Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes…

Hi All
I haven’t developed a stutter due to excessive intake of alcohol there by the way (I just thought that I had best say that to placate my and Steve’s respective mothers who both read our blogs…”Hi Pat, Hi Mum :o)” it’s because of that David Bowie song. If you don’t know ‘that David Bowie song’ Changes, go to youtube as you can find everything there and probably about 10 different versions of it. I got into David Bowie when I was in my early high school years after a stint going whole hog on the Bay City Rollers. I doubt that you will find them on youtube as they are a phase of 70’s life that most people want to forget. Love you Eric! :o) Anyway, Bowie was the beginning of a much more interesting phase of my life where I discovered poetry and writing and all things internal. Steve was getting into Bowie around about the same time. That’s one thing that we have in common and that we both still love. David Bowie is a true chameleon and is still hot and interesting after all these years.


This must be from the late 60’s, early 70’s…look at that paisley shirt!

This shows his two different coloured eyes. He got the damaged eye from a schoolyard fight apparently

Here he is giving Bernard Fanning something to emulate…

Older and in a pirate phase apparently…

Not bad for someone who is almost 65. Incidentally, if you look up images for David Bowie, he must have been the most photographed man of all Rock Genius’s throughout his career. Going to Art College first, allowed him to get some very interesting interpretations of himself online! In saying that, can anyone explain what he is going to do with that pig…?

That one is just freaky and it shows his Art College background (and this was before photoshop!)

And last but by no means least, a group of the most influential “Young Dudes” ever to come out of the 60’s and 70’s…

I was looking through my pictures file in a vain attempt to get myself to throw out some of them to free up some space for some new pictures and found this…

This photo was taken at Christmas time before Steve moved out here to live and shows my sister and I. Is it just me, or does this seem like a lifetime ago? Steve and I have been married for 11 years now and I can hardly remember when this photo was taken. It obviously WAS taken because there we are…but it was such a long time ago that it’s blended into a past mass of existence. So much water has gone under the bridge since that photo. It’s been a most interesting experience making the choices that we have. I am of the belief that the only real thing that we have as individuals to change the direction of our lives, is freedom of choice. That’s what makes us unique and individual. I got sent a survey this morning asking me if I thought that it was important to allow people to have freedom of speech. Yes, of course it is…but freedom of choice is much MUCH more important. The same survey asked me if I thought that we should regulate what people are allowed to eat…NO! If someone wants to eat themselves into an early grave, that’s their choice. The same as you can exercise yourself into an early grave worry yourself into an early grave, take drugs until you expire… it’s your own personal choice and it should remain so. Stop telling us what to do do-gooders. Get yourselves a life and stop trying to force your own personal views on the rest of us. Regiment your own lives and be content in your own smug beliefs and self-satisfaction but don’t tell us that we need to change because you think that we should. I didn’t get the choice in the survey to deliver that bit of rhetoric, so I choose to put it here. I had freedom of choice to do so and here it is. I hope to never see the day that we have to think twice before we choose to do something, not because we will upset someone, but because we might get fined or imprisoned for doing it. Bollocks to all people trying to ban freedom of choice!


Here’s an angry mob for you…
And here is how interested in angry mobs we have become…you can buy an angry mob play set. I wonder if it’s for kiddies or for their parents?


And last, but by no means least, here is an Icelandic angry mob for my daughters…

Apparently they were rioting because “Icelandic television hosted a debate between the Prime Minister of the country and other political experts, only to have the station rushed by an angry mob, who forced the channel to shut down.” A perfectly valid reason for the oppressed masses to rise up against the establishment.
I just got my first spam comment. No idea what it was all about, just a jumbled mass of words. Makes you wonder why people bother with spamming blogs. I guess it gives them some sort of thrill and 15 seconds of fame (or annoyance). A bit sad really, but I guess that’s how some people roll. I put you in the bin spammers, along with Earls chewed up toilet roll and Pingu’s old uneaten chook crumbles. I hope that you will enjoy that illustrious company when we are wheeling you down for the next bin day. Have a great trip to the Beaconsfield tip. We keep seeing and hearing that song “Somebody that I used to know” by Gotye. I love that song! Hey Nat…did you notice how Gotye looks a bit like Cody? Is anyone else out there sad about Spicks and Specks finishing up? It’s always the good stuff isn’t it? Steve and I were watching a special bloopers or memories or something like that edition on ABC2 last night and we almost died laughing at a segment where Frank Woodley reinacted that scene where Little Nell was performing her song and her boobs (such as they were) kept popping out. When he had finished his privates apparently fell out and Myf Warhurst and Adam Hills were hysterical. Frank Woodley kept walking around with his bits dangling and Hamish Blake trying to cover them up and in the end Hamish just gave up and Frank was walking around with one testicle hanging out and the entire audience was falling about in stitches while he just stood there dead pan. That man needs an award for his balls literally! Here it is on good old youtube if you missed it…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-MRk_BKYFI
I will miss the spontaneity of Spicks and Specks. I never would have heard of Reginald D Hunter if I hadn’t watched it, or many other hilarious and talented artists. I think it was most bemusing for some of the international musicians to come on and have to deal with the sheer “Aussiness” of it all. Do you remember Hey Hey its Saturday Night? I remember Meatloaf on once and he just didn’t get the format of the show and pulled Dicky Knee’s head off. Dicky knee was a polystyrene ball on a stick that used to be cheeky to contestants. You never saw the front of Dicky, just the back of him with a black wig and a cap on and I think it traumatised a lot of kids out there in television land that thought that Dicky was real. It was right up with finding out that the tooth fairy wasn’t real…I think if you haven’t seen it, you would have to have been there or it just doesn’t make sense. Dicky knee kept calling him “Mr Loaf” and I guess he just didn’t like it.

