The frugal bug bit me hard

Hi All,

Frugality is a bit like exercise. You start off noticing every time you set off and you are knackered when you get back BUT pretty soon you find yourself enjoying the previously taboo subject and finding all sorts of ways to slip it into your day to day life with good results. Frugality conjures up scrooge. I am too generous to be a scrooge but frugality has really started to sit well with me. I love to share the love around with anyone who wants to share but I am learning to condense my efforts into those that offer a bit of reward for your hard work. I am starting to get very enthusiastic about making our own pasta and the prospects of taking it a step further and making all sorts of weird and wonderful farinaceous goods from far flung countries. Just about every country has some sort of pasta equivalent albeit made from yak’s butter and a dab of the local earth to get it started. I have always wandered the degustory earth like grasshopper in search of foodie Nirvana…not “Foodie” like Anthony Bourdain, but Foodie like “Oh MAN that tastes so good I need to make it again…right now!” That sort of foodie :o). As a penniless student hippy there are certain ingredients that are out of my reach but they are not unattainable, just luxuries. I save them for special events where their inclusion will lend an air of “special” to the occasion. Growing our own veggies is another case in hand…not only can we grow our own vegetables, we can plant things that we otherwise would never be able to get in the shops. I am in the process of working out how to set up an Australia wide network of Seedy Pen pals to share open pollinated seed and other edible and ornamental seed with we long suffering Aussies whose borders shall be protected at all costs! I am right there with customs on preventing disease from entering our borders…I just see the end results where we can’t get cheaper seed material BUT if we are willing to pay the earth and at least one of our limbs we CAN import the bare rooted material from a nursery who is willing to make massive profits on the mainland and pass ALL of the costs onto the poor Tasmanians or Western Australians who are desperate enough to want something a bit different. Plant material should know no boundaries except those that exist to stop diseased material from passing them.

Some of Noel Button’s glorious special irises that he grows on a small allotment in Exeter and sells them once a year at Entally.

I LOVE living near the water. There is something magical about being able to watch the ebb and flow of the river

It was hard to take this shot when there were 2 overexcited dogs trying to drag us in so that they could have a swim. I don’t know how Steve managed to take it!

The more Serendipity Farm starts to emerge like the phoenix from the ashes of Highfield Gardens, the more excited I get at the possibilities. While we will NEVER be the glorious manifestation that Wychwood is (check out this amazingly gorgeous and highly enviable garden here… http://www.wychwoodtasmania.com/Garden/gardenM.htm and it’s only 2 ½ acres AND it’s not too far from Serendipity Farm!) we can make this a little permaculture paradise in an oasis of dry summer humidity. I know “dry” and “humidity” don’t really work but we have the luxury of a short growing season coupled with a lack of rain (thanks to the mountains to the west stealing all of the rain before it gets to us) and a LOT of natural vegetation that tends to leak out its moisture as soon as the temperature gets over 25C. Couple this with the hole in the ozone being directly over us and the sun really packing a punch and our conditions become humid and dry…go figure! Finding free edible plants like our figs and our little loquats was great fun as well as money in the bank. Frugality breeds frugality simply because it feels so good. We aren’t going to start hoarding what we have but we are most definitely enjoying living simply and richly. It’s now Sunday and I am SO excited! I only recently told you about my lack of success with growing Moringa oleifera. I had purchased seed online several times and no matter what I did it wouldn’t germinate. I blamed on selling and old seed BUT that didn’t stop me from tossing the last of the seed that I bought about 2 years ago into my automatic sprouter along with the purple king beans that Bev recently sent me and the last of the beansprouts that we used most of last night in a wonderful stirfry. I was watering the strawberries when Steve called out to me and came out of the shed with his hands cupped around something. I thought that he had caught one of the little banjo frogs that live amongst our potted plants eating the insects that are attracted to the moisture but he had one of the Moringa seeds in his hands and it had sprouted! As my dad would have most euphemistically spouted “You could have bloody well knocked me over with a feather!” The only reason I tossed the seed into the sprouter was so that I could emphatically finish the sad saga of the Moringa and call it the bad lot that it was but it paid off and I might just get those (well…at least one!) Moringa’s that I have lusted after. That’s the thing about growing things from seed and cuttings, you get a chance to mess about with the mystery of life and the end results can be nothing short of enlightening :o)

Lest we forget…

Buttercups!

