Hava nagila!

Hi All,

Aside from being a most catchy song that I have NO idea what the words are and would no doubt make a fistful of Jewish people collapse hysterically laughing on the floor should I EVER be stupid enough to attempt to sing my erstwhile version in their close proximity, the name Hava Nagila means “Let us rejoice”! I have SO much to rejoice that I often feel guilty for having the odd whinge about how rocky our soil is and how many weeds we have here on Serendipity Farm. I just got back from a visit to my daughter’s home in Launceston. I had a really great time with them both and we spent a large proportion of the time that we had together cooking. My daughters are amazing cooks. Neither of them has ever studied technique or worked in the industry but they are very adventurous and tend to pair some very interesting ingredients that I would never think could possibly work together but incredibly…they do! The first night we had chilli. I had vegan chilli made with some ingredients that I had brought along with me (oh ye of little faith! 😉 ) and it was delicious. I think there is still a bowl of it in the girl’s fridge and I am sure that they will find something creative to do with it. On night 2 we had an amazing feast. The girls have recently become enamoured with all things Korean and had purchased some Korean cookbooks and some mixed cookbooks with Korean recipes in them. We decided to have a go at some of the recipes and ended up spending a marathon 5 hours preparing and cooking 12 dishes that were all amazing and that teamed up to make an amazing feast. We made cucumber salads, spinach side dishes, 3 different kinds of “pancakes” ranging from a very normal pancake type batter topped with spring onions (which we couldn’t buy at the local shop and had to sub the next best thing…leek…so from hereon in, wherever I specify “spring onion” you will have to insert “leek” 😉 ) and chillies through to a very inventive recipe using dried split green peas (which we couldn’t find in their local small supermarket on the day we wanted them but found the day after…go figure!) and rice cooked together then pureed and combined with various finely sliced vegetables and cooked like pancakes. The girls eat meat and so made some rice balls filled with smoked salmon and avocado which are technically not Korean and were based on a Japanese recipe BUT they were amazing and I had oyster mushrooms, pickled ginger and avocado in mine. They also had some marinated Korean chicken drumsticks and a pork dish that I can’t quite remember what it was but it looked good. We ended this marathon degustatory event with some simple but incredibly delicious yeasted pancakes that looked more like doughnuts without holes and that were stuffed with crushed palm sugar, roasted peanuts and cinnamon and that were amazing.

12120005

Steve says that this truck is a transformer…the only thing that I can see it transforming is an empty space into a space full of wood chips…

12120008

Another “Steve” shot…apparently this is ANOTHER transformer…I think we are being overrun by them!

DSCF7150

Right behind a new estate in Exeter are the remains of an old abandoned orchard. Steve, Bezial, Earl and I went exploring today and found all different kinds of apples, pears and even a nectarine tree out in the open and just waiting to be scrumped by possums and wayfaring Sidmouth Scrumpers

DSCF7155

By the look on his face, this scrumper has had enough of wandering around old abandoned orchards and wants to return to the civilisation afforded by 2 streets back to the main street 😉

On night 3 we could have been forgiven for having something very simple but not us! We went the way of the home made pizza. The girls used a cookbook that mum had given us last year full of homemade pizza recipes and as I have had more experience cooking with yeast, I made the dough. We made 3 batches of dough because we made a pizza for Steve (because he had obviously been a bit jealous of our cooking exploits over the weekend) and one for the girl’s dog Qi who has an adventurous palate for a dog and who gets very interesting meals. The girls made an almost “regular” type of pizza topped with chicken, a spicy hot salami, pine nuts and “other things” that I didn’t really notice as I was busy slathering tomato paste on pizza bases and ensuring that the cheese flow kept going. They also made an interesting combination of prawns, chicken, various other things (again…applied while I was otherwise occupied so I would only be speculating about exactly what went on) and coconut. I don’t think that Beth was enamoured of this pizza but Madeline seemed to like it. Qi got a meaty pizza and Steve got his favourite things (hot salami, chicken, onion, capsicum, chilli, mushroom and vintage cheese) and he has stashed it in the freezer for a delicious quick meal for the coming week when we have to finish off the chook pen and are too knackered to cook (smart man! 😉 ). I typed out lots of recipes from the cookbooks that the girls purchased and they gave me a couple of CD’s by a Korean band called Winterplay that do some really good covers of popular songs and I will be listening to them whilst trying to wade my way through my 1000+ rss feed reader blog posts that struck terror into even my seasoned mass blog reading heart when I got up this morning. If you would like to hear them and check out just how good this band is you can hear them covering “Don’t know why” a Norah Jones hit and can see why I really like them