I just swept the floor while Steve is out at Bonny Beach walking Earl and Bezial is sighing on the stair landing outside waiting for them to come back. I think that my knee might be on the mend but we are not pushing it and I am only walking once a day in the afternoon with Bezial. He thought that it was fun to get out of walking first up as we had a bit of a play, I let him out into the garden on his own which we can’t do when Earl is here because Earl has ‘issues’ and it takes ages to get him back. Bezial is an angel and just lays on the deck or has a bit of a wander before coming back. I guess it’s because he is 4 now and has a bit of sense. Earl has no sense apart from the sense of smell. Earl also has ‘issues’ with the vacuum cleaner. At first he was scared of it and ran away. He also runs away whenever he hears a ring tone on a mobile phone and my eldest daughter has a positively Earl terrifying ring tone of Christopher Lee singing some sort of French song and Earl has nightmares about that ring tone. He progresses rather quickly from fear to interest, to realising that the fear source is not really all that scary and suddenly he is at the point where he has to teach the fear source a lesson. That’s where it starts to become difficult. Mr Vacuum cleaner used to be safe. Earl would run a mile from him but now Earl has decided that Mr Vacuum cleaner has pushed his luck and it’s time to disassemble Mr Vacuum cleaner. Steve has to keep Earl outside when I am vacuuming as Earl can open doors with his nose if they are not locked and just pushes his way in and attacks. Mr Vacuum cleaner now has an oval nozzle due to Earl’s pressure on his nether regions. He is a bit the same with brooms but we are getting that tamed. I realised the other day that a good stiff broom is just as good as a vacuum cleaner in our house. We only have 1 area of carpet that we use and the broom can be out, utilised and replaced before Earl gets a whiff of it. Couple that with the increased exercise from the broom and the lack of electrical usage and suddenly the broom becomes something to be applauded. Technology nil, Old school one.

We have finally finished off all of the work for our diploma today. Steve put everything into folders and it has all been checked many times. I just know that sensei Nick is going to go through everything with a fine toothed comb, but we are ready for you Nick! I guess at the end of the day, you can only do your best and that’s what Nick has consistently gotten from us, our best. If we pass this unit that means that we have gained our Diploma of Horticulture which is a major step for both of us. Steve used to think that he wasn’t suited to studying but to see him now, you would never know that. His mum can be suitably proud of him because without Steve, I couldn’t have done this course. I am good at the reports and he is amazing with Autocad. I can’t count the times that he has fixed things up that even sensei Nick has no idea what happened. He is persistent and refuses to give up long after I have thrown my hands up in the air and gone to bed in disgust so thank you so much Steve for your stubborn strong will that overrides your total lack of patience and your bad temper. In the end, you are going to be the one that gets the most out of this achievement. You have really earned it :o). After that, I think I will head out into the lovely sunshine. We just had to bury one of the chickens that had a brick fall on him and squished him. It was a bit sad and we put him under the mulberry tree so that his ‘essence’ (in more ways than one…) will go into the tree. That’s where I want to go when I die, into ashes and under a tree because the tree will use my ashes and I will become part of the tree. Ok, that sunshine is calling me after a night of solid rain. Everything is clean and the ducks are ecstatic because their boat pond filled right to the top and they are duck diving all over the place. See you all tomorrow.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mum.
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 13:34:28

    I was just going outside when I checked & saw your blog Pen. Time marches on rapid like, looking at those old photo’s! I agree about Spicks & Specks, they are the best, & you can laugh with them. Poor Myf was all but crying after that episode! All harmelss fun, so they take it off. Quite a lot of months ago, channel 7 decided we country yokels didn’t need Deal or No Deal, so they added more woe & misery news in it’s place at 5.30 pm., yet when that time comes around, Bunbury keeps saying now to Deal or No deal, but not to us down here. Bugger us for what we liked. That sure tells you, all the southern west coast is a suburb of Perth, with all the wanks along there. Albany & Denmark made first places in wine comps recently, so they sure won’t like being beaten! See email. Poor little chicken, the sky fell on it. Jims hen had 5, but one died, but I hope she has more luck this time.
    Hey, it’s not if, but when you pass your final test, you can breath a big sigh of relief, & be very proud of yourselves. You stuck with it right through, & I’m sure Nick will be very pleased that you have both come through it all without going bald with stress! Give my regards to him for me please . Glad your knee is improving too, but don’t push it .

    Reply

  2. Piny
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 23:06:48

    Once upon a time, I used to look like that. I wonder where she is now?

    Reply

  3. Pinky
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 23:07:35

    That should be “Pinky”

    Reply

  4. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 06:46:54

    David Bowie has really made some interesting movies.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Apr 12, 2013 @ 16:55:03

      I loved the Labyrinth and Steve has watched just about all of them but just called out “I never watched Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence” so there you go! 🙂 We both love Bowie and that is unusual for us, we have very different tastes 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

