I need these cars!

Hi All,
I have 8 people following my blog! Thank you all and hopefully you won’t get brain worms from reading about our day to day grind and my random ranting’s…I officially don’t like a car. Do you want to know why? Because at 59kg it weighs less than me. The second car is just over Steve’s weight at 90kg. I told a lie, I LOVE these cars! I wish I had one. I just watched Jeremy Clarkson drive the lighter one all over London, up into the BBC building, all over the place. He used a handle on the back to tow it around when he wasn’t able to drive it. It’s the ultimate teeny weeny handbag accessory, in fact, who would NEED a handbag if you had one of these? You could just use the glove box as your handbag and apparently they were only 192 pounds when they came out back in 1962 so that would make them considerably cheaper than comparative Prada…. They are the Peel P 50…

and here’s another view…

And the Peel Trident which appears to combine the attributes of the P 50, with a huge bubble top so that everyone can look down on your bald spot as you trundle between their legs on the footpath. Much more fun than a pushbike (and a whole lot less exercise) and probably the most fun on 3 wheels. I wonder why Mr Bean didn’t drive one of these.

I just had an epiphany! Back in the summer of 2005, Steve received some money from his late Aunty Min’s estate. Most surprisingly it was a reasonably considerable amount and so we had a bit of a think about it and tossed up what to do with it. We could have bought ourselves a small modest new car, but we decided that it was unlikely that Steve would get the chance to be able to head over to the UK to see his mum in the near future and so Steve, all of the kids and I headed over to stay with his poor long suffering mum and brother and sister in law for 6 weeks. I was just checking out some more information about the Peel P 50 on my most reliable source of information available to me online (Wikipedia) and after checking out one of the links, I found a photo that instantly brought me back to the UK. It was a line of 4 Peel cars and I remember going to the very same museum and seeing this line of cars! I know that my family subscribe to this blog and whether they read it or not, they were polite enough to subscribe to it, so if you are actually reading this you guys, do you remember these cars?

Awesome! I love these cars even more now…
I have an ‘arrangement’ with the local possums. When we first moved here we were so terrified of the possibility of possum mass consumption of our precious plant babies, that we built a compound to not only house the dog IN but to keep the possums OUT. We most ingeniously thought that if the dog was inside the compound, that the possums would very soon learn to stay out of the compound, possum love being very low on Bezials tolerance threshold. This system worked flawlessly until the arrival of El Chupacabra whence the whole system ground to a thumping halt and half of our precious babies sustained severe damage (even death) due to the gentle caresses of his mandibles. I had to think of a way to stop the possums from cramming themselves silly on our precious babies’ tender shoots, so I hatched a clever plan (much along the lines of Baldric’s clever plans…) and decided to start feeding the possums. Remember my old adage “if you can’t beat them, join them”… well I didn’t fancy eating our plants, so started to feed the possums chocolate biscuits, peanut butter sandwiches and fruit. It soon became quite expensive as the local possums advertised the fact that they were getting all manner of delicious treats and invited their friends for dinner and fighting. There is only one thing that brush tailed possums love more than eating everything in sight, and that is fighting with each other.
We put up with the possums thundering across the roof, down the drainpipes and onto the deck where they scoffed their weights in apples each night. I keep an orchard just up the road operating with the amount of apples that we purchase for these possums. Everything would be still working like a well-oiled machine, had the possums not decided to push the limits of our agreement. We liberated a lovely big Japanese maple from a massive tangle of banksia rose (dead), jasmine (half dead) and various other climbers like honeysuckle and banana passionfruit. Most people who used to visit my father would be quite surprised to learn that there was actually a set of stairs leading to the ground from the deck because the entire series of stairs was totally entangled in vines. Steve and I set too to liberate the stairs and the maple and at the beginning of spring, when all of the tender baby leaves started to grow, the possums went on the rampage and started stripping the new leaves from the maple. They didn’t want to eat it, they don’t actually like maple leaves, they were just mucking about as is a brush tailed possums want. They are larrikins. I needed to teach them a lesson! I stopped feeding the possums over on the landing of the steps. I put a bench on the landing instead (now somewhat covered in reprobate possum poo, but it still makes it a bit of a problem to get up into the tree) and I started throwing the apples onto the ground from the deck, just outside the sliding doors so as to dissuade them from mucking about in the trees after they have their midnight snack. Should they choose to bring their mates, they can frolic about with the feral cats, heft apple chunks at each other, wrestle with the wallabies that also share the apple chunks and generally make nuisances of themselves and stir up the dogs but they seem to be leaving the maple be now. I suppose it might also be that the maples leaves are no longer tender and young, but that is entirely incidental!
Has anyone else noticed the amazing full moon of late? Its spectacular here and we get an amazing view of it sparkling on the water from our lounge room at night time. I just realised that I completely forgot to tell you what it was about the possums that I wanted to get to at the beginning of this post… I tend to wander all over the place so sorry if I occasionally get lost…I buy apples at a local orchard for the possums now because I got tired of paying out for biscuits, peanut butter and bread for them. They stopped honouring our agreement, and so I decided to limit my liabilities and downgraded to straight fruit which I can occasionally get for free or at the most, cheap from various sources. They have had blackberries from the hedgerows (free), peaches (cheap as chips from an orchard up the road), pears from our tree and the occasional apple from apple trees on the side of the road but usually I buy them as ‘juicing apples’ for $3 for 5kg which lasts me just on a week of possum feeding. The feral cat costs us just on $15 a fortnight, so the possums come in much cheaper. The feral cat gives the dogs something to complain about, hangs out with and amuses the chooks, keeps the mouse/rat population down and so is worth the $15 worth of food that it eats where the possums are pushing their luck and are more of a pain than they are worth, but I am ever a creature of habit and they have become a habit of mine now so they will probably be fed forever so long as they don’t do anything that totally negates our agreement. We were driving past a different orchard (we have many around here as well as a salmon farm and a dairy and walnut farm and the ubiquitous vineyards…) and we noticed they were jumping on the bandwagon selling juice apples. I am not averse to trying out other sources if they are cheaper and this one promised to be considerably cheaper even if it was only a one off occasion as we picked up about 50kg of apples for $5…we got home expecting them to be mostly manky and rotten but prepared for that as we could toss them into our compost heap to give the worms a nice change from manure and straw, but the apples were all sound, good enough to eat and extremely good value! They are languishing out in the shed where I grab them each night to feed the possums and have been eating some myself. Not bad for the equivalent of 10c a kilo eh? :o)