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVhzK01Jmq4

That’s my bit for spreading the love people…I would have NEVER heard of this wonderful band if it hadn’t been for my adventurous daughters and their adventurous palates…it’s time spent like the weekend that I just had that reinforce the value of family and of simple time spent together. No matter how ragged or crumpled your family is, it’s the closest thing to “you” that you have. Spend time with your children…spend time with your parents…heal those wounds (if there are any to heal) and get back together with the people that really do matter the most, your own flesh and blood and the people that will tell you the truth (sometimes with great gusto 😉 ). I love you girls and can’t begin to thank you for that wonderful weekend…even Bella Lugosi in Chandu the Magician, a 1932 movie that we watched to fill the Bella free zone that Beth needs to quench on a regular basis. We even watched Lilo and Stitch which I really hadn’t watched before and that I enjoyed disproportionately to what I thought that I would. I especially love this drawing that was on the fridge and that we have used as a family in joke for years without me even having watched the reference for this joke…

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2vmiiw4&s=5

In a word, I did all sorts of things that I don’t usually do. I adjusted to Madeline’s stringent washing up rollcall and exactly how to put it back where it goes…I slept with Qi and learned how to contort my middle aged body into the human equivalent of a pretzel to accommodate her desire to spread out over as much of the bed as she could possibly take up and I adjusted my getting up time to fit in with the girls going to bed time. Who would have known…a change really IS as good as a holiday :o)

DSCF7159

Stage 1 of banksia flower development…

DSCF7160

Stage 2…

DSCF7161

and finally stage 3

DSCF7165

If you can avert your eyes from the insect nuptuals going on towards the top of this shot (I can’t pinpoint it exactly for you because I am averting my eyes!), this is a bottlebrush flower

Peter Cundall, Mr organic garden show ABC television presenter himself and who lives not too far away from Serendipity Farm told us that this was going to be a bit of a stinker this summer in Tasmania. Stinker as in heat…not as in smell. I tend to agree with him because things run in cycles and they tend to be 4 yearly in Tasmania. We have mild years and hot years and this just so happens to coincide with our first year in Tasmania where our first full summer was a real eye opener because we thought that we were going to be cold and we discovered just how hot it can be here and our first winter was so cold we got chilblains and didn’t even know what they were.  We are more aware of the seasons here now and know it is going to be hot when we start seeing the cicada husks stuck to the
grass. This year we can hear them getting the band tuned nice and early and by the time mid-summer gets here they will have coordinated themselves into a wall of united stomach rasping. We won’t see them for at least 4 more years because their life cycle takes that long for them to reach adulthood and emerge from under the ground. At least the native birdlife get a “Hava nagila” moment of their own with plenty of free clicking protein for all!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psaltoda_moerens

DSCF7168

Aside from me looking like I am doing some sort of a sailors hornpipe dance you can begin to get an idea of how lucky we were to get not 1 roll, but 2 of these rolls of ex-fish farm netting. There are about 50 more of them up for grabs and we will be putting our hands up for as many rolls as they would like to let us have. We have also removed that blue rope and are storing it in Steve’s shed for posterity…(I think “posterity” is like “hoarding” 😉 ).

DSCF7169

Looking back the other way towards the house. We will get 4 x 2.5 metre x 20 metre lengths of this netting that should be enough to enclose our wayfaring chooks and keep them from digging halfway to China in their endeavours to have dustbaths all over Serendipity Farm

DSCF7173

One of the Brachychitons that we liberated from anarchy and chaos earlier in the year that hadn’t flowered in years and that is absolutely covered in flowers this year. Now all we have to do is pull all of that dead dodder from around it’s leaves and it might stand a chance of surviving for a few years more

DSCF7208

A cicada husk…one of many (it’s going to be a noisy Christmas this year on Serendipity Farm!)

DSCF7211

A close-up of garnet particles used to sandblast the Batman Bridge before it gets repainted

DSCF7214

Christmas wreath (and all sorts of other project) futures!

DSCF7218

Harvested willow…the rest is up to me!

