Normal service will be resumed as soon as possible…

Hi all,

 

Well, the inevitable happened and Stevie-boy and I are snowed under with studies that are due in on Monday so what’s a pair of middle aged student hippies to do when there’s a blog post due and no post to post? Er…I guess they don’t post a post. I hope you will all forgive me for a lack of a post today. I have a delicious vegan matcha cake recipe post due that I will post on the weekend to make up for it. See you all next week when our studies should be well finished and we might be able to have 5 seconds to spare. Love you all, Ciao for now bambino’s

Girl from Impanema over and over and over again ;)

Girl from Impanema over and over and over again ;)

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecontentedcrafter
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 18:27:13

    Life constantly gets in the way of my blogging – you are forgiven :-) Good luck with the studies.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:34:31

      Hope you liked the test pattern that I (stole) found to amuse and amaze you all and that you headed straight to Youtube and found “The girl from Ipanima” and put it on loop for the duration…beavering away again today in order to knock out our final assessment in Technology. We worked from 9am through to 10pm yesterday…now THAT is what I call hard work! Plus a miracle…we didn’t kill each other once! Wish us luck as we are pulling another long day today and hopefully we should get most of what we need done finished…

      Reply

      • thecontentedcrafter
        Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:41:34

        Pretty amazing on both counts – the hours and the lack of bodies! And the fact that you stick with the course!! Impressive pair!!! [Too many exclamation points?]

        I hope you have another successful day and knock the thing out of the park :-)

      • narf77
        Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:47:38

        I hope so too…Stevie-boy is on the wagon for day 2…hopefully the D.T’s don’t set in and we spend the day watching pink elephants on the roof! I am detoxing from too many loaves of bread and too much fried food as well so you just never know…what we think are quality studies might be absolute garbage ;) You can NEVER have too many exclamation points or capital letters Ms Pauline :)

  2. brymnsons
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 18:38:52

    Buggr eh! Good luck with your studies, hope you get through it fast :) Too much life going on to let it get in the way x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:35:41

      Spring is springing and we are holed up 24/7 studying. Not too far from the truth as yesterday we worked from 9am through till 10pm solid. What we produced made us happy though so I suppose swings and roundabouts ;) Now we just have to see what our lecturer and fellow students think of our hard slog ;)

      Reply

      • brymnsons
        Aug 21, 2014 @ 09:23:18

        That is a loooooooooooooong day! Keep on working away at it and soon it will be all over red Rover lol x

      • narf77
        Aug 21, 2014 @ 17:42:36

        Just finished off the last of the work that we have to get critiqued now we just have to sketch out some design concepts (backwards as it would seem ;) ) and fill in some boring checklists that make me squirm and we might…we just MIGHT be able to have a day off on the weekend :) BLISS! :)

  3. Robbie
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 21:43:56

    It happens to us all:-) there is a life outside of blogging:-)…good luck on your studies:-) I don’t envy you I remember being in school and having things due in college. For a long time after I finished I would wake up in the middle of the night( nightmare-lol) and think I had an assignment due the next day and I had not prepared! Scary stuff-lol

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:37:34

      This is probably the hardest assessment we have had to date and we are only halfway finished and it is due on Monday…looks like the weekend has just been hijacked for the cause ;). I don’t get stressed out as our lecturer doesn’t mind if people are a bit late but I have my pride…what is it about pride that seems to hit you when you become middle aged eh? I couldn’t care LESS when I was a kid to hand anything in at all let alone “something” and now I am beavering away all of God’s good hours studying and trying my hardest to produce quality work! Life is strange eh? ;)

      Reply

      • Robbie
        Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:45:53

        Yes it is!I have often wondered that same thing. I did not care about my studies until I was a bit older in my early 20;s. I was never stressed and worried about getting things “:perfect” when I was younger..what is it about “middle age” that means you have to do it RIGHT! Geez, I have often said if I could do it over with my mindset now….what would of been…boring maybe-lol….I lived on the edge then, now I can’t even stand to stay up past 10pm….but sometimes I do because I suffer from insomia in old age-lol!