We managed to grow at least 1 Muscat grape from our original vine that we left with our daughters in town and hopefully we should get some more as the cuttings are starting to leaf up well

It was Remembrance Day today. We remembered. I remembered my grandfathers who both went to war. My dad’s dad was in both wars and my mums dad was in WW2 in Papua New Guinea. I remembered that the fantastic life that we lead today is only because of these men who were brave enough to do what their country called them to do. I am not talking about whether or not they SHOULD have been called to war…just that they were ready to go to protect their families and their country…nothing is nobler than being willing to lay down your life. We were over at Glads collecting a trailer load of grass clippings and old dead leaves to bring back and inoculate our new hot compost heap with. We had been chatting to Glad and Steve was still enviously staring at the sky where not 1 but 2 sea planes were swooping low…landing in the water and then taking off again in tandem when Glad said “must be getting near 11…” and we remembered that we needed to observe 1 minute’s silence. Glad headed indoors and Steve started the car and then suddenly stopped it. From the car radio the last post rang out clear and pure and flowed down to flood the river where boatloads of people stopped what they were doing and looked up and listened. We do remember grandad. We remember that life is too short to wage war on each other and that any time there are enough brave men who are willing to lay down the law there in the midst is humanity. Thank you SO much for what you did for us. For the chance to be able to think what we want to think…do what we want to do and be who we want to be. I don’t know much about what my grandad’s went through. I know that my dad’s dad got gassed by mustard gas. I know that my mum’s dad came back harbouring a particularly virulent form of malaria and had to spend a long time convalescing in hospital. I know that neither of them would have been the same after they returned and the burden of what they had witnessed burned deep into their psyche forever. All I know is that I will be eternally grateful for what they did for me.

Serendipity Farm looking “spesh” for spring 🙂

A plethora of eggs

Bean futures on steroids with a punnet of bicolour corn and some tiny little Cavello Nero

I also remembered something else. I remembered back when I was at school and played the tuba in the school brass band. I remember how on Remembrance Day we would all be shuffled off in uniform to march from the school down to the memorial and most of the town would turn up stoic and scrubbed and looking like the farmers playing dress up that they were. Uncomfortable in their suits and shiny shoes but as soon as the last post started we all stood to attention and we listened…a whole community united by remembrance. After the last post and some other cornet interlude played by a quavering youth whose adolescent honking usually only bore a vague resemblance to the original score, we marched right back to the school and back to our lives without much more thought about what we were remembering. I remember the weight of that tuba…I remember the song that we played as we marched and the “Boom Boom” of the big bass drum. I remember how badly we marched and how heavy that damned tuba started to get about halfway down to that memorial. The memorial had the epitaph “Lest We Forget” emblazoned on its monolithic brow and we never forgot…not once…to march for the soldiers.

Things certainly grow quicker in spring. This is the little walnut that was only just out of the ground on Saturday…

and this is one of the little hazelnuts that stratified over winter and we forgot about till we wanted the esky back. The little nut trees are being protected by the wheelbarrow till they are old enough to move out of the shed as Pingu the great defoliater lives in the shed with them!

The weather is starting to heat up and my thoughts are turning to irrigation systems. We have a lot of irons in the fire at the moment and as one iron gets beaten by the blacksmiths hammer of activity, the others have to lay there smouldering until we can get around to dealing with them. Irrigation is going to have to come to the fore soon as we have been planting out our precious babies and whilst they are going great guns with the spring rain that we have been having, pretty soon we will hit our 3 months of summer with very little rainfall and we need to be ready to irrigate. The cleverest way to irrigate our widespread trees is to use black polypipe and brown dripper hose in a circle around the tree/shrub that you want to irrigate in a series of watering stations. Black polypipe is cheap… brown dripper hose is not. That’s why you need to use a whole lot more black polypipe than brown dripper hose and make it count. You also need to ensure that the precious moisture that you are giving your plants stays put in the ground around their root zone and so you have to mulch Mulch MULCH to the max. In a couple of years’ time our trees won’t need our supplemental water. Till they are able to establish deep and decent root systems we will need to give them enough to survive on till they can stand on their own two feet. We are always mindful of our sustainable ethos here on Serendipity Farm and one thing that has been grating on our consciences is the lack of a large water tank to take advantage of the annual winter rainfall that cascades from every orifice on site. We have several outbuildings on the property and any one of them could be collecting precious sky water for use over summer. I wish we could afford an enormous rainwater tank but we simply can’t. That won’t stop me looking for as many water barrels as I can over the coming year to shove under drainpipes and harvest next year’s water but for now my frustration at not being able to have collected all the water that we need for the summer watering regimen is pretty high.

