Frans AWOL so i am in charge

Hi All, I love potatoes…as I was walking home with Earl the other day I was thinking about my brother’s friend who is (how shall I say this…) a bit on the rotund side ;). As with most Aussie “blokes” they all have their little nicknames for each other. Why on EARTH go with the moniker that you were given at birth when you can shorten your name and add a “Y” or an “O” or an “A” to the end of it i.e. “Jacko” , “Bazza” and “Barnsey” (in fact ANY vowel at the end will do…). Another fun thing to do is to give your mate a nickname that has something to do with their choice of employment like” splinter” (works with wood) or the best of all (and the most pertinent to this post) is to take a look at your mate…size him up for his physical attributes and think up something HILARIOUS to call him for the rest of his life. My cousin Chris has always been rake thin and so “spike” ended up being his moniker and my brother’s mate “spud” obviously fell into this category. I, personally have a love Love ADORE! Relationship with potatoes a.k.a. spuds so much so that I have, in my previous life, somewhat resembled this versatile and humble tuberous vegetable myself.

This is all our own grown food and it tasted emmmm

This is all our own grown food and it tasted emmmm

Ok Steve here, I suck at typing firstly and my spelling is awful.. Ok Fran seems to have left and I can’t seem to see any words to post in her blog. Here are some words for you all from me… ok time to get wordy arty and clever. Emm ok firstly we have made it, we have become double diploma students and I am really proud of us and especially Fran. Earl says he is a diploma student and his is in chaos and Bezials is in sulking. Ok now we have a few weeks off till I drag Fran off into the world of web design , I think we will both have a bit of fun here and I’m sure a few arguments lol. I wish I was able to talk and the computer typed stuff, I remember a friend in the uk had a program that supposedly did that and it was hilarious , ok I just boiled the kettle and decided that I was going to have a beer instead. I have a beer problem here as when I have it I want to drink it all really fast and then I fall asleep and that’s bad, I want to watch batman tonight so I won’t have another after this. I’m sorry to frans readers that this post won’t be a stimulating work of words but I know that the girls will like it , I think they like to take the piss out of how I say stuff and type it , that’s ok they don’t know I will use spell check to make this shine lol. It’s a weird thing when you have been at a place on and off for the best part of 4 years, you sort of feel weird and a strange thing happened today Fran said I will miss this place , and you know what so will I. I think it’s the fact we have spent so much time putting us onto paper and sending our words and designs into Nick that we will miss the way we have had to sort what we do and make sure it’s all ready to be seen , I hope that makes sense to you all. We would work really hard at time and spend days in the house making plans and sorting out online what we needed to make sure that our work was the best we could make it. We made a lot of friends at the Polytechnic and some we don’t see much and some we hear won’t be there next year ( don’t panic Nat lol) (Cory) I guess people come and go from you lives but I also think some people will always be there and will always be a part of you and what you have become. James Nat Nick and all the other people that we have met along the horticulture way will have all played a part on what we are today (bums lol ). ok so I think that we all have this in our lives , I remember when I left school for the last time at 16 the feeling was very odd and a little scary if I’m honest, it’s the unknown as I didn’t have any pathways in my life set out and drifted from one job to another. I guess fate drive some people and I was defiantly one of them and fate I thank you for the day I answered the question to what is the meaning of life posed by someone that I hadn’t met yet but was destined to meet. We are here for a reason some may not know that reason till they die, some know why and are trying to make a difference and some float along and let things take them. We all have a path and we can try and change that path but boy does fate , god, some other force try and pull you in a certain direction , sometimes this makes you feel like you are out of control but you never really are. My answer was 42 and my life was never the same from that fateful and amazingly lucky day. Fran always says do you feel lucky and do you know what you have in your life, I can’t really ever say just how lucky I am and how happy I am, I’m not good that way with words but I am a lucky man as I am a lucky dragon in the stars, my life became a life because of the number 42 and a woman I hadn’t touched yet and hadn’t seen in this life. Fran said today we are a pearl. I won’t go into who’s the foreign substance and who’s the nacre that covers it but we need each other to make something amazing and precious. Ok thanks for listening to that, Earls demanding some time I best go for a bit and I will return later for now here’s an interesting link to the 42

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/42_(number)

you have to copy and pates that link as it wont hyperlink?

