn’t do what it is supposed to do is to yell out “STEEEEEVE!” ;). The other day my brother in Western Australia had his Facebook page hacked into. He lives on a remote property out in the sticks in Western Australia and uses a laptop with Wi-Fi to access his satellite network along with a stick. Someone, that he foolishly trusted, took personal information quite easily from him and he asked Steve to give him a hand to sort it out. It would appear that he is going to have to start a new Facebook page, re-friend his 400+ friends and perhaps even purchase a new laptop computer because his “friend” was able to access all kinds of other information because my brother, like many of us, was completely unprepared for this hack. He isn’t like me, he does know quite a lot about computers but this attack broadsided him and showed him just how vulnerable our information really is. As we were wading through the morass of information online in an attempt to try to find a solution for my brother it became more and more apparent that we were completely vulnerable ourselves on several fronts. I decided that I would like to share what we found out and how to protect yourself further from external attack and that we would outline how you can make your own computer and personal email, Facebook pages, Websites, Blogs and other regularly visited sites along with your browser a much safer place to inhabit.

Let’s start with Facebook as this was the initiator of this post. We need to get you a secure Facebook page if it isn’t already! Check your address bar at the top of your browser…does it say “http” or “https”…we are looking for the “s” as it makes a HUGE difference. Mine was “s-less” so we headed off to amend that ASAP! Here’s how you can do it…

How to make Facebook a safer experience…

After logging in to your Facebook account do the following.

Note: where necessary, I will give you the techy way and the way for luddites to make it completely clear 😉 …

1. Click on your account settings (the little spoked wheel in the top right hand corner on the bar)

2. Choose and click on the tab “Account Settings”

3. You are on the General Account Settings page now

4. On the far left hand side you will see a list of options to choose from. Choose the “Security” button and click it

5. You are now on the “Security Settings” page

6. Click “Edit” on the “Secure Browsing” option

7. Tick where it says “Browse Facebook on a secure connection (https) when possible” and click “Save Changes” once you have    ticked the box.

Every time you log into Facebook now, you will be a lot safer, especially when using a Wi-Fi network :o)

Now we will show you how to make Hotmail Safe…

1. Type or copy and paste the following into the address bar of your web browser…

https://hotmail.com

2. Enter your password when prompted

If you want to tick the “remember this password” button feel free. We prefer to remember our own password and enter it each time :). Now your Hotmail account is safe 🙂

Although I don’t use Twitter, I know a lot of you do. I decided to check out how to secure your Twitter account as follows…

Note: this is particularly important when using Twitter on unsecured Wi-Fi connections!

1. Go to your settings on Twitter

2. Click the box next to “Always use HTTPS” which is apparently at the bottom of the page

3. Now click the “Save” button.

Note: There are also a few instances where turning on HTTPS in your settings doesn’t force HTTPS. For instance, when accessing Twitter from your mobile browser, you will need to go to https://mobile.twitter.com to use the HTTPS option at the moment. Twitter is apparently working on a solution that will share the “Always use HTTPS” setting across twitter.com and mobile.twitter.com, so that you don’t have to think about which device you are using when you want to check your account. Always check apps when using a third party application to ensure that you can see HTTPS to make sure the apps are secure

Now the big one…WordPress!…

Note: this will secure your dashboard but not your blog page (the page visible by everyone else) which should make it a little bit less hack-able (we hope!)