My new fortified compost pumpkin and potato future bin. Good luck breaking in possums…I overengineered it to the max!

Our veggies are going great guns. They seem to like the position in full sun that we gave them and are growing like crazy. The tomatoes are happy and I am about to trial pinching out the shoots on the tomatoes and potting them up to grow tomato cuttings to keep the harvest growing well into next year. I learned this technique from Bev at “FoodnStuff” a wonderful Victorian blog that taught me all about water wicking garden beds and Hugelkultur gardening techniques. Bev is a mine of information and is living real. Check out her website for some wonderful ways to garden Aussie style :o)

http://foodnstuff.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/dehydrated-pumpkin/

That post was a most interesting run down on preserving pumpkin for future use. Rabid little Hippy just told me about another new Aussie sustainability blog that one of her friends has started up in Queensland. It’s called The Tropical Hippy and although she hasn’t posted many posts yet this blog promises to be a most interesting read and I have tucked it in my rss feed reader between “These Light Footsteps” and “Turning Veganese”. I hope she likes the company ;). If you would like to check her out feel free to wander on over to

http://thetropicalhippy.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/growing-veges-from-veges/

And this post should reward your efforts handsomely. It’s about growing vegetables from the ends of other vegetables and is great fun!

The tip strawberries that are now incredibly happy (and also fortified) and are just about to start producing strawberries for us. Some of the berries are starting to turn red…Hopefully there will be some strawberries left to show you 😉

I am SO glad that I had this mostly done post cribbed up my sleeve! We have been working exceptionally hard this week to finish off a mammoth design each and suddenly it’s Wednesday and my eyes are sore and twitchy from being forced to watch a computer monitor for hour after hour. I actually really enjoyed the process though. AutoCAD and I have had a bit of a history going. We didn’t like each other much and we still treat each other with a degree of suspicion but we are learning to get along now and I am actually proud of the sustainable landscape design idea that I created. In the few brief minutes that we allowed ourselves away from the computer I fortified the compost heap because I had an epiphany. I was tossing the latest contents of my compost bucket onto the heap under the interested gaze of the chooks who instantly fall on any scraps with gusto and scratch them all over the place eating very few of them (fussy sods!) and leaving the way open for the possums to wander about scarfing scraps at their leisure. I have been noticing pumpkins popping up in the compost bin along with a potato growing out the side. The potato has lost its leaves to wayfaring wallabies but the pumpkins were managing to survive because I tossed a large dead lavender into the compost because it was too hard to snip up and was waiting for it to decompose and it was protecting some of the young pumpkins from the possums…as I upturned the compost bucket into the compost bin I thought to myself…”why don’t I contain this compost bin and grow spuds and pumpkins in it?”…just like that I had a great idea! Serendipity Farm soil isn’t anything to write home about thanks to the heavy clay and the plethora of rocks BUT my compost bin has been sitting there full of happy worms elevated above the rocks and the clay and things are growing in it magnificently. Rather than hump the compost off to the veggie garden, I am just going to plant the veggies IN the compost! A win-win situation all round and so I headed outside with the dregs of a bag of King Edward spuds that had gone to sprouts and some Kipflers that we bought a while ago that I just never quite got around to planting. I am going to put a trellis up the side of the chook house and train the pumpkins up the trellis. Once the pumpkin gets to the chook roof it will have all the space to run laterally that it can and hopefully, if I do my job and keep it happy with food and water, I will get some pumpkins AND the chook house will get some thermal insulation against the heat of the day.