DSCF7149

My dinner that tated as good as it looks

that’s a lot of words for me there, we have a few weeks of time now and we are going to get our asses into the jungle here and shape it a bit more, we have been so tied up with the day to day things we haven’t had a chance to get out and work at what we are good at and that’s growing stuff. We gave Nick a pachapodium today and he was genuinely chuffed as we gave him a plant he can’t actually buy here in Tasmania and therefore something that he hadn’t seen and to a horticulturist that’s like getting a gold nugget is to a miner. I have been asked this weekend to make a tyre garden for Fran and plant some seeds, I will do that on Saturday and plant the seeds and see how they grow. We are gettin g ready here for our first alone Christmas, it will be a very different time of the year and I’m sure Fran will have a little reflection on her mums visit last year, we will raise a glass to her and she can sit out here with us, I’m sure my dad sits watching as play guitar here sometimes. Earls really bored he just dropped the Shrek toy behind the computer as IF TO SAY PA IM BORED AND BEZIAL SUCKS COME ON OUT ON THE DECK AND LETS GET HIM. OK BACK SOON , AHH caps lock I will leave that as I was knocked lol.

Dont ask why earls on the table again

Dont ask why earls on the table again

Chickens… ok we have too many and Fran said the other day we (me) could eat them and I have been thinking it may not be a bad idea if we can kill them. Ok I hate killing but then we have raised a flock of 8 to a flock of over 35 and they are getting to the point where we could play the game wack a mole and replace the mole with a chicken lol, we will see? ok what else can I tell you all about here, Fran reads me here blogs and they are full of interesting things and I can’t write like she does, she’s should write a book lots of people say that. The house looks like a series of a slasher cartoon at the moment as Earls killed homer Simpson Shrek tigger and pooh. We get our toys for a $1 a bag at the op shop when we head into Polytechnic and the boys love to get that plastic bag when we get home, the fun is very messy though and always involves fluff, we don’t get toys with beans in as we have learned from past experiences that beans are bad and get everywhere. Well everyone I think for Friday night I’m done here and may do a little more tomorrow before I post this post for Fran and I bet when I ask here she will tell me she’s done heaps lol , I seem to think she hadn’t done much as Madeline rang last night and she didn’t get a chance to do a post. Ok girls there are the wise words of pimmy and you can take them and place them in your book of great sayings lol hey I’m flattered they like the way I type. Ok all I may spend Saturday in my shed making someone else a spoon I will have to see how my wood futures are at the moment and what I can whittle out from them. Ok for now byee

its my egg i found it lol

its my egg i found it lol

Good morning all. Ok a teeny bit more here and then I will head off and do whatever I am going to do today. The weirdest thing this morning ….. we decided to head off to Deviot on our walk and we were driving down the road and just got to the corner of the road and I spotted a peacock in the bush , cool eh now we then saw it walking on the road as we came back , it may head up here lol Earl was very excited when we saw it and I think it’s the biggest bird he’s ever seen. Its planning on being a lovely day here today so I am going to head off in a bit and do this little tyre bed and then I may split some spoon wood to see what I can make in the next week or so . Ok Frans readers this is steve saying have a good week and hey I have added 1600 words to her post, not sure if they make sense but they pad this post out. Have fun be happy and may your god go with you Steve

ok some more pics to end with

our bean tyre gardens

our bean tyre gardens

old style Beaconsfeild mine shot

old style Beaconsfeild mine shot

spooky eh  the cool thing is you can see how it realy looks by using invert in adobe ;)

spooky eh the cool thing is you can see how it realy looks by using invert in adobe 😉

earl watching a crazy cat on youtube , he was very curious about this cat and dog fight

earl watching a crazy cat on youtube , he was very curious about this cat and dog fight

My best water dog , he wont go in higher than this lol

My best water dog , he wont go in higher than this lol

I took this while me and Bezial waited for Fran and Earl. pretty eh

I took this while me and Bezial waited for Fran and Earl. pretty eh

Ok heres a few pics of what we have been doing of late . The first one is Frans drawing of a hydroponic system , unfortunatly i cant get her concept plan to translate to a JPEG , we know why and hey its lucky we could make it a pdf lol

heres her drawing

pretty clever eh

pretty clever eh

and this is my concept , and no im not trolling for buisness lol

informal formality final concept

sorry they are small but thats the best we can do on the blog as they are A3

Remember we are allowed to charge like wounded bulls now for this ROTFL

I did it heres Frans concept plan 😉

Nice eh

Nice eh

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kaye Wheeler
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 20:19:41