It’s suddenly Wednesday and after heading over to Exeter to send Steve’s mum a calendar and pick up some library books and giving the dogs a good walk in the process we spent the day productively by measuring one of the large rolls of ex-fish farm netting that we got a little while ago. We were told that it was 20 metres long by 10 metres wide and after measuring it we think it’s probably a good estimate. We should have enough in a single roll to complete our chook shed reno and the other roll can be used to fully enclose our vegetable garden. We have been promised more of this precious commodity in the near future and we are going to get creative with it and use it to protect our small possum weary orchard and other areas that we don’t want the possums to invade. We cut a 2.5 metre wide strip from the first roll using the knives that we bought for grafting. We haven’t grafted much with them but we have at least used them for something! In the process we liberated 20 metres of strong thick nylon rope and tomorrow we will liberate 20 metres more. No idea what we are going to do with all of the rope but you can never have enough rope out in the country ;). After we finished cutting the rope from the netting we folded the netting up and set it aside…part 1 of the chook shed. By the time we finish we will have 4 x 20 metre long segments that we are going to attach to poles that we have already installed where we want to re-educate our chooks into who is the boss around here. It was getting pretty warm under the hole in the ozone layer that is our bright blue sky here in Tasmania so we headed off to put some stakes into the veggie garden to hold our rapidly growing tomatoes and prevent them from lying against the bird netting and being nibbled by waiting varmints. I guess the varmints are pruning the wayfaring branches for us but for now, they have been trussed up and the varmints are going to have to wait. I took a few photos of how our vegetables are going and it’s amazing to see how quickly vegetables will grow when you give them enough sunshine, food and water. The only thing that grows faster is the weeds :o(

We headed over to the East side of the Batman Bridge where there is a free camping ground and a large willow tree just waiting for clever locals to harvest to collect some willow canes to make our Christmas Wreath from. I had a bit of an altercation with a local redneck who had been racially abusing some Chinese tourists but nothing that Earl and I couldn’t handle ;). I heard on the news today that 52% of Tasmanian year 8 students are not able to meet the benchmark for mathematics. That joins our dubious honour of having 1 in 2 native born Tasmanians who can’t read or write adequately. Education needs to be pushed hard in this state. I guess it has worked to our politician’s advantage, up until now, to have an uneducated and unquestioning public who leave politics to the “experts” but now that the forest industry is on the verge of total collapse it is rapidly becoming obvious that most Tasmanians are ill equipped to do anything other than cut down trees with chainsaws and a subclass of bored, unemployed rednecks is going to be a significant problem for tomorrows politicians and the heinously understaffed police force that was cut to the bone recently in a vain attempt to reign in the budget deficit. I sometimes feel like banging my head on the wall when I (stupidly) watch the local news. I am not a particularly politically motivated person but blind Freddy could see just how inept and self-serving our politicians are and the really REALLY scary thing is that there isn’t any viable alternative for us to vote for. It’s equally as scary how quickly I can turn rabid whenever I consider our endemic politicians so I might just stop RIGHT THERE for today :o)

DSCF7182

Some Serendipity Farm “Yellow Nugget” cherry tomatoes

DSCF7188

One bed staked…

DSCF7189

and the other…

DSCF7184

Can anyone “splain” to me why this tomato plant seems hell bent on only growing horizontally? Nick (our ex-long suffering lecturer) took a most entrepreneurial view of our crazy tomato predicament and said “save the seed…make sure it stays true to type and only grows horizontally and then sell it for vertical and hanging baskets…make a fortune!”…cheers Nick, but I think you have us confused for entrepreneurs rather than lazy bums…(our subterfuge worked! 😉 )

We are still getting used to having time on our hands to do things other than study. It has been lovely to get stuck into working around the house and we have even started using the calendar that comes with using Google as our home page to keep us moving in the right direction. I picked up Dawn French’s first fiction work today from the library and am going to give it a whirl around the dance floor and see how she twirls. I also picked up the cold climate permaculture book about Hepburn Springs by David Holmgren because I now have time to read it from cover to cover like it deserves. Helen, the library lady, had put a book aside about making your own beauty products for me. She sometimes sees a book that she thinks that I might like and puts it on the shelf along with my ordered books. Cheers Helen, I like the look of some of the recipes inside and goodness only knows I can do with a slather or two of natural unguents if they will lend me an air of respectability once in a while ;). We have a full week of sorting out the chook house and then finding homes for 20+ hens. If anyone wants some prime year old egg laying (if you can find them 😉 ) hens, let me know. I had entertained giving them the chop and filling our freezer but entertaining and doing are 2 very different things. Roosters can be rationalised but hens in their prime cannot. After we make the chook coop we will be hurling ourselves headlong into all sorts of projects that we isolated from our Tuesday meeting where we had a bit of a confab about what direction we wanted to go in (preferably forwards) and how setting a few goals might actually cause us to follow through on a few of our plans.