      • narf77
        Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:51:17

        We were still studying at 10pm last night, 2 hours after my bedtime! See…who said you can’t live life on the edge when you are middle aged eh? ;)

  4. Littlesundog
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 23:09:11

    Oooh, I’m sending a double batch of positive energy via the air waves to help you and Steve knock out those studies!

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:39:08

      Thank you Lori, we really need all the positive vibes that we can get as 2 days of solid study (9am – 10pm yesterday and probably today as well) is hard to contemplate! At least we are getting it out of the way, one step at a time. It’s the hardest task we have had to do up until now but we are proud that we are doing it, working through it, completing it and doing it well :) There is always a reward if you look hard enough :)

      Reply

  5. cathyandchucky
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 23:55:43

    Good luck with the studies Fronkiii and Steve.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:42:23

      I could send you some of them to do for us if you like Pinky ;) We worked SO hard yesterday! We had to produce 2 magazines (industry standard) from scratch with hints and tips about the Adobe CS6 suite in them and make them look good and the first bit was having to look up some of the hints and tips as we didn’t even know what they were! Next we have to turn the magazine that we produced into an interactive pdf…and then produce a 9 page photo book with scanned photos that have to be altered etc. and then turn THAT into an interactive pdf and throw in a couple more tasks and it is all due in a week…EEP! At least Steve is home this week to get his bit sorted or he would have had to work through the night! This is one tough set of tasks! Cheers for the good luck and remember, just let me know if you want to do some of them, my finger is on the “Send” button as I type ;)

      Reply

  6. teawithhazel
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 09:29:55

    all the best with getting your assignments finished fran..i’ve been there with ten years of studying as a mature age student so i know what you’re going through..x

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 21, 2014 @ 17:43:40

      Hugs Jane, it’s always good to know that someone out there gets what we are doing here and why :). We feel very chuffed that we were able to do what was asked of us with minimal divorce proceedings and we still have most of our hair! Methinks that has to be a record for us ;)

      Reply

  7. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 11:19:43

    Hey, don’t you worry about it one bit. My studies often keep me from blogging as often or as thoroughly as I would like, and I just leave the space blank. You at least were kind enough to let us poor saps know what’s going on! Thank for looking out for your adoring fans. ;) Take as much time as you need and good luck on those studies. I’ll be waiting here for that matcha cake until you come back.

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 21, 2014 @ 17:47:09

      That matcha cake was AMAZING! I subbed out orange juice and poppyseeds and used matcha, added black sesame seeds and soaked the cake with a rose water syrup…I ate most of it as it was dee-LICIOUS! :) I don’t recommend making it if you are at home alone…just sayin ;) Another person that “gets” what we are doing and how hard study can be. I sometimes feel like I have gone ten rounds with Mike Tyson when all I have done is sit here day after day working on assignments. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and it is most inviting with blue skies and is beckoning me from the garden…”come out and play Fran…the garden is fine…” ;)

      Reply

  8. Chica Andaluza
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 04:04:35

    Good luck! And is that a quote from Friday NigDinner “bambinos”? … which I have just discovered and think is brilliant!

    Reply

  9. Chica Andaluza
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 04:04:58

    Friday Night Dinners….duh!

    Reply

  10. Angela @ Canned Time
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 04:06:00

    Missed you but wish you both well with your studies ♡♡

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 22, 2014 @ 04:15:02

      Crazy times around here Ms Angela, mad, mental crazy times that culminated in us pulling an all day, all nighter (well…till 10pm which FELT like all night to me ;) ) in order to finish them. They are complete but now we have to perform like circus critters to back everything up including checklists, thumbnail sketches (not too hard, we already did the work so we can just scrawl them out retrospectively…before you say it… I know we are meant to do them first but whatchagonnadoeh? ;) ). So we are aiming at getting one day off this weekend where we can lay about wantonly staring at our navels and doing sweet nothing OH what a luxury that will be! :)

      Reply

  11. christiglover
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 06:57:01

    Nose to the grindstone, sending love to you across the ocean. xxoo

    Reply

    • narf77
      Aug 23, 2014 @ 06:57:52

      My nose ground off BUT I do have a lovely free weekend that I am just about to cram pack full of gardening and wood chopping…when hard slog in the garden and chopping wood becomes appealing, you know that you are over studying ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