And here’s what they looked like…

We have been having a pretty lazy day today. It’s been reasonably warm here and so the sun has been lovely to bask in. We had a beer out on the deck earlier on but didn’t end up getting stuck into the garden like we were going to as my hay source has dried up for a couple of weeks. I dropped some eggs off to Freda, that very nice lady who showed us around her garden and she gave me some tiny alpine anemones, some even tinier scillas and a huge bag full of large crocus that she had dug out of her garden. You couldn’t see where she had dug them so that should tell you how many she has crammed into her garden.  She showed me some more of her lovely garden and she has all kinds of hostas and lovely tiny alpine plants in pots as well as some lovely coloured cliveas (including yellow). She also has a little section of her garden dedicated to her small dendrobium orchids that are all in flower. She decided that she had to get rid of her hot house as it was taking up too much room, and gave away most of her orchids but kept the little dendrobiums and crossed her fingers over this winter that they wouldn’t croak. They are in pots amongst some dense trees and seem to be thriving by the look of them so her ploy worked. Sometimes you just have to go with your instincts and have a go. I have some cold climate orchids that I was given a while ago. I think that they are Russian, and they seem to be very happily dividing away so I am going to give Freda some of them. They love the cold; they love snow so I would imagine that living in Beaconsfield will be like a trip to the tropics for these little babies. Aren’t plants amazing? Whether you think you like them or not, there is a plant for everyone out there. I have a very large stand of perennials that grow here every year. They are called Amorphophallus konjac and have the most interesting feature. Apart from the attractive leaves and the very unusual flower that is enormous, dark maroon and somewhat arum like, they smell like road kill. Thank goodness that they are situated halfway down the drive and the fact that they had a VERY good year last year thanks to the rain and apparently seeded their way most of the way through the stand of Tea tree’s they are almost to plague proportions will not have me feeling nauseous every time the wind blows in this direction. Here’s what they look like…

Ok, that’s enough for today. I am off to have a large bowl of Steve’s amazing vegetable soup. He has delicious fresh bread with his and a lovely apple crumble with almonds and cinnamon in the crumble accompanied with vanilla ice-cream. I just get the soup, but you know what? I am started to feel a whole lot healthier and Steve’s soup is delicious so I won’t feel like I am missing out. Have a great evening everyone and enjoy your day tomorrow.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mum
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 19:14:34

    Hey Pen, are these the same as those I had in Brazier street? They stunk to billyo, remember? If you take the stamen out, it removes the smell by the way, but they attract the blowies too. Mum

    Reply

  2. Kreebard
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 19:21:34

    Just to give you some acknowledgement, yes, yes I do remember those cars. I was surprised that Jeremy Clarkson could fit into one of those, actually (height and… weight-wise).
    We shall see you soon, I suppose.
    -El Mingo

    Reply

  3. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 23:42:14

    I do like small cars, but not that small. We drive a Prius. My husband commutes to work. He carpools with a guy. Living out in the middle of nowhere, we need good gas mileage. Our dogs pretty much keep the possums away, but once they let a whole family of possums eat their dog food. They would come during the night onto the front porch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

