Quick little post

Hi All,

I don’t normally post on a Monday morning especially at 6am! It’s not that I am overwhelmed by patriotic servetude to Her Majesty the Queen of England (and because we are a Commonwealth country…us as well…) but it’s because I have been nominated for an award. I have previously ignored award giving to this day. Sorry to anyone who has attempted to bestow award capabilities on my head (namely  Wooly Warm’s Farm). I am not good at taking kudos because I am merely telling it like it is here…my life…the life of my fellow creatures (Steve included) on Serendipity Farm and how life is attempting to shake me about on any given day…much like every other D.N.A. representitive on this planet, we are all unique and have a story to tell and this is “my story”. I am just glad that some of you feel a kindred spirit enough to continue reading my random thoughts, crazy rants and winsome whilings with the odd sustainable attempt at trying to make this place habitable for future generations. I was just about to ignore this latest award when I realised that this was my chance to actually thank some of the blogs that have made me excited about getting up in the morning…the blogs that I can’t wait to read whenever they post and to those bloggers who have really made a difference to Serendipity Farm via the endless searching of an aging hippy student magpie. So heres the dirty… I was nominated for

“The Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content” by Food Stories ( http://foodstoriesblog.com/ ). I get to choose a little picture and I chose this one…

It was a toss up between this one and a lamp plugged into an apple…this one got the nod in the end!

I have to share 1 thing about myself…which is going to be hard because in my year of living honestly, you guys know pretty much EVERYTHING about me?…what will I tell you? Will I mention that as a 12 year old, because I was of “sturdy build” I was given the dubious honour (which I kindly passed onto my sister…) of playing the tuba in our school band… nope…I don’t think I will mention that…ok, what about this… I can find my way from my bedroom all through the house in the dark without falling over the dog once…nope…not interesting enough…hmmm this is tough! how about…I did 2 years and a couple of certificates at a cookery school? Nah…who cares! This is harder than it would initially seem! I know… I LOVE fungus. There…that’s something about me that most of you wouldn’t know. I have a (some might say strange) addiction to mycelium in all forms.  I am even contemplating going to university after this current diploma to take my delight at this anomaly of the plant world to new and ever increasing heights. There you go! I, like the humble mushroom, am used to being kept in the dark and being fed bullsh#t and so I feel a kindred spirit with this delightful and usually forgotten plant genre that we all take for granted. Without them you would have no bread…no beer! We would be up to our eyeballs in dead plant matter and life would lose its fun.

(now what do I do…)

Ok now I list the people that I want to give an award to…here goes you guys and you are the true recipients of this award!

1. Spencer from Anthropogen.com my “go to” site for ANYTHING about agroforestry, food forests and sustainable growing practices

2. Kirsten and Nick from Milkwood.net for everything…absolutely EVERYTHING to do with permaculture, sustainability, environmental protection, ingenious ways of doing things that enhance all of our lives and somewhere this little black magpie duck can just get lost for hours!

3. Christi at Farmlet.wordpress.com because I found Christi and her long suffering partner “The Bearded One” on the other side of the earth doing pretty much the same thing that we are…running scared and trying to do the best that we can with what we have. Fellow kindred spirits and people who give a damn and its rare to find someone that you instantly connect with. I found her through an image search for how to make a polytunnel yourself and her picture of the delightful polytunnel made with branches from their property got me instantly adding her to my “Follow” list…

4. Rahel at Kosmos9.wordpress.com for being my constant reminder of what is actually going on in the world. I can’t be bothered browsing the news channels and neither should you! It makes you despondent and depressed. I always read Rahel’s posts because he gives me the goods and always trys to find something positive in them. Cheers Rahel, you deserve an award for all of your hard work!

5. Rhianna at mizrhi.wordpress.com for inspiring me with her wonderful recipes, for always rising like cream to the top and for constantly sharing with us how to do all things sustainably. She told me about RSS Feed Readers and for that Rhianna…you most DEFINATELY deserve this award 🙂

6. I am only supposed to do 5 of these…I am not one to be told what to do! Heres a last nomination because this last blog is delicious. I recently discovered it and would like to share it with you all. Here’s to you William and co at ourfriendben.wordpress.com The blog is called “Poor Richard’s Almanac” and its a plethora of good humour, intelligent banter and good frugal fun. Cheers for every single post that you post William and here’s to many more!

Isn’t the net great? I can tell these people all around the world that they are “The Bomb”! And they truly do deserve this award.

Now I am off to tell the people that I have nominated about my desire to lavish them with praise, honour, kudos and money…well…not the money (although they all deserve to win lotto!). Cheers to you all for adding a little bit of colour to this humble wordsmith’s life 🙂

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhianna
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 08:31:06

    Congratulations, Cheers and Thank You. You are quite deserving and it is so exciting that I should receive my first bloggers award from you! Thank you for sharing it with me 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 11, 2012 @ 08:55:28

      I am in the process of reducing my rss feed content…I went blog mad and have about 10 000 of them and your blogs are near the end so I have had trouble getting to you each day! A strange irony considering you showed me how to use rss feed in the first place ;). I will soon be back to a manageable amount of highly pertinent blogs (yours included) and will be regularly commenting on your blog again soon 🙂 You truly do deserve this award and are most welcome for me sharing it with you 🙂

      Reply

  2. microgardener
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 09:04:47

    Congratulations Fran! So proud of you. Keep up the great work and adventures. xx Anne 🙂

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 11, 2012 @ 20:27:01

      Cheers Annie but I really think that the “award” was just a way to get people to head on over to the givers site…a clever way to increase traffic!

      Reply

  3. Pinky
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 10:09:26

    Well done Fronkii. 🙂 I new your verbioseness would come in handy one day 😉 Heeheeheehee! Keep on talking the talk and walking the walk and blowing on your tuba for me. I know you have one, an old one lying about your house.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 11, 2012 @ 20:28:23

      We have a cornet…a trumpet…a balinese flute…a lap steel guitar… 12 various accoustic and electric guitars… a tiny Irish flute… a defunct drum… a tamborine and a few other harmonica thingies but NO TUBA! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Kym
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 18:19:04

    Well done Franee 🙂 x

    Reply

  5. ourfriendben
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 23:24:40

    Thanks so much for all the kind words Fran! Our friend Ben, Silence Dogood, and Richard Saunders over at Poor Richard’s Almanac (not to mention our occasional guest poster, OFB and Silence’s black German shepherd Shiloh) are thrilled and honored! We’re sure our hero and blog mentor, the great Benjamin Franklin, is smiling on you up in Heaven!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Jun 12, 2012 @ 09:25:30

      Along with Albert Einstein, Benjamin Franklin is one of my ultimate heros (oh…and Leonardo Da Vinci of course!)…Your blog is delicious, nutritious AND full of soluable and insoluable fibre…what’s not to like! 😉

      Reply

  6. Anthropogen
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 03:57:41

    Well first off, congratulations on your nomination, its well deserved! And secondly, thank you for nominating my site. I’ll follow the link you provided and learn more about it. And thank you for your continued interest in my site… it is the readers like you who appreciate the content that keep me interested and motivated to continue posting…

    Cheers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