Cacti enjoying the sunshine in their pot 🙂

Ok, it’s just about time to post this post and I am going to spend the evening (you guessed it) staring at the computer screen doing a bit more work to complete one of our final units. In a few weeks we won’t be horticulture students any more. We will students of fortune…our own good fortune. We will have time to spend in the garden. We will have all day, every day, to put our heads together and make gates, bean beds and sort out our chook yard. We have applied for the graphic art and printing course that we want to do next year and now we just have to wait to see if we get accepted. I am really enjoying the processes of Serendipity Farm in the spring. I was looking out the window this morning at some of the hard work that we have done here and realised that it feels like “our place” now. The amount of pleasure that I get out of getting down and dirty is completely out of proportion to the act of getting down and dirty. I have a sense of peace and happiness that I haven’t had in ages and I feel like a woman in her castle…perhaps we should have called this place “Serenity Farm” ;). To all of you who don’t know what I am talking about…go watch one of the few amazing Aussie movies called “The Castle” and you will get it :o). See you all on Saturday when we will be up to our armpits in beans and we had better have remembered to get that bird netting to protect them or they might take over Serendipity Farm! :o)

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jmgoyder
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 18:43:41

    What a lovely life!

    Reply

  2. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 20:00:47

    Beautiful pictures, as always 🙂 I grasp your meaning about frugality, too. I think once you start thinking differently and focusing on saving or making your own (or making do), your perspective shifts. Conversely, if you spend a lot you get used to that too! I also relate to the customs challenges, WA borders being what they are :S

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 14, 2012 @ 21:52:26

      Yeh I know…we are originally from W.A. I had never seen a sparrow, starling or blackbird before I moved to Tasmania ;). I think frugality breeds a pioneering spirit. The more we learn to make do, recycle, repurpose and reuse and find innovative ways to get what we want by thinking laterally the more exciting our life is getting. All sorts of doors are starting to open for us and being penniless student hippies is a whole lot more fun than you would imagine ;). Thank you for liking the photos…I only share the good ones and my poor long suffering camera is cram packed full of sideways shots, photos with my thumb over them, steamed up lens food shots and shots of me hightailing it out of the picture that I have sworn to remove Steve’s manhood should he EVER feel the need to share them with anyone :).

      Reply

  3. rabidlittlehippy
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 21:58:06

    Lest we forget! I was mid-drive to Ballan when the last post played. Orik was asleep so off went the kids film and they sat and listened to the last post whilst I drove along, sobbing. Both my grandfathers fought in WWII and I think my Papa had a brother in WWI (not sure if he came home or not – he was MUCH older than my Papa) but the last post has always made me emotional, particularly since it was played at Papa’s funeral.
    Your pumpkin thermal protection idea is brilliant and the other bonus is that the fruts may be safe from marauding chooks up on the roof too as well as away from lying on the ground getting damp. Just make sure you can reach them to harvest.

    As for being frugal, it’s a great lifestyle whether or not you need to be frugal. Op shopping is far more exciting than walking into a shop and buying off the rack and not only is it cheaper but it’s usually better quality (cheap crap falls apart before hitting the op shop racks). Home gardening is such a huge one too. Organic food really is so much more superior than “conventionally grown” in taste and health benefits but it sure is exy. Growing it takes nothing more than a little labour and very little money. And there is absolutely NOTHING that compares to the taste of a sun ripened and warmed fresh home picked straight off the vine and into the mouth strawberry or tomato. Mmmmmm

    I’m in for seed swapping for sure! Not sure how I’ll go with harvesting them being my first year but I’ll give it a go. 🙂

    Your hole in the ozone explains why I managed to burn blisters on my shoulders in 30 minutes in the sun in Georgetown a few years back too. I know I’m fair and burn fast but your sun is ridiculously vicious. I’m buying a HE-UGE sombrero if I visit yours in Summer.

    By the by, I’ve nominated you for a sunshine award on my blog. It’s one of those obligation free things but it’s a nice way to share the bloggy love.

    And I totally recommend the Tropical Hippy too. She’s lovely and her blog is fantastic. One to follow and see what happens for sure.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 14, 2012 @ 22:24:31

