A nod is as good as a wink to a blind bat

Hi All,

What the hell is she talking about now? At least I don’t bore you dear constant readers ;). What today’s post is about is communication. That vital synaptic leap between the brain of one to the brain of another… a mutual process of understanding we know as “communication”. You might have the best most amazing idea in the world…you turn it around in your head, you feed it with possibilities, you craft it carefully and lovingly…you sample it and it tastes sweet and you want to share it with your friends but unless you are able to take that kernel of an idea and plant it firmly in the damp earth of someone else’s mind you are lost. I spend my mornings reading blogs through my rss feed reader. I keep evolving with what I do and don’t like and regularly throw blogs into the ether to make way for amazing new blogs. My new blogs are all about possibilities…fermentation, making things yourself, xeriscape gardening (and one combines xeriscape gardening with vegan cooking… what’s not to love!)And what I love about these blogs is their ability to communicate their ideas and processes with a wider audience. I am a processes girl. I learn through following processes and getting familiar with those processes. When my guitar teacher (who ran away from his wife leaving her available to become my dad’s partner and who inevitably left us Serendipity Farm but that, my dears, is another story! 😉 ) told me that practice makes perfect…aside from lying, he was outlining the perfect way for me to learn. Not everyone learns like this. There are many ways that people learn. Some people (take Steve for example) learn on the fly. They like to hurl themselves into the “experience” and pick it up as they go along. That way of learning scares the hell out of me! I need to start at a point where I understand “something” about the process and work in incremental stages from there till I arrive at the other end. To see Steve jumping in at the deep end and swimming with the fishes of his creativity is like being probed by aliens…frankly terrifying. Are you starting to get a bit of a picture of how difficult it is to sometimes translate what is going on inside “my” head to that of my wildly arm waving Don Quixote of a husband? 😉

13010091

“Well what do we have here then eh? A lovely little Aussie Christmas beetle (Anoplognathus montanus) still hanging about after Christmas Day…”

13010092

“RUN!”…

DSCF8400

The fixin’s for a batch of Steve’s favourite calzones. He has gone from being very suspicious about the idea of a calzone to demanding them on a constant basis 🙂

DSCF8438

This is a Boozy Oatwell Slice…the hybrid result of a man who just couldn’t make his mind up “I would like an oat slice…but then that bakewell slice you made the other day was delicious…and I could go a batch of eccles cakes…” rather than bake 3 separate things, I combined them all and a new classic is made…AND Steve loves it! 🙂

DSCF8394

“Quick Steve…get the chilli and garlic spray…there is something in the vegetables!”

DSCF8409

“Beetroots conquered and divided SIR!” Not only do we get the root but we get the delicious leaves to use like silverbeet in whatever we want. Tonight I am having some in my soup 🙂

Serendipity Farm is all go at the moment. Not the sort of “go” that eventuates in enormous swathes of things being done, but lots of little patches of “done”. I am spending a lot of time in the veggie garden much to Steve’s surprise. He expected that he would have to be the brawn where the veggie garden was concerned but Dame Elizabeth and mum are spurring me on and won’t let me rest if something needs doing out there. Yesterday I was mulching everything with some of the tinder dry lawn clippings and dead oak leaves that we got from Glad’s place. They were perfect to grab handfuls of and shuffle between the plants. The veggie garden is looking suitably smug now in its new blanket of deceased vegetative matter and I know that once it rots down it can only add to the fecundity of the soil. I am already learning the distinct benefits of being a “Doer”. This is my year of “Doing” and instead of thinking about projects I am actively hurling myself into them. When I say “hurl” I mean Fran’s planning type hurl rather than Steve’s jump in with both feet hurl. When mum used to be in her garden for most of her days I simply couldn’t understand the attraction…what is out there?! Now I know. Mum’s final communication with me (aside from her stint as chief muse that is…) was received, planted and has grown to fruition. I finally “Get it” mum :o). The sum of the process is worth so much more than the little bits that make it all up. We almost had an Hitchcockian case of extreme vertigo when faced with the garden when we first got here. Nothing would have changed unless we stepped out in the faith that we could, indeed, make a difference. We are slowly introducing cycles to the property…compost heaps to take care of green waste, food scraps and anything that will rot down to minimise landfill and to maximise our soil; vegetable gardens to feed ourselves; chickens for eggs, meat (roosters), nitrogenous manure and spent hay bedding that can be used for mulch and composting and many more. Today I took another wheelbarrow of oak leaves and dry lawn clippings to mulch the strawberries that are in containers by the side of Steve’s shed. I can feel the information that I have been collecting flowing out of me as I work…”make sure to cover all of the bare earth so that you minimise soil evaporation…don’t use the green leaves, make sure you only use the dead ones to minimise nitrogen draw-down…Don’t plant those chives with those snowpeas! They release substances that limit the growth of the peas…” It takes knowledge AND action to effect change. Incidentally, if you would like to see a good companion planting guide check this one out via Sustainable Gardening Australia…