1. Go to your dashboard on WordPress

2. In the top right hand corner choose the “Screen Options” drop down bar (the little tab with the arrow pointing down next to    “help”

3. Tick the box that says “Always use HTTPS when visiting administration pages” and you are almost done…

4. Leave your WordPress dashboard open as we are going to stop an irritating warning that may appear (note: feel free to stop here if you are at ALL uncomfortable with doing the following…we are trying to increase your safety, not make you feel vulnerable 🙂 )

5. With your dashboard open go to the top right hand corner of your browser and click on tools (the spoked wheely looking thing next to the housey and the star 🙂 )

6. From this list select and click “Internet Options”

7. A box will appear. Choose the “Security” tab along the top of the box and click it

8. Now click “Trusted Sites” to highlight it and click the “Sites” button

9. The reason you are still on your dashboard is that your blog site will now be visible in the box. Check that it is your blog site, if not, close everything and make sure your dashboard window is open then follow these steps again 🙂

10. Click the “Add” tab and make sure that the “Require server verification (https 🙂 for all sites in this zone” is unchecked (no tick)

11. Click close

Note: what we just did might seem somewhat suspicious! It isn’t. What we did was to circumvent a problem that regularly occurs where you get a constant warning regarding security from windows. This is similar to allowing a program to access your computer through a firewall and doesn’t compromise your security. You are just adding WordPress to your list of trusted sites 🙂

12. The “Internet Options” tab should still be open. Click the “Custom Level” button

13. Scroll down till you get to “Miscellaneous” (you might have to do some serious scrolling here!)

14. Slowly scroll till you find the sub heading “Display mixed content” and click “Enable”

15. Click the “OK” button

16. Click the “OK” button on the open “Internet Options” box and your WordPress dashboard is now secure 🙂

Note: If anyone feels remotely unsure about following the security part of the above (from number 4. onwards) please feel free to stop at 3. If you get overly irritated with the warning that keeps coming up, you can come back and follow the instructions to stop it :o)

“WHEW!” That took a long time. As you can imagine, I am starting to twitch because my poor addled brain isn’t set up for that kind of marathon but I feel strongly enough about you, my dear constant readers, to want you to know how to protect yourselves from having unsecure websites that you visit on a regular basis and rely on. Any time you see “http:” it means that the site is unsecure. Never EVER give any bank details or information to an unsecure site. A BIG thank you to Steve, who just helped me with that list of tutorials. If anyone reading uses “Blogger”, I wasn’t able to find a way to secure “Blogger”. Apparently Google isn’t quite there yet with securing your blog…sorry about that! I also tried to find a way to secure “Pinterest” but at this moment in time, it’s not a secure site (aside from the log in screen). I wouldn’t have even thought about these security issues prior to learning about them the other day. I just thought my Virus protection would sort everything out. The biggest problems come from people using unsecured sites when they are browsing using Wi-Fi apparently. There are all sorts of free programs out there that are easily downloadable (even by tech numpties like me!) that can give people complete access to unsecured passwords, information and can let them see whatever you can see if you haven’t secured these sites! Imagine sitting at an airport waiting to fly and doing a bit of banking (as you do) or browsing Facebook etc. and someone sitting a few metres away being able to watch everything that you are doing! Not any more they can’t! At least it will be a bit harder for them and they will have to work for your information and why bother when so many other people are blindly going about their days with the equivalent of a sign on their heads saying “hack me PLEASE”. It’s a bit like being a burglar and approaching a house with a dog… you are probably going to move along to an easier target ;).

I did a short post Bev! Do I get a present? 😉 I will now add a few photos to pad this otherwise “dry” post out. See you on Wednesday when “Normal Service will be resumed” :o)

13020029

Meet “Boof” he is a shamless blend of terrier and poodle who will do whatever it takes to extract dog treats from Steve

13020026

Steve noticed this small snake on the side of the road on our morning walk with the dogs the other day. We live near a river and the odds are that we are going to have snakes in the local bushland. This poor little man had the bad misfortune to be slithering about when a cat was walking past. Cat’s HATE snakes and will kill them if they can…cat 1, snake 0

13020032

Steve and I noticed this on another recent dog walk (hey, we do it every day folks, we are going to notice things!) and after a quick confab, we figure the local council are trying to hide something from us all…we are off up to the road tonight to dig up what is OBVIOUSLY treasure! 😉 (Note I am HOPING that this is treasure and not where the zombies are buried with instructions to emerge at night!)