DSCF7191

The rocket, lettuce, perpetual spinach, capsicum and chilli bed

DSCF7192

Not too sure what you do with perpetual spinach but at least we have one! 😉

DSCF7198

Aren’t lettuces pretty?

DSCF7193

Can you see the adventitious little tomato plant that grew from last years compost placed reverently in this garden bed? We think that it is one of Wendy’s lovely heritage tomatoes and it has a sibling in the next bed going great guns. I will let you know what they turn out like…by the way there is an aphid on the tomato…it won’t last long because the veggie gardens are seething with little lizards that seem to be doing a sterling job on cleaning up the tiny grasshoppers that have been attracted to the veggie garden like moths to a light. A fine example of integrated pest management at it’s finest 🙂

It’s time to think about posting this post now and after I do, I will head up to the veggie garden and will pick some mushrooms, some lettuce, some rocket and some spinach to make Steve a side salad to go with his evening meal. Living close to the ground is about as rewarding as it gets and I am going to have to get pretty close to the ground to harvest that lettuce! See you all on Saturday when we may just have that chook yard sorted out and I might just have some photos to share with you of some stunned looking enclosed chooks and Yin with his beak through the netting protesting his newfound confinement…Tasmania is a penal colony of old sir…get used to it! 😉

By the way…anyone who would like to have a chance to win Steve’s hand made spoon has 10 days to let us know. At the moment there are only 10 people in the draw and Earl thinks that they are pretty good odds. We have a lot more walnuts than “10” so please feel free to enter the spoon draw…only 10% of you want to win? Think of Steve’s pride! 😉

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rabidlittlehippy
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 20:26:02

    Gods I love reading your posts! I think of all sorts of clever replies as I go too but due to the length of your posts I forget it all!
    Love the transformers. And after all they are robots in disguise. If we humans think they are just wood choppers then they win! I just hope they’re autobots and not deceptacons (child of the 80’s ok 😉 ).
    Given the phallic start of a bottle brush, surely it is only appropriate that the bugs get in on the action? 😛
    Pete Cundall is a bit of a legend in my book. A BIG bit! And if he reckons we’re in for a scorcher then I’d take that as gospel too. We’ve got all sorts of yellow bug shells popping up over the lawn so I too suspect cicadas. Here’s the question though. Do you say it as “sa-KAY-da” or “si-KAH-da”? Either way, I love their symphonic rasping in summer as long as their volume doesn’t break any sound regulations.
    I love your fish farm netting upcycle too. Brilliance! And fencing in and out the various varmints sounds like a great plan, one I’m keen to adopt myself after finding the. Sigh ours Houdini Isa Browns have managed to escape their free range paddock and destroyed my one and only butternut pumpkin plant. Not a happy camper, let me tell you. 😦 So far my tomatoes are safe from their marauding although they look nowhere near as prolific as yours. Maybe the forecast rain this weekend will bring its magic into play.
    Your lettuces look amazing too. And your integrated pest management system is clearly working too as they look super healthy. We too have little skinks everywhere including one actually IN my potato bed and another who likes my compost heap. Guess the warmth of the cooking compost would make it a comfy place to sleep.
    As for spoon entries as far as I’m concerned, the less the better. 1 in 10 are reasonable odds! 😉