http://www.sgaonline.org.au/?p=6986

DSCF8452

One extremely squished ex-golden nugget tomato courtesy of “The possums”…

DSCF8451

How much more fortification do we need?!!! Aside from buying a long metal chain and situating Earl in the wood shed to the right of this photo, we are not too sure what to do next…barbed wire perchance?

DSCF8445

Lets just call these pears “Romeo and Juliet” because they are together and still alive only because the possums haven’t found them yet…say goodbye to Romeo and Juliet 😦

DSCF8456

The butterfly Romeo and Juliet…for some reason butterflies love to hide under this tarpaulin where I keep the grass clippings and spent oak leaves that we got from Glad and every time I open it up, I find a few dead butterflies…

DSCF8455

The potato futures that we tossed into the compost heap the other day are all starting to grow!

DSCF8383

Some of the recent items harvested from Serendipity Farm including the rare golden nugget tomatoes (well NOW they are 😦 ) and a bouncy ball that was found in the bushy area next to the Auld Kirk church…”throw it over to the filthy heathens children…we shall save them YET!”

I have been singing the praises of the Tamar NRM for a long time now. They are an amazing source of information and practical application for how to manage your land using natural resources. Amanda, the powerhouse behind all communications and the lady that keeps everything running smoothly and efficiently recently asked me if I would like to write an article about my attendance at many of their workshops last year and how it has affected what we are going on our property for their next newsletter and I accepted. I just sent her 2 pages of words which was very difficult to do because my muses would have liked me to write a small novella, but for the sake of those reading (most probably mainly farmers who could care less to be honest) I reined them in this time. You can only imagine how difficult that was! ;). I sent a few photos to accompany the article but it will be interesting to see what Amanda does with my words and photos and how it looks in the next Tamar NRM newsletter. I might even link it so that you can all see it. Well the possums did it this time! I was out walking Earl this morning because Bezial is having one of his sporadic limping episodes. It curiously coincides with Bezial running maniacally around Serendipity Farm like a mad dog but he insists it is NOTHING to do with that. Earl and I arrived back home to Steve twitching more than normal. Apparently, while we slept, the possums decided that waving their hairy little arms through the bird netting to grab the occasional snack wasn’t enough…they decided to chew their way through to our tomatoes! We had a beautiful golden nugget tomato loaded with almost ripe perfect golden little orbs that were completely trampled flat and all of the gold stolen. I WOULD phone the police, but after heavily fortifying the entire “fruiting” bed (containing anything that a possum would be vaguely interested in…) and throwing some ex-fish farm netting over the top for good measure (they might chew their way in from the top!) we realised that what we had just made looked suspiciously like we were trying to hide “something” amongst our tomatoes…the spotter plane, most fortuitously flew over right at that time and we are waiting for the cops to bust down our door and demand to be taken up to see our illicit grown products. Best not trouble them while they are plotting the downfall of the Sidmouth 2 😉

DSCF8412

This is the “Queen of Hearts” jam making spoon with it’s own little heart for Valentine’s Day. It was a very clever idea but Steve isn’t happy with the watermark in the wood on the spoon bowl so away he went to make you another spoon…nothing is too good for our dear constant readers!