DSCF9545

On Valentine’s Day I did what I do every day, I got out of bed before 5am, I shuffled into the kitchen to put the kettle on for my one cup of tea a day…I put my teabags in my mug and after the water boils I pour in my water…much like I do every other day of the year. I headed to the fridge to get my soymilk and when I got back I was struck by the shape of a small clump of bubbles in my tea…a teeny tiny heart! I know the photo is a bit blurry but I am not at my best before my first cuppa, you are lucky you can even see the photo! ;). Someone out there in the ether loves me 🙂

DSCF9293

Here are some seed pods that I collected on one of our past dog walks (I am always industrious 😉 )

DSCF9320

And here are some of the seeds that one of the pods jettisoned out of itself at high speed when it exploded not long after I put it into this bowl… it exploded with such force that it hit the roof and scattered its seeds all over the place (I am still finding them!) and scared Bezial and Earl in the process. The rest of the seeds got thrown out into the side garden to explode at will in a safer environment 😉

DSCF9321

This fruit was collected from a Sorbus tree on one of our walks and I collected it because the fruit is a particularly lovely colour

DSCF9322

I found this Arestia major seed pod in the middle of the road on another walk (we DO get around… 😉 ). The woman who had told me the name of this plant also told me that she hadn’t seen another one in Tasmania (and obviously didn’t want to, because she wasn’t keen to give me any of the seed!)… it just goes to show that sometimes the will of nature to reproduce is stronger than the social standing of a snooty socialite! 😉

DSCF9325

A wealth of Queen Anne’s Lace seed…now I just have to wait for the bumper harvest of Wild Fennel seed just up the road so that I can seed the bottom of the property…”Bees…do your stuff!” 🙂

DSCF9548

The contents of one of my Green Smoothies. I have one for breakfast every day and on weighing myself this morning I was happy to see that have reached my target goal weight!

DSCF9556

Our very first loaf of sourdough bread courtesy of Audrey who is now allowed to keep her name because as my friend Kym from Western Australia so rightfully said “Audrey is a classy name…it reminds me of Audrey Hepburn…” Audrey was beautiful and resilient and so is this sourdough starter so “Audrey” she shall stay! 🙂

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roz Takes
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 17:57:53

    Hi Fran, many thanks for the information on securities. I went to mine per your directions and discovered that it was already done. Martin sets up my computer.
    By the way there is still no s in your blog link (wordpress).
    I do hope Steve knows not to comfort any snakes no matter how small. I don’t like the look of that one!
    Was wondering what your thoughts are on the mining to take place in the north west wilderness. Tasmania desperately needs something… but to mine there?
    Love the look of your morning smoothies I think I will have to try them. Martin has decided to make his own Yoghurt so I’ll let you know how that goes.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:30:23