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 13, 2012 @ 05:15:31

      I get the feeling that most of my 100 followers are sleepers! (Maybe my long posts put them to sleep 😉 ). I pull up a wordpad page as I wade through other blogs long posts and comment as I go and at the end of the post I just copy and paste into the comments section because otherwise my brain would be empty at the end of the post. Our Houdini is “brown” as well! I don’t think she is an Isa brown but she is the cause of the 5 feral chooks that sleep in the large conifer out the front of the house and who steadfastly refuse to sleep in the chook house and indirectly responsible (her feral daughters babies…) for the 3 younger chooks that spend their days running away from everything and that also sleep “elsewhere” on Serendipity Farm. I found an enormous dustbath underneath my Stewartia the other day. I wondered why it was looking a bit sad and thought it was just the Peter Cundall heat BUT on closer inspection I saw that they had dug up half it’s roots in their desire to turn this place into the 2012 Oklahoma Dust Bowl of Australia! Everything is looking amazingly healthy in our veggie garden (I am suspicious…) and Steve had another salad out of it and some mushrooms sliced and fried in butter last night so at least we are getting something out of it. Our tomato plants are going exponential but that flat one is just plain out weird! It hasn’t got any height to it and has simple not grown any leaders and seems to be content to spread out on the ground. We will keep our eye on it. Steve said we should dig it up and put it in our upside down pot that we got from the Salamanca Markets last year (that we haven’t ever put anything in) but it seems happy enough where it is (and we will forget to water it in a hanging pot). I agree about the spoons but I think that Steve’s pride has been a bit wounded with the lack of enthusiasm. As I said…most of my followers are sleepers ;). Are you at Ballan yet? I have been wading slowly through 1000+ rss feed reader blog posts backed up like crazy and am actually culling blogs as I go (don’t panic…I am only eliminating vegan food blogs 😉 ). By the time I get to your posts (right in the middle of the feed) you will have been at Ballan for a year! 😉 I hope all of your Christmas preparations and moving/recovering from moving processes are going well? It’s been decidedly weird this year because we haven’t even put up our Christmas tree because we are worried that Earl is going to eat it (with good reason…sigh…) but we are going to fortify it (story of our life on Serendipity Farm…there is always SOMETHING that wants to eat our stuff…) and we have the front gate to decorate yet and a Christmas Wreath to make and that should inject a bit of Christmas spirit 🙂 Have a fantastic day doing whatever it is that you are doing today. We will be cutting up swathes of that netting and every cm. brings us closer to Wentworth for chooks and I, personally, can’t wait to see their beady little eyes on the other side of the fence! 😉

      Reply

  2. thinkingcowgirl
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 01:46:12

    Your lettuce looks amazing, beautiful, though it’s the last type of foodstuff on my list of things to eat right now! Think hot buttered toast then more hot buttered toast, washed down with some hot chocolate. 🙂 . Hahaha I don’t know where all your words come from! Are you like that in real life? I was taught on a writing course that a blog post should be no longer than 300 words!!! as that’s all that people can absorb. I tried it and failed miserably, though I do try and mix short ones and long ones. You’re right about spending time with loved ones, most important.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 14, 2012 @ 04:56:49

      I have a plethora of muses all vying for my attention and that leads me to write inordinately long posts. I have tried really hard to minimise them but 2800 words seems to be what they have arrived at allowing me to stop at. I used to post every day! I really do try to cut them down but there is usually lots that I want to share and I guess that’s why most of my followers are sleepers, because I put them to sleep! 😉 I guess people write blogs for many different reasons. I am not here to write for profit, I am just writing for pleasure and to keep my muses happy. Call it an online diary of sorts and my dear constant followers come along for the ride 🙂

      Reply

      • thinkingcowgirl
        Dec 14, 2012 @ 10:55:14

        Well I’m enjoying the ride, your muses are prolific. And you’re so generous with your time and comments on other peoples blogs – I’m sure your followers won’t be snoozing 🙂 I’m just amazed cos it takes me AGES to write any post…!

      • narf77
        Dec 14, 2012 @ 14:45:41

        Posts flow out of me very quickly ;). I have had a think about how long my posts are and you are right…I will be paring my posts back to their meaty centres…too many words doth not a good blog make! I have just finished my “year of living honestly” and next year is going to be my “year of living productively and proactively”…minimising my posts will be good for my muses…like my old dear departed misogenistic dad used to say “treat em mean and keep em keen!” 😉

  3. christiok
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 04:39:36

    We were both working in our daughter’s kitchens this past weekend! And I brought chili for lunch since my daughter and her fiance just moved into this wonderful old 1913 house and its eclectic kitchen. Kitchens are the heart of a house, I think, not the stomach (that’s the bathroom:) Our son plays the bass in a cover band called Cherry Green. They just started together, all engineering students, and are having great fun. They play lots of Red Hot Chili Pepper songs. Some day they’ll have a CD! I envy your heat and your cicadas. I grew up with them in Texas — we called them locusts. Some of them have 17-year life cycles, that’s 17 years underground. A very interesting insect. And lucky you with the fish netting! Molly’s fiance is a Bristol Bay, Alaska salmon fisherman, a gillnetter. His nets are his livelihood. And you are so right, you can never have enough rope! lol Or unguents! Love to you and Steve the Spoon Maker, and Earl and Bezial of course. xxoo