DSCF8434

Enter the gorgeous Ms. Myrtle…a stunning example of a local Tasmanian wood and something that I want to enter the draw for, let alone you lot! You get to choose which spoon you would like should you happen to win the spoon draw…be sure to let us know in time for this Saturday’s draw!

Well it’s spoon day again! Steve spent a few hours making what he called “The Queen of Hearts” on Thursday. He made it out of a lovely piece of Ash but in his haste he didn’t notice a little watermark in the wood that made the spoon look a little discoloured. Ash is pure white wood and this little watermark is very distinctive. He went to the trouble to make The Queen of Hearts spoon a true jam tart spoon with a little heart and a smaller tsp measure at the end for tasting the jam…you have to hand it to him, aside from being a great ideas man (re- booze bus…) he tried to make this spoon for multitasker’s…”make the jam, feed the baby…make the jam, put sugar in your tea…make the chutney, add some spices and salt…” but that little watermark made him twitch…he rubbed the spoon down and now it feels like smooth bone…light as a feather. Ash is hard wood…it broke 3 of his blades but this spoon is delicate looking. I can see this spoon lasting through the tough times, much like the Ash tree that it was made from, it is a stayer. Not happy with the watermark, Steve headed off and came back out of the shed today with a gorgeous Tasmanian Myrtle spoon. It is the most gorgeous colour and is just as light and smooth as the Ash but now he isn’t sure what to do with the Ash spoon. He has asked me to ask you to see which spoon you would like for the draw. Anyone who reads this blog, who wants to enter the draw for a spoon, please let me know in the comments and I will put you into the draw. This spoon draw will be drawn on Saturday so you really don’t have much time to get yourself into the draw. Steve wanted it to be drawn and sent so it has a chance to get to the recipient for Valentine’s Day and as mentioned, the choice of spoon is yours. Earl is twitching with happiness to be drawing another walnut draw. Little does Earl know that I have added a few ex-Christmas nuts to the bowl and there will be a choice of walnut, Brazil nut, Almond and Hazelnut. Again, if you would like to enter the draw please get back to us ASAP to get your name in the draw…we already have 7 people on the list so don’t wait or you might miss out :o). I will leave you with this Facebook reply that my little brother made when I was ranting about our recent tomato loss to the possums…

”I feed my possums to stop them running amok, and it works but the possums here aren’t as invasive nor as big as over in Tassie…brush tails ringtails and pygmies are full after a piece of bread some apple and a dried apricot. And because I’ve been bribing them with food, the nectarine tree near my back door has tripled in size and is well loaded with good fruit…in saying that, when the fruit has a week to go from being ripe and pickable, I’ll be camping out there with a metal colander /strainer on my head and a fly swat chanting subliminal messages to them under my breath.!”…

Oh NO dear constant readers…it runs in the family 😉

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kym
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 20:49:47

    Yes please to the Tasmanian Myrtle 🙂 (Come on Earl, theres a good boy :P) I have INTERNET!!! I’m so excited lol. How sad is that eh. I have managed to salvage some spring onions for planting in my new you beaut vege/herb garden. I bought them from the local IGA to use in some recipe, and have cut the leaves off and put the roots in water. That is all I have, sadly. Nothing doing at the local plant supply, Truevalue hardware, but 5 sad plants at exorbitant prices. So far I have found the prices quite ok, but unfortunately Truevalue is not!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 10:21:42

      What about seeds Kymmy? You have a much longer growing season over there and you could get a fair few seeds going easily especially winter ones like Chinese veggies, onions, broccoli and peas :). I am getting excited already about your garden and you could put it in your blog! You could make your blog your own journey into the country like I did and we could swap hints and tips :). You are Number 7 in the spoon draw and Ms Sexy Myrtle is in your sites…Earl says “Bring on Saturday!” he can’t wait to cram his questing little beak with all different kinds of nuts…hopefully the nut I am able to retrieve is yours! 😉