      Hi Roz, I would have been VERY surprised if Martin hadn’t ensured your security :). Steve is very wary of snakes and this one was dead as a dodo. We haven’t seen a snake (or a mouse, rat or rabbit) on Serendipity Farm this year even though they are in plague proportions (so are rabbits) everywhere else around the area thanks to it being a long dry season with little green grass around coupled with the bushfires that have burned out the undergrowth and forced the wallabies, roos and possums into people’s gardens. The reason we haven’t is the feral cats! Everything has SOMETHING good about it ;). I hate…I HATE the idea of them mining the Tarkine! I might have to up sticks and go on a protest when they have one because stupidity reigns here in Tasmania. We are ruled by a numpty nursey and the opposition isn’t much better (ANYONE that looks like George Bush has to have a cloud of suspicion instantly cast on them! 😉 ). It’s easy to push mainstream jobs. Its easy to try to appease an uneducated (unskilled) workforce who left school at 10 because education is “stupid” here in Tasmania…this island is like the Ozarks Roz! My morning smoothies have really put the zing back into me. I wasn’t eating any fruit before, a very limited range of veggies and very little protein but now I make sure I get everything that I need first up and I am eating more than I was before but am healthier and happier than I have been in years :). Yoghurt isn’t hard Roz, you just need to make sure that you get your ratio’s right and you keep it warm. If he gets a wide necked large thermos (keep your eyes open at a garage sale or swapmeet) it makes yoghurt making a complete doddle. I read recently about someone using a small esky and wrapping the bowl of milk with yoghurt stirred into it in fleece blankets and putting the lid on overnight and letting it sit till set. Kefir does it’s own thing. It’s a lot like yoghurt but you fish out the little brain looking thingo’s and chuck them into another jar of milk and they start culturing it all over again. I have just over a litre of cultured kefir now and am going to have a day baking muffins and I might make some kefir icecream. I love how thick it gets (like Greek pot set yoghurt) and I am also going to try making labnah balls with it and preserving them in olive oil with herbs to be used with sourdough bruschetta :). You will love the green smoothies, they have certainly made me feel a million dollars :). We walked the dogs yesterday and instead of Steve having to wait at the top of a big hill with Bezial while I slowly made my way up (Earl assisted 😉 )it was ME racing up the hill and Steve was puffed when he got to the top and I was raring to go! I can’t believe the difference it has made in my health and my outlook and I am NOWHERE near as grouchy as I used to be (big bonus for Steve 😉 ). I can’t wait to hear how Martin’s yoghurt goes and it tastes really lovely as well 🙂

      Reply

  2. rabidlittlehippy
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 19:36:32

    I tried to follow your instructions but I use google chrome instead of Explorer so the rules were changed for that last bit. We will see how annoying the pop up gets. Otherwise, I don’t tweet, use hotmail or Facebook so I am hopefully safe.
    I will add one thing VERY important though for internet security. YOUR BANK WILL NEVER EVER SEND YOU AN EMAIL WITH A CLICKABLE LINK. No matter that the email address is correct or anything else. NEVER EVER click a link from an email from a bank. ALWAYS type in the web address or from a bookmark you have saved. I’m pretty careful with those types of email as I’ve worked for a bank before but even I nearly got caught with one from the correct email address. Paypal and other similar pages are the same. NEVER click their links.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 05:03:16

      We use Facebook to keep in touch with our family on the mainland and I like to find obscure and interesting artciles to educate the more shallow members of my family (I like to stir my liberal voting sister up 😉 ). I don’t like mobile phones and refuse to Twitter (just Facebook for the texters) and hotmail is our spam account that we use to bypass our real email accounts. I agree with you, banks will NEVER send an email out asking for your information and neither will they cold canvass you or call you on the phone asking for details…we keep getting “Our Bank” calling up and “Windows Helpdesk” calling to help us with the virus that we just got. We love it! We mess around with them and keep them on the phone for 30 minutes or more just to stop them being able to contact more Tasmanian’s because they predate the uneducated and here in Tasmania, education is a “mug’s game” and leaving school at 13 is the highest privilage :(. You have to be so careful…just don’t trust any emails. If it’s that important ring your local bank branch (not by phone numbers in the email!) and ask them about it. They will soon let you know! Cheers for that extra bit of help Jess…I am just about to the point where my mindless stubborn need for control (i.e. refusing to learn about technology, even though I was forced to learn how to use AutoCAD 😉 ) is giving way for my nosey need to learn everything about what I use and I will start learning how to use remotes, Foxtel and will learn more about computers. I am one stubborn old broad! 😉

      Reply

  3. Angela @ Canned Time
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 22:21:49

    Much appreciated! Thanks for taking all that time to explain and glad you’re back up and writing. Have a great weekend.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:41:29

      I know that most of you guys are well up with the tech savviness (I know, I just made that up 😉 ) BUT there are some of my dear constant readers who are like me, and computers and technology are nuisances when they go wrong. It was my brothers P.C. that was affected but I realised as we were helping him through it, that ours was just as vulnerable. That is now sorted! ;). We are into our Sunday now but I know that most of the U.S. is a day or so behind us so have a great rest of the weekend and watch out for those sea eagles :). I shared that link on my Facebook page with a lady who lives in Olalla and she loved it 🙂