      I put The Tropical Hippy in my rss feed reader which is much more fun than following someone. I get to stumble out of bed in the dark at 5am put the kettle on and settle down to a 2 hour marathon of reading my overstuffed blog reader. Frugality is something that I am really starting to appreciate. It seems the more frugal I become, the simpler my life becomes and the happier I am :). I will be eccstatic when our studies finish for the year and I can get out into that face melting sun and start doing some serious work. When we turned up in Tasmania my dad picked us up from the airport and I remember sitting in the car and feeling my thigh burning through my jeans and thinking “what have we done!”…I thought it was hot in W.A.! It’s not so much hot as penetrating. I am just about to head out in the dark to do a happy dance with the torch just to show the possums who is da boss! No more late night fur fights over the contents of my compost bin…its MINE! Well…it’s mine AND the pumpkins ;). Cheers for the sunshine award. I tend not to do much about them as I think that they are really just like chain letters BUT I totally appreciate the kudos and am very chuffed by the thought 🙂 (Plus I am too lazy to do all the gumpf that is expected when you get bestowed with one 😉 ). I am the same with the seedy biz because this is the first year that we are growing our veggies as well. I think I will be amassing seeds more than swapping at first but whenever I come across interesting seed I will share. I recently bought some tepary bean seed. It’s apparently an arid dry bean species, very nutritious and will grow on the sniff of dew and in drought it keeps on keeping on. I know that Tasmania isn’t known for its drought conditions but here in Northern Tas we get extended dry periods over summer and it might be interesting to see if we can grow them. I will save seed as its an ancient North American Indian bean originally and I will share :). Sharing the seedy love is a great way of looking at it! I am a bit of a magpie and a generous one at that. I love to swap and share and anything Tasmanian that you would like to have a go at growing, let me know. Have a great rest of your week…I will read your posts tomorrow as I am knackered after spending all day studying and planning and my eyes feel like I have been rubbing onions into them…time for some magic restorative sleep 🙂

      Reply

  4. rabidlittlehippy
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 08:10:12

    A thousand year old Huon pine maybe? At this stage we’re looking for Australian natives that can handle gross amounts of water – replacements for our silver poplars. I know there are melaleucas and acacias that fit that bill, as do river red gums but the RRG’s are all too big for where we want them. Any suggestions there? No taller than maybe 8-10m, no branch dropping, needs to be able to cope with waterlogged roots.
    I’ve just bought 4 more lots of beans to plan – borlotti, butter, scarlet runner and for next year, broad beans. I’m going to have an absolute rainbow of beans with purple, yellow, green and red and white.Not to mention all the pretty flowers! Any I’ve missed?

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:08:09

      Purple kings? I just got sent some from Bev, another Victorian blogger and have just planted them out. If they do well here I will send you some to try :). How about Tristaniopsis laurina (Water gum) for your wet patch? They love water (as hinted by their name) and they are really quite beautiful in their own right and don’t look much like gums at all (I certainly wouldn’t have picked them as gums 😉 ). I just found this that might give you a hand. If you don’t know what the plant is, just copy and paste into google images and have a look and see if it might be what you are after 🙂

      http://www.acs.edu.au/info/hobby/landscaping/wet-soil-plants.aspx

      Reply

      • rabidlittlehippy
        Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:43:08

        Already got my purple kings in. 😀 I’m gonna be up to my eyeballs in beans which I am the only one that eats them (I can smuggle them into spag bol etc though) but they’re all gonna look so purdy! The Borlotti beans I will dry to make baked beans out of. I need to perfect my cheese and tomato sauce and then I can can them for those days I CBF cooking; 😉 Beans on toast WITHOUT BPA lined cans, artificial colours, flavours or preservatives. Gotta love that right?
        Great minds clearly think alike though, I have that page already marked in my favourites folder. 😀 The Kanooka looks like a goer too. Thanks!

  5. christiok
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 11:26:41

    Farinaceous! Fran, your vocabulary amazes me. Great word!:) I clicked on the Wychwood link and love the 7-circuit labyrinth. How cool. There is a public labyrinth on Bainbridge Island where our dentist is, and I like to walk it sometimes after an appointment. It’s a gorgeous Relationship Labyrinth, with two paths on the same circuit. How cool, also, that you and Glad and your whole community were silent for a moment on Remembrance Day. To remember and thank, without judgment. I LOVE that you played the tuba!!!:)Serendipity Farm looks gorgeous in the spring sun. Your photos nourish my soul as we are deep into autumn here, and it’s dark by 4:45pm! Hugs and kisses to you and all your vegetable seedlings.:)

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:16:18

      I will (after looking around so that none of the already suspicious neighbours notice me) give the new corn seedlings a little cuddle for you before I plant them out. I wish we lived closer so I could share our walnuts and hazelnut bumper crop with you. We could go into business as purveyors of all things nutty! We may not have the most buff of husbands BUT we could have a sock full of walnuts whenever we damned well pleased ;). Your photos of Farmlet nourished my soul through winter this year and gave me all sorts of ideas about our own garden :). Steve is off getting large rolls of free ex fish farm rope netting so that we can sort out our pesky chooks. Another 7 ferals hatched out yesterday and are being led about by their dazed mother…most probably into the waiting maw of felix who appears to have given birth to another litter while her heavily pregnant youngest is just about to do the same…we are going to HAVE to deal with them now :(. On a positive note, we have all kinds of beans growing like mad here. I might see if I can get you to dry me out some of your native berries, cherries etc. in the next growing season and I will do the same here and we can vacuum seal them and see if they get through customs…it’s amazing what my Aunty Edna sends me you know…I have told her over and over and OVER again, officer, that she can’t send these things through the post but she is elderly and doesn’t quite get it…terribly sorry for the trouble ;).