      Reply

  2. christiok
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 12:08:32

    Wow, Fran, your guitar teacher’s wife paired with your father! Now THAT is a story I’d like to hear some day!:) And I can completely relate to your puzzlement over your mum’s attraction to gardening when you were young. “What is out there?” indeed! lol I get it now, too, and for me SOME planning is necessary — what seeds to buy this year and then where they go — but I can’t seem to do it without actually being out there. I hope to this week. Keith’s been hauling loads of chicken manure compost, light and full of nitrogen, to the hoop house and the gardens, so I’m getting a bit more interested. Congratulations on your Tamar NRM newsletter article and yes, link it when it comes out! How cool! You are making such an impact in your community.:) The spoons have not arrived here yet, but I’m betting for this week. I love both of the new spoons…Steve really knows how to find the inner spoon in the wood. Love to you both from Olalla!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 12:43:00

      I am glad that you are feeling like gardening again Christi, most of it is probably a dose of SAD and when it’s cold and miserable outside who wants to garden? I get enthusiastic reading about gardening and planning what we are going to do when we can garden again when it’s winter although our winters are very mild compared to yours. I am putting compost heaps everywhere! I figure that I can rake up leaves, put them into the compost heaps (contained with wire mesh), add bucket loads of green waste and snipped up leaves, mulched small branches etc. and let nature take it’s course and when it does, release the compost onto the soil and spread it out…I WILL make a difference on this property! ;). The possums didn’t make it into the new enclosure last night but I don’t think that they will give up any day soon…I dare say they headed off with a toothache trying to get through that fish farm netting as it stops seals and they have MUCH sharper teeth than possums! Good luck to them! I think that we are 1 all now…”Bring it on possums!” ;). Love right back atcha from Sidmouth in the midsummer sun when we are already planning what we are going to do in our planting out season in autumn 🙂

      Reply

  3. susanchef
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 13:11:50

    Looks like a great spoon for my cake mixing

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 13:37:39

      You are in the draw to win one of the spoons…you just have to work out which one you like best and its yours if you win :)…oh…and you have to hope that Earl, our Amstaff dog picks your numbered walnut out of a big bowl 😉

      Reply

  4. foodnstuff
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 18:53:17

    I’m sooooo envious of those beetroot!!! I can’t grow them!!

    I don’t suppose Steve is thinking of selling spoons is he? I’ll die of old age before Earl picks my walnut.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 05:10:02

      You can’t?! They grew like topsy here! I couldn’t believe how quickly they filled out. Have you tried a water wicking box? I love the leaves more than the root if I am being honest but my daughters adore the roots and make borsht out of them (no Russian heritage but they just love it). Steve is going to use this next year at polytechnic, where we learn how to set up a website, to start a small business making spoons and all sorts of other interesting things including bug houses. I reacon if you don’t win this next one (you are number 5 by the way…) he will make you a spoon :). Let us know what kind of wood you like (dark or light) and I am sure that he will make one for you 🙂

      Reply

  5. Kym
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 23:34:38

    I grew up the only person in my family who was interested in growing things and living things lol. I think I have my grandparents genes, they skipped mum, dad and the boys entirely. I can remember being with my nanna (mum’s) and helping her with the chooks and veges etc. My dad’s family came from solid english farming stock. I’m sure they thought I was a little weird lol. Still do truth be told ha ha ha. I thought I had a prime spot for a chook run until we realised the damn water meter is there. Who puts a water meter in the back yard??? Norseman does!!! Will have to avoid it, but I also wonder how the meter will be read if I’m not home? My dogs will certainly give anyone grief if they so much as look over the back fence let alone wander in. I have picked out a spot for my veges so once I have some hay bails, where might one get those perhaps?, and some veges, ditto to those too lol, then I will be off and running, so to speak.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 05:14:39