      Reply

  4. brymnsons
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 23:37:25

    The guy who hacked into your brother’s account will hopefully be smacked with a huge amount of karma. I am into this simple theory of life, and truly believe it will happen, and with luck, while your brother is watching 🙂 So Audrey it is then eh, classy Fran, classy 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:45:03

      Classy alright Kymmy and you were absolutely right about that! :). It wasn’t a guy, it was a woman that he was interested in (to say that he was vulnerable is an understatement…). I, too, believe in karma and know that anyone that does something like that to someone else who has been MORE than generous with them (she is now trying to blackmail him with information that she found online after he bought her a car) will get some serious karma come back at them. I hope you are all coping with your most difficult weekend and I am thinking about you here at 4.45am Sunday. Hugs and kisses mate 🙂

      Reply

  5. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 02:53:22

    Lot of effort in this. I’m going to save it for future ref if I get in trouble because tech stuff scrambles my brain. Gorgeous looking bread. Kudos on doing your first loaf of sourdough (my favorite). Happy Sunday to you…:-)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:47:11

      Hi Paulette, great to see/hear from you :). That bread worked! It worked despite everything that we did wrong in the process so I would almost say it was “fool proof” ;). I, too, am completely up in the air about technology. I love it, I use it BUT I don’t know how it works. This is completely because I am a stubborn mule who doesn’t like being forced into learning something I don’t want to and have bucked the trend so far. The day is coming when I will get stuck into learning all I can about it but for now its “STEEEEVE” ;). An equally happy sunday back Paulette and I hope it is full of wonderful possibilites 🙂

      Reply

  6. christiok
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:22:44

    Thank you, Fran. I followed the instructions and feel safer. 🙂 And I LOVE Boof! That’s my kind of dog. Little and cute. I want to kiss him. 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:50:24

      He is lord of the manor Christi, he is shameless in rolling over and sitting at Steve’s feet looking up with big wide eyes and climbing up into Steve’s lap so that those wide eyes can get a bit more noticed so that he can predate Steve’s dog treat bag! ;). He loves being cuddled and kissed and is the cat lovers concession to a dog ;). Your blog page won’t appear as secure to everyone else but your dashboard is now and that’s the meat of your blog. I had to go and have a lie down after all of that techy stuff! 😉

      Reply

      • christiok
        Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:54:08

        Our posts crossed on the Pacific! You mean Boof lives on Serendipity Farm? I thought it was just Earl and Bezial! The Bearded One likes big dogs, too. But not in the house, which is what Ruby has become since Jakie died.

      • narf77
        Feb 17, 2013 @ 05:17:24

        No, Boofy belongs to our friends down the road. They live just accross the road from where all of the yachts are moored and he spends his lazy little life getting up at 9am, eating a full english breakfast, lounging around on their deck, wandering around while his owner waters the garden and generally investigating his world he is a lazy bugger AND very spoiled but is a dab hand at “big BIG eyes” and they work every single time with Steve ;). Happy birthday to Ruby by the way :). She is a most gorgeous girl with a very knowledgable face (sorry…I KNOW that is spelled wrong but lets just call it my personal little quirk 😉 ). I wasn’t a dog person before we got Bezial. I grew up with cats and knew them well. Bezial opened my eyes to a dogs loyalty and blind devotion where cats can take or leave you depending on their mood. Earl is the result of feral meets tame and you never really know where his mind is (thank goodness! I think if you were able to mind meld with Earl you might end up in a mental institute! 😉 ) and it is fascinating to watch his natural instincts when he is on the hunt for something. It really reminds me that dogs are fringe dwellers and that we are very lucky to have them on our side. I certainly wouldn’t want Earl NOT on my side! 😉 By the way…he has become VERY interested in my crocheting of late…I am sure I will get a photo of him tangled up in my wool when I forget to put it away one day in the near future ;).