      Reply

  6. bakermom
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 15:57:49

    I enjoyed yet another post of yours. I am way behind, since I cant figure out how to rss it, just check in on you once in a while. Speaking of frugal, I remember a quilting groups I used to belong to. The little old, old ladies would quilt and tell us stories and titter. They were surprised we didn’t wash and reuse our aluminum foil. the idea of just throwing eveything away, even perfectly good reusable stuff just boggled their minds. Because of their influence, I think twice before I throw anything out, just in case there is something else I can do with it. At least until there gets to be too much junk or it has been sitting around for over a year and still hasnt been used. There is a fine line I guess between saving, reusing and hoarding. Oh wow, look at the time. Take care down there and keep sharing.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 16, 2012 @ 05:08:24

      I have been loving your series of posts about visiting your aunts inn. It really brings home the value and precious nature of family in the holiday seasons and how important it is to reconnect 🙂

      Reply

  7. argylesock
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 20:38:20

    I’m glad you remember the fallen. So do I. It’s so moving that people all around the world remember.

    I wrote about it http://argylesock.wordpress.com/2012/11/03/poppies/ and http://argylesock.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/woodland-of-the-month-national-memorial-arboretum/

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 16, 2012 @ 05:06:51

      My dad’s grandfather fought in both world wars and mum mums in the second and my great uncle Oscar was killed in WW1…he died in his brothers arms. So many lives were lost and here in Australia we have a very strong tradition of remembering. I come from Albany Western Australia and that is where our Australian fleet last saw Australian shores before they headed off to Gallipoli where many of them lost their lives. None of us should ever forget what these brave men did for us. Whatever we think about war we need to remember that this was a different time and these men stood up for their country and their families and headed out knowing that they may never return. There truly isn’t any sacrifice that a man can make for his country or his family than laying down his life. I will always remember. Thank you for your posts by the way…it IS wonderful that it is remembered all over the world. If you remember the pain of the past it is easier to stop the attrocities of the future.

      Reply

  8. argylesock
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 05:59:09

    I like it that you didn’t get drawn into whether or not the wars should have happened. As you say, these were different times. I’m reading a biography of Lord Alfred Douglas and seeing how he was a man of his time, holding opinions that I don’t hold (anti-Semitic, anti-German) and I remember the racist attitudes my Grampa had about Arabs. But I wear my poppy with pride because these people laid down their lives for the freedom they believed in.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 16, 2012 @ 06:06:07

      My sentiments exactly. They didn’t have the education that we have and they didn’t have the exposure to the world that social media and technology have given us. Back then the world was a much smaller place and what these men did was effectively lay down their lives for us. My fathers side of the family descend from Germans. One side of the family were fighting for the Aussies (and the Americans apparently) and the other side was fighting for the Germans. The American side sunk a German U-boat with one of the German side on it. Ironic and most poignant…no-one wins (aside from the people selling the war machine that is!) from war.

      Reply

  9. Katie Glenn
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 07:49:08

    Your place seems like such a magical place.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Nov 17, 2012 @ 17:13:12

      Lol…You only get to see the nice stuff on the blog Katie ;). You don’t get to see how tired we get after all that hard work and how we fall asleep drooling at 7pm…you don’t get to see us upside down in our king sized bed at the foot of the bed because the dogs got to the head of the bed first…you don’t see all sorts of things (like the chook poo…the manure that we spend most of our lives digging in…) BUT it is a pretty amazing place to live and we totally appreciate our amazing lot in life 🙂

      Reply

  10. brymnsons
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 18:47:57

    Some lovely photos again Fran. I have been a busy bee this week and only just got to read your blogs today. It is amazing how quickly people just chuck stuff without a second thought. I blame the fast food industry lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