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 14, 2012 @ 05:11:52

      Do Cherry Green have anything on youtube? My daughter Beth was a rabid Chilli Pepper fan and would be interested to check out the band. Might be their first international album sale ;). Steve was taken on a tour of the fish farm and shown all about the netting and how the strength and stability of the net is all that stops millions of dollars worth of salmon spilling out into the bay and becoming seal (and excited fisherman) fodder. We have MORE than enough rope now! No idea what we are going to do with it all but I am not complaining…call me a bowl and rope hoarder supreme! 😉 Our cicada’s have a 4 year life cycle so we get them more often and when they all emerge they all get together for a massive concert that lasts all summer long. They are about 3 inches long and black with red eyes and the local birds gorge on them for a while but after a couple of weeks they have had enough of them and their numbers build up to massive proportions. They feed on the eucalyptus tree sap and exude a most ‘interesting’ smell along with what feels like ‘rain’ if you stupidly walk underneath one of their trees! We are hoping to finish off our chook netting today and then both Steve and I are going to choose some wood from his precious pile to make spoons with 🙂

      Reply

  4. Pinky
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 10:22:20

    Hey Fronkii, you could string the rope about the tree tops and hang fairy lights or chinese lanterns off them and have a wonderful magical christmas light display! If we ever get a deck built above the games room/lounge room i’m planning on hanging little round chinese lanterns around the place. I’m well pleased that only 10 folks have replied to your spoon offer too Fronkii. I have a one in ten chance of getting that spoon too. If I dont get it, I will pay Steve to make me a set of three spoons as my shop bought wooden ones are about on their last legs and splinters in the Raspberry and white choc muffins just wont do!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 14, 2012 @ 14:43:06

      Steve says that even if you don’t win the spoon if you want to pay the postage for them, he will make you some gratis…before everyone out there starts jumping up and down the right venerable “Pinkus” is my dear sister and if she wants spoons…then spoons she shall have! 😉

      Reply

      • Pinky
        Dec 15, 2012 @ 09:45:11

        Yes Please Steve! I love wooden spoons as much as I love nice bowls to use them in and that is a whole LOT! Being made by my “Brother from another Mother” is also a blessing! Hahahahahahahaha 🙂 Thank you Fronkii. xox

  5. Chica Andaluza
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 05:40:09

    That Korean food sounds amazing. The first time I ate Korean food was at a veggie restaurant just outside Melbourne (St Hilda´s?) and it was incredible! Am putting my hands up for the spoon competition – the odds are shortening now for everyone!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 06:14:33

      Well done! Can’t have my sister winning with short odds now can we! 😉 You are in the draw! Check wednesdays post to show you which walnut you have been allocated…Earl will be drawing the spoon draw by selecting a walnut at random (and then killing it unmercilessly) might even video it and put it on youtube for posterity! 😉

      Reply

      • Chica Andaluza
        Dec 17, 2012 @ 06:23:09

        Ooh shall look forward to that but may have to watch a day late as will most likely be driving across France that day! Give Earl a little dog hello from Luna & Alfi (who will also be travelling with us)!

      • narf77
        Dec 17, 2012 @ 07:00:34

        Earl says “Hi” and “Do you have any sofa cushions that I can eat…all of ours seem to have suddenly disappeared?” 😉

  6. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54:38

    Oh, I wish I could be in the kitchen when you’re whole family is around! It sounds like an all-out party, only you end up with many delicious things when it’s all over. I always wanted my family to be like that, but there are too many picky people and non-cooks (perhaps even anti-cooks) to make that happen. Your words sound like a story straight out of a dream!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 18, 2012 @ 05:21:11

      my girls and I had a ball! I had the best time with them that I have had in ages Hannah and we produced so much amazing food that their fridge was stuffed full (along with the dog…a dog…that eats Korean food! 😉 ). We respect each other more and more when we cook…it brings out moments and it lets people shine. Beth made some amazing rice balls with incredible flavour and Madeline stood for 5 hours preparing and cooking and we had a food extravaganza. Our family is very food oriented and all of my children are foodies so whenever we do get together, the food flies thick and fast. Don’t worry… you will have girls of your own and you will get to spend the most communal of times cooking soul food together 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