    • christiok
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:51:15

      Also, you are so lucky to have a “Steeeeeeve!” 🙂 The Bearded One won’t touch a computer. He’s an attorney who got out before it was an absolute requirement, as it is now. I am on my own!….except for the kids, who are very helpful, and my trusty computer guy Tod who I call about once a year.

      Reply

      • narf77
        Feb 17, 2013 @ 05:12:04

        Any problems you have Christi, let us know and Steve can give you a hand :). He is a natural with computers. When he was young, he was like “The Fonz” and spent most of his time in pubs at night from 15 on playing pool and slept on his (Catholic school) desk in the day. He didn’t think he was intelligent and he has an amazing brain! Since he came to Australia he has learned so much about his potential! Anyone who can work their way around AutoCAD (a very complex Engineering computer program) and can actually teach the lecturer some short cuts is brilliant in my books! He just has a natural affinity with them. I…DON’T! I have a need to know about things and if I can’t understand how they work, I just “use” them with gay abandon! My brain doesn’t want to think about the complex series of events that has to go on so that I can send this comment ;). One day I will, but for now, I am just enjoying the anonymity of the simple “user” :). Tod is a good name for a computer guy…we know a Tod…he is a gardener…and another one…he is a builder…good stolid community people the “Todd’s” of the world :). Any time we need some legal advice we will send a missive off to the B.O. Tell him he has my kudos! We once knew a really nice guy who was a lawyer who got into it to actually help people (rather than make a fortune which seems to be the mainstream reason for being a lawyer) and whom I met when I was having a few legal problems years ago with my ex. He was such a nice guy and we all got on like a house on fire. I get the feeling that the B.O. is a similar personality :). Kudos on getting out of the vulture game B.O. a BIG hug to you! We need to see those spoons by the way…Steve is most interested and is on hiatus for spoon making at the moment. He cleaned and rearranged his shed ready for the next great push over the wall ;). I get all of the sawdust that he generates for my compost bucket and for saving to add to compost etc. I love how you can use everything from a chunk of wood and end up with much more than something to throw in the fire to keep you warm (but that option is still there 🙂 ). Isn’t life grand? 🙂 Hugs from technologically challenged Narf7 🙂

  7. Chica Andaluza
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:30:34

    Congrats on the weight loss – that smoothie looks wonderful. Is little Boof yours then? He’s gorgeous..but then so is your loaf of bread 🙂 Loved the little heart and do hope you found the buried treasure….

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 04:55:24

      Boofy is a shameless little dog that belongs to friends down the road. He languishes on their deck overlooking the yachts moored on the river and gets out of bed at 9am to a full English breakfast (with toast) and wanders about with his owner in the large garden at his leisure…spoiled, thy name is Boof! I know that we could sell our dog treats because every single dog that has tried them wants More! That little heart was amazing! I put it down to mum, she introduced me (along with my grandma) to the fine art of tea drinking when I was 2. I had my own tiny little cup and saucer and when they had a cup, I had a milky tea. I haven’t stopped since ;). Now that mum is gone I reacon she sent me a little bit of love via our shared passion :). That loaf was amazing! It was mainly amazing because we did every, single, possible thing that we could WRONG and it STILL worked! ;). I think it is fool proof and Steve is already talking about brushetta smothered in home made labnah with avocado and various cured meats… looks like this extended summer has just been invigorated and enlivened all over again :). I have reconsidered the treasure…I think it’s zombies! Thats how council are going to deal with our possum problem…best not dig them up just yet 😉

      Reply

  8. Finn Holding
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 08:01:32

    Hello Fran, might be worth pointing out that the instructions for securing WP are for IE only – I use Firefox and the setup is different.