      Check out local farmers…they are always the best source for hay as they tend to bale it up for over winter. They also tend to sell last years hay cheap as “spoiled hay” for gardens and chook runs. Are you sure that the meter isn’t automatically read? Check with the water meter board or they might make you lock the boys up whenever they come around. Even though we locked our boys up they bark (duh!) and so the electricity man refused to read our meter because of our “dangerous dogs” even though we lock them up! So we get to read our meter ourselves most of the year and they come once a year to make sure that we haven’t been “fudging” ;). Sick the cat on him! We had one idiot electricity reader say that he was scared of someones rabbit in a cage and refused to read the meter. I KNOW that our electricity reader didn’t even come to the house on the day that he claimed he was scared of our dogs as we were in all day! Lying lazy bollocks is what “I” think! Those veggies are going to be amazing with all that sunshine you guys get 🙂 Let me know if you need a hand over the ether with any info or anything and what I don’t know, I can easily find out for you 🙂

      Reply

  6. thinkingcowgirl
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 00:53:29

    Oh.I just realised I missed it! Can’t I just subscribe for a year?! 😉 I’ve not beeen reading for a while as have been nursing a virus winter lurgi thing. Your cake slice thing looks wonderful I’m inspired! Cough.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 05:23:08

      You haven’t missed the draw, it’s this saturday :). I think Steve is testing his spoons out on you guys as he is thinking of taking our web design course this year and turning it into a small online business making spoons and bug houses and other things. Good luck with the draw and send vibes Earls way :). Sorry you have had that lurgi…EVERYONE has had it in the Northern hemisphere and now I KNOW it is coming our way for winter…sigh…

      Reply

  7. triciatierney
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 09:59:09

    Hey – I want a gorgeous spoon! (now didn’t that sound rude?) They are quite lovely as are your beautiful shots of summer garden. I scrolled through your photos, showing them to my fellow – saying — look: it’s summer in Australia. What’s winter like where you are? he wanted to know.
    Enjoy that harvest. I’m off to the grocery – the only place to find anything green to eat these days.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 12:28:52

      Hi Tricia, you are in the prize draw…now you just have to wait for Earl (the American Staffy) to draw the winner from a bowl of numbered walnuts…good luck 🙂 Oh, by the way, we are in Tasmania Australia which is one of the coldest places in Australia so winter can be a bit cold but in saying that, we don’t even get frosts on our property so if you are covered with snow at the moment, you win! 😉

      Reply

  8. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 12:03:14

    Great post & photos. Love the doggie in the barrel and the very healthy looking produce you’re growing. 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 12:30:37

      Would you like to enter the draw to win a handmade Tasmanian wooden spoon? Steve makes them and decided to offer one up to my blog readers as a Valentine’s Day prize (the old softy 😉 ) so if you would like to enter, just let me know. Earl the dog is drawing the winning number out of a bowl of numbered walnuts (unless he gets performance anxiety when we might have to coax him 😉 ). Again, let me know before Saturday if you would like to enter. 🙂

      Reply

  9. Littlesundog
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:13:31

    I would love to give a spoon a home in my Oklahoma kitchen! Please enter me in the drawing! I really loved the photo of those butterflies! What lovely specimens they are… some of the rarely seen woodland butterflies here are similar.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:19:48

      You are in the draw for Saturday 🙂 Now all we have to do is hope that Earl picks your walnut out of the bowl :). Those butterflies are all over the place here so they are not rare. They emerge at this time every year and completely cover Serenditpity Farm and spend their days alternately hovering around the little pink wildflowers and the native grasses. They are here every year around about this time 🙂

      Reply

  10. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 10:27:11

    I would love to enter but hate to have you spend the $ to send a spoon all the way to California. So, if I win can you gift it to someone near where you live and I’ll hold it in my heart, especially with Earl drawing? 🙂 Those spoons are wonderful. xoxo Paulette

    Reply

  11. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 11:04:35

    I’ve clicked on follow at your site when we first connected but don’t get post in my e-mail. Is there a place here I can enter my e-mail address to follow? I’d love to get your posts. There’s such a sweetness, a simplicity, a loveliness to what your write, your photos and how you live that I so enjoy and like a lot. 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:10:07

      Not too sure why you cant follow? If you go here… https://theroadtoserendipity.wordpress.com/ and click “Follow” in the top bar you should get the blog to your in box. Let me know if it doesn’t work and we will see what we can do but I am a technophobe of old so it will have to be Steve doing the hunting 😉