    Hi Fran and how do you do Steve -Whom-I’m-Yet-To-Meet,
    I absolutely loved your writing, Steve. Haven’t read yours yet, Fran. Looking forward to it, though. I’m really procrastinating and a little in denial that I have to have my end-of-year student reports finished by Monday – hence the time-wasting on Facebook. I was interested in your tyre garden and thinking I could do something similar here. Next year for Science, I’ll be following the new Australian Curriculum section of environmental studies and want to include reusing, recycling etc. The ladies in the community are going to be doing a TAFE course on horticulture and starting a community vegie garden. I want my class to be involved and I thought your tyre garden idea would be a perfect way to recycle the dozens of tyres that lie around with the car bodies. I wondered though, whether the tyres have to be treated with anything first to prevent chemicals leaching from them into the garden – especially with our extremes of heat and rain here in the East Kimberley. Kind regards, Kaye.

    Reply

    • rabidlittlehippy
      Dec 08, 2012 @ 22:47:35

      Hi, thought I’d be cheeky and reply as I think the tyre garden idea was planted (pardon the pun) by me as we’ve planted out a LOT Of tyres.
      My reading and research indicates that yes, the tyres will leach into the soil so you need to be careful about what you plant. They need to be low cadmium and lead absorbing plants so either ornamentals or plants like beans are perfect. I’ve chucked in a few others and we’ll see how they go. Not sure if treating them would help or not but painting them. An help of they are likely to absorb a lot of direct sunlight and heat so that the roots of your plants don’t cook. Hope this helps. 🙂

      Reply

  2. brymnsons
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 20:52:28

    Well done Steve, a fine piece of blogging. I had a laugh here and there too so that must be a good sign. It must be quiet out there in the back of beyond by yourself, well you the dogs and a thousand chooks. It’s funny how you don’t have to be chatting to enjoy each others company, yet if they’re not there it just seems too quiet, do you find that? I love the photo of you and Earl watching youtube, a man and his very spoilt dog eh. Mine are too 🙂 I have said congrats on your graduating on facebook, but its worthy of another congratulations on this blog. Well done!

    Reply

  3. rabidlittlehippy
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 22:53:57

    Congratulations on graduating! Must be a huge mix of emotions, pride in your wonderful achievements being just one.
    Loved reading your post too. Your dinner looked scrummy and your evening of peace and quiet sounds lovely. Love the pictures too, they’re always great.
    Hope the tyre gardens come together easily for you. I finally filled and planted the last of mine out today. I put a layer of newspaper or cardboard under each one to prevent any weeds coming through and I made sure to push the soil up under the rims too. Love to see photos and hear your account after they’re finished too.

    Reply

  4. christiok
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 03:31:44

    Way to go, Steve and Fran! OFFICIAL Horticulturists!!! Your post is lovely, Steve. I LOVED how you describe the fateful cyber meeting with your beloved…a woman you had never touched. Beautiful. I can feel the love between you two all the way around the world.

    Reply

  5. Allotment adventures with Jean
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 23:13:20

    Congratulations Steve in a great post. I love your writing, just like you are talking to a friend. Relaxed. Love all the photos too. Tell Fran she left her blog in good hands. (I hope she enjoyed her weekend break)

    Reply

  6. thinkingcowgirl
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 03:14:56

    Your veggies are tenstar!

    Reply

  7. Chica Andaluza
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 03:51:30

    Loved this post as it felt like I was sitting next to you (beer in hand!) having a chat. Congrats to you both, what an achievement 🙂 I too loved that description of meeting your beloved. Beautiful!

    Reply

  8. Cecilia Macaulay
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 19:24:58

    You *should* troll for business, I reckon. Your designs look so clear, do-able and inspiring. Blessed are the pond-makers!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 20:42:08

      Hi Cecilia, thank you SO much for your kind comments. You just made our day! I actually read all of your posts via rss feed reader and am inspired constantly by your wonderful ethos and blog. Coming from you, we take your comment as high praise and consider us completely chuffed :).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