    Real shame about the snake, I didn’t realise cats were that effective against them. Another reason I don’t like cats very much!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 10:55:56

      You would be a little happier about the cats if the snakes were coming to visit Finn! ;). We had a HUGE tiger snake a few years ago that moved into a covered drain right next to the house. He basked amongst my potted plants until I noticed the dog staring at something one day and saw the snake slithering away! It almost gave us a heart attack and we had to call out the snake rehousing guy who couldn’t find it but told us that it probably would move along now that it knew that we had a dog…so many things trying to poison us here in Australia! 😉 Yeh, sorry about that but I am so tech un-savvy you were lucky to get that much out of me! ;). Steve got tired of helping me to source info and headed off to watch telly so I ended up just doing what I could and posting that. I just didn’t want anyone to be unaware that https = secured. I just thought it was important when you were doing your banking but I didn’t realise how easy it is for a basic program to uncover your passwords, usernames, all sorts of things if you are surfing unsecured sites. Hackers are brilliant little buggers and can break into anything that they want to but at least I am trying to protect we tech numpties that are wandering about trailing our passwords behind us for all of them to follow 😉

      Reply

  9. Debi at Life Currents
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 10:05:06

    Much thanks for the techy stuff. I, too, use Firefox so my Dashboard is different. And, unfortunately, I was hacked awhile ago. I have no idea when or how, I just noticed Pharma-junk coming up in Google searches for my site/recipes. No, I don’t even like to take an asprin for a headache, so this really bugged me!
    Well, all fixed now, and I have a vendor who helps me get rid of spam and hackers. Here’s my techy post on the subject: http://lifecurrents.dw2.net/is-your-website-clean/
    Love the heart in the tea! Thanks for sharing that! 🙂
    Is your blog on Facebook? I’d follow. And, you’re on Pinterest? Here’s mine if you’d like to check it out. http://pinterest.com/lifecurrents/
    Happy Weekend to you! 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 10:50:44

      Stupid WordPress forces me to post to Facebook myself so that’s what I do each post (on my personal FB page). and I am a hoverer on Pinterest and just pinch good ideas and store them away like the magpie, squirrel that I am :). Have a fantastic weekend. It’s gorgeous and sunny here and I just harvested some of our veggies for my daughters in the city. How good is it to share what you grow?! :). That heart made me smile. I don’t know where it came from but I know it was meant to be there on Valentine’s Day just for me 🙂 off to check that post and your Pinterest page to hit follow 🙂

      Reply

  10. rabidlittlehippy
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 11:47:52

    Your tea-bag that is above the liquid is also in a heart shape, albeit sideways. LOTS of love from your Valentines day cuppa. 🙂

    Reply

  11. foodnstuff
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 18:35:50

    I use Firefox too so couldn’t do it like you said, but will work at it. I did the wordpress one though, thanks for that

    Reply

  12. ChgoJohn
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 05:58:43

    Well! This is my first visit to your site and goodness! You sure do pack in a ton of information into one post! You started with some very helpful security checks and most of us could use the refresher. From there, though, you went from a snake-eating cat to a fantastic looking sourdough, one of Audrey’s offspring, and a number of points in between. (Maybe you could use those exploding seeds against the zombies if they get loose.) I’ll be back, it was a very enjoyable ride, but I’ll pop a dramamine. 🙂
    Thanks for a useful and very entertaining post.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 18, 2013 @ 09:14:43

      Thanks for the great comment :). I really enjoy your site as well and have stuffed it into my rss feed read so that I can raid your excellent recipes whenever I feel like an Italian hit (which is often 😉 ). I love the Italian style of veggie gardening and to have a true blue Amero-Italian following the blog will keep me on the straight and narrow…Serendipity Farm is a bit manic (I guess you figured that out yourself 😉 ) but its how life is here in Tasmania Australia and I love to share the love :). Glad you enjoyed the ride and come back any time you want a go on the rollercoaster that is Serendipity Farm 😉

      Reply

  13. Sophie33
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 04:31:11

    Is that a small snake: I think it is huge though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