      Reply

      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
        Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:46:26

        It says I’m following. I clicked it to follow then back again and said posts will appear in my reader. No idea what that is but hope they show up in my in box or I’m a gonner. I’m in the tech dark ages. If it comes as an e-mail I’m good. If I have to find it somewhere forget it, I’m lost. At any rate, please know I do enjoy your site and love your photos. Good stuff. 🙂

      • narf77
        Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:50:21

        I just got notification that you are following the blog so hopefully you will get emails now 🙂

      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
        Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:52:38

        I got this one but it’s a direct response to mine. I’ll be watching out for something new… like when Earl picks the walnuts. 🙂

      • narf77
        Jan 22, 2013 @ 15:00:14

        lol Maybe I should post a post tonight! Nah! You are just going to have to wait till wednesday like everyone else 🙂

  12. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 15:03:49

    Earl!!!!! Come help me, lol. That’ too funny. Wag wag. Well maybe some veggie or fruit will call to you to photo it and you’ll just hafta post it sooner than Wednesday, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  13. rabidlittlehippy
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 21:34:00

    Oooo I am so glad I finally got some internet and got around to reading my blogs list tonight. Please count me in the draw too. And I too would be most interested in making some purchases, most particularly around Christmas next year, not to mention throughout the year too. Make sure you have a large stash for Christmas sales Steve. 🙂
    I also could never understand the attraction with gardening although my mum and I still have differing ideas on gardens. She buys punnets of pansies and petunias (I seriously despise petunias, particularly the purple ones), plants impatiens, anemones and the like. My floral works go as far as erlicheer bulbs and some freesias and then sunflowers (chook food) and anything else that has some use in the garden aside from just looking pretty. I guess I don’t understand why you’d put the effort into a garden that you can’t eat but then again I’m still not totally hooked on gardening yet. I am starting to get the deep sense of satisfaction at having spent a day or even just an hour or 2 (or even mere minutes) with my hands in the soil. It is so cathartic!
    Your tomatoes are still making me very envious but not quite as jealous as I was last week as I HAVE TOMATOES GROWING! 😀 Watering the garden in anticipation of tomorrows hot day and I suddenly saw 2 little green orbs! I think I found 9 or 10 of them over about 4 plants – yellow and red tommy toe tomatoes. I am so very excited. 😀 😀 😀

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 24, 2013 @ 05:03:10

      I am excited about your tomatoes too! 🙂 🙂 :). I HATE petunias as well. They are horrible…my polytechnic lecturer loved the horrible things but they have nothing going for them! I need everything in the garden to have at least a purpose and petunias only purpose is to make me twitch (thats not a good enough reason to plant them Steve! 😉 ). Steve is thinking that he may as well put 2 and 2 together as we are taking a course in how to design websites this year so he might make a website to sell his wooden things (spoons, bug houses, garden dibblers etc.). If he sold anything he would be chuffed but it would also be a really good final assignment (Now I just have to come up with an idea for mine… seed swap website anyone? 😉 ). You have been in the spoon draw for ages. I just whacked you in anyway :). Glad you have net access now, I don’t know how I would survive without it. When we first moved here, Telstra told us that we couldn’t get the net here and I almost had a heart attack! We ended up having to go with Dodo and so far we haven’t had too many problems (touch wood!). Glad to see you back online, I wondered where you were :). I hope that Ballan is treating you fantastically and you have evolved in gardening before you got crazy. Most people start out with the flowery things and then slowly realise that they aren’t worth it. A few flowers are wonderful for insect attraction and pollination and for colour and texture in a garden but it’s best to pick perennials or self seeding annuals that are easy care. Poppies are great, especially Californian poppies as they are incredibly hardy. Ok, off to read my rss feed read and see who has posted today 🙂

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Jan 24, 2013 @ 08:08:43

        I’m always around reading posts but commenting via phone is a pain in the proverbial! You still haven’t emailed me your address for me to divide Berta (she’s going 3 ways soon). I read somewhere that petunias are a brilliant companion plant for something and resolved to bite the bullet and plant a few, just not the wretched purple ones! Maybe white might be tolerable?
        Thanks for whacking me in the spoon draw. I would have sobbed if I’d missed it! A seed swap is a brilliant idea but just watch out for those quarantine laws. You may need to keep it local to Tassie or ship them up to us here but well, maybe us “mainlanders” just need to buy ours. That way you also get some cash in the kitty.

  14. Sincerely, Emily
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 09:26:14

    Oh, I just need to comment. I have had this post up on my screen for more than a few days and just keep getting distracted! I have looked at all the beautiful photos. Beetle, dogs, spoons, veggies, and more. Then I start reading and get distracted again. Time to just comment and let you know I am still out here TRYING to read, and just wanted to say HI!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 05:11:49

      Hi Emily, you are probably the most busy person that I know :). I actually feel guilty taking up your time when I post ;). It is pretty full on here on Serendipity Farm and I LOVE IT! Learning to be a “Doer” (proactive) rather than a procrastinating learner (reactive) has made life a most interesting and productive thing. I can’t believe I didn’t learn this earlier and waited almost half a century to learn that “Doing” actually suits me! Oh well, as my gran would have said “better late than never girl!” ;). I put you in the draw for the next prize draw for Steve’s wooden spoons and if you could pass the message on to Xan, I did the same for her. Technically people had to mention that they wanted to enter in a comment but I love you two so you get a special entry anyway :). Good luck, the spoon is a beauty made from local Tasmanian myrtle wood and it would be lovely to see it go to Texas (or wherever Xan lives! 😉 ). Have a great and productive day and here’s to getting things done! 🙂

      Reply

  15. Debi at Life Currents
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 10:38:44

    I love reading about your lovely farm. Much much larger than mine. One day I hope to have a larger plot of land on which to garden. Of course, there will be a mighty change in the weather once I have that. We will (eventually hoping hoping) move to Seattle where it’s much wetter and cooler. No more lemon tree to take for granted.
    Tonight, Orange Tofu (kinda like orange chicken but less meaty) courtesy of my next door neighbor’s orange tree. I have orange vinegar seeping with them orangey critters too.
    thanks again for the lovely read!
    now, I need to get back to work. 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 05:22:40

      I have been reading about orange vinegar and am going to give it a go. Let me know if it works :). I have online friends that live in Olalla Washington and Seattle is where all good Texans go to cool down ;). I love the sound of the North of the U.S. and Canada especially…my adult daughters both want to migrate there (curiously when our summer really starts to hit home 😉 ). I have 2 mandarin trees that we discovered under the mass of weeds that my dad allowed to cover this property for 20 years. He wasn’t a gardener so I can’t really blame him but he and his partner seemed to think that if you buy a lovely landscaped gorgeous gardened property it was just going to stay like that while you sit on the deck overlooking the river sipping wine…at least we feel like we certainly earned this property with all of the hard slog we are doing to fight for it from the weeds! ;). We lived in Australia’s equivalent of Texas and moved to the U.S. equivalent of Seattle so I guess we are both making a “seachange” just we did ours first :). Keep on dreaming of cooler climates but while you are someplace hot, remember that veggies adore that heat! 🙂

      Reply

  16. Debi at Life Currents
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 11:41:54

    I love the orange vinegar. Takes the bite out of the smell. I’m making a second batch now. I’ve only used it for cleaning, but cooking would work too. Raspberry vinegar, lemon vinegar… the possibilities are nearly endless.
    “Property” can be overwhelming. We looked at a 5 acre place once and decided it wasn’t for us. sometimes I have a hard time keeping up with the tiny yard we have now.
    🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Feb 14, 2013 @ 13:42:30

      We inherited this place from my dad when he died, along with a house in the city that my daughters live in. 4 acres is MORE than enough for us! We thought that we were horticulturalists until we got here ;). I must admit to falling in love with living out here though. We are close to the river and sea (so our water is salty), we have trees all around us and our neighbours are quiet and we get to do pretty much whatever we want to do out here so I guess I should suck it up and just get working! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

